Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Kintra Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Islay > Kintra Farm Reviews

Kintra Farm
Port Ellen
Islay
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA42 7AT
Tel: 01496 302051
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: 01/05 To 30/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 18 Reviews
                8/10 from 18 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Me123 10 reviews from this member

Lovely location, fantastic beaches but an expensive (£19 a night) wildcamping experience. Not really a campsite but rather as previous reviewers state a field of really rough hilly sanddunes amongst which you are expected to pitch up.

The toilets and showers are clean and adequate but I felt I was back at school with all the rules and extra charge notices which rather spoilt the get away from it all reason to camp there.

Looking at previous reviews it doesn't sound like any changes have been made since 2010 including the notices

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Traceygill 5 reviews from this member

It can feel like you're never going to reach the site as it a bit off the beaten track but keep on going you won't be disappointed. You aren't given a pitch but left to decide which sand Dune you want. It was very windy the 1st night we were there but we survived & the sound of the sea was never far away. The beach was lovely but there was a lot of old drift wood lying about. The facilities were a bit of a trek as we pitch up far away again something we choice. Facilities were basic but adequate. Would definitely go back.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JCockcroft 6 reviews from this member

An amazing location with basic but clean facilities. Situated right on the beach you get to fall to sleep to the sound of the waves, however this also makes it a windy spot at times.

This site is extremely remote with no shop or pub for miles but if this is what you are after this is the perfect site for you.

We found this site expensive for what is offered and they will charge you extra for everything including a bit of hand washing! However the beautiful location makes it worthwhile.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Truediamond 81 reviews from this member

Islay is not blessed with many Sites, at this point in time, Kintra and Port Mor are the only options. Although one can be seen from the other on a good day across Lochindaal, they are quite a distance apart in geography and facilities. Kintra can't have changed much since the previous reviews, the location is wonderful, amongst dunes on the edge of an ~7 mile long beach but, in practice, this is essentially wild camping with a few standpipes and some old toilet/washing/showering facilities.

The Site is ~3-4 miles outside Port Ellen at the end of a long single track road. There's a beautiful beach just about 1 mile after the turn off (look for the green gates on the RHS at Kilnaughton). Its also accessible from the cemetery off the Mull of Oa Road. Kintra beach itself had good looking surf and plenty of space for walking and exploring. When you arrive on Site, you can check in, pay and choose a pitch. If there's no one about you choose your own space and sort out payment later. It cost us £17/night for 2 adults in a motorhome. This isn't particularly good value for the facilities you get but the scenery is meant to compensate. As others have mentioned, the washing area is plastered with Rules about payment, clothes washing, by hand and machine and showering. These rather contrast with the free and easy approach overall.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pusscat 5 reviews from this member

Best site ever for wildlife, sunsets, walks on the beach, walks to Mull of Oa, and generally relaxing. The owner was a true gentleman, giving local history and natural history information. We are used to campsites where facilities are far more basic than this so had no grumbles, and the fridge freezers were great if only guests cleared them on leaving and did not thieve your cool packs. Looking forward to a revisit sometime.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: MaggieMc 6 reviews from this member

A lovely, peaceful site in the dunes on a working farm. Perfect if you want to get away from it all entirely. The water is still from a standpipe and is brown and still best boiled before drinking! (we opted to bring our own) All the previous reviews from years ago still hold true, except that the approach road is better now.

The facilities are basic and could be improved on a little. The ladies has one shower and 3 toilets and the floor was always wet and a little dirty. It smelt a little damp. If there was improved ventilation I think that would help a lot.

Levelling blocks are helpful although there are some level pitches.

The beach is great- I wish we had a kayak or board with us.

Port Ellen is a few miles easy cycling away and has a Spar and a Coop. The newly refurbished The Islay Hotel (on the corner on the way to the ferry) is a lovely place to eat out- it has a lovely beer garden and the food was delicious -well presented, with welcoming, friendly staff. There are then 3 distilleries within a few miles- Laggavoulin, Laphroaig, Ardbeg- again easy cycling on quiet roads.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The-monsters 4 reviews from this member

A lovely site set in the dunes - choose your own pitch - with fantastic views. We chose a pitch almost on the beach and lit a fire just outside our tent which was great fun.

