Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Church Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Telford > Church Farm Reviews

Church Farm
Rowton
Nr Wellington
Telford
Shropshire   (Browse area)
TF6 6QY
Tel: 01952 770381
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 9 Reviews
                6/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Stefdan2019 1 review from this member

 2nd time we have been to this site and we love it beautiful views,

Great owners and tasty eggs from the free range chickens for breakfast.

Will definitely be returning 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Medium 1 review from this member

 Well we go to many many different sites. Cost was and is always a consideration. This was a lovely surprise. The site was tidy (as it can be on a working farm) it was a lovely to have a warm place to go to the loo and wash up etc. (makes a change from a shed). Really nice to see chickens etc about the site, it was quiet and the views are wonderful - but if the caravans that are stored. Well look the other way so much else to look at. AND the owners, I just know that were you to ask anything they would help if they could. 'We will be back' as its just the right price and you can get to so many places from there. Only one thing, maybe cut the grass more often, but does not detract and if it keeps the price down to what it is. Then ok. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ghost123uk 3 reviews from this member

 We loved it !

Fair enough, if you want a Caravan Club type campsite with manicured grass plots, power shower, on site shop and white picket fences this is NOT for you.

However, if you want a friendly farm based site with great views in a very peaceful setting with pleasant grass field pitches, free range eggs, friendly company, and adequate facilities then this is a very good place to stay.

It was so relaxing we very nearly did not go to the Shropshire county show just down the road (the reason we camped at this site)!

Take plenty of supplies (food and drink, as no nearby shop) and if the weather is reasonable you will have a very chilled out stay.

We will happily use this site again 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wilgun 2 reviews from this member

 Really wish that I had read these reviews before we stayed at church farm.

The back of the farmhouse that houses the single toilet, sink and dishwashing sink absolutely stinks and looks completely uncared for and needs a damn good clean.

There is a tatty, torn door curtain to greet you on entry and a door that is very hard to open. No loo roll, fair enough when you know, but no hand drying facilities!

The website looks far better than the reality. The site looks like a junk yard, there is a tree on the entrance to the paddock that scratches your van as you enter, then you have the mud to cope with. There had been rain as we all know, but a little hardcore put down would make a big difference.

The electric hook up looks very dodgy, a cable and connector looped through the fence that is kept in a plastic carrier bag that fills with water! Did not even use the chemical disposal point and chose to carry the waste home.

After getting bogged down in the muddy paddock, the owner thankfully towed our unit out, and we chose to cut our stay short by a night. On speaking to the owners I was informed that no one else has ever complained.

For a below basic site it is overpriced even with the daily mirror offer taken into account, £36 for 4 nights.

Shame because with the views toward the Wrekin and the village location this site could be fantastic. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wet Waters 4 reviews from this member

 Although not inaccurate as to number, the general description of the quality of the facilities on offer on their website is slightly over enhanced! Yes, there is a toilet and wash basin, and yes they and the ‘kitchen’ are at the end of the farm house, but the smell of stale cat food, manky chicken bones and doubly incontinent cat is not described on their home page.

The notices in the toilet include; ‘clean up after yourself’ and ‘campers are expected to bring their own toilet paper as we do not supply any’. As to the first notice, it may be suggested that they lead by example and do something about the ‘cattery cum washing up room’ and the latter notice would perhaps be better on the main door before you have settled yourself down!

The ‘far reaching, uninterrupted views of the Wrekin’ are only marred by your peripheral vision of the caravan graveyard to the side of the ‘view’. The waste disposal is handy – its slap bang in the middle of the first paddock, sign posted by a length of plastic ‘hazard’ fencing, has no wall around it and requires the user to haul the lid up with a length of rope and empty their waste into an open drain, then trek up to the yard to fetch water to rinse containers with.

Being pregnant and having seen ‘Charlie’ the cat sitting on the draining board eating his breakfast I decided that our elderly caravan’s basic facilities were the best bet as I did not fancy getting toxoplasmosis from my coffee cups!

All in all a campsite that reminds one of a Steptoe and Son venture! £12.50 for cat infested facilities and no shower seems a bit over priced, especially as we had come from a well maintained farm site with excellent though basic facilities for £12 a night including electric. This site has the potential to be a nice site if the owners did something about the ‘facilities’ and provided a shower, or even invested in a purpose built facility in the paddocks. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Maj15 10 reviews from this member

 Our first time in a caravan, so we decided to stay the bank holiday weekend somewhere local to us.

As stated in previous reviews, there is only one toilet and no showers but we didn't find this a problem as we had our own facilities. The site is part of a working farm so chickens and ducks wander the site begging for scraps, much to the delight of our 5 year old. The views over fields to the Wrekin are superb, and there is a TV transmitter at the top so no problems with reception. The only problem we had is that the power tripped a few times, interrupting our viewing of 'Britains got talent'! Each time we had to go and find the farmer to reset the breaker in the farmhouse, even though we only had a small TV plugged in.

Overall, a nice quiet country site that we will return to, just hope they replace the faulty hook-up breaker! 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Julie h 9 reviews from this member

 Not a site we would return to, we went on the bank holiday weekend for 3 nights and it was very busy, as expected, but there is definitely not enough facilities for so many people. One toilet in which there was a sink
The washing up room had a terrible smell and there were dishes full of catfood on the cupboards close to the sink where you are supposed to wash your dishes. The elsan point was a grid in the middle of the field with a piece of rope attached to lift it up and empty your loo in front of everyone because it was not enclosed.

There were lovely views over the wrekin and there were two pubs about half an hours walk away, but the roads were narrow and it wouldn't be safe to walk out at night.

We are not to fussy about camping conditions usually but this has got to be one of the worst sites we have been to. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rach:) 1 review from this member

 This small basic campsite is on an old farm, in a lovely village, close enough to main roads without having to hear them. Lots of chicken, ducks and guinea fowl wandering about with the cockrell acting as an alarm clock! There is a sink for washing dishes in a lovely warm outbuilding.The only drawback is that there is only one toilet which we had to queue for a couple mornings, and no shower amenities - fine for our short stay.  


Reviewer: Ann_Feltham 1 review from this member

 May 2004
A small campsite with beautiful pastoral views to the Wrekin.

The nearest shop and pub were in Waters Upton, about half an hour's walk away. There is also an Indian restaurant there.

The site has only one toilet and washbasin, which meant there was some queuing even though there were few others around. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Church Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Church Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Church Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Telford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1164 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement