Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Mandale Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Bakewell > Mandale Campsite Reviews

Mandale Campsite
Mandale Farm, Haddon Grove
Nr Over Haddon
Bakewell
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE45 1JF
Tel: 01629 812416
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/03/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 82 Reviews
                8/10 from 82 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  82 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Adders21 2 reviews from this member

 This site is in a great location. It offers great access to Lathkil Dale also it is pretty central to Over Haddon (with pub) and Monyash (with pub). The site is friendly and has a great safe family feel to it.

The pitches in the top field are flat and offer great views.

I could highly recommend this site except for the hot water policy.

For the price that is charged for the site I fully expect to pay for the shower but paying for all hot water is where the site, in my opinion, fails. I would much prefer to pay a higher site fee that included hot water.

The problem is this. You go for a shower in the morning and evening. You use your 20ps on these services. Then in the evening you go to wash your pots and find you have no 20ps left! I was amazed to find that you needed to purchase hot water here too. There is only 1 sink with a hot water feed. Located in the wash area there are bowls to fill up with hot water but if someone is using the 1 sink with the hot water feed you have to wait. Then there is the problem of not having enough 20ps after showering before hand! Yes, I know we could each have paid 1 to use the showers instead of 20ps but.

Then there is the issue of no hot water in the toilets! If you want a wash at this site you have to have a shower. You can't wash your hands or face in warm water unless you want to keep spending 20p in the pot washing area.

Because of this inconvenience I would not visit again nor would I recommend it. There are other sites very close by with better services for similar cost. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pawsfortents 2 reviews from this member

 Great caravan site. Lovely and quiet with good views of the countryside.

Dog friendly and nice owners.

Several fields to accommodate different groups including DofE or large organised groups. No problem with noise or queueing for anything.

Showers and toilets are clean and tidy at all times.

Washing up facilities are inside or outside. Seemed a bit weird that you had to pay for hot water for washing up but cold water was sufficient for us.

Decent views from all places on the campsite field.

No pubs, shops etc within walking distance so a car is needed if you want those facilities.

Decent prices and would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Charlwooduk 9 reviews from this member

 Lovely quiet site in a gorgeous location. Stunning views and an ideal base to explore from. There are 3 fields, one for DofE only and 2 others. If you're happy with a basic campsite without the thrills of playgrounds and on site bars then this is the site for you. Ground is soft enough to get pegs in although you can feel a few rocks underneath. It's mostly level throughout the field. Toilets and showers have their bins regularly emptied and are clean. There are two washing up areas - one inside and one outside. Hot water, both for showers and washing costs extra. There is also a freezer for ice blocks.

Even though there was a large group in one field and lots of families and children playing in another, there was no noise late into the night or early morning.

Cost was 5. 50 per person with no extra charge for the dog. Very reasonable. Lovely site, we would definitely stay again if back in the area. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Juliebelper 16 reviews from this member

 Spent just the one night here at the beginning of September. The last weekend before the children returned to school. It was busy, with plenty of tents pitching in the middle of the fields. There are 2 fields with the facilities in the middle. The first field is very sloped but if you have a small tent or just drop lucky, you can find some flat areas. The second is much flatter, quite large and with a lovely view over the hills.

The grass was quite long, so waterproof shoes are in order. It was a quiet site and priced at 5. 50pppn, very cheap. However as others have said, the price rises if you want to use hot water to wash up, have a warm wash or use the shower.

There are 3 sinks in the washing up barn, 20p a minute for hot water from the single hot water tap over one of the sinks. The toilets are adequate, with a couple of sinks to wash in (cold water only) Also if you wanted a wash, beware the gents and ladies are opposite each other and easily viewed into, every time someone comes in! My hubby said that there were no hand drying towels in the evening and then when refilled the next day, the bin overflowed with them all over the floor.

There are plenty of rubbish bins, with good recycling facilities. BBQ's are allowed as long as they are off the ground.

It is in a lovely area of the peaks, with a multitude of walks close by and places to visit locally.

So - a cheap site with basic facilities, in a lovely location. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kenhin 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely quiet, rural campsite. Handy to have electric hookup. Toilets, showers etc are adequate, one point - you do need to make sure you have enough 'old' pound coins or 5x20p pieces for the number of people in your party to have a shower or use the washing up sinks/hot water.

Would benefit from having hot/warm water in the toilet blocks rather than just cold, to wash you face, as you do not always want a shower.

Nice site though! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Mandreed 19 reviews from this member

 It is basic!

Two fields and some showers and toilets that have seen better days. If you don't mind roughing it for a day or two, and want to be close to Bakewell/Lathkill Dale, then this site will suit you. (Price is reflected in what you get)

Not ideal for families with young children due to the facilities (or lack of). If you prefer hot water and soap, hand drying facilities, and decent showers, then try somewhere else. Sorry, not my first choice. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: WoodyVan 1 review from this member

 Booked here for just one night (BH Monday) so we could cycle the Monsal Trail. Unlike most campsites we go to, the man who served us at reception was quite unengaging, and didn't really make us feel welcome. However, it did only cost us 13. 50 for the night!

The site was quiet, and we wondered if our 7year old was ok to play football and cricket as no other children seemed to be 'playing'! However, other did seem to come to life when they saw us! There was a rule that ball games were only allowed at quiet periods.

The field was in a pretty location, and was good ground.

The real downside for us, apart from the less than welcoming reception, was the shower and toilet facilities. Surely it's not too much to ask to provide hot water and soap to wash your hands in the washrooms?? Children esp can't be expected to be prepared and take soap with them when they need to go! The ladies was also lacking in paper towels and even toilet roll for the whole time of our stay.

The showers were very basic, which we don't mind, but if you are going to charge 20p a minute, at least provide constant water, rather than a push button system, and the scalding heat after each press prohibited us from washing our son. We were only there one night, so not a major issue, but would put us off staying there longer. I'd rather pay a little more, and have a slightly better shower please! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kittyboochris 4 reviews from this member

 Booked this campsite for the weekend as it was the only site I contacted that would allow a 1 night stay (my sis and hubby joined us for one whilst we stayed 2). It wouldn't have been our first choice as we have a 3yr old and prefer to look for sites with a playground, but nevertheless we gave it a try as the reviews seemed good.

Pros:

- Nice location, close to Bakewell and some lovely walks.

- Site had plenty of space to pitch up as there weren't many there. Fairly quiet apart from a little noise from the roads nearby.

- Owners were friendly.

- There's a freezer for re-freezing your freezer blocks.

Cons:

- The ground was very stoney, which we didn't see when we went to pitch as the grass was quite long. It was quite uncomfortable walking barefoot in our tent and getting stabbed with sharp stones. There was also big clumps of muddy grass (presumably from previous cuts) that got EVERYWHERE. It stuck to shoes/boots and covered the showers, toilets and tent if you're not careful. Definitely not a place you can walk outside barefoot.

- The charge for ALL hot water was excessive I thought - 20p per minute for shower AND washing up water (which I've never seen charged for). The meter starts as soon as you enter your money (which they do warn you about) so it continues to charge regardless of whether or not the hot water is running, which would be fine but the showers were push button and so you had to keep pressing it every 15 seconds. I'd have expected a better shower that you could keep switched on if I was being charged extra for it.

- All children under 12 are charged 3. 50 per night. I've never had to pay for our toddler at other sites and I don't have an issue paying for children as they use the facilities. However there was nothing at all there for children and my 3yr old was unable to use the shower as they were scalding hot, so she had to do without for the whole weekend.

It's a very basic campsite and we came knowing this, but I just don't feel it was worth the money. I can't help but compare it to other fantastic sites we've been to with better facilities that don't charge all these extras. (e. G. We pay only 1 extra per adult and no charge for children at nearby Barn Farm campsite and the facilities are excellent; an abundance of clean, free hot showers, children's playgroud, excellent well cared for fields etc).

I wouldn't return unless they either improved their facilities to justify the additional charges, or simply got rid of the meters. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DEGSY69 1 review from this member

 Our first visit to this site, campers have access to two large

Fields with facilities located between the two. There is a D of E field located by the entrance, which had about 10 tents in it (no hassle or noise heard) As Pink Floyd once said 'leave those kids alone'

The facilities are okay plenty of hot water at 20p per unit, the showers are okay (80p gets you a decent shower). The field was well maintained, the grass was fairly short and was being cut again as we left.

Its a good site, only 10 for a tent with 2 people.

Will go again, next time we'll have to take the inner tent it helps. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Peter Boitoult 6 reviews from this member

 Can get very busy with large groups especially school and DoE which can make the site a bit noisy, but the facilities are adequate for a short break away in stunning countryside. Further work could be put into the designated hook up area as the three leads are fed from power inside a farm building. Perhaps a little bit more information and control off site users and dogs would be appreciated 


Previous     82 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Mandale Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Mandale Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Mandale Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bakewell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2426 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December