Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Puddledock Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Puddledock Farm
Puddledock Lane
Great Hockham
Thetford
Norfolk   (Browse area)
IP24 1FJ
Tel: 01953 498400
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 100
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 118 Reviews
                9/10 from 118 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <10 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  118 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Smandley 14 reviews from this member

2nd visit to Thetford Camping Park, hasnít changed much in the last few years with the change of owners but there are building works going on. Looks like they are setting up a small gated mobile home park.

We managed to book the best weekend of the year so far weather wise, Spring Bank Holiday. Shop nearly ran out of ice creams/lollies. We were shown to our pitch (grass with electric) all pitches (both hard standing and grass) seemed large; plenty of room for caravan/car/awning and an area to sit outside. They had a mixture of caravans/motorhomes and tents whilst we were there.

There are 2 toilet blocks, the main one had a problem with the water pump on the Saturday evening which meant very little water pressure, but they managed to get it sorted by midday on the Sunday. Never had to wait for a shower; there was always plenty of hot water and they had privacy cubicles if you wanted a wash/for shaving. They are shut from 11-12 every day for cleaning but as it was busy they cleaned/replenished them more often. Didnít use the smaller toilet block so unable to comment.

The on-site shop was well stocked with all the essentials. There is a fishing lake, but this was closed whilst we were there. There is a good dog walk area hence many people staying with dogs. Because of the good weather there were many children cycling around on bikes most were well behaved, just the odd few who spoilt it for the rest by playing football near the caravanís although they only hit their own caravan. Overall it is a good site and Iím sure we will return.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jmv60 1 review from this member

Lovely site close to thetford forest. Good facilities run by wardens who at the time of our visit were lovely. Pitches varying in size but adequate for most units. Fish chip van on Fridays was very good. Local co op a few mins drive away. One field seemed to be dedicated to long stay vans and a facility for storage available although wardens are the only ones that can pull out vans and pitch up they seem to pitch them days in advance of request which leaves vans unoccupied for days which I think is a bit of a risk. They charge £5 to pitch and £5 to put back. Other than that a good all round stay. Would recommend.

Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wandering Stars 10 reviews from this member

We have stayed on this site dozens of times now and always find it ideal for us. It used to be a C&CC franchise site but the previous owners have sold the site to a large company who have now taken over. I suppose its early days yet and 2017 will see the new owners get themselves organised.

We stayed for 4 nights over Christmas and enjoyed our stay as always. Compared to previous years there were very few people staying on the site.

As yet there is not even a sign giving the name of the site at the end of the driveway and I would have thought a mailshot to previous customers would have been a good idea to get the 'regulars' back again.

Lovely site though with great facilities, new staff very friendly.

Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jetc 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here for two nights midweek in December shortly after it was taken over by the new owners. They were very friendly and helpful. The facilities were always clean and the site was in a lovely location- good for walking through the woods.

Date of Visit: November 2016 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

Please note, we have been advised that this site has been sold by the Caravan and Camping Club, and is no longer part of their site network. This site no longer has any connection or special rates for CCC members, and is open to the general public. Full details and rates on their website

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Irene4X4Overland 6 reviews from this member

Has stated in our review of May 2016 'we will return' and we did.

Our second visit to this Thetford Forest site was no less pleasing than the first, where it all starts at the front gate. The welcoming staff are a great set of guys and girls whose attention to detail is second to none. They remembered us from our previous encounter and even told us the pitch number we last used, impressive.

Nothing much has changed. Please read are review of our first visit. What needed now, given that the weather was hot and dry for our visit, is a swimming pool. Then the place would be 11/10 A*+

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LittleBlackCat 1 review from this member

We used the campsite as a base for a wedding we were attending locally over the bank holiday weekend. The site is absolutely stunning, it is well laid out with decent sized, flat pitches (well, it is Norfolk, after all!). The facilities are immaculate, as you'd expect from a CCC site, with plenty of hot water. The only downside to the facilities is that the showers are what I'd call 'swimming pool' showers, where you have to press the button every 10 seconds. Other than that, they're great!

The site was truly beautiful and if we're ever up that way again we would certainly consider staying again. The only issue we encountered was the distinctly unfriendly welcome we received from the wardens when checking in - being shouted at because you can't remember which surname you made the booking under isn't the most pleasant way to be greeted. Listening to the lady warden speak later, it would seem that this is their first time as wardens and they are completely out of their depth.

Would I stay again? Absolutely. Only I'd hold off until next season when there are different and, hopefully, nicer wardens in place.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Irene4X4Overland 6 reviews from this member

Stopped here for the one night during our recent tour of East Anglia with 'Irene' our overland prepared Land Rover Defender 110 with Roof Top Tent.

Welcomed at the gate and after paying escorted by staff member to our pitch and then shown all available facilities which were spotlessly clean. {Which came has a surprise given that the separate 'Rally Field' was in use by a very large group undertaking their DofE. Good on them for their efforts, has the last similar group we encountered were no so house trained. }

The pitch we were allocated was both flat and free from divots, and of a reasonable size. I do however note that the strip we were in had pitch markers down the central aisle, which may mean in the 'packed' height of summer it could get a little over crowded.

The greatest bit about our stay here thou must be the mobile Fish and Chip Van parked at the front gate. Latest servings were published has being 1900 hrs but they stayed late to serve the late arrivals to well beyond 1945 hrs.

First class spot and would highly recommend. We will return.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Greenhill 17 reviews from this member

Just back from our first weekend here and would happily return.

Nice welcome. The toilets and showers were very clean and warm. The kids enjoyed the large play area with good new equipment and plenty of room for ball games. It's a dark site at night, no light pollution from surrounding areas and low level lighting on site so you get a good view of the stars. The only downside is the very rutted approach road. We visited High Lodge (about 15mins drive) to burn off some energy and build a den.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andtra 15 reviews from this member

Our second visit here and once again we enjoyed our stay, we again opted for a Jumbo pitch but this time on hard standing rather than grass. Once again everybody was very polite and helpful and all utilities were very clean throughout our stay. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay taking in some walking and cycling in the surrounding area.

Previous     118 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3433 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!