Quite a walk to toilets and showers which were very clean and free. Kettle and facilities for campers were appreciated.

We did see all the rules which were quite amusing but to be honest only common sense. The one we felt was a bit rich was 50p to charge mobiles etc but I guess we can understand why.

Road up to the site was quite rough and a track by the end but keep on going!

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

Site if set along the sea shore on the sand dunes - literally steps onto the sandy beach from some pitches. Water on site - no electric hookups available. The toilets / showers are at the farm a short walk away. 2 toilets / 1 shower each for ladies / gents/ Old looking but clean and functional.

One thing to note - they don't allow you to empty chemical toilets at all - therefore best to turn up empty and use the site facilities.

View across the loch is stunning - and you can walk for literally 3-4 miles along the beach. The golf club is a short walk up a track, worth a visit for a drink.

We visited Mull of Oa whilst staying and walked up to the American monument (built to commemorate 2 ships that sunk in WWI) - a bit of a hike but worth it to see the amazing monument and the views.

We paid £6 for 2 adults plus £8 for camper, prices vary depending on your van / tent size.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Farmers wife 4 reviews from this member

An absolutely fantastic area to camp - right on the beach - amazing views and lots of privacy as you can camp pretty much where you like in the rolling dunes (pitches are not marked out). We found a bit of shelter was best as the wind can get up!

Facilities are basic but functional with plenty of hot water in both the showers- all the facilities are together in a converted farm building (fridge, washing up sinks, toilets, showers) so one trip covered everything.

Could do with a lick of paint and a little update but nothing too major. Do be aware though if you arrive on the late ferry that the owners will not be around to welcome you or take you through the unbelievable amount of rules, dos and don'ts (seems a bit daft to me as most campers arrive at that time 8.30pm)

There are certain areas that, for reasons that are beyond me, you cannot camp on - however the only guideline for this is a poorly drawn upside down map of the site.

It would make more sense to clearly mark this on the beach path as many of us failed to comprehend it! The lady we spoke to was not very friendly throughout our stay, however the site and the views make up for any other lackings and it truly is a beautiful spot.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mcockayne 3 reviews from this member

The site can be found 10 minutes from the port. Your can't book a pitch so just turn up and pay.

Pitching is varied depending on your unit and preference to location. We pitched right on the edge of the dunes but you can pitch in a more sheltered location (if available). The view from your tent is spectacular. The sandy beech stretches for miles and is flanked by hills and mountains. Cloud permitting you will get a fantastic sun set at night across the bay.
The pitches are all grass which can be long in some areas so be prepared to pitch with flexibility, a good walk round the site before pitching is a good idea to find those secret and ideal locations!

The toilets and showers (only used the gents) need a re-vamp. They are clean and hot water is always available but only have one shower. A lick of paint is all that's needed. Washing machine, tumble dryer, telephone charging all available payable locally. Two sinks for washing up in the same block as facilities. Two fridges if required.

As per previous comments on rules, there are a lot but personally found them entertaining to read whilst washing the dishes. The site seems to be run a little old school but we can understand why the rules are there, staff are very friendly and helpful.

There are only two camping sites on Islay, here and Port Charlotte. We did visit the site at Port Charlotte when driving by. It seems to have better and modern facilities with a children's play area and restaurant but lacks the WOW factor, vista and charcter of Kintra Farm.

Our weather for the week was very sunny except our last day where we had to take down the tent due to heavy winds. Be prepared for heavy winds and rain. Whilst we have a good quality Sunncamp Oasis 700 tent, we and other campers were taken by surprise the the force of the wind. The elements are a risk here but for us it was well worth it and this shouldn't put you off visiting as long as you are prepared.

No need to tell you about what the islands offers, scenery, whiskey and walking are everywhere!

Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5054 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019