Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Downshay Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Swanage > Downshay Farm Reviews

Downshay Farm
Haycrafts Lane
Swanage
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH19 3EB
Tel: 01929 480316
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 30/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 90 Reviews
                9/10 from 90 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  90 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Eshardy 12 reviews from this member

We stayed at this campsite in a motorhome, after the summer tent season had finished. The site has 12 places for motorhomes, level pitches and electric hook up. If you have a pitch on the top terrace the views are lovely, you can see Corfe castle. We found it very peaceful, enjoyed listening to the passing steam trains, which you can use to travel to Swanage or Corfe.

The showers and toilets were spotlessly clean, 2 showers and 3 toilets. Had to queue one morning for the shower. No charge for the showers.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stealthrider 3 reviews from this member

Nice site pitches have a good view for the most part of corfe castle. Limited shower and toilet block but clean and adequate for the 12 pitches and quiet. But beware bank holiday at the end of may and summer as they also have a massive camping field behind and site turned very noisy and although they have there own facilities the campers use caravan ones to so you can't get in. Outside those times it's lovely well maintained with level pitches on various levels. The owners accommodating. The access road is single track and there are other sites on this road which may need some reversing skills !.

Definitely go back out of season.

Nice walk into corfe and to coast all from the site.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Petra8315 24 reviews from this member

We have just returned from downshay and had a wonderfull week when we arrived we where shown two pitches one right at top and one at bottom near the loo's etc, we chose the bottom one for that reason as the top one seemed a smaller pitch, its a fantastic area to visit, and a short walk down to Harmanns cross station, We used the steam railway a lot and if you use it after 1800hrs its only £4, 00 per person and you can travel as much as you like on one ticket, we went to Corfe caste for a meal then to swanage for a couple of pints and back to Harmanns cross.

The showers and loo's are kept very clean as is the site, all in all fantastic week and will be returning to this site and a wonderfull part of Britain.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nickmiow 2 reviews from this member

Wonderful views, esp from the very top field, be warned tho, the best views come with sloping ground, so bring some extra padding or wriggle back all night! We stayed for a week and thoroughly enjoyed the experience, clean showers/loos and a very friendly farmer. Tap his local knowledge for the best eateries.

Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Labradorlass 11 reviews from this member

My 2nd review for this lovely site. It's always a pleasure to return to Downshay, I'm sure everyone on here knows about the beautiful area of Corfe and Swanage etc.

I recently met up with friends here although as you are unable to book ( understandably) a particular pitch, this time we were not on the same level. But in actual fact it worked out better in many ways. I like the easiness of the site and although the toilet/shower block are a bit dated they are always clean and well maintained. The views toward Corfe are spectacular with the sunsets to die for! All in all, if you are looking for a relaxing pretty place to stay awhile then I can thoroughly recommend Downshay Farm.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Struth 19 reviews from this member

We have just spent a week on this delightful and picturesque site, and what a little gem it is. Especially if you can have a pitch on the top terrace like we did, as you have spectacular views over the Valley. On arrival you need to stop short of the tarmaced caravan field road and check in at the house. Our comment would be for the owner to erect a permanent sign to this effect, because if you were to go further down you cannot turn around. Other than that, this is a lovely site.

The showers have plenty of hot water(superb) and the toilets are unisex but perfectly adequate. Swanage is only 5 minutes down the road and the Costcutter this end of the high street is ideal for your grocery shopping, with the added bonus of a butchers inside ! Worthy of a mention is Harlees fish & chip shop just along a bit, the food is to die for. We would certainly return to this site in the future.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lexiec 13 reviews from this member

We've been visiting this lovely area for years, but have always previously rented a cottage. This was our first time in the campervan, so I did a lot of research and Downshay Farm didn't disappoint. We couldn't have arrived at a worse time - 6pm on a sunny Sunday in August, but even then, having had a little walk around we managed to find a reasonably level spot with amazing views across the valley to Corfe Castle and Nine Barrow Down.

Even at this busy time of year, we rarely had to queue to use the showers or to wash up and there was always plenty of hot water. All the facilities were kept clean and tidy with loads of loo roll, hand wash and paper towels.

A van comes each morning with the papers, pastries etc. Happy days!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Iantw7 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from a wonderful stay at this site. No designated pitches in two large fields allows you plenty of space with no over crowding. The views over to Corfe Castle are amazing especially at sunset. Worth paying just for that. The fees are good value for money which the farmer collects in the morning. There are three shower/toilet blocks that were clean and with plenty of hot water and I never had to queue once for. The site has a lovely rural tranquil feel to it that I would recommend to anyone that wants to get away from it all.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Capt. Pugwash 4 reviews from this member

We have just spent 10 wonderful days on this site and found it to be quiet and friendly. If you are looking for peace and quiet this is the place for you. Our only other comment is make sure you have levelling blocks as some pitches do slope a little. The toilet blocks were basic but very clean and tidy. The surrounding area is well worth looking at and a visit to Corfe Castle is a must, but be prepared for a steep climb. If you like eating out try The Quay Pub in Wareham. Excellent food and good service.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sararalf 1 review from this member

On the whole a great campsite. We turned up without booking on Bank Holiday Monday and there were loads of places to pitch. We checked out the facilities before committing to stay and from the outside we weren't hopeful when we saw the portacabins, but inside they were basic but spotlessly clean, with hooks, mirrors and heat adjustable free showers (no tokens!)Again with the facilities in the barn, basic but clean and roomy.

The only downside was they are at the bottom of the site and every pitch is up a hill. The cost was very reasonable at only £16 per night for four people and a mid size tent. We stayed for 3 nights because the whole site is on a slope and we got fed up of slipping down in the night and the wind whipping, there are a few flat spots but they were taken. The views of the hills and Corfe Castle are magnificent and the train station is a 5-10 minute walk downhill on the way (with tickets available from the farmhouse at a discount) Our boys loved the wide open spaces, rope swing and spinney area, it is a quiet campsite that was silent by ten thirty at night.

Previous     90 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4672 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019