Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Puddledock Farm Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Norfolk > Thetford > Puddledock Farm Caravan And Camping Site > Reviews

CLOSED: Puddledock Farm Caravan And Camping Site
Puddledock Lane
Great Hockham
Thetford
Norfolk   (Browse area)



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 128 Reviews
                9/10 from 128 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  128 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this campsite has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. The location is being developed for residential use only and will be known as Forest Edge Court

If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Billy Can 14 reviews from this member

 We received a friendly welcome when we arrived prior to 10am as the site advised. We received an envelope with site map, gate code and welcome letter. I think you get instructions for finding this envelope after 10am.

Puddledock is an established site in a good location for exploring Thetford Forest which is why we were there. A gate at the rear of the site leads directly into part of the forestís outskirts.

Great for walking the dog. (Close to this gate is also a small, fenced in area, great for that early morning leg stretch, where you can let your dog off lead on site, with poo bins provided once the business has been done!)

The main forest visitor centre up at High Lodge was around a 20 min to half hour drive and had walking and cycling routes, with plenty to do for kids too.

We were told by other campers that the nearby pub The Eagle was dog-friendly and a short walk away but we didnít visit ourselves.

Puddledockís facilities are kept clean by a very hardworking team of two but were quite tired-looking and a bit shabby in places. (The hairdryer didnít work, the rubber skirting was peeling away from the walls in places collecting fluff and the taps were tarnished.

At least one of the push button showers needed constant pushes, lasting only 7 seconds a push - not fun washing long hair!) The bins are at the front of the site which was quite the hike from our pitch near the back. Some additional ones dotted about, or at least by the toilet block, would be very much appreciated, Iím sure.

There is an extensive building site immediately next to and in front of the site, offering what looks like retirement/holiday bungalows.

In fact, it was so high profile, we thought weíd taken a wrong turning and had missed the campsite entrance! It didnít disturb us at all but we got the impression that this may be a site winding down to give way to further development.

We really appreciate that the staff work hard at this site but compared to the similarly priced sites we stayed at during our trip to Norfolk, this one seemed to be a bit tired and in need of some updating and there were a few Ďnigglesí that just left us feeling disappointed after reading such good, if a little outdated reviews. 


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Buttershap 12 reviews from this member

 What a great welcome I was given although it's been over two years since I visited.

I'm introducing my new dog to camping and I think it'll work for him.

Facilities spotless and the water hot. It rained, showers mainly, but the last morning was better, absolutely no wind at all.

Sorry I didn't get a chance to say goodbye! Covid rules! 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Paulin 1 review from this member

 Clean, well maintained site with plenty of dog walks, very pleasant caretakers.

Definitely would revisit at a later date and would recommend it to friends.

Thank you 
via mobile


Date of Visit: January 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sueand 1 review from this member

 Fabulous friendly staff.

Great location with lovely clean comfortable facilities.

Would definitely visit again.

Great walks right from the site.

Fishing on site as well so hubby happy. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: December 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Andyhinch39 1 review from this member

 This is the second time weíve stayed at this site and on both occasions we cannot fault it.

A lovely site in a peaceful area, that is perfect to explore the local forests or to visit Thetford or Bury St Edmunds.

A stroll to the next village creates an opportunity to partake in a local ale or two in the The Eagle pub.

The toilet block is always spotless and lovely and warm.

An excellent way to see in the new year. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: McCamper 7 reviews from this member

 A lovely, clean well run campsite. A warm welcome awaited us on arrival and were extremely accommodating with our needs. The pitches are well kept with loads of room around.

The washing up facilities were perfect.

Toilets and showers scrupulously clean and the block was lovely and warm.

A lovely campsite in the forest, with some fantastic walks on your doorstep.

Would definitely revisit again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Conron 2 reviews from this member

 Had a wonderful 10 days

The pitches are a great size grass well kept

Staff welcoming and helpful nothing to much trouble

Toilet and shower block kept clean with plenty of hot water

Would recommend this site to anyone

Fish not bad either

Thanks for a great stay 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Malopk 5 reviews from this member

 I stayed here on a warm weekend in June while attending a local event. I was just after a pitch for my 1-man tent and a place to park the car.

I arrived much later than expected and after the guidance on the booking advised, combination of a late finish at the event and roadworks. It was really good to see the customer service of the site at this point. A clear notice on the door said to look in the letter box to the right for an envelope with my name on. Found the envelope and inside was my pitch number, a map of the site with a hand drawn line showing me the way to drive and where the pitch was and detailed instructions on the facilities of the site. Absolutely perfect and the instructions worked to a tee.

The pitch was large and more than enough space for my car and tent along with space for me to sit and cook.

The site was clean and tidy and the toilet and shower facilities were clean and easily accessible.

The pitches are in rows with good spaces between rows and each pitch and the instructions in the envelope ensure that everyone has the same guidance on how to park the car and where to place the tent.

Definitely recommend Puddledock for anyone in the Thetford area and one on my list to return to in the future.

More a sign of the times than an issue with the site, but it was half-term weekend and despite the site instructions asking for quiet after 10pm a number of groups near me continued to play music and talk loudly.

Not sure if the site managers did anything but by 11pm everywhere was quiet.

I understand how difficult it can be to manage the noise from a small group of people on campsites, a simple request can soon escalate so I just read until it was quiet. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Smandley 20 reviews from this member

 2nd visit to Thetford Camping Park, hasnít changed much in the last few years with the change of owners but there are building works going on. Looks like they are setting up a small gated mobile home park.

We managed to book the best weekend of the year so far weather wise, Spring Bank Holiday. Shop nearly ran out of ice creams/lollies. We were shown to our pitch (grass with electric) all pitches (both hard standing and grass) seemed large; plenty of room for caravan/car/awning and an area to sit outside. They had a mixture of caravans/motorhomes and tents whilst we were there.

There are 2 toilet blocks, the main one had a problem with the water pump on the Saturday evening which meant very little water pressure, but they managed to get it sorted by midday on the Sunday. Never had to wait for a shower; there was always plenty of hot water and they had privacy cubicles if you wanted a wash/for shaving. They are shut from 11-12 every day for cleaning but as it was busy they cleaned/replenished them more often. Didnít use the smaller toilet block so unable to comment.

The on-site shop was well stocked with all the essentials. There is a fishing lake, but this was closed whilst we were there. There is a good dog walk area hence many people staying with dogs. Because of the good weather there were many children cycling around on bikes most were well behaved, just the odd few who spoilt it for the rest by playing football near the caravanís although they only hit their own caravan. Overall it is a good site and Iím sure we will return. 


Previous     128 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!


All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


55879 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement