Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping In Llanberis

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Camping In Llanberis
Llwyn Celyn Bach
Capel Coch Road
Llanberis
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL55 4SR
Tel: 01286 870923  or  07877 376423
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 30
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 47 Reviews
                7/10 from 47 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  47 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LucySky 13 reviews from this member

The scenery and views are stunning!

The camsite is an ideal location for starting a walk on the Snowdon, the owners were helpful in giving directions.

The campsite itself is ok: the showers cost 1 pound, are clean but not very warm. The site is quite sloping and it was not easy to find a good pitch. The grass was very long which is a bit annoying.

But all in all we enjoyed the stay.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Ratty 189 reviews from this member

Here I am again, what a lovely site and nothing changes, it is still as awesome as it has been on every past visit.

The price is now £8 per adult and the dog is free, usual rules apply, pitch where you like, have fires, have fun and enjoy yourself and keep dogs on the lead as there are sheep in the fields. Follow these simple rules and the site is great.

Friendly welcome from the owner and she advised the showers are still £1 and they always have plenty of change in case you don't. Toilet and showers kept clean and very usable, as it the camping kitchen area and pot washing area. Fresh water on tap.

Llanberis is just down the hill and there are plenty of pubs, restaurants and shops.

And of course the fab walking straight from the site, I didn't need to move the camper in 2 days and walked straight from here.

The best and closest site to Llanberis and I will be back time and time again as long as they don't change anything.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Ratty 189 reviews from this member

Well as promised I came back for a two night stay. This site is just as good as it was last year and the only difference is it is now £7 per person per night and the showers are still £1. The dog was free, but as always, they had to kept on the lead as it is a working farm.

The showers and toilets were just as clean, and I had to use my own toilet roll, but this is not an issue, maybe I went before cleaning time. Shower is still £1 per shower.

There is not much to add to my review from last year and Llanberis still has a great range of restaurants, cafes, outdoor shops, drinking establishments, etc.

There is still direct access form the site up to Snowdon, via the footpath in the field from the Snowdon Ranger Path and the full walk going up the Llanberis path and back down the Snow Ranger path is about 12. 6 miles.

It does get very windy in the top field, so please ensure you bring plenty of pegs and make sure they are hammered in well.

It filled up on the Friday night, however it was not that noisy and no major parties happened.

I will be back to this site next time I walk Snowdon and urge anyone who wants the best location for camping in Llanberis to give it a try.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Indyxe 3 reviews from this member

Very Basic campsite with toilet showers and kitchen wash up facilities all ok but a feeling the builder left early as it all looks a bit unfinished.

I only stayed one night as a base for climbing Snowdon.

I was offered a pitch on a field or an area next to the toilet/shower block. The field looked a bit to sloping so I chose the latter, it had been very wet and the area was very boggy with parts that had been churned up by vehicles.

Cant complain at the price of £6 for myself for one night, it was a bit noisy with dogs barking and general farm noise. But was quiet through the night.

For one night it was Ok for a base for Snowdon, don't think I would want to be here any longer.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Ratty 189 reviews from this member

This campsite is awesome in so many ways. I phoned a couple of days before to enquire about pitches and the owner said to just turn up and the cost will be £5 per person per night.

The directions on their website are spot on and I found the site without any issues. The owner wasn't about when I arrived however a farm worker told me to find any spot and explained where the facilities were.

The site is a working farm and is on the side of a mountain, so flat spots are limited but being in a campervan meant we had no issues leveling. Dogs must be on leads all the time due to sheep in the fields.

Due to it being on a mountain when the wind whips through, it certainly whips through, but there are sheltered pitches in the lower field and by the walls.

The facilities are more than adequate, there are showers and toilets, a washing up room, an information room with washing machine, tumble dryer, fridge, freezer and microwave. The showers are £1 for eight minutes which is more than enough time and they are clean and powerful enough. There was not toilet roll during our stay, but that was not a problem as we took our own. There is fresh water on site by the facilities block.

The site is a 10 minutes walk down the road to Llanberis where you will find a wide range of shops from outdoor specialists to a Spa for your general groceries. There are plenty of pubs, hotels, hostels to eat and drink in too. The walk back up the hill to the site is quite long, but manageable.

The location of the site is spot on if you like your walking, we walked directly from the site to the summit of Snowdon, we crossed a field using footpaths and then trekked up the Llanberis Path, from the summit we then walked back down the Snowdon Ranger path and straight back to the site. The next day we walked directly from the site up Moel Ellio and back down, with some stunning views too. We drove to Elidir Fawr one day for another great walk, and also Moel Siobod in Capel Curig. But there are more walks than you can mention in this area and direct from the site too.

In the general area you have all that North Wales has to offer from Bangor, Anglesey, Harlech, Caenarfon and so much more.

