Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Kite Hill Farm Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Isle Of Wight > Ryde > Kite Hill Farm Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Kite Hill Farm Caravan & Camping Park
Firestone Copse Road
Wootton Bridge
Ryde
Isle Of Wight   (Browse area)
PO33 4LE
Tel: 01983 883261
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 28 electric hook ups, 50 plus pitches.
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 29 Reviews
                8/10 from 29 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Petedu 1 review from this member

 Lovely clean site.

Location of local bus easy to get to.

Also restaurant/pub within walking distance.

Peaceful secluded site.

Enjoyed my stay,

Will definitely use this site again 🙂 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Emmaha 1 review from this member

 Shower blocks cleaned regularly, only 2 showers for the ladies so occasionally needed to wait. Nice quiet site, nobody was loud or had over loud music /parties. Office open for freezer blocks refreeze 15 mins morning and evening, worked well.

Tent pitch was very gently sloping so easy for setting up. Dog walking area clean and convenient, all dogs on site well controlled. Firestone copse close by for woodland and creek side walks, wooton Beach an easy walk (no toilets).

Terrys fish n chip shop just up the main road for great fish n chips. Saw red squirrels several times moving along the hedgerow.

The only downside for us was that we setup Alongside the hedgerow nearest the creek and got eaten by mosquitoes every evening! 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Marlis 2 reviews from this member

 A lovely campsite, plenty of space to pitch your tent on thick soft grass. Quiet location.

Simple and basic facilities. Easy booking.

Will come again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Crypto 2 reviews from this member

 Very close to the ferry terminal at Fishbourne. Very spacious site all sloping down to the south west where there are lovely views and sometimes spectacular sunsets.

The site is very informal and the owners are there only briefly. Just rock up and pitch where you want, the owner will appear at some time later with a convenient card reader to take your reasonable fees.

No problem with pitch orientation, groundsheet or other such trivia.

Facilities are excellent, everything you need for a touring caravan. A small children's play area but no clubhouse or the like.

There are quite a few permanent residents ( at my time more than tourists) but there was no noise or inconvenience all very quiet and civilised. Very quiet at night.

Quite the best non C&CC site that I have ever visited. 


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gonnate 20 reviews from this member

 We were very pleased to find this site. We were on the island both sightseeing and for a music festival in Ryde, and it was very convenient for both.

We had a pitch with very nice view over the valley, and the most glorious fiery sunsets.

We visited late in October, so don't know what high season is like, but it was very quiet, both by day and night. Some have commented on there not being many loos or showers, but this was never an issue. As others have also said, the hot water in the showers was wonderful! The North wind was bitterly cold, and we'd been concerned knowing the facilities block isn't heated, but the water's so warm and generous this was no problem.

Provision of mops to clean up between users would be good, but most people left the place very clean, and apparently when Lesley tried leaving mops out, they disappeared.

As others have commented, there are a fair number of long term residents on site, either working or just choosing to live there, and what a nice setting it'll be for them. There are currently some grouped near the facility blocks, and others round the top of the field, but the row of hook-ups for touring visitors had plenty of space round, and we felt very peaceful there.

The price per night was excellent.

If we're back on the island, we'll definitely aim to use this place again.

Note to people towing caravans: the entrance to Firestone Copse Lane, off which the site is situated, has a quite vigorous change of camber and slope. Our short 'van had no problem with it. Scrapes on the ground suggest longer caravans may need to take it carefully. But many of the caravans living on site are long twin-axle jobs, so obviously, they can get in OK. I would not recommend coming in from the other end of Firestone Copse Lane when towing. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: ShazSpen70 5 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site, the field is not exactly level but you can find the best spot for your unit. We walked into the village, lovely carvery pub, food outlets and a Tescos.

We caught the bus to Ryde for the day.

The showers were amazing, pressure in the water was brilliant, lovely and clean.

We stayed two nights here and would definitely recommend it. The owner was also very friendly.

Loved it! 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MillySka 1 review from this member

 Return Visit to this site, it's spacious and sheltered and tucked away off the main road. Located on the edge of the village it's within walking distance of a lovely Pub for food and drinks and there are also shops and take-aways in the village but a bit further away. Ryde town centre is only a short bus journey away if you don't want the worry of car parking and there are plenty of busses to get you round the island from there. The welcome is warm and relaxed. Looking forward to this year's visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wtw749 4 reviews from this member

 What a gem to have discovered !. This site is truly lovely as is the owner Lesley. I have visited all camping sites on my favourite island and although some have 'first class' loos etc they also boast overcrowding, noise, traffic etc etc. The location is superb with lovely views across to Wooton Common, I didn't spend all day staring at this view but so nice to wake up to. If you want to stay at a perfect site then this is it. AND it is the nearest site to the Portsmouth Gunwharf to Fishbone ferry. Thank you Lesley, I will be back next year ! xxx Roger P. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Emma simpson 8 reviews from this member

 Stayed for one night after festival and enjoyed the peace and surrounding tranquillity! Very informal site, take your pick of which pitch you want. No one in office on arrival but big sign staying to pitch up and pay later. Manager came to caravan to collect money, pleasant and friendly. No shop on site. Toilets ok but only two showers in women's which could mean a lot of queuing when site is busy! Lots of bins scattered around site. Ten min walk to decent pub and nearby walking trails. If you want a basic, laid back site, planning to use own facilities in motorhome/caravan then the site has little to grumble about. Some large caravans on site not sure if they are residents or seasonal pitches. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Heather44 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed here over the last Bank Holiday weekend. When we arrived the lady on the desk was waiting for us, I could see her smiling at us as we drove in which was really nice, people are losing this art. My husband was extremely rude to her for charging us the correct rate (he'd given her the wrong age for my eldest) so if her smile is waning it's due to being verbally abused by customers, for this I apologise.

The site is large with basic facilities. The showers are excellent although there's only two of them. In busier times I imagine this might be a problem. I liked the fact that the washing up area was inside and everything looked clean and fairly new.

We were on electric hook up which also had a water supply meaning you didn't have to walk far to fill the kettle. You choose your own site and it's large enough to be away from others if you wish. For some stupid reason we pitched up right next to the play area which we later regretted !

The one complaint I have is the amount of road noise at night. The campsite is just off the main road and the noise is quite loud especially sirens. Even the small road leading to the campsite is noisy, we had one night where all we could hear were the boy racers screaming up and down. The other campers were quiet though.

There is a Tesco express if you turn left onto the main road after exiting the campsite where you'll also find takeaways. We only found this out after turning right and traveling all the way into Ryde to the 24 hr tesco.

If you are a light sleeper I'd go somewhere a bit further off the road but otherwise it's a great site and very close to the ferries, but I think that for the price there may be better, I would have liked a small shop on site so that I don't have to go out every morning for milk. 


Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Kite Hill Farm Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Kite Hill Farm Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Kite Hill Farm Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ryde      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Wight

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, West Sussex 09/10 to 10/10
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Ardingly Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2818 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement