Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Kintra Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Islay > Kintra Farm Campsite > Reviews

Kintra Farm Campsite
Port Ellen
Islay
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA42 7AT
Tel: 01496 302051
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2024 to 01/01/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 19 Reviews
                8/10 from 19 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2024 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 We have been advised by the owner, that the campsite at this location remains closed throughout 2024. The cottages are still available to rent.

If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Me123 11 reviews from this member

 Lovely location, fantastic beaches but an expensive (19 a night) wildcamping experience. Not really a campsite but rather as previous reviewers state a field of really rough hilly sanddunes amongst which you are expected to pitch up.

The toilets and showers are clean and adequate but I felt I was back at school with all the rules and extra charge notices which rather spoilt the get away from it all reason to camp there.

Looking at previous reviews it doesn't sound like any changes have been made since 2010 including the notices 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Traceygill 5 reviews from this member

 It can feel like you're never going to reach the site as it a bit off the beaten track but keep on going you won't be disappointed. You aren't given a pitch but left to decide which sand Dune you want. It was very windy the 1st night we were there but we survived & the sound of the sea was never far away. The beach was lovely but there was a lot of old drift wood lying about. The facilities were a bit of a trek as we pitch up far away again something we choice. Facilities were basic but adequate. Would definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JCockcroft 6 reviews from this member

 An amazing location with basic but clean facilities. Situated right on the beach you get to fall to sleep to the sound of the waves, however this also makes it a windy spot at times.

This site is extremely remote with no shop or pub for miles but if this is what you are after this is the perfect site for you.

We found this site expensive for what is offered and they will charge you extra for everything including a bit of hand washing! However the beautiful location makes it worthwhile.  


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Truediamond 111 reviews from this member

 Islay is not blessed with many Sites, at this point in time, Kintra and Port Mor are the only options. Although one can be seen from the other on a good day across Lochindaal, they are quite a distance apart in geography and facilities. Kintra can't have changed much since the previous reviews, the location is wonderful, amongst dunes on the edge of an ~7 mile long beach but, in practice, this is essentially wild camping with a few standpipes and some old toilet/washing/showering facilities.

The Site is ~3-4 miles outside Port Ellen at the end of a long single track road. There's a beautiful beach just about 1 mile after the turn off (look for the green gates on the RHS at Kilnaughton). Its also accessible from the cemetery off the Mull of Oa Road. Kintra beach itself had good looking surf and plenty of space for walking and exploring. When you arrive on Site, you can check in, pay and choose a pitch. If there's no one about you choose your own space and sort out payment later. It cost us 17/night for 2 adults in a motorhome. This isn't particularly good value for the facilities you get but the scenery is meant to compensate. As others have mentioned, the washing area is plastered with Rules about payment, clothes washing, by hand and machine and showering. These rather contrast with the free and easy approach overall. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pusscat 5 reviews from this member

 Best site ever for wildlife, sunsets, walks on the beach, walks to Mull of Oa, and generally relaxing. The owner was a true gentleman, giving local history and natural history information. We are used to campsites where facilities are far more basic than this so had no grumbles, and the fridge freezers were great if only guests cleared them on leaving and did not thieve your cool packs. Looking forward to a revisit sometime. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: MaggieMc 6 reviews from this member

 A lovely, peaceful site in the dunes on a working farm. Perfect if you want to get away from it all entirely. The water is still from a standpipe and is brown and still best boiled before drinking! (we opted to bring our own) All the previous reviews from years ago still hold true, except that the approach road is better now.

The facilities are basic and could be improved on a little. The ladies has one shower and 3 toilets and the floor was always wet and a little dirty. It smelt a little damp. If there was improved ventilation I think that would help a lot.

Levelling blocks are helpful although there are some level pitches.

The beach is great- I wish we had a kayak or board with us.

Port Ellen is a few miles easy cycling away and has a Spar and a Coop. The newly refurbished The Islay Hotel (on the corner on the way to the ferry) is a lovely place to eat out- it has a lovely beer garden and the food was delicious -well presented, with welcoming, friendly staff. There are then 3 distilleries within a few miles- Laggavoulin, Laphroaig, Ardbeg- again easy cycling on quiet roads. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The-monsters 4 reviews from this member

 A lovely site set in the dunes - choose your own pitch - with fantastic views. We chose a pitch almost on the beach and lit a fire just outside our tent which was great fun.

Quite a walk to toilets and showers which were very clean and free. Kettle and facilities for campers were appreciated.

We did see all the rules which were quite amusing but to be honest only common sense. The one we felt was a bit rich was 50p to charge mobiles etc but I guess we can understand why.

Road up to the site was quite rough and a track by the end but keep on going! 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 684 reviews from this member

 Site if set along the sea shore on the sand dunes - literally steps onto the sandy beach from some pitches. Water on site - no electric hookups available. The toilets / showers are at the farm a short walk away. 2 toilets / 1 shower each for ladies / gents/ Old looking but clean and functional.

One thing to note - they don't allow you to empty chemical toilets at all - therefore best to turn up empty and use the site facilities.

View across the loch is stunning - and you can walk for literally 3-4 miles along the beach. The golf club is a short walk up a track, worth a visit for a drink.

We visited Mull of Oa whilst staying and walked up to the American monument (built to commemorate 2 ships that sunk in WWI) - a bit of a hike but worth it to see the amazing monument and the views.

We paid 6 for 2 adults plus 8 for camper, prices vary depending on your van / tent size. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Farmers wife 4 reviews from this member

 An absolutely fantastic area to camp - right on the beach - amazing views and lots of privacy as you can camp pretty much where you like in the rolling dunes (pitches are not marked out). We found a bit of shelter was best as the wind can get up!

Facilities are basic but functional with plenty of hot water in both the showers- all the facilities are together in a converted farm building (fridge, washing up sinks, toilets, showers) so one trip covered everything.

Could do with a lick of paint and a little update but nothing too major. Do be aware though if you arrive on the late ferry that the owners will not be around to welcome you or take you through the unbelievable amount of rules, dos and don'ts (seems a bit daft to me as most campers arrive at that time 8.30pm)

There are certain areas that, for reasons that are beyond me, you cannot camp on - however the only guideline for this is a poorly drawn upside down map of the site.

It would make more sense to clearly mark this on the beach path as many of us failed to comprehend it! The lady we spoke to was not very friendly throughout our stay, however the site and the views make up for any other lackings and it truly is a beautiful spot. 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Kintra Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Kintra Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Kintra Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Islay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


44134 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement