Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Homestead Lake Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Essex > Weeley > Homestead Lake Park Reviews

Homestead Lake Park
Thorpe Road
Weeley
Essex   (Browse area)
CO16 9JN
Tel: 01255 833492  or  01255 830229
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 48 Reviews
                9/10 from 48 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  48 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kctu 1 review from this member

 Lovely site one of our favourites but no toilets or showers open which is very disappointing considering that I need the disabled toilet facility. Feel discriminated against.

A reduction in price would have been a nice touch. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Johnscrivy 8 reviews from this member

 A very nice neat and tidy site £25 a night but because of covid no toilets, great site for fishing. Average size pitch but fully serviced.

Breakfast in the Cafe was very good. The site also has a very handy caravan / motorhome campers shop next door.

Its a great location for local touring.

Will I be back "YES" 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: SCOTTFAMILY49 1 review from this member

 Spent two days there. A nice well kept site. Shame it had no facilities open. We were charged full price, other sites have managed to sort out showers and toilet to use 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Marros 4 reviews from this member

 This is a gem of a campsite. Very friendly and helpful site staff and great facilities. That have a fantastic caravan and camping shop on site and also a caravan repair workshop.

The site itself is very peaceful, although it is not really far off the beaten track, easily accessible from the A12/A120.

Beautiful surroundings and of you're into fishing that have a large fishing lake within the boundary of the site which seems to be really popular.

We visited during the time of the COVID-19 restrictions and I have to say that could not have been better organised.

I would wholeheartedly recommend this great site. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hilary C 32 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed our stay here so much that 2 weeks later we are going back again. Our pitch was at the side of the site backing onto trees and grass, almost like woodland. Despite being the 6 weeks holiday and busy it was also quiet, it's not the type of site to attract those who enjoy a rowdy lifestyle. There is nothing on site for children other than grass and ball games are not encouraged and certainly not around the pitches. The fishing lake is beautiful with garden benches for those who just want to sit and take in the atmosphere and if you do decide to go here take a walk along the lake, over the bridge and up past the lodges and over to the right you will come to the most wonderful field with a stream. The toilets and showers were always clean and warm and the showers have plenty of hooks and holders for clothes, shower gel and shampoo and a fold down stool. There is a dish washing room with two sinks but no launderette. All pitches have both hard standing and grass and your own grey water and elsan disposal, you will need a long hose if you don't want to keep filling the aquaroll. Every where is so clean and tidy. We had breakfast in the café one morning, the food was acceptable and the service friendly, you can also take your dog into the first part of the cafe. There is also an excellent spares shop and caravan servicing. The only criticism that I have is that you do get quite a bit of distant road noise but after a couple of days we were used to it and no longer noticed it. There isn't really anywhere to go off site other than the Black Boy pub which is overrated and over priced and not dog friendly. Everywhere else is a car ride or bus ride away. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Judipearce 23 reviews from this member

 A lovely site that slopes down to a lake, as way you pitch is same for everyone some people needed chocks on one side of the van. We didn't but had one under front as we were by the lake. Really nice that you can see a site plan and when you ring select your pitch. Lake is to the north so sun is on side of field by the rally field. Another point worthy of note is that you share hook ups so need long electric and extended waste pipes for many pitches, still the on site shop can sort these if you haven't got them. Facilities are good if some are in need of renovation especially the disabled room. Lots of fishermen and they seemed to be catching plenty of big ones!

A very quiet site even at the weekend as there really isn't a lot for children to do. Visited Frinton nearby and had lovely meals at Cafe 19. Easy to find and great access, park by the fountain don't take van into caravan sales area but a really lovely site. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Chappies43 37 reviews from this member

 Another great stay at Homestead for Spring Bank Holiday week, our 3rd as we have family in the area. Facilities continue to be well cared for and site remains one of our favourites. We used the cabin cafe a couple of times during this stay and enjoyed lovely breakfasts. We explored the local area on foot more on this visit as we've added a puppy to our family and enjoyed some lovely walks.

Super place to which I'm sure we'll return. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Platinum5 6 reviews from this member

 Yet another wonderful stay at Homestead only this time we had the great weather as well

What a lovely well run site and facilities, no wonder so many return time and again (many friends keep comimg back)

They must be getting something right.

Well done staff!

Pat and Kathy Nolan. (Roxy and Roux Too) 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dave and Wendy 33 reviews from this member

 Found this site via their web page for the accessories shop, we would normally check and read the reviews on UK Campsites about any site we think about visiting. However we sort of went blind so to speak on this one, only looked at their own web page. We were pleasantly surprised, what a lovely site it is. It does have a slight slope so levelling blocks may be needed on some of the pitches. All the pitches are fully serviced, hard standing with plenty of grass between each pitch.

The shower/toilet/laundry block was warm and kept very clean, the showers are the push button type but stay on for a reasonable time, unlike some we have used. There are hair dryers but no privacy cubicles for those who like that sort of thing.

There is family/disable room which meets the same standard as the rest of the block. The chemical disposal point ideally situated at the rear of the building which allows both caravans & motor homes to pull up along side it, so no long trek with the cartridge from the loo.

There is no children's play area and as we don't have children with us we have not given a mark for this item, other wise it would have been 10/10.

There is no grocery shop on site, however there are some shops and a pub close buy we did not use them so can't comment on them.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the food at there cafe is reasonably priced and of a good standard (very good fried breakfast).

A very well stocked accessory shop, which was the reason we went as they stocked an item that I could not find in any other caravan accessories shop/web site.

A good display of new and used caravans on show.

A quite little gem of a site we will return. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Croyde_or_bust 16 reviews from this member

 For years we have looked for a quiet and peaceful site in Essex, within an hour of home. Then last year we found this place and it fits the needs perfectly for weekends / long weekends.

Not expensive, the greeting from staff there is very jovial, the WC and showers are perfectly adequate, the whole area is very clean, the pitches are large and self servicing and the view across the lake is wonderful.

I would say its more inclined to families who do not have younger children because it doesn't have a playground however, only yesterday, we watched a young family spend hours enjoying their fishing so I guess it depends on the children you have.

Beyond the lake there is a nice walk with further lakes and picnic tables. Within a few minutes walk there is a convenience store, local baker and Black Boy pub where I am told the food is very good. Lastly as they sell caravans at Homestead, there is a well stocked shop for parts, gas, new bits you need etc etc.

Well worth a visit ! 


Previous     48 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Homestead Lake Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Homestead Lake Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Homestead Lake Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Weeley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Essex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2930 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Open Today's Window