Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Woods Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Clackmannanshire > Alloa > The Woods Caravan Park Reviews

The Woods Caravan Park
Diverswell Farm
Fishcross
Alloa
Clackmannanshire   (Browse area)
FK10 3AN
Tel: 01259 762802  or  07584127826
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 109
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 90 Reviews
                9/10 from 90 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  90 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Carolm 1 review from this member

 Immaculate, spotless camp including shower block - first class.

Restaurant/bar on site - lovely (run separately)

A separate area for boys to have space to kick their ball about would have been better. 


Date of Visit: March 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Murpherret 6 reviews from this member

 First visit to this convenient site in central Scotland.

We were warned on arrival that there was a party on the lower field and we saw the marquees but we pitched in the upper field and were not disturbed.

Visited the on-site restaurant, which I would recommend. 


Date of Visit: November 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Smart Family 68 reviews from this member

 Another great stay at The Woods. We try to come here at least once a year for the great local walks.

The site was up to its usual great standard. Toilet block always immaculate, great showers.

A great safe 4 Mike walk to Dollar along the Devonside way. A 20 minute walk along the old railway line takes you to Sterling Mills retail park.

25 minutes walk the the other way takes you to the centre of Alloa for shops and cafes.

We didn't use the restaurant on site but it looked good.

We'll be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fat - Daddy 3 reviews from this member

 We have a "Boot Jump Micro Camper" with a Driveaway Awning using an Electric Hook Up -

I Wish I could praise this site more than 10 out of 10 -

The site staff allocated a Hard Standing for our short stay -

The site is a combination of Flat Pitches and Lodge/Chalet accommodation

During our weekend the site was occupied with mostly Motorhomes and Touring Caravans -

There are two toilet blocks - Easily the most luxurious shower / toilet blocks we have experienced -

Very Helpful and attentive staff -

Definitely on the list for a return visit 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Fiona W 198 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed our midweek break here in Clackmannanshire and will be back, as the site is open over winter and it suited so well for local (dog) walks and buses. Easy online booking, pitches more expensive for non CAMC members.

Warm welcome, shown where things are on a map. I was also given a map showing the local walks - dog's comfort breaks on site, or cross the main road & pass Sauchie Tower to reach the Devon Way in a few minutes (former railway, for much longer walks to Alloa in one direction, to 'Tilly' and Dollar in the other).

For sun all day, I was advised to go to the far end, to the lower field - glorious views north to the Ochil Hills from generous level pitches terraced nicely into a slope, and very quiet. Free wi-fi, but too weak to be useful.

The site is immaculate: bins emptied several times a day (a recycling bin in the lower field for bottles would stop these going to landfill); toilets spotless & heated, good showers, with local radio playing.

20 min walk to the bus stops in Fishcross - to Alloa, or Stirling, or every 2 hours to Dollar (Dollar Glen is a pleasant walk up to castle Campbell NTS, but it's currently closed due to Covid. )

There are 2 toilet blocks, one by the lower field and a bigger one beside the MH service point. Contrary to other reviews citing overpowering sewage smells at the bigger block, we only noticed a very faint whiff close to the CDP on just the one morning, when lots of units were emptying waste prior to leaving the site. It didn't last and I haven't marked the site down for it. Indeed, there are seasonal pitches close by, so it can't be that bad.

A Wood fired Pizza van comes on site on Thursday evenings. The restaurant at the site entrance seemed popular, judging by the number of cars parked outside in the evening. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sarah.f 1 review from this member

 A ovely warm welcome by the reception staff

This site is a bit more than what we usually pay, but itís not our typical site of back to basics so this was a nice change for us and surprisingly quiet for its size and amenities

We were visiting family in Clackmannan

Were given a map with empty pitches to choose from

Stayed on the lower field

Shop on site for basic needs

Restaurant on site too didnít get chance to try it out but will next time

Pitches were a pretty decent size

The views over the Ochil Hills were absolutely stunning 🤩 we sat for a while watching the paragliders flying over them

The site was immaculate

Toilet block/shower was spotless

Didnít realise that we were near to HMP Glenochil, Iím sure we could see it from the site, however we added that to our little bit of research about the local area and its long stay residents

If you an Outlander fan there are plenty of places to visit my favourite being Culross approx 20 min drive away such a beautiful village which is owned by the National Trust

Would we stay here again yes definitely, we travelled without children but it would be great place for kids having seen a nice play area for them 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jgtod4 1 review from this member

 Lovely site with picturesque views of the hills. Shower block nice and clean.

Well kept site with nice restaurant on site with very friendly staff.

Only thing we could fault was the smell from outside the shower block which was overpowering at times. Luckily we werenít camped next to it. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pineri 1 review from this member

 I would give this site a 5 star rating without hesitation.

From the first moment we arrived we were made very welcomed

The pitches were nice and big and well maintained.

The toilet blocks were 5 star even they had tv installed.

Even for motorhomes the facilities were 5 star.

As you drive into the site there is a lovely bar / restaurant

I am sorry I could not give this site not even one negative

This was our first visit to this site and it well not be our last

Many thanks

Helen & Anthony (From Swansea) 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Mrsbudget 5 reviews from this member

 Email communication before arrival was really good but upon arrival at the reception, one of the ladies was not the most welcoming and even my friends who checked in as well felt that way. It does not give a good impression to be welcomed in that manner. The other staff especially the man who drives about to the site was friendly though.

The site has a good view, especially in the morning. The tent area is smaller compared to other campsite, I think it caters more for caravans and lodges.

Going to toilet there was a very strong sewage smell that really put us off. Toilet pans in ladies should be fixed too. The water from shower was very hot and there was no control to change the temperature aside from the shower for disabled. I hope this could be attended as it was not good for children and or adults.

Overall, it was a good break with friends in the area. It was a good place to base with lovely view especially waking up in the morning but it would be better if they sort out the sewage smell near the toilet. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tamglasgow 14 reviews from this member

 After reading all the positive reviews, we were looking forward to visiting this site, however our visit didn't get off to the best of starts!

On arrival, we checked in at reception and were told to pick our pitch and tell them which one, they also gave us a map with the unavailable pitches marked off, great stuff!

We decided on pitch 27 on the lower of the 2 touring fields, set up everything, got water etc. And went back to the office as agreed.

When I told the woman we were on 27 she said "Oh you cannae be on that one, it belongs to a seasonal who have taken caravan for a service" No apology, smile or rapport at all.

We then had to unhook, pack up and move to another pitch which, wasn't without difficulty due to my wife's disability.

Anyway,

The site itself is tidy, clean and well kept. Some of the pitches are not level so you may need levellers. Also make sure you have heavy duty pegs if using an awning. It is pretty hilly in some areas so if you are mobility restricted, you may prefer the top field as that is more flat.

The toilet block in the lower field is more than adequate but the one in the upper field is far superior.

We had fantastic Freeview coverage and full 4G signal on the EE network using a Virgin sim which was excellent for Firestick, Xbox and catchup tv.

At the site entrance, there is a bar/restaurant(The Woodsman) which is spotless and staff ever so friendly. We had the fish and chips which was out of this world.

You are only a 5 min drive via Fishcross to Alloa with all it's shops and supermarkets.

All in all, this is a good site but the lack of a small apology for their mistake in getting our stay off to a poor start, leaves a bitter taste and, for this reason only, we won't be back. 


Previous     90 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Woods Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Woods Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is The Woods Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Alloa      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Clackmannanshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3590 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement