Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping In Llanberis

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Llanberis > Camping In Llanberis Reviews

Camping In Llanberis
Llwyn Celyn Bach
Capel Coch Road
Llanberis
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL55 4SR
Tel: 01286 870923  or  07877 376423
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 49 Reviews
                7/10 from 49 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Mememe23 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for a night last year and found it perfectly adequate.

It is reasonably basic but the showers and toilets were kept spotlessly clean and items such as toilet paper were replenished promptly.

The people running the site were really nice and friendly, and I loved the fact that there were sheep randomly wandering round the field!

It was only a short drive into town where there were plenty of places to eat or get takeaway. 


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Benhea 1 review from this member

 Overall the site is great value for money. Itís just a 10 minute walk from Llanberis.

The price for a basic pitch is a bargain. The facilities are fairly clean and the staff are helpful.

The only down side is that most of the land is on a slope. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LucySky 13 reviews from this member

 The scenery and views are stunning!

The camsite is an ideal location for starting a walk on the Snowdon, the owners were helpful in giving directions.

The campsite itself is ok: the showers cost 1 pound, are clean but not very warm. The site is quite sloping and it was not easy to find a good pitch. The grass was very long which is a bit annoying.

But all in all we enjoyed the stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Ratty 232 reviews from this member

 Here I am again, what a lovely site and nothing changes, it is still as awesome as it has been on every past visit.

The price is now £8 per adult and the dog is free, usual rules apply, pitch where you like, have fires, have fun and enjoy yourself and keep dogs on the lead as there are sheep in the fields. Follow these simple rules and the site is great.

Friendly welcome from the owner and she advised the showers are still £1 and they always have plenty of change in case you don't. Toilet and showers kept clean and very usable, as it the camping kitchen area and pot washing area. Fresh water on tap.

Llanberis is just down the hill and there are plenty of pubs, restaurants and shops.

And of course the fab walking straight from the site, I didn't need to move the camper in 2 days and walked straight from here.

The best and closest site to Llanberis and I will be back time and time again as long as they don't change anything. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ratty 232 reviews from this member

 Well as promised I came back for a two night stay. This site is just as good as it was last year and the only difference is it is now £7 per person per night and the showers are still £1. The dog was free, but as always, they had to kept on the lead as it is a working farm.

The showers and toilets were just as clean, and I had to use my own toilet roll, but this is not an issue, maybe I went before cleaning time. Shower is still £1 per shower.

There is not much to add to my review from last year and Llanberis still has a great range of restaurants, cafes, outdoor shops, drinking establishments, etc.

There is still direct access form the site up to Snowdon, via the footpath in the field from the Snowdon Ranger Path and the full walk going up the Llanberis path and back down the Snow Ranger path is about 12. 6 miles.

It does get very windy in the top field, so please ensure you bring plenty of pegs and make sure they are hammered in well.

It filled up on the Friday night, however it was not that noisy and no major parties happened.

I will be back to this site next time I walk Snowdon and urge anyone who wants the best location for camping in Llanberis to give it a try. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Indyxe 3 reviews from this member

 Very Basic campsite with toilet showers and kitchen wash up facilities all ok but a feeling the builder left early as it all looks a bit unfinished.

I only stayed one night as a base for climbing Snowdon.

I was offered a pitch on a field or an area next to the toilet/shower block. The field looked a bit to sloping so I chose the latter, it had been very wet and the area was very boggy with parts that had been churned up by vehicles.

Cant complain at the price of £6 for myself for one night, it was a bit noisy with dogs barking and general farm noise. But was quiet through the night.

For one night it was Ok for a base for Snowdon, don't think I would want to be here any longer. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ratty 232 reviews from this member

 This campsite is awesome in so many ways. I phoned a couple of days before to enquire about pitches and the owner said to just turn up and the cost will be £5 per person per night.

The directions on their website are spot on and I found the site without any issues. The owner wasn't about when I arrived however a farm worker told me to find any spot and explained where the facilities were.

The site is a working farm and is on the side of a mountain, so flat spots are limited but being in a campervan meant we had no issues leveling. Dogs must be on leads all the time due to sheep in the fields.

Due to it being on a mountain when the wind whips through, it certainly whips through, but there are sheltered pitches in the lower field and by the walls.

The facilities are more than adequate, there are showers and toilets, a washing up room, an information room with washing machine, tumble dryer, fridge, freezer and microwave. The showers are £1 for eight minutes which is more than enough time and they are clean and powerful enough. There was not toilet roll during our stay, but that was not a problem as we took our own. There is fresh water on site by the facilities block.

The site is a 10 minutes walk down the road to Llanberis where you will find a wide range of shops from outdoor specialists to a Spa for your general groceries. There are plenty of pubs, hotels, hostels to eat and drink in too. The walk back up the hill to the site is quite long, but manageable.

The location of the site is spot on if you like your walking, we walked directly from the site to the summit of Snowdon, we crossed a field using footpaths and then trekked up the Llanberis Path, from the summit we then walked back down the Snowdon Ranger path and straight back to the site. The next day we walked directly from the site up Moel Ellio and back down, with some stunning views too. We drove to Elidir Fawr one day for another great walk, and also Moel Siobod in Capel Curig. But there are more walks than you can mention in this area and direct from the site too.

In the general area you have all that North Wales has to offer from Bangor, Anglesey, Harlech, Caenarfon and so much more.

For £6 per person per night and dogs being welcome, I will definitely be back to the site the next time I want to walk the Snowdonia region. I also got full reception on the 3 and T-mobile networks 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LGriffiths 3 reviews from this member

 First off the scenery is stunning with a superb view of Mt Snowdon, the site is quite large with quite a number of fields to choose from, non of which have many level spots. My husband and I have a tent, but we like an electric hook up, as our ages are 68yrs and 64yrs, and we feel the cold more than we used to, so have an electric fan heater, they're aren't many hook up pitches but ours was fairly flat and close to the toilets but the grass was very long. I never had a shower the three days we were there, as on arriving our total bill was £6. 00 per person and on top of that we were charged £5. 00 per night for the hook up ! ( even on 5 star sights we have never paid that ) then to check out the showers and find £1. 00 for 7 mins ! If we had had one shower a day each the daily rate would have been £19. 00 per night! Which considering the site is fairly basic is daylight robbery, needless to say we WON'T camp there again. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Essendy 8 reviews from this member

 We decided to climb Snowdon at the end of a touring holiday in Wales and found this site to be perfectly located for that. It is a little out of Llanberis, but you can get onto the walk to the summit from the campsite, up the lane. The friendly owners gave us directions and there was no problem.

We were given a fairly level pitch with electric hook-up and with breath-taking views of the mountain. We had drinks and nibbles before dinner as we watched the sunset and then the full moon rise over Snowdon. There can't be many places to stay with such a fantastic vista!

The site facilities are adequate and the showers take a £1 coin, which provided enough time.

This is a working sheep farm as well as having lots of dogs, pigs and a cockerel that really earns his keep from sunrise, so ear-plugs may be required if you are camping.

Stunning views and ideal for Snowdon - with good weather there can be no better place to stay in the area! 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bazbazbaz59 5 reviews from this member

 A fantastic campsite for us. Situated at the foot of Snowdon, this working farm site has direct access to join the LLanberis mountain path. The views are amazing with Padarn Park across the lake and the wonderful mountain ranges of Snowdonia all around.

The site itself is great with lovely friendly owners who are always willing to help. The toilet\shower block is adequate and you are allowed to have campfires. All in all a great site. 


Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping In Llanberis child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping In Llanberis?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Camping In Llanberis dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Llanberis      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3292 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement