Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Culzean Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Ayrshire > Maybole > Culzean Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Culzean Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Culzean Castle
Maybole
Ayrshire   (Browse area)
KA19 8JX
Tel: 01655 760627
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01/04/2021 to 02/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 89 Reviews
                8/10 from 89 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  89 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mischka 60 reviews from this member

 This was our 2nd visit since the virus. The staff are super friendly and helpful. The toilet block had some loos, sinks etc blocked off and there was a limit on how many people could use it at once. As ever, it was kept very clean and tidy. The laundry, reception shop and play area are closed.

We often visit this site. We like it because of the spectacular views of the sea, so if you are lucky enough to get a sea view pitch you are in for a treat.

Some of the pitches are very sloping so come prepared. Probably not that good for children as not much on site for them.

It is great to walk straight into the grounds of Culzean castle (via the ticket office!), and on down the coast to Maidens, but nowhere else is within walking distance. The NTS have reopened the grounds/loos/shop/cafe for takeaways. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sallyc 1 review from this member

 I chose this site as our classic Royale caravan used to be owned by Lady Jane Kennedy who's family used to own Culzean castle.

Lovely site and the walk was lovely 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mandyp 1 review from this member

 Beautiful, peaceful site, plenty of walking round about, and friendly, helpful staff.

Immaculate shower block too.

Can't think of anything we didn't like. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Scad 1 review from this member

 We enjoyed an excellent welcome, clean and well organised covid-safe toilets and showers, as usual from a Camping & Caravanning Club site.

Our grass pitch with electric hook up was a wee bit further from the loos but suited us, better then being in the grass island overlooked by vans.

We walked to the country park but we covered about 6 miles in doing so.

Nice, well run, quiet site! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mischka 60 reviews from this member

 This was our 1st visit since the virus. The toilet block had some loos, sinks etc blocked off and there was a limit on how many people could use it at once. As ever, it was kept clean and tidy. The laundry, reception shop and play area are closed.

We often visit this site. We like it because of the spectacular views of the sea, so if you are lucky enough to get a sea view pitch you are in for a treat.

Some of the pitches are very sloping so come prepared. Probably not that good for children as not much on site for them.

It is great to walk straight into the grounds of Culzean castle (via the ticket office!), and on down the coast to Maidens, but nowhere else is within walking distance. The National Trust is currently operating a booking system for entry into Culzean and the castle is not open yet, but do check the latest info as I gather that the booking will not be necessary shortly. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Cryan 13 reviews from this member

 Tent unfriendly

Flat boggy pitches on the top of a hill overlooked by the whole campsite on every single side. Lights shining in from elsan point, toilets and everyone's electric hookup point so it's like you're in the spotlight.

Clean facilities

Not right next to castle or beach as website suggests, a long downhill walk to both with young children and no view except for of caravans if you're a tent. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mischka 60 reviews from this member

 We often visit this site. We like it because of the spectacular views of the sea, so if you are lucky enough to get a sea view pitch you are in for a treat.

Some of the pitches are very sloping so come prepared. Probably not that good for children as not much on site for them.

Spotlessly clean toilet/shower block. Friendly staff.

It is great to walk straight into the grounds of Culzean castle (via the ticket office!), and on down the coast to Maidens, but nowhere else is within walking distance.

There are various cafes within the grounds of Culzean, but also a good little café in Maidens, which is a cheaper option.

I highly recommend the Shanter Riding Stables at Maidens if you fancy a hack on the beach and through the grounds of Culzean. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: MalcolmR 35 reviews from this member

 Quite surprised with this site, expected to find not too much to do locally, but quite the opposite will have to return.

For dog lovers this is great so many lovely walks from the site, walking the castle grounds Free.

Most pitches have lovely views and on occasions wonderful sunsets, Sheltered from trees, but can be a bit open to the winds dependant on the direction. We had a hard standing, but the grass pitches are ok easy for pegging out. Tv reception was non existent with our aerial, some folk had sat dishes found it ok. Internet was ok slow and very little bandwidth as on most club sites.

Showers block etc was as usual a very high standard of cleanliness and quite new.

The staff on site helpful and busy, the site was full during our stay and despite being full it was very quiet and with very little movement of campers about the site.

Saw a Kids play park in use and enjoyed also playing I the woods.

The site is a bit out of the way to shops and local pub etc not within walking distance, had to drive to most places. But the castle grounds certainly made up for that on the doorstep.

We would certainly return and recommend this site great place to chill out. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Astral weeks 10 reviews from this member

 Great site. We were given a grass pitch comfortably close to the shower block. We arrived on a good day, no wind, looked as though it could be fun if the wind had been up trying to get a tent up. We could see the sea and the isle of arran. Hard standing caravans get the front row seat. Took a walk (along the dog path) which brought us out in the culzean castle grounds saving us a possible £24 admission charge.

Back at the site we decided to have a bbq, bricks provided. Lit the bbq and poured a g&t waiting for it to heat up. At this point we had some uninvited guests, thousands of them. My wife vanished into tent with the can of raid. I manfully carried on with cooking being eaten alive by our guests until I decided we would just have to have semi raw sausages and joined the wife inside. The next day we used a pen to join up all my bites which spelt out "welcome to Scotland, signed The Midges".

Upsides, a great site, spectacular sunsets, lovely walks, loos so clean you could eat your dinner off the floor (if you are that way inclined).

Downsides, not a lot to do so have to drive everywhere. Visited Girvan, avoid, one of the most depressed towns I have ever visited. Quite expensive, £32 per night. Midges.

Will go again but will buy some of avon so soft skin cream which they sell in the shop! 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mischka 60 reviews from this member

 We often visit this site. We like it because of the spectacular views of the sunstets over the sea, so if you are lucky enough to get a sea view pitch you are in for a treat. Some of the pitches are very sloping so come prepared. Probably not that good for children as not much on site for them.

Spotlessly clean toilet/shower block.

4 glamping/ready erected tents are available.

Great to walk straight into the grounds of Culzean castle (via the ticket office!), and on down the coast to Maidens, but nowhere else is within walking distance. Various cafes within the grounds of Culzean, but also a good little café in Maidens, which is a cheaper option. I highly recommend the Shanter Riding Stables at Maidens if you fancy a hack on the beach and through the grounds of Culzean. 


Previous     89 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Culzean Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Culzean Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Maybole      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ayrshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2111 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement