Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Dolbryn Caravan & Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Newcastle Emlyn > Dolbryn Caravan & Camping Reviews

Dolbryn Caravan & Camping
Capel Iwan Road
Newcastle Emlyn
Carmarthenshire   (Browse area)
SA38 9LP
Tel: 01239 710683
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 127 Reviews
                10/10 from 127 Reviews

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  127 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Ron2010 1 review from this member

 An absolutely great site especially with younger children. There is a safe playground area which all ages enjoyed, from 2 years to 14 years.

The family running the site are wonderful, nothing was too much trouble even when we asked to change one of the pitches to electric at short notice.

The pitch size is generous. The animal feeding was a great hit with the young ones. As was the children's craft sessions they arranged.

The local town has a couple of Co-oP size supermarkets and a couple of great cafe's.

There are also local pubs with great food within a ten minute drive.

The site is a hidden gem of West Wales and only 30 minutes from the sandy beach at Poppit Sands. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Johen 3 reviews from this member

 Great family holiday in a beautiful location. We received the very warmest of welcomes.

The family that run the site are always willing to help and make everyone Young or old feel that they part of any and every event.

The best use has been made of the old biuldings. Animals to watch and feed, a woodland walk, book sharing, she's that can be borrowed and board games in the bar.

Relaxing and fun place to stay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Schmoo27 1 review from this member

 A gem of a find for our first family camping trip! From the original enquiry through to the arrival and then departure, nothing was too much trouble for the wonderful team at Dolbryn (including the loaning of a number of essential items).

The campsite is in a great location, with all pitches well spaced out. The facilities were immaculate at all times, and seemed ample for the site. Everything has been thought of at Dolbryn, and if it hasn't been thought, you get the sense the team will do whatever they can to accommodate.

It’s obvious to see how much the family run team at Dolbryn put into making what a great site Dolbryn is, and we’ll be back in the future for sure! Highlights of the stay included the animal feeding (which was great as every child had an opportunity to feed the animals), the play park which our son spent most of every day in and making new friends, the barn bar and quiz night, and having the chickens pop by the tent every day for snacks!

Well done the team at Dolbryn – when a 7-yr old says camping at Dolbryn is better than any Haven resort he has been to, you know you’re onto a winner! Great to meet you all, and we’ll see you again soon! 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nisey J 1 review from this member

 Have just returned from Dolbryn where we were camping with our daughter and son in law. We were unlucky with the weather as it was wet, windy and not that warm. The warm welcome we were given, however, made up for this. This is very much a family affair, resulting in a well run and friendly site.

The facilities are good, we never had to queue for the showers and there is an electric socket in the ladies shower room for hair stylers. We visited the bar a couple of nights (handy as a pub would be quite a walk) it has a friendly atmosphere giving the place a community feel. The site was very quiet after 11. 00pm.

We had two dogs with us and it was great being able to exercise them off the lead in the designated area.

Finally we would like to say how much we like this part of Wales, Newcastle Emlyn is great and Cardigan is a gem. Plenty to see and do, we particularly enjoy walking the coastal path. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Delythjones 1 review from this member

 Wow! We have just come home after a fantastic short break at Dolbryn. The site itself is set in stunning surroundings but it's the wonderful atmosphere and the friendly owners Matthew, Sioned, Isla, Paul and Maggie who make this campsite a must for any camping enthusiast.

There are plenty of hidden treasures from beautiful walks to animal feeding and fishing on the lake where you can relax and recharge your batteries, spending quality time as a family.

There is plenty on site for all age groups. Sticky club for the little ones, fishing, walking, and not forgetting the barn pub where you can enjoy a relaxing drink at very reasonable prices.

There is also an on site shop, which stocks all your essentials and even homemade cake!

The toilets and shower blocks are spotlessly clean.

There is also a small games room to use if you have time!

