Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Woods Caravan Park ( C A M C Affiliated)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Site Reviews

The Woods Caravan Park ( C A M C Affiliated)
Diverswell Farm
Fishcross
Alloa
Stirlingshire   (Browse area)
FK10 3AN
Tel: 01259 762802
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 109
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 65 Reviews
                8/10 from 65 Reviews

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  65 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: January 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Smart Family 41 reviews from this member

Another great stay at the Woods.

My wife and I stayed 4 nights with our dog in January.

The reception was friendly and welcoming at the new Reception Block. We were given the pick of pitches, we wanted a pitch on the lower field facing the hills and found a nice one that suited us. The main toilet block was the only one open which was immaculate as before and I was glad to see that the dishwashing area was open, which was not last year at the same time. The site had expanded a bit with new pitches and new lodges. The only slight downside was The toilet block was closed for about 2 hours, with no alternative but to use the one in our Motorhome. Most sites we go to leave the disabled toilet till last, leaving it available for use.

There area many nice dog walks available from the site. We walked the Devon Way, along the old railway to Dollar, where there were nice cafes and shops. This also passed the Sterling Mills Shopping Outlet at Tillicoultry. Also the wonderful Gartmorn Dam walk. We will look forward to returning to this site.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Oldpapa 2 reviews from this member

Very pleased with this site and staff. Nice clean toilets and staff very warm and welcoming. Top of the site best for us as we don't have a dog now, if the kids were in tow we would go near play area. Did try the Woodsman and it was very nice also The Juniper bar meals were worth the small car drive to get there top chef and bar staff. Fish and chips in box at Golden Fry Alva very nice. Will call back soon

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Julie100865 4 reviews from this member

We booked ahead for 3 nights at The Woods, after reading the excellent reviews on this website. We knew it was predominantly a caravan/touring site, and have stayed at similar in the past. On this occasion we were the only tent so had a choice of pitches.

My husband went into the sparkling new reception building to check in and collect the car barrier access fob (I was trapped under rucksacks in the car!) and told me the reception staff were friendly, though they very much reinforced the 5mph speed limit several times so it was clearly important. We duly stuck to this throughout or stay, though many others didn't, including an employee chap driving a small vehicle and trailer to collect refuse bags around the site, which we felt set a bad example.

From entering the site, there are signs warning people to keep off the grass, which I have never seen before in a camping area, and found a little curious, especially as there were some picnic tables on the same grassed area. It made the site feel a little regimented as a first impression.

The roadways are covered in a loose, dusty grey hardcore material, and do not enhance the look of the site. I understand that a lot of building is going on (more lodges still being added) bit it did feel a little Ďmuckyí.

We elected to go to the bottom field, with the best view of the hills (beautiful!) and pitched up. We went to eat at The Woodsman restaurant which was outstanding, with excellent quality food and friendly, attentive but unobtrusive service!

We left and came back to the site around 7:45pm, where we found two Swiss couples in a motorhome desperately trying to find someone to help as they had driven from Switzerland and wanted to check in, but reception closes at 6pm, which is the earliest I have come across in many ears of camping (admittedly we donít often go to sited mainly aimed at caravanning). I felt very sorry for them.

When we returned to our tent, there were a few people walking their dogs on the tent field and it quickly became clear from talking to one gentleman that this space had once been the dog exercise area, with pathways cut into longer grass, but now all the grass was cut short so it was not clear where the tent area ended and the dog toilet began. This was a little unpleasant, even for a dog lover like me. Essentially, all the time we were at the tent, we were seeing dogsí toilet activities. It would be lovely to have a solid barrier between the areas to define them properly and make all users feel more comfortable.

The facilities block nearest to the bottom field was very clean indeed, with push button showers which are free. Personally I would have preferred not to have piped music from Heart Radio in there 24 hours a day, but I suspect Iím in a minority. There was also plenty of hot water at the washing up facility, always a plus.

All the people we met during our stay were very friendly and seemed very happy with their stay, many of them having visited the site for many years.

We spent the first full day out visiting The Kelpies (my favourite public artwork in the UK) and exploring around North Queensferry and the bridges (stunning!).

Sadly the weather forecast for the next day was for severe rain and possibly flooding in the area so we decided that evening to leave the next day and forego our third night. We packed up the next morning and left, feeling underwhelmed by our experience of the site, to visit family in Falkirk before heading home, and although itís hard to put my finger on why, I donít feel drawn to return to this site.

Date of Visit: January 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Smart Family 41 reviews from this member

My wife and I travelled to this campsite for 3 nights at the end of January. The reception was friendly and welcoming. The Reception is currently in a Portacabin and a new reception block is being built apparently due to a fire in the old one. We checked in and were invited to select any pitch. The site is very large and we selected a pitch in the lower field with stunning views of the Ochil Hills. The pitches in general were very large, hardstanding and despite the lower field being on a slope all the pitches were level. There were 2 toilet blocks but the one in the lower field was closed for the season. The main toilet block was very well appointed with probably the best showers I have seen. The external dish wash areas in both blocks were closed for the winter leaving only the one laundry sink for dishwashing which was inadequate. A site open all year should have a better all weather dishwashing facility. There was plenty service areas and good gravel roads around the site. We have a dog so nearby there is the Devonside way path a disused railway, perfect and safe for walking, also Gartmorn Dam Country park which is well worth a visit. Also for more adventurous walks the Ochil Hills. A short walk along the Devonside Way takes you to Sterling Mills Outlet Village where there are numerous shops a large Costa and cafe bakery. A good well run site with stunning scenery, we will return.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Big Scott 10 reviews from this member

Beautiful clean site, we were lucky when we arrived that on of the pitches facing the OCHIL HILLS had just became vacant. I put the van in nose first and woke up to a fantastic view every morning.

There is a dog walk on site, to be fair it was only used at night for bedtime pee, as my Lab loves walking this was just too short, but the walks from the site along the river and cycle paths were great.

There is a restaurant at the site entrance, which we used one afternoon, where we sat outside with the dog, and as it was the wife's birthday we had a meal at night with friends who live locally, who, had never used The Restaurant. But since then have used it many times.

The staff were friendly and helpful, and they keep it clean and tidy,

We even phoned the brother in law who came up with his tent and we all stayed extra nights

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mike13 5 reviews from this member

Stayed here for one night en-route to somewhere else, wished it had been more, can find no faults here, staff were excellent, especially in the on-site restaurant, toilet facilities were 10/10, a site I would happily return to!

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DundeeIan 11 reviews from this member

Had a short stay at this excellent site. We were on a large fully serviced pitch near the first toilet block. The toilets were immaculate and looked new. The showers are NOT push button and cubicles were nicely sized. A nice little shop and the Woodsman restaurant is adjacent. Plenty to see and do for our short stay and had a bike ride along the Devon way path.

Overall an excellent visit and we will be back.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Navigator43 6 reviews from this member

Beautiful location with views of the hills from all pitches.

The staff welcomed us warmly and were extremely helpful and accommodating, especially when we said this was our first caravan trip after a break of about 28 years!

The facilities were excellent; toilet block was immaculate, fresh, clean and had recently won several 'Loo of the Year' Awards.

Unfortunately, we only had two nights there but enjoyed our dinners at The Woodsman Restaurant located at the entrance to the site. The food was excellent and prices good in this very attractive family run Restaurant. The staff were very pleasant and attentive. Booking is strongly recommended as it is so popular!

Overall it was great two days and we shall definitely return for a longer stay.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Little Freedom 4 reviews from this member

This was a lovely site with spectacular views of the Ochil hills. Very central for loads of places and things to see. The pitches are huge so make sure you have the maximum length of cable otherwise you could struggle to reach the hook-up points, the part time warden was extremely helpful and loaned us a longer cable when ours didn't reach, first class service to be applauded.

The new toilet block was first class with plenty of hot water and free hairdryers. Like most sites it would be beneficial to collect the grass cuttings instead of letting them lie as it makes a mess of the toilets when you bring the grass in on your feet. The Woodsman restaurant on site is worth a visit as the quality of the food is excellent and good value (We went there twice!)

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Arnieinfens 2 reviews from this member

First time out in motor home and we were very pleased to have picked this site as a bench mark for the future.

Yes, the toilet blocks could do with a wipe over to de-cobweb the corners and improve presentation but overall everything had been done to make our stay a good one.

Food on site, gas available, map of area and transport information on hand.

Good pitches and hook-ups conveniently positioned also included TV outlet.

Will not hesitate to use again.

Previous     65 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Stirlingshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1020 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019