Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - River Valley Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > Europe > S Ireland > County Wicklow > River Valley Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

River Valley Caravan & Camping Park
Redcross
County Wicklow
S Ireland   (Browse area)

Tel: +353 0404 41647
Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here

Pitches:
Open: March To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 9 Reviews
                8/10 from 9 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Karl51 27 reviews from this member

We had checked out their website and thought we were going to some huge site and that was part of the reason for booking the smaller Secret Garden, we couldn't have been more wrong. Don't get me wrong the site is large enough but it's based within the village with shop, Micky Finns & Wicklow Brewery being on the outside of the site.

The Secret Garden probably holds about 40 vans in total, all fully serviced and on concrete bases.

The family site has a mixture of touring caravans, static caravans, tents and pods.

Within the complex there is a good walk for dogs which has different animals in paddocks including deer, donkeys and goats. There are also a number of different activities including foot golf, archery and tennis courts.

Wifi reception is restricted to the park entrance.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dandymann 2 reviews from this member

A superb site with everything you could wish for: couple of pubs, shop, take-away (only open Wednesday to Sunday) and restaurant. Stayed in the 'Silent Garden' (adults only section) and it is spacious and quiet. The loos/shower block looks to be almost new - under floor heating in the loos and spacious, individual shower rooms (no pokey little cubicles here!). The site has a children's club (presumably at holiday times/weekends) and other sports: tennis courts, footgolf(?), archery, sports hall etc. It was difficult to fault anything and I will definitely be back. Arklow is a few miles away but the dual carrigeway to Dublin (which passes a couple of miles away) is so new that it did not figure on my updated satnav (just take any of the roads signposted for Redcross)

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jessamy99 3 reviews from this member

This campsite is south of Dublin. There are no views from the pitches. But, the pitches were hard standing and had electricity hook ups and cold water taps and a drain by each pitch.

The loo block was spacious and clean with places to dispose of chemical loos too.

The people in reception were friendly and helpful.

The only drawback we discovered was that the wifi is only obtainable when you are parked right by the reception.

Otherwise we liked this place and would return.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fergo 1 review from this member

To be expected at the end of season not too many children on site mainly couples but still quite busy. The staff were very helpful. The toilet blocks were very clean and tidy. Shop, chippy, pub, restaurant close to site. Lovely walk to see the animals, kids loved it. Playground was quite good but needs up dating. The remote control cars and boats were not working. No rush to check out on departure day which was a bonus. The kids enjoyed it that was the main objective

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ttalps2000 3 reviews from this member

Stayed a week at river valley. Its a great site and loads of room for the kids to play and run around safely.

The owners are very helpful and went round in the evenings ensuring the kids were off their bikes and settling down to allow others to sleep.

The showers and toilets are more than excellent! You do have to pay a euro for the showers, but was more than happy to do so as they are the best I have ever come across on a campsite!

The mickey finn pub is also great for drinks. Didn't think much of the kids entertainment though considering you had to pay 5 euros per child. Everyone was complaining about it!

Overall it was a very pleasant stay, if a little expensive, but this seems to be the case anywhere in the republic of Ireland!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cass22 4 reviews from this member

The owner was really pleasant and very helpful on arrival. We were given a card with a set of rules printed on the back. None of the rules were enforced. It stated that children had a curfew of 11pm and that no bicycles were allowed after 8pm. Noise continued well into midnight. My son was nearly run over at around 10pm by a young boy riding his bicycle so l had to put reigns (straps) on him to pull him out of the way from other bicycles.

The tents were crammed in and were really close to each other. We were afraid to drive the car because kids were running all over the place.

I went into one toilet to find urine on the floor and there was graffiti. There was a load of toilet roll all over the toilet floors and beside the sinks that had not been removed from the day before. The 2 soap dispensers were empty and had not been refilled from the day before either. Some toilet bowls had the seats removed and a couple of times they hadn’t been flushed. There were also no bins.

Playground- the playground facilities were really good. It has an under 3’s area, which suited my 2-year old. I was delighted. However, when l actually took my son up it was overrun with older kids who were rough with my son.

There is a good camper’s kitchen with free hot water and 3 washing machines and dryers. However, l thought e6 for a wash and e4 for the dryer was expensive. Plus, 2 washing machines were out of order and so was 1 dryer. I spoke to a woman who told me that the other dryer took her e4 but wouldn’t work. We tried to dump rubbish as were leaving but the bins were stinking and full to the brim!

Farm- the last thing l want to mention is the farm. The animals were a fabulous addition to the campsite and were in good condition. However, every time l passed it there were kids poking them with sticks, kicking the fence, throwing crisp bags an bottles in, and screaming in their faces to get them to move!

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Buttercupw 12 reviews from this member

Very organised site, We stayed in the Secret Garden - an aduts only section with fully serviced pitches. Pitches were roomy and well laid out. Site was well kept. Toilet and shower facilities were good ( 1 Euro) - but we did think they needed checking more often to keep standards up - they seemed to get in to quite a state and this is not the best welcoming site upon arrival. Fish and chip shop, pub, restaurant and well stocked shop within a minutes walking distance. Nice walks near by. A trip to Britas Bay is a must. We would stay here again. Access to the site is good - no single track roads.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bionic.Laura 2 reviews from this member

Lovely site in Redcross village.

Expanded since the last review. Plenty of space for both caravan and tent pitches. Electric hook up at nearly all pitches. Really nice clean toilet block. Showers are one euro and are hot. There is also a laundry room and kitchen with wash up and cookers. There's an adults only area of the site as well.

I was here with my friend and young toddler. He loved the site as it's very child friendly. There's a lovely pets corner and a good playground.

Just outside the campsite there's a nice pub serving good food. There is also a well stocked campers shop across the shop and a chip shop.

It's very close to all the sights in Wicklow like Avoca, Brittas Bay, Glendalough.

Recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fingers123 3 reviews from this member

Spent a good week with 3 other families.  Good site, but limited space for pitches - lots of quiet roads between grassy flat plots.  Very stony ground!  Kids could play safely.  A bit noisy at night off and on, but not unduly so.  Good washing facilities and hot showers, only 40p and good to have cooler ones for little kids.  Wasps were a pain.  Well stocked shop very near, comfy bar on site.  Handy site for the excellent Brittas Bay.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in S Ireland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4189 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019