For £6 per person per night and dogs being welcome, I will definitely be back to the site the next time I want to walk the Snowdonia region. I also got full reception on the 3 and T-mobile networks

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LGriffiths 3 reviews from this member

First off the scenery is stunning with a superb view of Mt Snowdon, the site is quite large with quite a number of fields to choose from, non of which have many level spots. My husband and I have a tent, but we like an electric hook up, as our ages are 68yrs and 64yrs, and we feel the cold more than we used to, so have an electric fan heater, they're aren't many hook up pitches but ours was fairly flat and close to the toilets but the grass was very long. I never had a shower the three days we were there, as on arriving our total bill was £6. 00 per person and on top of that we were charged £5. 00 per night for the hook up ! ( even on 5 star sights we have never paid that ) then to check out the showers and find £1. 00 for 7 mins ! If we had had one shower a day each the daily rate would have been £19. 00 per night! Which considering the site is fairly basic is daylight robbery, needless to say we WON'T camp there again.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Essendy 8 reviews from this member

We decided to climb Snowdon at the end of a touring holiday in Wales and found this site to be perfectly located for that. It is a little out of Llanberis, but you can get onto the walk to the summit from the campsite, up the lane. The friendly owners gave us directions and there was no problem.

We were given a fairly level pitch with electric hook-up and with breath-taking views of the mountain. We had drinks and nibbles before dinner as we watched the sunset and then the full moon rise over Snowdon. There can't be many places to stay with such a fantastic vista!

The site facilities are adequate and the showers take a £1 coin, which provided enough time.

This is a working sheep farm as well as having lots of dogs, pigs and a cockerel that really earns his keep from sunrise, so ear-plugs may be required if you are camping.

Stunning views and ideal for Snowdon - with good weather there can be no better place to stay in the area!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bazbazbaz59 5 reviews from this member

A fantastic campsite for us. Situated at the foot of Snowdon, this working farm site has direct access to join the LLanberis mountain path. The views are amazing with Padarn Park across the lake and the wonderful mountain ranges of Snowdonia all around.

The site itself is great with lovely friendly owners who are always willing to help. The toilet\shower block is adequate and you are allowed to have campfires. All in all a great site.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kimble 5 reviews from this member

Arrived here on Saturday afternoon and it was very busy. Being a bank holiday we expected it to be busy so this was fine.

The site is on a hill - being a hill farm this was also expected - although trying to find a pitch flat enough for the tent was very difficult.

We eventually found a reasonably flat spot with the most amazing view. The whole site has great views.

The midges were awful, due to a stream running along the edge of the site. Luckily they have logs for sale and fire pits to use so once this was lit they did ease off - I would definitely recommend taking insect repellent though!

The rules seem quite strict when you read them but donít be fooled, 'Music must be off by 10pm and Rowdy groups will be asked to quieten down or leave' A group behind us where extremely noisy until 1am on the Saturday night - they turned the music off just before midnight but continued to sing very loudly. This happened again on the Sunday night and not once did anyone come and ask them to quieten down.

The toilets were vile! Considering this is a tents only site I was very surprised as these are going to be used by every single person so should be monitored on a regular bases. After 6pm there was no toilet roll until around 8am the next morning(luckily we always take our own)

On a plus side:

The shower was hot and powerful - I little expensive at £1 for 7 1/2 minutes but it was long enough.

The walk from the site up the Llanberis Track is great. If anything it is easier than going from the village :). After completing snowdon we walked back down into the village. It is only a short walk and Llanberis has a spar and a few pubs.

We where charged £28 for two adults and two dogs for two nights which I didn't think was bad considering it was bank holiday.

The site is a great sun trap and during the day it was very peaceful.

Overall we had a great stay and would use this site again (allowing for loud nights and using our own toilet roll!)

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: J + J 16 reviews from this member

Have been to this site several time over several years, this was by far the worst.

Pros: Location, friendly owners, village facilities-pubs, restaurants, Peteís Eats (a must visit) Spar late shop opening 23:00. Slate museum, Snowdon mountain railway, Electric mountain. Cost £6 per adult which is reasonable for camping but not when you see below.

Cons: On a hill so finding a level pitch-but you are in the mountains, washing up room looking very untidy and dirty the contents of the fridge would do Mr Fleming proud. Showers cost £1 for hot or cold, my partner wanted a cold shower (hottest day of the year so far), and it still cost a £1, microwave £1 for 15 mins. No means to dry hands in the toilets.

One night a group arrived and pitched by the farm house and played loud music which could be heard at the top of the next field some 200 meters away, and the same group played loud music-shouting on the Sunday morning early and the owners did not bat an eyelid.

We will not be rushing back which is a shame as the location is fantastic.

Previous     47 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


616 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019