Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Homestead Lake Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Essex > Weeley > Homestead Lake Park Reviews

Homestead Lake Park
Thorpe Road
Weeley
Essex   (Browse area)
CO16 9JN
Tel: 01255 833492  or  01255 830229
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 50
Open: 1st March To 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 44 Reviews
                9/10 from 44 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  44 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hilary C 30 reviews from this member

We enjoyed our stay here so much that 2 weeks later we are going back again. Our pitch was at the side of the site backing onto trees and grass, almost like woodland. Despite being the 6 weeks holiday and busy it was also quiet, it's not the type of site to attract those who enjoy a rowdy lifestyle. There is nothing on site for children other than grass and ball games are not encouraged and certainly not around the pitches. The fishing lake is beautiful with garden benches for those who just want to sit and take in the atmosphere and if you do decide to go here take a walk along the lake, over the bridge and up past the lodges and over to the right you will come to the most wonderful field with a stream. The toilets and showers were always clean and warm and the showers have plenty of hooks and holders for clothes, shower gel and shampoo and a fold down stool. There is a dish washing room with two sinks but no launderette. All pitches have both hard standing and grass and your own grey water and elsan disposal, you will need a long hose if you don't want to keep filling the aquaroll. Every where is so clean and tidy. We had breakfast in the café one morning, the food was acceptable and the service friendly, you can also take your dog into the first part of the cafe. There is also an excellent spares shop and caravan servicing. The only criticism that I have is that you do get quite a bit of distant road noise but after a couple of days we were used to it and no longer noticed it. There isn't really anywhere to go off site other than the Black Boy pub which is overrated and over priced and not dog friendly. Everywhere else is a car ride or bus ride away.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Judipearce 20 reviews from this member

A lovely site that slopes down to a lake, as way you pitch is same for everyone some people needed chocks on one side of the van. We didn't but had one under front as we were by the lake. Really nice that you can see a site plan and when you ring select your pitch. Lake is to the north so sun is on side of field by the rally field. Another point worthy of note is that you share hook ups so need long electric and extended waste pipes for many pitches, still the on site shop can sort these if you haven't got them. Facilities are good if some are in need of renovation especially the disabled room. Lots of fishermen and they seemed to be catching plenty of big ones!

A very quiet site even at the weekend as there really isn't a lot for children to do. Visited Frinton nearby and had lovely meals at Cafe 19. Easy to find and great access, park by the fountain don't take van into caravan sales area but a really lovely site.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chappies43 28 reviews from this member

Another great stay at Homestead for Spring Bank Holiday week, our 3rd as we have family in the area. Facilities continue to be well cared for and site remains one of our favourites. We used the cabin cafe a couple of times during this stay and enjoyed lovely breakfasts. We explored the local area on foot more on this visit as we've added a puppy to our family and enjoyed some lovely walks.

Super place to which I'm sure we'll return.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Platinum5 6 reviews from this member

Yet another wonderful stay at Homestead only this time we had the great weather as well

What a lovely well run site and facilities, no wonder so many return time and again (many friends keep comimg back)

They must be getting something right.

Well done staff!

Pat and Kathy Nolan. (Roxy and Roux Too)

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dave and Wendy 26 reviews from this member

Found this site via their web page for the accessories shop, we would normally check and read the reviews on UK Campsites about any site we think about visiting. However we sort of went blind so to speak on this one, only looked at their own web page. We were pleasantly surprised, what a lovely site it is. It does have a slight slope so levelling blocks may be needed on some of the pitches. All the pitches are fully serviced, hard standing with plenty of grass between each pitch.

The shower/toilet/laundry block was warm and kept very clean, the showers are the push button type but stay on for a reasonable time, unlike some we have used. There are hair dryers but no privacy cubicles for those who like that sort of thing.

There is family/disable room which meets the same standard as the rest of the block. The chemical disposal point ideally situated at the rear of the building which allows both caravans & motor homes to pull up along side it, so no long trek with the cartridge from the loo.

There is no children's play area and as we don't have children with us we have not given a mark for this item, other wise it would have been 10/10.

There is no grocery shop on site, however there are some shops and a pub close buy we did not use them so can't comment on them.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the food at there cafe is reasonably priced and of a good standard (very good fried breakfast).

A very well stocked accessory shop, which was the reason we went as they stocked an item that I could not find in any other caravan accessories shop/web site.

A good display of new and used caravans on show.

A quite little gem of a site we will return.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Croyde_or_bust 16 reviews from this member

For years we have looked for a quiet and peaceful site in Essex, within an hour of home. Then last year we found this place and it fits the needs perfectly for weekends / long weekends.

Not expensive, the greeting from staff there is very jovial, the WC and showers are perfectly adequate, the whole area is very clean, the pitches are large and self servicing and the view across the lake is wonderful.

