Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Mandale Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Peak District & Derbyshire > Bakewell > Mandale Campsite > Reviews

Mandale Campsite
Mandale Farm, Haddon Grove
Nr Over Haddon
Bakewell
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE45 1JF
Tel: 01629 812416
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 85 Reviews
                8/10 from 85 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  85 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Doglod 1 review from this member

 Fab rural quiet site with no rules.

Pitch up where you like.

Good clean facilities.

Ideal for our stay as we were doing a sponsored hike from Bakewell. 


Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Aallen93 1 review from this member

 Great facilities - clean toilets, powerful and spacious shower rooms.

Quiet when I visited. The field has a slight incline but didn't affect my comfort and able to sleep fine. Also helps with water runoff.

Service on arrival was informal and relaxed. Rang a bell, and they were open despite arriving quite late, around 8-9pm. 


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Arose3 2 reviews from this member

 We had a one night stay with our 2 silver DofE groups and couldn't ask for anything better.

Always accommodating for us groups and provides everything we need; easily accessible toilets, lots of open space, friendly and helpful staff,

Allowed our gazebo and lots of space for kids to play games and be kids without being too close to others and disturb them.

Ideal for DofE groups will definitely be returning 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Adders21 2 reviews from this member

 This site is in a great location. It offers great access to Lathkil Dale also it is pretty central to Over Haddon (with pub) and Monyash (with pub). The site is friendly and has a great safe family feel to it.

The pitches in the top field are flat and offer great views.

I could highly recommend this site except for the hot water policy.

For the price that is charged for the site I fully expect to pay for the shower but paying for all hot water is where the site, in my opinion, fails. I would much prefer to pay a higher site fee that included hot water.

The problem is this. You go for a shower in the morning and evening. You use your 20ps on these services. Then in the evening you go to wash your pots and find you have no 20ps left! I was amazed to find that you needed to purchase hot water here too. There is only 1 sink with a hot water feed. Located in the wash area there are bowls to fill up with hot water but if someone is using the 1 sink with the hot water feed you have to wait. Then there is the problem of not having enough 20ps after showering before hand! Yes, I know we could each have paid 1 to use the showers instead of 20ps but.

Then there is the issue of no hot water in the toilets! If you want a wash at this site you have to have a shower. You can't wash your hands or face in warm water unless you want to keep spending 20p in the pot washing area.

Because of this inconvenience I would not visit again nor would I recommend it. There are other sites very close by with better services for similar cost. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pawsfortents 3 reviews from this member

 Great caravan site. Lovely and quiet with good views of the countryside.

Dog friendly and nice owners.

Several fields to accommodate different groups including DofE or large organised groups. No problem with noise or queueing for anything.

Showers and toilets are clean and tidy at all times.

Washing up facilities are inside or outside. Seemed a bit weird that you had to pay for hot water for washing up but cold water was sufficient for us.

Decent views from all places on the campsite field.

No pubs, shops etc within walking distance so a car is needed if you want those facilities.

Decent prices and would definitely return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Charlwooduk 9 reviews from this member

 Lovely quiet site in a gorgeous location. Stunning views and an ideal base to explore from. There are 3 fields, one for DofE only and 2 others. If you're happy with a basic campsite without the thrills of playgrounds and on site bars then this is the site for you. Ground is soft enough to get pegs in although you can feel a few rocks underneath. It's mostly level throughout the field. Toilets and showers have their bins regularly emptied and are clean. There are two washing up areas - one inside and one outside. Hot water, both for showers and washing costs extra. There is also a freezer for ice blocks.

Even though there was a large group in one field and lots of families and children playing in another, there was no noise late into the night or early morning.

Cost was 5. 50 per person with no extra charge for the dog. Very reasonable. Lovely site, we would definitely stay again if back in the area. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Juliebelper 17 reviews from this member

 Spent just the one night here at the beginning of September. The last weekend before the children returned to school. It was busy, with plenty of tents pitching in the middle of the fields. There are 2 fields with the facilities in the middle. The first field is very sloped but if you have a small tent or just drop lucky, you can find some flat areas. The second is much flatter, quite large and with a lovely view over the hills.

The grass was quite long, so waterproof shoes are in order. It was a quiet site and priced at 5. 50pppn, very cheap. However as others have said, the price rises if you want to use hot water to wash up, have a warm wash or use the shower.

There are 3 sinks in the washing up barn, 20p a minute for hot water from the single hot water tap over one of the sinks. The toilets are adequate, with a couple of sinks to wash in (cold water only) Also if you wanted a wash, beware the gents and ladies are opposite each other and easily viewed into, every time someone comes in! My hubby said that there were no hand drying towels in the evening and then when refilled the next day, the bin overflowed with them all over the floor.

There are plenty of rubbish bins, with good recycling facilities. BBQ's are allowed as long as they are off the ground.

It is in a lovely area of the peaks, with a multitude of walks close by and places to visit locally.

So - a cheap site with basic facilities, in a lovely location. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kenhin 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely quiet, rural campsite. Handy to have electric hookup. Toilets, showers etc are adequate, one point - you do need to make sure you have enough 'old' pound coins or 5x20p pieces for the number of people in your party to have a shower or use the washing up sinks/hot water.

Would benefit from having hot/warm water in the toilet blocks rather than just cold, to wash you face, as you do not always want a shower.

Nice site though! 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Mandreed 24 reviews from this member

 It is basic!

Two fields and some showers and toilets that have seen better days. If you don't mind roughing it for a day or two, and want to be close to Bakewell/Lathkill Dale, then this site will suit you. (Price is reflected in what you get)

Not ideal for families with young children due to the facilities (or lack of). If you prefer hot water and soap, hand drying facilities, and decent showers, then try somewhere else. Sorry, not my first choice. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: WoodyVan 1 review from this member

 Booked here for just one night (BH Monday) so we could cycle the Monsal Trail. Unlike most campsites we go to, the man who served us at reception was quite unengaging, and didn't really make us feel welcome. However, it did only cost us 13. 50 for the night!

The site was quiet, and we wondered if our 7year old was ok to play football and cricket as no other children seemed to be 'playing'! However, other did seem to come to life when they saw us! There was a rule that ball games were only allowed at quiet periods.

The field was in a pretty location, and was good ground.

The real downside for us, apart from the less than welcoming reception, was the shower and toilet facilities. Surely it's not too much to ask to provide hot water and soap to wash your hands in the washrooms?? Children esp can't be expected to be prepared and take soap with them when they need to go! The ladies was also lacking in paper towels and even toilet roll for the whole time of our stay.

The showers were very basic, which we don't mind, but if you are going to charge 20p a minute, at least provide constant water, rather than a push button system, and the scalding heat after each press prohibited us from washing our son. We were only there one night, so not a major issue, but would put us off staying there longer. I'd rather pay a little more, and have a slightly better shower please! 


Previous     85 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Mandale Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Mandale Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Mandale Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bakewell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5966 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement