Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Glasgow > Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Luss
Loch Lomond
Alexandria
Glasgow
Argyll   (Browse area)
G83 8NT
Tel: 01436 860658
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01/04 To 28/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 119 Reviews
                8/10 from 119 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  119 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Estweyn 15 reviews from this member

Lovely site right next to Loch Lomond. Toilets and showers are dated but clean, getting ready for an upgrade. Welcoming wardens. You can’t get on site till 1pm and there is a queuing system just outside gate. No motorhome service points.

Would stay again, short walk into the lovely village of Luss, boat trips round Loch and islands. Beautiful old church and excellent meal at the Bistro. There is traffic noise but it did not disturb us. Nice dog walk. Sadly some people seemed to think the dogs on lead instructions did not relate to them which could give other dog owners a bad reputation.

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Justinm 10 reviews from this member

At first glance, this small site on the edge of Loch Lomond is not the best presented, its a little "higgledy piggledy", but this site, one of eight visited over a ten day tour of Scotland actually turned out to be our favourite.

The site is quirky in layout, with trees and planting giving nice shape and little areas to pitch, rather than your typically formal layout. There are two shower blocks, with laundry facilities, washing up etc, and a CDP in the first block only, but its not a long walk from anywhere in the site.

Unfortunately for motorhomes, there is no MHS, not really an issue for taking on water, but you'll need a waste master for grey water.

The showers and toilets were absolutely fine, always clean, plenty of hot water, they looked a little dated at first glance, but were all in a good state of repair.

The staff were incredibly helpful and take real pride in everything they do, they care about their site and you too.

We loved the fact that the site was right on the shores of Loch Lomond, just a few steps and we were sat on the beach, looking at the fabulous views across the Loch and onto Ben Lomond. A short walk leads you down to the village of Luss, a beautiful little place with some nice shops. You can take a boat trip from Luss Pier around the loch and go exploring some of the islands - the island cruise is 90 minutes and thoroughly enjoyable with excellent narration from the friendly crew.

We wish we had more time to stay at Luss, there's so much to explore in the area and will definitely be returning for a longer visit before too long.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Stokewalker 15 reviews from this member

Spent a couple of nights here - great location right on the banks of Loch Lomond. 5 minutes walk into the village of Luss with pubs and restaurants. You can also get Ferry rides to other villages on the loch or just cruise the loch itself.

And speed boat rides. If you like jet-skiing or canoeing its a great base to explore the many little islands (although I'm not sure if you can hire jet-skis from the village).

Staff very friendly although they didn't really have any knowledge of local walks or events - so make sure you research this before yo go.

The down sides - the facilities are a little tired and could do with an upgrade, there is a little road noise from the A82 nearby (although it never kept me awake).

It is also midge country - that shouldn't really put you off so long as you remember to spray up with Deet in the evenings

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Janey47 22 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 2 nights on our little Scottish adventure. Wardens very friendly and informative. Ladies shower block slightly dated but very warm and clean. Very powerful showers although push button were lovely.

We recommend to take the sea bus to Balmaha. £10 return per adult. Balmaha is a lovely village with super pub The Oak Tree. Excellent food reasonably priced.

Luss has a very interesting church and historical grave yard.

There is road noise from the A82 but we were not bothered by it at all.

It's a lovely site on the edge of Loch Lomand and I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Alanbilly 2 reviews from this member

Stayed at this wonderful site on our way home from driving the NC 500. Only stayed for one night and wished we could have stayed longer.

The welcome from staff was fabulous. Gave us full details of available facilities and showed us to our pitch situated right on the shore of Loch Lomond.

Quiet, peaceful site, ideal to explore the surrounding area. Very clean facilities. Staff member also helped us to reduce our site fee by registering us for 'age related concession' and completing the relevant paper work. This was an added bonus.

We will be certainly visiting again.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Firstmarket 6 reviews from this member

In August we will have been CCC Members for 5 years.

Booked and paid almost £44 for 2 nights which is not cheap especially with an age concession.

I have never been a fan of the club's insistence of the warden showing you to the site they have allocated for one.

We asked for a view but we're told only 2 hard standing pitches were available. We took one in complete shade looking onto a toilet block and very small. Also next to the A82 with resultant road noise.

Once established I noticed a lovely pitch with views unoccupied. The next morning it was still empty until about 4. 30pm when a small camper van took up residence.

Obviously the CCC do not operate a first come first serve policy but I didn't realise you could book a pitch which would be left unoccupied until you arrived.

I am very disappointed and it has spoilt an - up to now - excellent trip through Scotland.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fog1508 1 review from this member

Lovely site, stunning views, immaculate facility's.

Fantastic staff and well priced. Superb campsite. Well worth a stay either as a getaway or as a rest stop for the highlands.

Lovely wee village, local pub chilled out, plenty of choice, child friendly and the staff are very welcoming and helpful.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Doggies On Tour 28 reviews from this member

The friendly welcome, the immaculate facilities, the site shop, the helpful wardens, the views of the loch, the village shops, the beach, the boat rides, the water sports all make up for the fact that the midges can be bad! and boy they can be bad, we were particularly unlucky as it had been nice for a few weeks, so as soon as the weather turned they came out of hiding in numbers not seen before!

Luckily smidge seems to work and failing that head nets and raid! It is an amazing site, which turns about 20 people away every day, so make sure you book in advance! A little bit expensive, but the location makes up for that.

You can hear the A82, but it does fade into background noise and it is quiet at night. Dog walk on site, but you can just walk directly onto the beach and let them play/swim there. Yes we will be back, but with lots of smidge spray!

The wardens are an asset to the site, shame it is closing in a few years time.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nikko136 45 reviews from this member

Our pitch was nearer the lochside than the road but our nights were frequently interrupted by motorbikes and juggernauts on the A82 and this spoiled our stay at this site.

We chose mid-June for our holiday in the hope that the midges wouldn’t be such a problem but the proximity of the water and trees meant that there was already a significant plague. We noted residents and workers in Luss village were wearing hats with gauze ‘curtains’ to keep the beasties out of their eyes and facial orifices.

The density of midges at the campsite was significantly higher than in the village.

Luss itself is worth a visit, despite being very much a tourist hotspot, with coach-loads of tour groups from all over the world. All the area offers beautiful views of the loch and surrounding countryside.

As so often with C&CC sites, the toilets and showers are clean but the facilities themselves are not up to the average standard of most family-owned sites we visit.

Toilet cisterns weren’t up to the job and took ages to refill, resulting in many walking away and leaving the results of their labours for others to flush away.

The reception/shop staff were very pleasant and helpful but had rather un-businesslike opening hours.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wildrover58 5 reviews from this member

Site was suffering from recent heavy rain, which brought out the midges. A very expensive site for what was being provided, and the adjacent A82 traffic noise is very intrusive.

Toilet/Shower block can be described as basic and just adequate, rubbish bins are located at one end of site.

Entry and exit to site is via a set of manual swinging barriers, not ideal for those with limited mobility.

Will not be returning to this site.

Previous     119 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4242 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019