I would say its more inclined to families who do not have younger children because it doesn't have a playground however, only yesterday, we watched a young family spend hours enjoying their fishing so I guess it depends on the children you have.

Beyond the lake there is a nice walk with further lakes and picnic tables. Within a few minutes walk there is a convenience store, local baker and Black Boy pub where I am told the food is very good. Lastly as they sell caravans at Homestead, there is a well stocked shop for parts, gas, new bits you need etc etc.

Well worth a visit !

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Di+Glyn_W 17 reviews from this member

What a cracking site!

We managed to get a pitch overlooking the lake; all pitches do appear to be aimed at 'van/motorhomes, as they have level gravel pitch with large grass area to side. Each pitch has access to mains water & electrical hookup, waste drainage and chemical waste disposal; that is on each pitch!

We visited the week after Easter, so only about 8 units there - really quiet! But it is in such a peaceful location anyway. The site is extremely well kept and tidy. The toilet blocks are clean and warm; showers are push button operation but unlimited hot water. The only (very minor) issue was the lack of privacy wash cubicles for shaving etc.

The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful and, whilst the site has rules, they are not excessive or intrusive. We had visitors on one day; the site did not charge for them being there, and allowed their car to be parked on our pitch. This was quite different from other sites we have stayed on.

There are plenty of walking opportunities locally, and plenty of space to exercise your dog on and off site.

There is so much to visit locally. Some fantastic beaches at Frinton on Sea. Walton on the Naze has some brilliant walks along the beach and slightly inland. There is a tea-shop at the headland, and the food is scrumptious, but is only a small shop so there's a bit of a wait for food at busy times, as it's made to order.

Clacton on Sea is local, and Southend Pier about 45 mins drive. Plenty to see and do.

For shopping, there are large Tesco and Morrisons supermarkets within 15 minutes drive, or more locally small village shops.

There are several places locally to eat out; however, we wanted to use the very local Black Boy pub for a meal, and they would not let us take our dog in. Obviously each pub can make their own rules, but was just a little surprised as so many pubs let you take dogs in, even if you are eating there.

You can spend all day sitting watching the ducks and geese at this site. It really is fantastic. There's no play area for kids, but if they are prepared to go out exploring they'll love it.

Access to this site is very straightforward from main roads; about 1hr from the Dartford Crossing if coming from Kent. Reception, to book in, is straight ahead when entering the site. If towing, it's easier to drive in and go right, stopping before security gates, and then walk back to the reception. Otherwise there's not much space to turn round and go back to the site!

The site itself is situated behind the caravan sales and camping shop, but once you get round to the site, it truly is a fantastic place to stay. We'll be back!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Happyvicky 2 reviews from this member

Lovely lovely the actual site.

Kids loved location. Could cycle their bikes around lake and up by the very pretty log cabins behind the lake. Though kids did see a man weeing in the bushes! No very nice.

Great big fields for dogs. Also a field for ball games, were dogs can't go.

The site is close to frinton and Walton on the naze, but great beaches. About 15 min drive.

Toilets are clean. Although showers were a bit too hot, kids couldn't shower in them.

Each pitch had a hook up and water supple.

There was loads of noise from somewhere close sounded like a clubhouse or a karaoke club. It went on very late. However this was not on the site.

Only negative is the pitch is not very tent friendly.

Designing for motorhome or caravans with awnings. Out tent was squashed in on a very bumpy bit of grass which struggled when we had rain, there was a pool of water under our tent. Due to this we left early, as showed no signs of draining away.

Each pitch has a shingled area to stand a caravan, this takes up a large bit of pitch. Our tent did fit, but we ended up with our tent really close to the bush which made it hard to get in and out of tent.

Due to this reason I only give it a 7. If I had had a caravan a 9.

I feel it would benefit from a small play area too.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Littleacre 2 reviews from this member

This is a very quiet clean site. Other than fishing not much to do. Extremely peaceful though. Toilets and showers very clean. Not far from Clacton and beaches. Weeley has a good boot sale on a Saturday. On site is a great little 2nd hand caravan bits shop, café and big caravan spares shop. About 5 minutes down the road is a small supermarket type shop for essentials.

We have been twice in 6 weeks to this site, kids love the fishing. £5 per day per person to fish.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cara Van 1 review from this member

A lovely site with much to recommend it as in other reviews - clean and well looked after. I just want to add that the waste drains on the hard standings are at the side of the pitch so take longer pipes if yours are at the back like ours. Also you won't need blocks to level if you are on pitches 1 - 10 as you can do it with the front and back jacks alone due to the fact that the van points down the slope here whereas all others are across the slope. The slope isn't too bad either. They have a great equipment shop on site and even a separate second hand equipment shop where I picked up a few great little things like window catches etc.

Previous     44 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Weeley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Essex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6086 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019