Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Newbiggin Farm Certificated Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Newbiggin Farm Certificated Site
Waberthwaite
(lake District)
Millom
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA19 5YQ
Tel: 07800 751982  or  01229 717349
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 5 vans plus tents
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 39 Reviews
                9/10 from 39 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <10 miles   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Leenlola 1 review from this member

Once again Lola and myself had an amazing two weeks here. This is our fifth year returning and will do so for many more. The hospitality shown by a very busy family (it is a working farm) is always second to none. Colin and his Dad Bill are always there for a chat and advise on local events. Alison (Colin's wife) on the bank holiday weekend makes the most amazing meat pies/cakes to raise funds for the local church. We could live on these! It is a really well kept site with all you need for a relaxing stay. If you want a swimming pool, club house and arcades this is not for you. If you want a tranquil site with Scafell as a backdrop then this is my #1 choice. Lee

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Scojac 3 reviews from this member

Just left this little Gem this morning after a 5 night stay. We have stayed here quite a few times, that many I cant remember. Colin is a lovely man and very helpful. He always makes us feel welcome. He lent us a cable has ours wasn't long enough. The field itself is well drained ( although in this heat that doesn't matter) with a gentle slope. It is a short walk round the corner to the toilets/showers, but beautiful scenery along a farm lane, which Colin keeps very clean, so fine wearing flip flops ! Its 20p for 3 mins in the shower, which are kept clean, although I think we have Colins wife to thank for that one ! There is even a hairdrier which I think is 20p as well, I havent used that. The scenery is beautiful and the sunsets are to die for. If you like peace and quiet with the odd chat with Colin and his Dad, also a lovely man, plus the visiting cows on the other side of the fence then you will love it here. There is a pub a short drive away that does meals but we still haven't been in so cant give a verdict but a fellow comper said it was lovely. We will be back again soon

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chris5mph 29 reviews from this member

Squeezed between the Lake District and the coast, the site is a triangular field next to the farmyard that is just big enough for five units. Not a manicured site but a farm field with EHU (you may want a long lead but the owner has some spares), water and CDP, overlooking the tidal Esk estuary and with splendid views of the hills (when not clouded). The nearby railway line carries only occasional trains between breakfast and bed time and the shooting range only tests artillery, so just an occasional 'wump' on weekday mornings. The owners are friendly and helpful and the site has easy access to coastal, lake and hill attractions. Bacon, sausages and other meat from the village butcher are worth the trip on their own and the shop is a nostalgic delight - just like I used to visit with my mother in the 1950's! We did not use the shower or toilet by the farmhouse, but others on site seemed to have no problem with them.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SamAdd 3 reviews from this member

Small site with amazing views. Good, basic facilities. Warm showers. Clean toilets and facilities. Friendly owners. Stream for kids to play in. Dogs welcome. Lovely place to away from it all. Nice and flat for tents!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gailbonney 26 reviews from this member

Return visit to this wonderful site. Nothing has changed, still friendly warm welcome from Colin, Alison and dad. Bess still grinning if a little long in tooth. Facilities as were. Still my favourite site in UK, so peaceful and relaxed/ing will be back again soon.

Tescos in Millom ok but its not a big store, need Whitehaven for that. Nice walk around the waterfront area of Whitehaven. Lovely, deserted beach at Haverigg. Great for the dogs!

Husband and son did Go Ape at Grisedale and said it was an enjoyable course.

Oh and there's a new pup, Nellie, who is adorable!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Frogsie 12 reviews from this member

Second visit here and second review. Nothing changed about this gem of a site that's why we came back. Facilities remain the same, functional, clean and well presented whilst Colin, Bill and Alison (oh and Bess the collie!)are just so friendly and accommodating whilst running a busy dairy farm too. Won rosettes for the most friendly welcome from CCC members two years running and well deserved too. If you like your camping uncomplicated and basic is good enough you'll love it. Stunning views nice walks peace and quiet. Bliss. We'll be back !

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lezlibean 2 reviews from this member

Absolutely lovely site, perfect for real peace and a great base for exploring. It is a working farm yet the very busy farmer/site owner was always friendly and willing to stop his work to give directions/ advice etc. The facilities were kept in tip-top condition - no mean feat on a working farm. Highly recommend this little gem of a place.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Frogsie 12 reviews from this member

This site has been nominated as the most friendly by the CCC and we now know why. The facilities are just as listed and kept well. There are two fields, one for tents and the other for 'vans but we asked to be on the tent site with our van and Colin the owner was very obliging. He let us get set up and then brought us a fistful of leaflets about the local area. This site is a working dairy farm which Colin runs with his dad (and Bess the collie!)but they were always on hand if we needed anything and always smiling and happy to help. We stayed for 6 nights and can't wait to go back; We were 2 adults 2 dogs, campervan with awning and EHU all for ten pounds a night, Colin even gave us a refund as he said we'd overpaid once he'd done his sums!. What excellent value and all done with a smile. Colin, dad and Bess even waved us off when we left, truly genuine people making your stay really special. That's why they've won rosettes for 'most friendly site'.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Si26 2 reviews from this member

I wanted to leave a review of this site from our most recent trip. We arrived at the farm in the afternoon and received a warm welcome from the owner. After he had explained all the facilities he left us to unpack and pitch the tent. The field was clean, recently mown and had a power hook up, washing up sink with tap and plug, a chemical toilet waste facility and drinking water tap. We found these to be extremely convenient, clean and well kept.

The toilet and shower facility is in the farm courtyard and while basic, were clean and had everything we needed. The owner checked on us throughout the week periodically to make sure we were ok and had everything we needed. He was always laid-back and helpful and never bothersome. We spoke to others who were on the site and they had been coming for years, sometimes weekend after weekend all summer long because the facility was so convenient, low cost and the owner was so welcoming and helpful.

The farm is relatively remote but the nearby town (about 3-4 miles) has a Tesco etc. And so you don't have to go too far to find anything you might need.

Overall, we were extremely happy with the trip and will be going back again in the near future!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Samii-h 2 reviews from this member

Just had to leave a review for this lovely site as it is a true gem. We were visiting friends who have just moved to the area and as its a 2 and a half hour drive from home we decided to camp the night in our VW Campervan with our 2 year old daughter.

The site was very easy to find and well signed. After parking up at the gate we were greeted by the owner who couldn't have been nicer if he tried. A genuinely nice and very helpful chap who helped us find a suitable spot for our camper and awning. Upon unpacking we realised we had left the pegs for our awning and he very kindly lent us some.

We were in the field next to the farm which was small and well enclosed (I wasn't worried about my toddler escaping). There were 3 caravans already pitched up with awnings and plenty of space between. There is a field across the road which he uses but, as it wasn't very busy, it wasn't being used. No one else turned up so we had one half of the field to ourselves. We did book for electric hook up, which are down the one side in this field (I cant comment on the other field) along the wall, our cable didn't reach from where we had pitched (its tiny) and the owner offered to lend us an extension, but after a bit of head scratching from my husband we decided we were ok without the EHU (we only use it for a heater) and he gave us a refund for the EHU - never had that before as the campsites we have been to take it regardless of whether you use it or not. There was a tap in the corner of the field with drinking water.

The field was nice and flat and the view was beautiful over the estuary which made for a gorgeous sunset.

The toilet and shower facilities were located within the farm courtyard and were very clean. It does appear from the sign on the door that the facilities are uni-sex but when you enter there are 3 cubicles containing toilet, sink and shower so its all perfectly private.

Please be aware that this site is basic, something that never bothers us but may others. There is no playground for children and it is a working farm so I made sure my daughter didn't run around the courtyard as there is farm machinery within. She absolutely loved seeing all the cows though.

There is plenty to do off site, you are spoilt for choice on where to walk, either inland or the beach and you are a very short drive away from all the Lake District attractions.

There is a pub a mile down the road in Waberthwaite called The Brown Cow which I recommend to anyone. It serves the most amazing locally sourced food and is reasonably priced. They also serve lots of real ales which my husband loved sampling. The pub is both child and dog friendly with a lovely atmosphere which can be credited to the landlord, staff and locals. If you are camping without children at a weekend the pub has a reputation for excellent entertainment on a saturday night offering live bands on most weekends. They have a beer festival twice a year for which, we were told, people travel from miles around to sample the ales and cider. We shall be getting a babysitter and returning for one of these.

The nearest shop is in bootle which is around a five minute drive and if you travel a little further down the road to Millom they have a Tesco supermarket.

We can't wait to return.

Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2647 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019