But in all honesty it's the atmosphere of this campsite that makes it such a magical place, Dolbryn is a little treasure and we can't wait to go back! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lizgwynn 8 reviews from this member

 Just returned home after a wonderful weekend camping in Dolbryn near newcastle Emlyn cardigan as a family with 2 grandchildren aged 2 and 1yr. Old. The site was immaculately maintained and we were situated next to the play area, the 2 yr. Old spent most of the time in the sandpit on swing and slide which was great for the toddlers. The children also were involved in feeding the ducks rabbits and pigs every morning and the owners were very kind to them.

The toilet blocks, showers, even a family shower room equipped for both children and disabled with a wet room and changing mat was maintained to a very high standard. The water was always hot and no extra charge, there were also power points for hairdryer etc. The washing up room was also well maintained.

There was a games room for teenagers and a pub for adults with a play corner for the children.

The grounds were very natural but exceptionally clean and lovely walks around a lake and the bluebells were amazing. The site was dog friendly and our little terrier thoroughly enjoyed.

The campsite is located centrally and many interesting places and beaches can be reached within half an hour from there. We visited Poppit sands and Cenarth falls as well as the refurbished castle in Cardigan. We found an amazing cafe in Cardigan located across the road from the Castle which had excellent snacks and very good value. Even our small dog was welcome.

The weekend cost us 40pound and that included the hook up and we were allowed to use a small fan heater if needed in that so excellent value will definitely book again. Many thanks Liz gwynn 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MazArnold 1 review from this member

 This site has no faults at all. We came here because of the lovely reviews that we'd read and we were definitely not disappointed. The site has a very friendly feel to it, very personal, and we feel that this tone is set by the owners Bev and Dave.

All the families camping there were friendly, relaxed and mixed with each other. Our children immediately went off to play, especially in the afternoon or on an evening after all the families had come back from a day out. As soon as we got back the kids headed off out to find each other. Also all the families looked out for one another. We've never been to a site quite like it - really made our holiday.

The family led activities provided by the owners on designated days were another plus. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners, such as cleaning the toilet blocks around you. I could go on but needless to say we will be returning.

If you want to relax in beautiful countryside and like to mix with fellow campers then this is the site for you. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Aawallet 4 reviews from this member

 The term 'hidden gem' is often used, but I can say without question this is a hidden gem.

It is situated about 2 miles outside Newcastle Emlyn, access road is a bit narrow in places, but when you get there you will not be disappointed.

There are 3 fields with pitches, 2 of which have electrical hook ups. Mainly grass pitches, but my heavy Motorhome had no problems getting on or off.

Spectacular views across the welsh hills. Lovely walks in and around site. Dog friendly.

The toilet blocks are good and spotlessly clean with abundant hot water.

Within easy reach of several beautiful sandy beaches.

Well worth a visit, recommended. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HelenW22 4 reviews from this member

 What a lovely camp site. We really enjoyed our weekend here. It was the medieval weekend with lots of activities for all ages, from long bow to knight school. My children enjoyed flag painting and the bbq train! Birds of prey were also lovely to see and were able to stroke some of the owl's.

The campsite animals are a pleasure to see and feed, we were greeted every morning by the cat also. All the toilets and showers were excellent and always clean and tidy.

(We didn't leave the site so I can't comment on surrounding areas)

We loved the barn bar in the evenings and a nice walk to see the vineyard and pond. Its a lovely site and will be visiting again over the summer holidays hopefully.

Thanks for a fantastic weekend! :) 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Renejenkins 1 review from this member

 Just spent two days at dolbryns medieval weekend and had the most wonderful time. Haven't been camping for about thirty years, so was quite apprehensive. Needn't have worried!the facilities are excellent, toilets spotlessly clean water for whatever the use(pot washing or showering etc always HOT)Our hosts Dave and Bev give 110% and work so hard, but are always ready for a chat and nothing seems too much trouble. Oh, and their small bar, called The Old Barn is a delight. A hub of social activity in the evening. Anyway we will definitely be returning. 


Previous     127 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Dolbryn Caravan & Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Dolbryn Caravan & Camping?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Dolbryn Caravan & Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newcastle Emlyn      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Carmarthenshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3299 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement