Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Dunstan Hill Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Site Reviews

Dunstan Hill Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Dunstan
Alnwick
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE66 3TQ
Tel: 01665 576310
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 01/04 to 03/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 122 Reviews
                9/10 from 122 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  122 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MalcolmR 33 reviews from this member

Had a lovely time, the Wardens were quite helpful and always available for advice. The site was much larger than we normally choose and had a hard standing pitch for our caravan. Most of the other folk using the site were very friendly and helpful and very quiet, but did notice at the weekend it became much noisier due to the families with kids. That is to be expected as it was time to have family joy and fun, but did go on a bit beyond 10pm. The location was very good indeed to visit the castles and beaches in the area, so many local walks too. The facilities were as usual, a high standard of cleanliness, and always a shower or 'throne' was available. The ground was firm but easy to peg out, TV reception was not that good. Dog walkers paradise plenty of lovely walks. For shopping supermarkets etc Alnwich was within easy reach. Local pubs and garage very friendly service. Great base to explore the area, would certainly return but in the mid season, can be busy with kids and families enjoying themselves.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mischka 47 reviews from this member

We have just spent another enjoyable week on this site. The best thing is its location, with a 20 minute walk down to the fabulous beach, although you cannot see the sea from the site.

This site is hugely popular with dog owners, almost every unit had 2 or 3 dogs, so inevitably there was quite a lot of barking and yapping as people walked their dogs past other dogs.

The toilet blocks were always spotless, and the advantage of there being 2 blocks is that when one is shut for cleaning, the other one is open. The staff were very friendly. There is a fish and chip van which visits Friday nights.

I recommend a boat trip from Seahouses to see puffins, seals and if you are very lucky, dolphins (discount vouchers for Billy Shiels trips are available in the site office).

I also recommend a walk along the coastal path from the site to Craster, past Dunstanburgh Castle, or in the other direction up to the Ship pub at Low Newton.

The golf club house at Embleton is also very handy from the beach, they sell things like bacon rolls and ice creams to non-golfers!

Slate Hall horse riding stables in North Sunderland is great, they do a fabulous ride on Bamburgh beach (for experienced riders only). There are other rides available.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cathy Sims 28 reviews from this member

Very nice site with good facilities. All well maintained and kept very clean. Staff all friendly and helpful. I enjoyed the Swallows who had nested in the washing up area. Never seen a swallow so close.

20 minute walk down to Embleton bay which is stunning. Once there we chose to walk to Craster one day, the Ship at Low Newton another day and also explored Dunstanburgh Castle. Stunning views and nesting seabirds.

We found plenty to do and enjoy but knew there was a good bus service from outside the site. The lanes are narrow so would have used this in preference to taking the motorhome out

We are talking of when we can go back

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gailbonney 26 reviews from this member

A very well appointed, clean and tidy site which is surrounded by lovely countryside. The wardens keep the place immaculate. We were on hardstanding towards back of site so used that toilet block (there are 2)always warm, clean and plenty of toilet tissues. Our pitch was on the perimeter of the site, wouldn't have wanted to be in middle as it looked a little cramped and chaotic. Wi fi patchy and cost 10 for 7 days, 3. 5g allowance. TV reception good.

Nice play area and ball area for children and even older ones were able to hang out there. Our son made friends quickly (not usually able to do this)

Walk to beach easy and enjoyable stroll (20-25 mins)Beach empty and lovely and sandy. Our girls (dogs) loved it! Nice walk to Dunstanborough Castle, shrouded in mist when we went. Craster - okay but not much there and pub and coffee shop take advantage of that (in my opinion)

Lots to do around area- esp for us history nerds! Finally got to Sycamore Gap (from Robin Hood, Prince of Thieves - and first film I saw with OH!)

Would happily return to site and area.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LBBK 39 reviews from this member

This is a standard Camping & Caravan Club site - a large field with a circular tarmac road. Two modern clean toilet blocks. There is shelter from the wind on some pitches but if you are in the central field it is potentially quite exposed. Reception sells basics with papers to order. The wifi was unusable on our pitch but maybe we were unlucky? There is a playground and small football field but many children were quite happy going around the tarmac road on their scooters and bikes!

Friendly welcome. Lots of families and dogs (some better behaved than others) on site. Also a higher percentage of tents than many sites.

The undoubted attraction of this site is the beach. A 20 min walk on footpaths. You may need walking boots or wellies after heavy rain. Dunstanburgh Castle looks stunning (5 for adults, free for Eng Her or Nat Tr members).

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mischka 47 reviews from this member

We have just spent another enjoyable week on this site. The best thing is its location, with a 20 minute walk down to the fabulous beach, although you cannot see the sea from the site.

This site is hugely popular with dog owners, almost every unit had 2 or 3 dogs, so inevitably there was quite a lot of barking and yapping as people walked their dogs past other dogs.

The toilet blocks were always spotless and the staff were very friendly. The fish and chip van has returned, visiting Friday nights.

Must dos are a boat trip from Seahouses to see puffins, seals and if you are very lucky, dolphins and walk along the coastal path from the site to Craster, past Dunstanburgh Castle. Slate Hall horse riding stables in North Sunderland is great, they do a fabulous 2 hour ride on Bamburgh beach (for experienced riders only). There are other rides available.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Iggyg 5 reviews from this member

Very nice campsite and really good base for some of the surrounding areas best features. The toilet block is excellent and there is a park for small children. It has a little more people on it than I would normally like but the grounds are well maintained and it is calm after 9pm. The only issue I have is that one or two of the staff were a bit rude and picky. However not to the point where we would have not returned. Nice walk down to the beach which is good on a night to watch the stars over Dunstanburgh Castle.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Multitaskhome 2 reviews from this member

First class site. Standard of showers / toilets some of the best we have experienced. Wardens first class on a busy first day of the season. Wonderful location on the Northumberland coast with lots of walking direct from the site. We are from the area and know it well. In our opinion the best site in the area. Don't miss out if you visit Northumberland!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dens 5 reviews from this member

From the moment we first phoned to enquire to the moment we left at the end of our stay, we were very, very impressed with the friendliness, helpfulness, the information and standard of this campsite.

We wanted to stay for one night, then store our motorhome for 5 nights while we cycled, then back for three nights. It was all sorted and booked efficiently so we looked forward to our visit. We weren't disappointed. Sheena, Bob and their staff were wonderful - nothing was too much trouble. The toilets and showers were always clean and we didn't have to queue, even when the site was busy on both weekends. The view over the fields was lovely and we enjoyed watching the harvesting. The local pub, Greys Inn at Embleton was a gorgeous walk across fields: the pub was buzzing with a great atmosphere. The walk to Dunstanburgh Castle was stunning. We had lovely lunches at both The Jolly Fisherman as well as the Shoreline cafe at Craster.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cjuk 1 review from this member

Had a weeks stay here last August to give our new tent a run out and enjoyed it very much. The site is kept clean and tidy with very helpful staff. Facilities are clean with nice showers and there are good washing up sinks for the campers to use. Childrens playground and playing area is located at the bottom of the site. We had some strong storms at the beginning of the week and so were grateful for the trees that are around the site. The site is quiet, not in a bad way, in a good way, its not near a busy road or anything which we liked. Our children enjoyed it as well. I would certainly come back here again!

Previous     122 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2604 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019