Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Toms Field

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Fordingbridge > Toms Field Reviews

Toms Field
Godshill
(new Forest)
Fordingbridge
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SP6 2LN
Tel: 07759 474158
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: Bank Hols In May And Weekends Beginning 27th Jun

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 57 Reviews
                9/10 from 57 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  57 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ussel 2 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site. Stayed for 3 days and really enjoyed it.

The facilities were fantastic, and what a view coming out of the toilet! (you will have to stay there to see what I mean).

1 recommendation is to have maybe 1 or 2 toilets (if poss) by the main reception as we were in the top part of the site and had a bit of a walk to the toilet. The bottom part of the site was in easy reach of the toilet/showers.

The shop was excellent offering freezer blocks/refrigerator and the morning shop offering fresh baked pastry was lovely. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bobblymole1 1 review from this member

 Have just returned from a great weekend camping at Tom's Field. The owners are very amenable - they sell wood, hire fire pits, and there is a local shop who some and sell pastries, milk, eggs etc each morning at the weekend. They also have a pizza lady who comes (although she was unable to on saturday but we managed).

PROS: helpful owners, good location (we were booked for the water park on the sunday) nice showers

CONS: this is a small campsite. Probably the smallest I've stayed at. It's essentially a fairly narrow strip of land which follows a fairly busy road (with pitches either side and a track down the middle). There is an adult only bit at the bottom which looked really nice and much quieter. Where we were pitched we had the busy road on one side and the main campsite track the other so it was quite noisy in the evening as people left and returned to the campsite.

Not enough toilets or showers for this number of pitches. No hand drier at the toilet and no towels either.

Overall I would say if you don't want to play ball games and aren't bothered by noise, this will be fine. However, we will be looking for somewhere with more space for the kids to run around and further away from a road next time I think. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daveandmitch 8 reviews from this member

 We use Tom's Field for our DofE Group every year. And we keep going back.

The site is well run and well maintained. Tom and Tina go out of their way to make your stay easy and enjoyable.

Ideally located to explore the northern half of the New Forest or further afield.

I would definitely recommend it. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grumpy man 5 reviews from this member

 Could Tom's Field be the best campsite in the New Forest? If not it certainly comes close. We have visited Tom's Field a number of times now and each time we are greeted by a very warm welcome. The pitches are nice and big and you don't feel like you are camping on top of your neighbours. The facilities are always clean and even come supplied with posh hand soap and washing up liquid at the sink area. The site is located in a beautiful area of the Forest with Fordingbridge just a short drive away if you need anything. Each morning Tom announces the arrival of the mobile shop where you can get fresh croissants and so much more. On the Saturday evening a wood fired pizza company turned up and made delicious pizzas. Although get in and order early as they get very busy and could run out of stock!

Would we camp here again? You bet! Just book early as they get very busy very quickly.

My only recommendation would be make sure you pack a good supply of rock pegs as the ground can be very hard in places. A small price to pay though to be able to relax in amazing surroundings. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Team Eagles 13 reviews from this member

 We have been coming to Toms Field now for six years and will continue to do so. The owners make you feel so welcome, like long lost friends, their hospitality is really top notch, and nothing is ever too much trouble. Their son is sometimes around and again very helpful and friendly.

From the main road (there is a sign at the side of the road, if you reach the pottery you have gone too far) through the gate you arrive into the field. The owners can be found just in on the right where you are booked in etc, they are very hot on recycling which is lovely to see and you will be given a couple of sacks for your rubbish and there are details on the site leaflet as well. In this day and age I find it unreal that people still canít be bothered with recycling. The owners make it so easy. They also have a freezer for your ice packs other than that there is no electric, real basic camping which is really nice.

There are 50 pitches most of these are in the main field, you camp either side which leaves a big open space through the middle where the kids play. The field gives wonderful views out over the New Forest. They have a small wooded area at the end of the field which is for adults only.

The toilet block is towards the back of the field, 2 showers in each of the ladies and men, there is always plenty of hot water no matter what time of day you go. A lovely touch is the Baylis and Harding soap that the owner puts by the hand basins. They are kept very clean and tidy. The washing up area has two sinks, is on the side of the shower block, they provide brushes and washing up liquid.

You can hire fire pitches and they sell wood and kindling so you can have a camp fire, they are lovely just the smoke lingers in your tents and on your clothes!

For the 2015 season they have on alternative weekends either a mobile fish and chip shop or a man who comes with a mobile pizza oven, this is on a Saturday a welcome change from a BBQ. For the kids there is usually an ice cream van as well. Saturday and Sunday morning they have a local shop come with lovely fresh bread, croissants, milk and various other produce and off course papers.

Most families seem to stay on site but there are lots to do, if you walk a mile down the road you can get the New Forest hop on and off red route bus, this goes to Lyndhurst, once there you can pick up either the blue or green route bus. Sandy Balls Holiday Park a little over a mile away also hire out bikes and give routes to follow. If you use a car even more to see and do in a lovely area of the country.

As the site is only open at weekends you are not pushed off for the new intake, as long as you have gone around 2pm on Sunday that is fine. It is lovely not to be in a rush and we usually make the most of the extra time just relaxing.

We cannot wait to return in 2016, this site is a firm favourite with us even though it is only around an hour or so from home. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lingers247 1 review from this member

 Have just returned from a weekend's camping with 3 other couples and have found a little gem! Tom and Tina are great hosts; friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Nothing's too much trouble. The pop-up campsite offers a mobile shop selling freshly baked bread, rolls and local produce and on Saturday night a wood-fuelled pizza oven was on site. The site has fabulous views and is flat although stony so take strong tent pegs, although Tom did provide a large bag of 5' nails which worked a treat. We arrived on Friday to set up in the rain, had a fabulously sunny day on Saturday and then had to pack up in the rain on Sunday, so not ideal conditions but it was worth it. The shower block, whilst small, offering 2 showers each and 3 toilets in the ladies and 2 toilets and urinal in the mens, were well looked after and I never had to queue. Perhaps people don't wash so much when only away for a weekend! Firepits/BBQs available to hire which saves you having to take it all down with you and great for offering warmth during the evening and an excuse to toast marshmallows. The site is located next to a road, but it's not very busy, so road noise isn't really a problem and the gate is always kept shut so dogs and children can't escape. Lovely pub within walking distance just down the road if you don't want to cook. Great cycle tracks from the site with lots of pub stops. This area of the forest is not as busy as around Lyndhurst and Burley so cycling on the roads wasn't unpleasant and there were lots of cycle routes in the Forest. Definitely will return; just wish I had discovered it sooner. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Flowing Stream 3 reviews from this member

 Wonderful camp site. Good views, excellent walking from the camp site, or cycling if you wish. There are many camp sites in the Forest to walk from. There is a pub 10 mins walk away.

Ground hard, so bring rock pegs - a must - don't forget enough for your ALL your tent pegs, unless you want bent pegs. I think the owner can supply them if you wish to buy them on site, but check when you book.

Fire baskets can be hired, and wood bought on site

Loos and showers are good, and kept as clean as can be expected.

There is a clear camp site policy on noise, and while people stretched it a bit, after 11. 30 or so it was pretty quiet.

Not too large a campsite, so it didn't feel sprawling

They can hire you freezer packs, or you can refreeze yours in the freezer, and a mobile shop visits each morning, and (I presume every day) an ice cream visits in the evening.

Reasonably good value, I wouldn't hesitate to return.

It is only a shame it has such a short season! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Howells of Usk 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic campsite! We visited Tom's Field with our 3 children, our dog and some friends. Beautifully maintained, spotless toilets & showers, even washing-up liquid and brushes provided for washing up. Full but never felt crowded, lovely family feel. Gator truck rides in exchange for picking up litter were a massive hit with the kids. Thank you Tom & Tina we'll be back next year. The Howells of Usk 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KeithPratt 1 review from this member

 Candice Marie and I have just returned to Croydon after a May bank holiday weekend at Tom's field. It's a lovely place to get away from the hurly-burly and hustle and bustle of town life. It being a bank holiday, there were a few people from the tenements, but they did not intrude - partly as there is a more secluded wooded area for the likes of us. The field is very much within the open Forest (but fenced out from commoners's animals), with fantastic views all around of the lowland heath, woodland, mires and streams. We had a full schedule of activities for the weekend, for which we had a range of footwear but could have easily stayed longer.

There is a pop-up shop run as a trust by the local community at the campsite. Although tofu and unpasteurised milk is not for sale, it is probably more ethical than most shops. Had no problem buying a Guardian from them, as they were well stocked. Recycling facilities were very good. The owners made us feel welcome and relaxed & the shower block did its job well, and was kept clean.

There are some rules about fires that are easy for all to follow. These are important for safety reasons, and to protect the heath. Thankfully the owners have some barbecue buckets to use if you need to cook your felafels on an open fire. Everyone at the site appeared to get on easily with this arrangement: I have camped elsewhere where rules were not observed, and this has caused problems.

Though you could hear cars going along the B3078, the normally slow speeds meant that we were not distracted from writing poetry, music or following our fitness regimes. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Greenbeavers 8 reviews from this member

 We went to Tom's Field on a very hot weekend and had chosen it because of the positive reviews. We were two couples with two tents and were put in the corner of the adult section. We had lovely views and lots of space. However in front of our friends tent was a dust bowl which made everything dirty and which the dogs rolled in. The ground was also very uneven. The pitch next to ours was empty but hsd it been in use they would have been very close to us.

The site was full and in my opinion the toilets inadequate. They are housed in a portacabin and are very cramped. Only three toilets and two showers per gender could not cope with the fifty or so pitches. As it was so hot the showers were in almost constant use and became very dirty and there was no means for drying hands after using the toilet. Not a big issue when we were there but would be when not so hot. However the view while you wait to use either the toilet or shower has to be the best in the New Forest!

As mentioned by others it is quiet and the nearby road is not a problem. However we were visited by roaming children and parents should be told that the copse area is out of bounds to their offspring.

We walked to the Fighting Cocks pub which is very pretty but beware it will cost you a serious amount of money! Four beers cost over £25! It also gets very crowded. Sandy Balls has a good supermarket which is reasonably priced and although ee didn't visit the mobile shop Tom made sure everyone knew when it was on site.

Owner is friendly and helpful and the recycling and freezer services are very good. However I have stayed in much nicer sites in the New Forest and would not return or recommend it because of the inadequate toilets and poorly kept pitches. 


Previous     57 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Toms Field child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Toms Field?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Toms Field dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Fordingbridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1840 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement