Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Culzean Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Ayrshire > Maybole > Culzean Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Culzean Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Culzean Castle
Maybole
Ayrshire   (Browse area)
KA19 8JX
Tel: 01655 760627
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01/04/2022 to 02/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 97 Reviews
                8/10 from 97 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  97 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor Tribe 5 reviews from this member

 On arrival met by a welcoming

And friendly couple Got shown to our pitch and explained where everything was on the site,

Fantastic site to stay in. Everything neat and tidy only used toilets once but very clean again and spotless.

Very quiet site to relax and unwind.

Short walk to castle and beach.

Would recommend this site to anyone.

Only draw back Gentleman supports QPR and I support Fulham. Friendly banter between us both.

This site is a credit to two lovely people and how its run. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Spudella 2 reviews from this member

 Camped with electric. Our pitch was flat and in the middle, although quite a few pitches were sloping.

We had torrential rain and strong winds during the trip, as such the ground was waterlogged.

Views when the rain cleared on our last day were beautiful.

Childrens playground was well used even in the rain by our small child older children may not have made as much use out of it.

Facilities were spotless could not fault.

Walked from site via back of the site path to Culzean castle grounds. Fantastic playground and walks we spent a full day there.

Food we ate at the bbq place in Ayr very good. Also the fish and chip place ( indoor seating) in Girvan which was good. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Egwrig 1 review from this member

 Amazing friendly staff, instantly had a warm welcome after a long journey from England

Put us by a park for the children

Gave a tour on what is around,

Excellent facilities nice and clean

We will be visiting again

Highly recommended 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Lynda1 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a 4 night safari tent readycamp stay. The tent was really good, comfy beds and fridge, microwave, kettle and cooking utensils all readily available.

Small heater which was great but didnít heat the tent very much but we took extra fleece blankets to prepare for cooler nights.

The tents overlooked the view across to Isle of Arran with beautiful sunsets. Culzean castle can be reached on foot from the site. Toilets and showers were clean and tidy.

Lovely spot and views. The wardens on site were really friendly. We arrived on foot as we got the train to Ayr and the bus stopped outside camp which was handy.

Also had Tesco groceries drop some supplies off to us which was excellent with having no car until my husband joined us. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Carole 1 review from this member

 Great location right next to the entrance for Culzean castle and Country Park.

A very warm, efficient welcome by the site staff who tell you everything you need to know along with a site map and general info. They even walk up to your pitch so you know exactly where you're going. Fantastic service :)

We had a super spot at the edge of the site looking out over a barley field with the sea and The Isle of Arran for our view. It was fabulous and despite the rainy weather we had a great little holiday.

Superb walks from the site through the park, on to the castle, walled gardens etc. The beach is easy to access from there, another nice walk for the dog to enjoy too.

The site facilities were excellent, the toilets/shower block etc were immaculately clean, all in top working order, in a convenient location.

Everyone who was staying seemed very happy too, we will most definitely back to this fab site and recommend it to our friends.

Thank you Carole, Sean and Teddy. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lindilou2013 43 reviews from this member

 Nice setting within the estate of the castle. The castle and beach are reached by a 25 minute walk or by using you vehicle.

Some pitches have a fabulous view of the sea and Isle of Arran but be warned you have the view but in the majority of cases you will not have the sun as the pitches are under a good thick canopy of trees.

The site staff are fantastic, friendly and informative.

As is usual for club sites, the facilities are kept immaculately.

The nearest shops, takeaways etc are in Maybole. Let's say it's seen better days but at least there is parking behind the Co-op!

The castle estate has some lovely walks and the villages of Dunure and Maidens nearby, are worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Clarabo42 1 review from this member

 I would like to give this site a 5 star rating. The facilities were excellent and the toilets/showers were spotless.

I wish I had asked the ladies (staff) name because I forgot it but she went out of her way to move us to a better pitch in the sun as my mum was cold.

Can't fault it, beautiful place with stunning views and sunsets.

Will definitely go back soon 😁 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mischka 69 reviews from this member

 This was our 3rd visit since the covid virus.

The staff are super friendly and helpful.

We had booked a hard standing pitch for our caravan but unfortunately the night before our visit, a car rolled into our tow car whilst the caravan was attached, damaging both. Gill was very helpful and was able to rearrange our booking so that we could take our tent and pitch on the grass.

They have a limit on how many people could use the toilet and shower block because of the covid distancing rules, but there were rarely any queues.

As ever, it was kept very clean and tidy. We often visit this site.

We like it because of the spectacular views of the sea, so if you are lucky enough to get a sea view pitch you are in for a treat. 


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mischka 69 reviews from this member

 This was our 2nd visit since the virus. The staff are super friendly and helpful. The toilet block had some loos, sinks etc blocked off and there was a limit on how many people could use it at once. As ever, it was kept very clean and tidy. The laundry, reception shop and play area are closed.

We often visit this site. We like it because of the spectacular views of the sea, so if you are lucky enough to get a sea view pitch you are in for a treat.

Some of the pitches are very sloping so come prepared. Probably not that good for children as not much on site for them.

It is great to walk straight into the grounds of Culzean castle (via the ticket office!), and on down the coast to Maidens, but nowhere else is within walking distance. The NTS have reopened the grounds/loos/shop/cafe for takeaways. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sallyc 1 review from this member

 I chose this site as our classic Royale caravan used to be owned by Lady Jane Kennedy who's family used to own Culzean castle.

Lovely site and the walk was lovely 


Previous     97 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Culzean Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Culzean Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Maybole      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ayrshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4085 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement