Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Dolbryn Caravan & Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Newcastle Emlyn > Dolbryn Caravan & Camping Reviews

Dolbryn Caravan & Camping
Capel Iwan Road
Newcastle Emlyn
Carmarthenshire   (Browse area)
SA38 9LP
Tel: 01239 710683
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: March To 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 124 Reviews
                10/10 from 124 Reviews

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  124 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nisey J 1 review from this member

Have just returned from Dolbryn where we were camping with our daughter and son in law. We were unlucky with the weather as it was wet, windy and not that warm. The warm welcome we were given, however, made up for this. This is very much a family affair, resulting in a well run and friendly site. The facilities are good, we never had to queue for the showers and there is an electric socket in the ladies shower room for hair stylers. We visited the bar a couple of nights (handy as a pub would be quite a walk) it has a friendly atmosphere giving the place a community feel. The site was very quiet after 11. 00pm.

We had two dogs with us and it was great being able to exercise them off the lead in the designated area.

Finally we would like to say how much we like this part of Wales, Newcastle Emlyn is great and Cardigan is a gem. Plenty to see and do, we particu;arly enjoy walking the coastal path.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Delythjones 1 review from this member

Wow! We have just come home after a fantastic short break at Dolbryn. The site itself is set in stunning surroundings but it's the wonderful atmosphere and the friendly owners Matthew, Sioned, Isla, Paul and Maggie who make this campsite a must for any camping enthusiast.

There are plenty of hidden treasures from beautiful walks to animal feeding and fishing on the lake where you can relax and recharge your batteries, spending quality time as a family.

There is plenty on site for all age groups. Sticky club for the little ones, fishing, walking, and not forgetting the barn pub where you can enjoy a relaxing drink at very reasonable prices.

There is also an on site shop, which stocks all your essentials and even homemade cake!

The toilets and shower blocks are spotlessly clean.

There is also a small games room to use if you have time!

But in all honesty it's the atmosphere of this campsite that makes it such a magical place, Dolbryn is a little treasure and we can't wait to go back!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lizgwynn 8 reviews from this member

Just returned home after a wonderful weekend camping in Dolbryn near newcastle Emlyn cardigan as a family with 2 grandchildren aged 2 and 1yr. Old. The site was immaculately maintained and we were situated next to the play area, the 2 yr. Old spent most of the time in the sandpit on swing and slide which was great for the toddlers. The children also were involved in feeding the ducks rabbits and pigs every morning and the owners were very kind to them.

The toilet blocks, showers, even a family shower room equipped for both children and disabled with a wet room and changing mat was maintained to a very high standard. The water was always hot and no extra charge, there were also power points for hairdryer etc. The washing up room was also well maintained.

There was a games room for teenagers and a pub for adults with a play corner for the children.

The grounds were very natural but exceptionally clean and lovely walks around a lake and the bluebells were amazing. The site was dog friendly and our little terrier thoroughly enjoyed.

The campsite is located centrally and many interesting places and beaches can be reached within half an hour from there. We visited Poppit sands and Cenarth falls as well as the refurbished castle in Cardigan. We found an amazing cafe in Cardigan located across the road from the Castle which had excellent snacks and very good value. Even our small dog was welcome.

The weekend cost us 40pound and that included the hook up and we were allowed to use a small fan heater if needed in that so excellent value will definitely book again. Many thanks Liz gwynn

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MazArnold 1 review from this member

This site has no faults at all. We came here because of the lovely reviews that we'd read and we were definitely not disappointed. The site has a very friendly feel to it, very personal, and we feel that this tone is set by the owners Bev and Dave.

All the families camping there were friendly, relaxed and mixed with each other. Our children immediately went off to play, especially in the afternoon or on an evening after all the families had come back from a day out. As soon as we got back the kids headed off out to find each other. Also all the families looked out for one another. We've never been to a site quite like it - really made our holiday.

The family led activities provided by the owners on designated days were another plus. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners, such as cleaning the toilet blocks around you. I could go on but needless to say we will be returning.

If you want to relax in beautiful countryside and like to mix with fellow campers then this is the site for you.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Aawallet 4 reviews from this member

The term 'hidden gem' is often used, but I can say without question this is a hidden gem.

It is situated about 2 miles outside Newcastle Emlyn, access road is a bit narrow in places, but when you get there you will not be disappointed.

There are 3 fields with pitches, 2 of which have electrical hook ups. Mainly grass pitches, but my heavy Motorhome had no problems getting on or off.

Spectacular views across the welsh hills. Lovely walks in and around site. Dog friendly.

The toilet blocks are good and spotlessly clean with abundant hot water.

Within easy reach of several beautiful sandy beaches.

Well worth a visit, recommended.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: HelenW22 4 reviews from this member

What a lovely camp site. We really enjoyed our weekend here. It was the medieval weekend with lots of activities for all ages, from long bow to knight school. My children enjoyed flag painting and the bbq train! Birds of prey were also lovely to see and were able to stroke some of the owl's.

The campsite animals are a pleasure to see and feed, we were greeted every morning by the cat also. All the toilets and showers were excellent and always clean and tidy.

(We didn't leave the site so I can't comment on surrounding areas)

We loved the barn bar in the evenings and a nice walk to see the vineyard and pond. Its a lovely site and will be visiting again over the summer holidays hopefully.

Thanks for a fantastic weekend! :)

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Renejenkins 1 review from this member

Just spent two days at dolbryns medieval weekend and had the most wonderful time. Haven't been camping for about thirty years, so was quite apprehensive. Needn't have worried!the facilities are excellent, toilets spotlessly clean water for whatever the use(pot washing or showering etc always HOT)Our hosts Dave and Bev give 110% and work so hard, but are always ready for a chat and nothing seems too much trouble. Oh, and their small bar, called The Old Barn is a delight. A hub of social activity in the evening. Anyway we will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Paula121065 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a fantastic family weekend at Dolbryn with our 3 children & 2 grandchildren in a mix of caravan, motor home and tents. The owner, Dave, was so friendly & helpful & let us have the pick of pitches in The Pines field. We had 4 units in total and he ensured we were all together, each pitch was huge! We were next to the park which was ideal for us with our 2 grandsons aged 7 & 10. The park is also home to chickens, rabbits and guinea pigs and Dave would feed them every morning at 9 with a group of children helping out! The site is absolutely beautiful, with lovely hidden walks and secret hideaways. There is a fishing lake which we spent a good few hours at, we didn't bring any equipment but we could hire them for 2 a day. We caught 10 fish between us, the kids thought the fishing was brilliant! We also visited the Mountain View field where we played football and cricket and flew some kites. There are also a few friendly pigs and a goat near this field. The bar, which is in the old barn, was great, very quirky and so cheap (2. 40 for 2 glasses of decent wine!), it's really not worth taking your own, bar is only open Friday & Saturday out of season though. The showers & toilets are immaculate and seemed to be cleaned several times a day. The showers are hot and powerful too. There is a 'teen room' with table football and a small pool table. Children are allowed in the bar and it is stocked with books and board games. On the Saturday, Dave invited the guests to the bar area where he was having a bbq for his mother's birthday, unfortunately we had already booked a meal at The Bunch of Grapes in Newcastle Emlyn (worth a visit, the food is very good) but on returning we visited the bar for a drink and really enjoyed. We loved it so much we stayed an extra day and will definitely return!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kasmith123 4 reviews from this member

Can reiterate the phrase hidden gem, having been here a few times I can say we always have a brilliant time.

Hidden away in rural Wales this site is just idyllic, Dave and Bev are two of the nicest people and nothing is too much trouble for them.

The site itself is open and spacious with two separate fields one for families and one for those who prefer a quieter life. The facilities are always immaculate and the little bar is just a perfect way to end the day.

Bev does daily feeding of the animals with the children and is conscious of making sure everyone is involved, they also run various activities for the children while we were there they included raft making and floating on the fishing lake, a teddy bears picnic, quiz night and bingo.

Some lovely places to go and see while you're there we recommend Caws cheese umm delicious, Mwnt and Cenarth falls, but to be honest chilling out and letting the kids be children building dens, dams and exploring is the best holiday.

Newcastle Emlyn town has all you need regarding shops and eateries and only 2 mins drive down the road.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bob the baker 1 review from this member

A lovely quiet family campsite in a beautiful part of the country, no road noise or light pollution. The owners, Bev and Dave, are nice and relaxed and made us feel welcome and comfortable.

The old stone farm buildings have been nicely converted to house the toilets/showers etc which makes a pleasant change from the usual concrete blocks. There is a separate and spacious 'family room' containing a toilet, changing table and shower to make life a bit easier. Depending on the pitch you have, you could be some distance from the toilet block, which is at the bottom of the site, so worth considering if you have small ones. The pitches themselves were nice, very little slope and not too rocky and very reasonably priced.

There is a good playground and plenty of space to run around, kick balls etc. , woods and streams to explore and the various farm and domestic animals were definitely a big hit with the kids, unfortunately I didn't take my fishing gear so we didn't try out the on site fishing (but will do next time).

Newcastle Emlyn should have everything you need to keep you going and there are plenty of coastal, river and woodland walks, beaches and castles nearby. If the weather does turn awful, Tenby's Folly Farm, Bluestone and Swansea's LC2 are only just over an hour away or if you just fancy some thrills, Oakwood is under an hour's drive.

We booked a return visit before we left and I have recccomended the site to a few friends

Previous     124 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Carmarthenshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3411 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019