Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Luss Caravan And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Luss > Luss Caravan And Campsite Reviews

Luss Caravan And Campsite
Loch Lomond
Luss
Argyll   (Browse area)
G83 8NT
Tel: 01436 860267
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 90
Open: 01/04 To 28/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 124 Reviews
                8/10 from 124 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  124 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Lyns 26 reviews from this member

 Super friendly staff, who despite the heavy rain took us personally to our pitch.

Many pitches are Loch side with amazing views and direct access for a paddle or to launch a canoe. We lit a small fire (in a fire pit we brought with us) on the beach area by our pitch.

Toilets and showers were clean and well stocked.

The small village is a 10 minute walk and has a nice little shop and a cafe/restaurant. The only disappointment for us was the road noise which was pretty loud and didn't ease much even into the night. Ear plugs helped, but that would deter us from staying again.

You will also need decent pegs as the ground is quite rocky and due to the site protecting the grass, you are unable to park your car next to your pitch 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Oxfordeagle 4 reviews from this member

 Bitterly disappointed and many there also expressed the same, indicating the site had gone downhill since the CCC moved out. Toilets were a disgrace as they were unable to cope with the number of people swelled by a small village of tents! No social distancing, cobwebs around the bottom of the cubicles and totally inadequate cleaning routines.

Pitches are on gravel - move off the gravel onto the grass and the site "staff" who patrol on bicycles are soon on top of you! Be warned. Too many trees blocking the sunshine and a long walk to the waste bins by the exit. No bins around the site. Only one chemical waste point which was broken when we left so had to queue in the gents to wait for one of the two toilet cubicles to come empty. The midges are everywhere so either smoke Senior Service untipped in large amounts or bring insect anti-repellant or be badly bitten like I was.

The view of the loch is in all honesty it's sole redeeming feature but checking competitor sites I think there are better ones in the vicinity but that in my view will not be hard. I won't be returning in a hurry. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Jonpweb 2 reviews from this member

 Wouldn't stop again, mainly because of the road noise. The tent area is very close to the road and it's very busy up until 9pm, so you generally have to raise your voice as the articulated lorries go past.

Quite a lot of tents packed in, which I suspect can overwhelm the facilities. The tent pitches are not as well maintained as the caravans (caravans are further from the road, levelled ground and unobstructed views).

As another review mentions, don't drive a wheel on the grass, or you'll think you've accidentally insulted the wardens.

The access to the Loch is very good and it's an easy walk into Luss. Also has excellent road links :). 


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note , as of the end of the 2019 season this site is no longer a Camping and Caravanning Club Site.

As of April 2020 it will be reopened under the management of Luss Estates Ltd 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: KBKed 21 reviews from this member

 A lovely site on the edge of Loch Lomond and we were lucky enough to get a lochside pitch.

The facilities were good apart from the lack of a Motorhome service point.

A short walk to Luss village, which is quaint and has a selection of shops and restaurants.

There is a good local bus service which goes to Balloch amongst other places. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Estweyn 16 reviews from this member

 Lovely site right next to Loch Lomond. Toilets and showers are dated but clean, getting ready for an upgrade. Welcoming wardens. You canít get on site till 1pm and there is a queuing system just outside gate. No motorhome service points.

Would stay again, short walk into the lovely village of Luss, boat trips round Loch and islands. Beautiful old church and excellent meal at the Bistro. There is traffic noise but it did not disturb us.

Nice dog walk. Sadly some people seemed to think the dogs on lead instructions did not relate to them which could give other dog owners a bad reputation. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Justinm 10 reviews from this member

 At first glance, this small site on the edge of Loch Lomond is not the best presented, its a little "higgledy piggledy", but this site, one of eight visited over a ten day tour of Scotland actually turned out to be our favourite.

The site is quirky in layout, with trees and planting giving nice shape and little areas to pitch, rather than your typically formal layout. There are two shower blocks, with laundry facilities, washing up etc, and a CDP in the first block only, but its not a long walk from anywhere in the site.

Unfortunately for motorhomes, there is no MHS, not really an issue for taking on water, but you'll need a waste master for grey water.

The showers and toilets were absolutely fine, always clean, plenty of hot water, they looked a little dated at first glance, but were all in a good state of repair.

The staff were incredibly helpful and take real pride in everything they do, they care about their site and you too.

We loved the fact that the site was right on the shores of Loch Lomond, just a few steps and we were sat on the beach, looking at the fabulous views across the Loch and onto Ben Lomond. A short walk leads you down to the village of Luss, a beautiful little place with some nice shops. You can take a boat trip from Luss Pier around the loch and go exploring some of the islands - the island cruise is 90 minutes and thoroughly enjoyable with excellent narration from the friendly crew.

We wish we had more time to stay at Luss, there's so much to explore in the area and will definitely be returning for a longer visit before too long. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Stokewalker 15 reviews from this member

 Spent a couple of nights here - great location right on the banks of Loch Lomond. 5 minutes walk into the village of Luss with pubs and restaurants. You can also get Ferry rides to other villages on the loch or just cruise the loch itself.

And speed boat rides. If you like jet-skiing or canoeing its a great base to explore the many little islands (although I'm not sure if you can hire jet-skis from the village).

Staff very friendly although they didn't really have any knowledge of local walks or events - so make sure you research this before yo go.

The down sides - the facilities are a little tired and could do with an upgrade, there is a little road noise from the A82 nearby (although it never kept me awake).

It is also midge country - that shouldn't really put you off so long as you remember to spray up with Deet in the evenings 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Janey47 22 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 2 nights on our little Scottish adventure. Wardens very friendly and informative. Ladies shower block slightly dated but very warm and clean. Very powerful showers although push button were lovely.

We recommend to take the sea bus to Balmaha. £10 return per adult. Balmaha is a lovely village with super pub The Oak Tree. Excellent food reasonably priced.

Luss has a very interesting church and historical grave yard.

There is road noise from the A82 but we were not bothered by it at all.

It's a lovely site on the edge of Loch Lomand and I wouldn't hesitate to stay again. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Alanbilly 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this wonderful site on our way home from driving the NC 500. Only stayed for one night and wished we could have stayed longer.

The welcome from staff was fabulous. Gave us full details of available facilities and showed us to our pitch situated right on the shore of Loch Lomond.

Quiet, peaceful site, ideal to explore the surrounding area. Very clean facilities. Staff member also helped us to reduce our site fee by registering us for 'age related concession' and completing the relevant paper work. This was an added bonus.

We will be certainly visiting again. 


Previous     124 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Luss Caravan And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Luss Caravan And Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Luss Caravan And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Luss      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5527 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement