Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Pool Bridge Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Minehead > Pool Bridge Camp Site Reviews

Pool Bridge Camp Site
Woodcocks Ley Farm
Porlock
Minehead
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA24 8LX
Tel: 01643 862502
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 20th March To End Of October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 33 Reviews
                9/10 from 33 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  33 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sarahj76609afi 1 review from this member

 One of the best sites we have been to.

Very friendly, helpful staff. Very clean. Excellent adherence to covid19 requirements. Brilliant stay.

Thank you Tracey for all your hard work. We will be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Natashak 1 review from this member

 Our second visit this year and we will be back again ! If you are looking for a commercial campsite with clubs & play areas then this is not for you BUT if you are looking for a traditional campsite with amazing scenery where children can be free to be children, rummaging through the trees, swinging on natural homemade swings, playing in the stream then this is for you.

Our lab loves it too ! Best campsite in the most amazing setting run by wonderful people. Thank you again for a lovely weekend. Loved the new log cabin ! 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gunioss 1 review from this member

 Fantastic place to stay for all. Amazing scenery and very peaceful place. Nice walks available around. Easy access and good facilities. Recommended and will be definitely coming back ! No mobile signal but landline telephone provided for urgent calls. Great ! 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Plankymonkey 5 reviews from this member

 Need to ring to make a booking and so there was a bit of a faff actually trying to book the campsite. Deposit paid with BACS and confirmed via text so nice and straight forward.

My sis in law arrived first and set up but was told she had pitched in the wrong place (she is getting good at this, it is becoming a regular theme if you read my other reviews!) - no one around at the time to direct and there were reserved signs everywhere so she picked the only spot available to fit our three tents in - it was a bit of a random spot as the ground was so hard and this made pitching our De Waard tent pretty difficult, as it relies on the guy ropes and tent pegs which were a mission to get in due to the hard stone ground - my husband is built like worlds strongest man and so when he struggles to smash in a few pegs there is clearly an issue and a grumpy sweaty husband is not a good start to a weekend!) we were also near a lot of trees and during the night a rather significantly sized bit of tree came down so we were lucky not to have been hit.

The last bit of the drive up to the campsite is about 1. 6 miles and is a single track, it is very beautiful scenery. The campsite is very pretty and quiet. Porlock is a lovely place to visit and we really enjoyed getting out and about!

The facilities are basic with one shower in the ladies and three toilets - the shower needed some attention as half way through it turned ice cold and water just ran out of the dial mechanism rather than the shower head itself. It is cramped so getting dressed was tricky.

The facilities are cleaned regularly which is nice and there is plenty of toilet roll!

I enjoyed the weekend but not sure I would rush back to the same campsite. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: D333s 2 reviews from this member

 We have been going to Pool Bridge over 15 years, as it is special if you love walks, rivers and the moor.

It used to have a tendency to become heavingly busy over the weekends, but the new managers Tracey and Simon have done a fabulous job revitalising and managing the place, not allowing overcrowding most importantly. Now at peak times you must email to get a space booked and reserved for you.

There are also less trees on the actual camping ground so you get more sunshine on more parts of the field.

Tracey also provides locally produced meat, which is fantastic. We had minted lamb steaks, only 4 a pair, which were a world better than supermarket equivalents.

This was our best visit there, in many vists, (it hardly rained!), the dogs were in heaven in the local woods and collapsed exhausted each evening with satisfaction. A relief. Take the OS explorer map to explore all the walks along both sides of the valley, there are some wonderful places to be found. Then there's Horner tea room for old fashioned refreshments.

Cant wait to go again. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Crystaltipps1234 3 reviews from this member

 Would just like to say how incredibly accommodating the owners of this site are. Having a child with additional needs electric is a must, the lengths they went to to ensure we had electric was absolutely amazing. Beautiful location. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dafsaabi 8 reviews from this member

 My wife, small child and I have just returned from a one-nighter just outside Swanage at a MacCampsite and it has made me realise quite how much I enjoyed our stay here, on Exmoor, for the Mayday bank holiday weekend. Despite the fact that it was ball-achingly cold and that Spring hadn't properly arrived, it is a beautiful setting. I was surprised by how busy it was considering the cold but, hey ho, us hardy Brits know how to enjoy ourselves. We arrived at 9. 30pm and the site owner had waited to welcome us and show us round.

Pros:-

The setting,

The night skies,

Open fires (on the ground by the river, fire pits everywhere else)

No access to Facebook,

Excellent driving roads in the area, including the 'challenging' drive to the site itself,

Porlock Weir

Children have to use their imagination to entertain themselves (rope swings, dam building, scaling the steep banks by the site etc. )

Cons:-

Nope. I mean, the weather was 'chilly' but that's hardly the site's fault,

The site owners came at set times and otherwise left us to our own devices. That made ordering wood (no foraging- it's a site of special scientific interest) or fire pits difficult.

Basically, it's as nice as it looks in the pictures. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bob dilan 1 review from this member

 Ce suite est une beaute! Je venci ce avec mon amis et nous adore! Ce'est trois faucets externales et quatre toilets. Vous peu hiere un pit feu et ce'est une marce petit dans un sede petit.

Une strem est a le droi de la suite, vous peu pad a natati!

-------

This site is a beauty! I came here with my friends and we love it! There are 3 external taps and 4 toilets. You can rent a fire pit and go for a walk. (?)

There is a stream on the right of the site. YOu can go for a swim!  


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Vic Curtis 1 review from this member

 Just enjoyed a short break here with our son and his partner who have often stayed before and told us how wonderful the place is. We were treated to a stay in the furnished bell tent complete with wood-burning stove and the most comfortable bed I think we have ever slept in (camping or otherwise!). The location is idyllic next to gentle stream and plenty of space for campfires for proper camp cooking and late night gatherings talking rubbish!

Talking of rubbish, excellent provision of bins to dispose of or recycle rubbish. Perfectly adequate toilet block with shower and three outside sinks with hot water at which to do washing up. Ample supply of drinking water too. Logs, kindling, firelighters as well as basic provisions available at little shop in hut adjacent to toilet block. Even a phone (no mobile signal) for emergencies or taxis!

Really friendly and helpful owners too. We'll certainly be back. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jamesruss 2 reviews from this member

 We just spent 3 days at pool bridge and had a great time,

Yes if your a nerviouse driver then the road to the site would be interesting, the site itself is very clean and although the toilets and showers are basic they are kept clean and tidy, Tracy (the owner) is very hospitable and helpful and also runs a small shop from a shed on the site, we loved being able to have open fires there as well

We will definitely be staying there again, 


Previous     33 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pool Bridge Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pool Bridge Camp Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Pool Bridge Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Minehead      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2448 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements