Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Vale Hotel & Touring Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Glamorgan > Barry > Vale Hotel & Touring Caravan Park Reviews

Vale Hotel & Touring Caravan Park
Port Road West
Rhoose
Barry
Glamorgan   (Browse area)
CF62 3BT
Tel: 01446 711800
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 10 Reviews
                7/10 from 10 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Antsom 1 review from this member

 The site owners Gerard & Sharon were very helpful and considerate and made a pleasant stay, ensuring that everything was satisfactory during our stay at their site

I would recommend the vale park hotel and touring site for being close to coastal beaches, Barry island mainly for people who liked Gavin& Stacey

Also for plane spotters at Cardiff airport & nearby mod st Athen. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Keryn1 1 review from this member

 Absolutely bowled over as to how amazing this mini break was!

Sharon and Gerard such a friendly and kind couple that worked tirelessly to make sure we were happy on our stay and did many extra touches to ensue we were comfortable and happy.

The site was spotlessy clean and toilets and shower facilities were constantly being cleaned and very COVID safe.

Honestly can say this is the best campsite I have ever stayed on and I can’t wait to go back next year. Thank you Sharon and Gerard xxx 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lindasewerrat 8 reviews from this member

 This site has obviously gone seriously downhill since the last reviews. The grass area was very soft so we sank overnight and struggled to get off. No hard pitches at all.

The shower block was dirty and it didn't matter how long you pushed the button, the water didn't get warm let alone hot. We'd booked and paid for 2nights but didn't bother with the 2nd night.

Extremely expensive at £25 per night. Not much noise from airport but traffic noise was loud all night.  
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nitrameus 2 reviews from this member

 We were made to feel very welcome by the lady who runs the site and actually stayed an extra night. We chose the site primarily because it was the nearest to Penarth where we were seeing friends over the weekend. The facilities were adequate and clean although rather dated. The site was spacious, uncrowded and easy to locate and access and is well situated for exploring the area. Although it is next to Cardiff Airport we were not disturbed by any aircraft noise. However, the road which runs along two sides of the site did have some traffic noise. There was no proper facilities for a motorhome to dispose of grey water or to use the fresh water tap conveniently but the owner let us tank up with fresh water in the area outside her house. She was friendly and helpful and we enjoyed our stay there. There is a Toby Carvery conveniently just down the road which serves very reasonable meals and other pubs also quite near. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bargee 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed for a couple of nights and found this site quiet (even with Cardiff Airport within view!)

The grass was cut, the washroom was just about adequate, the pitches are grass and faily level. Hook-up is 6amp.

My wife wanted as 'Gavin and Stacey' day and this site is perfectly placed to visit Barry.

There's a few pubs around, one is just within my walking range, we found another (better) one beyond the airport.

All in all, if you don't set your heart on a top notch site, this little place is OK. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bikerbill123 1 review from this member

 The site is run by a nice elderly lady. It was clean and tidy and in good order, the grass had been cut. There was some hard standing facing the road and the other pitches were on firm grass. The toilet block was clean and tidy and had showers.

The site is right next to Cardiff airport but this was not a problem, there were few flights and almost none after dark (though one landed at 4am!). But the adjacent road was quite noisy though it did not keep us awake.

The owner said she didn't like to take bookings too far in advance, but the site can easily take 20 outfits so you will probably get lucky at short notice. There were 10 outfits there when we stayed.

We walked to a Toby pub on the main road in about 25min. There is a grass verge along the busy road so wear waterproof footwear if it is damp.

We also walked into Barry railway station in about 45min where it's cheap and easy to get to Cardiff with trains every 15min. Up hill on the way back though!

The beach is large pebbles and clean with nice, reddish sand when the tide is out. There is a country park close by the beach with free parking. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Marieandrobert 21 reviews from this member

 Excellent low, level, grassy area. Showers, WC's, EHU, 6 amps. Fee per night £20 for caravan, no awning. Aircraft quite close but not to noisy. A main road lies to the side and rear of the site and can be very busy at times. Very pleasant and helpful site employees.

Stayed 3 nights. Barry island is good for children but parking close by can be a problem. There are many local sites to explore and view.

Barry island has takeaway foods, amusements, pubs and gift shops. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Susansian 1 review from this member

 Found this site to be clean and well kept. The owner was very friendly and helpful. This is the only caravan site near to Barry Island, which was wonderful - lot's to do for the kids and beautiful clean beaches. We've already booked to come back next summer.

As the site is quite near the airport you can walk to the local hotels for meals etc. We were pleasantly surprised that there was no noise from the aeroplanes. As well as Barry Island there is loads to do within a short drive and Cardiff was absolutely fantastic. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bazennl 2 reviews from this member

 An update on Jane's review a few years back. Not much has changed, unfortunately. Mitigating circumstances are that one of the owners is seriously ill, we understand, but they were still in business. Fortunately there was a very nice Welsh couple staying in their caravan with their grand-daughter, and they compensated for the owners' absence.

Like Jane, we will use the site again as it is close to relatives. Hopefully the owners' health will improve and they will get back up to standard. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jane Coles 3 reviews from this member

 Really disappointed in this site - was expecting something smarter, being the only camp site in the vicinity of the 'tourism area' of Barry Island.
 
The 'information room' contained brochures from 2004, and the map on the wall showed the M4 as incomplete and the Butlin's Holiday Camp was still featured, which closed around 1986!
 
Many pitches were taken by contract workers - no problem at all, but will give you an idea as to how little the owners put into maintaining the site for tourism.
 
The airport is just along the road, though we were not on the flight path and weren't disturbed by it.  The main road, however, forms two sides of the field and didn't quieten until about 2am.
 
The showers are way too hot and with no temperature control I consider them dangerous.  the lights were not set correctly either and so in the evening I showered in the dark.
 
At £14 a night I think they have an absolute cheek and the sooner the site is purchased by someone who cares (it is for sale at about £750k including an as yet unused hotel.) then the better.  It was even suggested that when using hot water, you might like to pop a 10p coin in the pipe as a contribution!
 
We warmed to the owners by the end of the weekend, mainly because of how they looked after the lads who were staying there.  We would only use the site again due to it being the only site near to family. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Vale Hotel & Touring Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Vale Hotel & Touring Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Vale Hotel & Touring Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Barry      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Glamorgan

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Lifestyle 2022 Show, Shropshire 06/05 to 08/05
Holiday homes, caravans, camping, holidays, garden rooms, hot tubs, garden furniture, gardening, health & fitness - 20% off tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2288 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement