Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Luss Caravan And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Luss > Luss Caravan And Campsite Reviews

Luss Caravan And Campsite
Loch Lomond
Luss
Argyll   (Browse area)
G83 8NT
Tel: 01436 860267
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 90
Open: 01/04/2022 to 28/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 132 Reviews
                8/10 from 132 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  132 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tamglasgow 15 reviews from this member

 Arrived on site which has to be said has scenery to die for.

The girl on reception stood and rhymed off all of the things that were not allowed without drawing breath.

We paid £48 per night and got a very narrow pitch which, we struggled to put our awning up as you can't use any of the grass for pegging etc.

Anyway, we managed after some choice words 😁.

It is quite a long site with a fair distance to the gates from some pitches.

Bins had to be taken to the front gates which was a struggle for those with reduced mobility, disabled toilets were also away at reception.

The toilet blocks(2) were clean enough but really inadequate for the numbers on site. 2 shower cubicles in each block.

My pet hate here was the staff closing the toilets at 930 am for cleaning, busiest time of the morning? Really?

It is in a lovely part of the world but this site is expensive, poorly laid out and not worth the money in my opinion.

If you are disabled do ask for a pitch near the entrance as you will struggle otherwise. 


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mezza 6 reviews from this member

 This is a fantastic location on the edge of Loch Lomond with direct access to the foreshore but it also borders the busy A82 and there is considerable road noise.

Itís a large well maintained site and when we were there the toilet blocks weíre immaculate.

However, the number of showers did not seem to equate to the size of the site and I would imagine in summer there would be pressure on these facilities.

This is an expensive site at £45 per night in October each night for two adults. At this price I would expect functional Wi-fi (not fit for purpose in my view as we could never connect) and a drive over waste water facility for campers and motor homes. Fortunately I had prepared for this eventuality.

Finally the bins are positioned at the main gate which is a considerable distance from some of the pitches and in my view could and should be remedied. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: PopKidWolf 2 reviews from this member

 Very convenient for Luss, literally minutes walking distance. The campsite is ok. You are close to the main road so you do hear traffic noise for most of the day, no pitches are really that far from the road so expect to hear the traffic.

Toilet and shower blocks are really good and kept clean. The staff Iíve spoken to are very helpful.

Two big negative points are the hard standing pitches do not drain very well, big pools of water everywhere, we even stored chairs under our van and they were soaked.

Secondly the site isnít really setup for self contained motor homes, there isnít any drive over drains for grey water nor is there anywhere to park up close to a fresh water tap so you can top up drinking water.

So unfortunately I wonít recommend this campsite for folks with motor homes. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Danparker17 2 reviews from this member

 Beautiful location however, lacked a little thought. We were put on a tiny pitch with a big Van and didnít have room for the Van, awning and the car even though dimensions were given on booking.

Opposite were two tiny Vans on massive pitches. We asked to swap with maybe a smaller arriving Van but were told we couldnít, and told to park the car elsewhere, didnít really want to be walking far from the car to the Van all of the time.

The facilities were fine however, werenít the cleanest towards the end of the day and werenít always kept on top of for the size of site. My wife said the womenís was always unclean and unkept on an evening. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gelert 1 review from this member

 Fantastic location. Appeared entirely in line with covid restrictions, ample supply of alcohol gel everywhere.

Easy to access walks with our dogs.

Road very close but didnít bother us.

Staff friendly especially the two wardens that directed us to our right plot later in the evening.

Overall 10/10 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ged68 2 reviews from this member

 Very well organised site at the waterís edge of Loch Lomond.

Helpful, knowledgeable staff, clean and modern facilities.

Only criticism would be the noise from the nearby main road but made up for by the view. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Zarya 8 reviews from this member

 Nicely presented site. Well laid out with great facilities. Hardstanding provision looked great, but the camp-field itself was boggy and muddy all over.

Very difficult to keep me, my equipment and my dog clean/dry. The camp=field is also directly alongside the A82 and traffic noise can be a problem early doors, and quite late into the evening.

Not a major issue if you're happy to use earplugs though 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Lyns 26 reviews from this member

 Super friendly staff, who despite the heavy rain took us personally to our pitch.

Many pitches are Loch side with amazing views and direct access for a paddle or to launch a canoe. We lit a small fire (in a fire pit we brought with us) on the beach area by our pitch.

Toilets and showers were clean and well stocked.

The small village is a 10 minute walk and has a nice little shop and a cafe/restaurant. The only disappointment for us was the road noise which was pretty loud and didn't ease much even into the night. Ear plugs helped, but that would deter us from staying again.

You will also need decent pegs as the ground is quite rocky and due to the site protecting the grass, you are unable to park your car next to your pitch 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Oxfordeagle 8 reviews from this member

 Bitterly disappointed and many there also expressed the same, indicating the site had gone downhill since the CCC moved out. Toilets were a disgrace as they were unable to cope with the number of people swelled by a small village of tents! No social distancing, cobwebs around the bottom of the cubicles and totally inadequate cleaning routines.

Pitches are on gravel - move off the gravel onto the grass and the site "staff" who patrol on bicycles are soon on top of you! Be warned. Too many trees blocking the sunshine and a long walk to the waste bins by the exit. No bins around the site. Only one chemical waste point which was broken when we left so had to queue in the gents to wait for one of the two toilet cubicles to come empty. The midges are everywhere so either smoke Senior Service untipped in large amounts or bring insect anti-repellant or be badly bitten like I was.

The view of the loch is in all honesty it's sole redeeming feature but checking competitor sites I think there are better ones in the vicinity but that in my view will not be hard. I won't be returning in a hurry. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Jonpweb 2 reviews from this member

 Wouldn't stop again, mainly because of the road noise. The tent area is very close to the road and it's very busy up until 9pm, so you generally have to raise your voice as the articulated lorries go past.

Quite a lot of tents packed in, which I suspect can overwhelm the facilities. The tent pitches are not as well maintained as the caravans (caravans are further from the road, levelled ground and unobstructed views).

As another review mentions, don't drive a wheel on the grass, or you'll think you've accidentally insulted the wardens.

The access to the Loch is very good and it's an easy walk into Luss. Also has excellent road links :). 


Previous     132 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Luss Caravan And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Luss Caravan And Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Luss Caravan And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Luss      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2684 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement