Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Golden Fleece Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Somerset > South Chard > Golden Fleece Certificated Site > Reviews

Golden Fleece Certificated Site
Perry Street
South Chard
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA20 4QH
Tel: 01460 220285
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 CCC Only
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 6 Reviews
                8/10 from 6 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Margo1 8 reviews from this member

 I travel on my own and look for seclusion and peace and quiet. I have just spent two nights here and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Very peaceful. The facilities are basic, but this is certainly reflected in the price, so I have to rate this site a 10/10 for my needs. Excellent value. The food served at the pub is really good too and I had dinner in their pretty beer garden. The owners are very friendly and helpful. This is a site which is going on my list for the future. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tricky woo 1 review from this member

 We have been camping at the Golden Fleece for at least once a year since 2003. Paul and Carol the owners, are so accommodating. We use a hook-up - which is extremely good value. We have a special needs son - who likes familiarity, so in some respects, we go back year-after-year because of this; but even so, after nine years we still enjoy our stay there. There is only one combined shower/toilet - which can mean queueing in busy periods - but now we have a toilet tent and 'luggable loo' to counteract this! All in all, we would recommend the site for a cheap, cheerful, peaceful (except when we are there!) stay. For his holiday entertainment, our son likes to stand on the pub car-park and watch the traffic go by (especially the lorries), and the clientele, staff and visitors who are staying at the B & B are always so friendly. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rosie+Scrumpy 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed one night here in our day van & cannot fault the price or service we received. Because we didn't bother with the electric the cost was under 10 which I think is excellent for a night in high season.

Even if we had been in our caravan & had the electric it would only have been a couple of pounds more. Nice level field which was very peaceful.

Occasional bit of noise from the road which didn't bother us at all. The combined one shower/toilet was also not a problem for us but I appreciate that it might be more difficult for a family. Very good food in the attached pub & obviously no worries about drinking & driving. Pub is also dog friendly for well behaved dogs. All in all a really nice little site but possibly more suited to the lone camper/couple than a family. Nice part of the world to be based in as you are on the border of 3 counties. Also very close to Cricket St Thomas. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Cv01jw 2 reviews from this member

 This site was host to our first ever camping experience and as newbies we thought it was very good.

Even though the site is small, there was plenty of room on the pitches and our two year old had loads of free space to run around in safety.

As mentioned in other reviews there is only one shower but the site is small and so it didn't pose a problem for us.

We only stayed one night and didn't use the pub, so can't really comment on that.

Chard isn't far away (10 minutes drive) and has plenty of shops / takeaways etc to keep you stocked up. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Cauliman 11 reviews from this member

 The site is a Camping and Caravan Club certified location and you need to be a member of the club to camp there.

It is located in a well kept field to the rear of the pub. It has only 1 combined toilet/shower but that is just about sufficient as it can only take 5 caravans or motorhomes plus tents.

The site is very peaceful and the pub is great with good real ale and excellent food - the menu is particularly good for vegetarians.

The toilet/shower could be better maintained and a bit cleaner but at 7.50 per night for 2 adults I wouldn't complain. There are a small number of electric pitches at 10. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Acollis 1 review from this member

 Just go back from a Bank Holiday break at this site. Brilliant little site - only a couple of hookups, and room for about 8 tents. 2 acrefield split into 2 "sections" - we (2 tents) had the 2nd section toourselves which was great. And cheap - only 6.50/night for us in alarge tent with dog.

Only small drawback though was lack of showers - only 1 combined shower / toilet for the entire site, which meant queuing at busy times,and take old 50p pieces if you have them for the shower meter.or getthem at the bar.

All in all, a really pleasant stay at a site that had everything weneeded and nothing that we didn't (eg. Entertainment, pool, noise etc etc). 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Golden Fleece Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Golden Fleece Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Golden Fleece Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near South Chard      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3222 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement