Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Culzean Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Ayrshire > Maybole > Culzean Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Culzean Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Culzean Castle
Maybole
Ayrshire   (Browse area)
KA19 8JX
Tel: 01655 760627
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01/04 to 02/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 83 Reviews
                8/10 from 83 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  83 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilet / shower facilities will be open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mischka 55 reviews from this member

 We often visit this site. We like it because of the spectacular views of the sea, so if you are lucky enough to get a sea view pitch you are in for a treat.

Some of the pitches are very sloping so come prepared. Probably not that good for children as not much on site for them.

Spotlessly clean toilet/shower block. Friendly staff.

It is great to walk straight into the grounds of Culzean castle (via the ticket office!), and on down the coast to Maidens, but nowhere else is within walking distance.

There are various cafes within the grounds of Culzean, but also a good little café in Maidens, which is a cheaper option.

I highly recommend the Shanter Riding Stables at Maidens if you fancy a hack on the beach and through the grounds of Culzean. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: MalcolmR 35 reviews from this member

 Quite surprised with this site, expected to find not too much to do locally, but quite the opposite will have to return.

For dog lovers this is great so many lovely walks from the site, walking the castle grounds Free.

Most pitches have lovely views and on occasions wonderful sunsets, Sheltered from trees, but can be a bit open to the winds dependant on the direction. We had a hard standing, but the grass pitches are ok easy for pegging out. Tv reception was non existent with our aerial, some folk had sat dishes found it ok. Internet was ok slow and very little bandwidth as on most club sites.

Showers block etc was as usual a very high standard of cleanliness and quite new.

The staff on site helpful and busy, the site was full during our stay and despite being full it was very quiet and with very little movement of campers about the site.

Saw a Kids play park in use and enjoyed also playing I the woods.

The site is a bit out of the way to shops and local pub etc not within walking distance, had to drive to most places. But the castle grounds certainly made up for that on the doorstep.

We would certainly return and recommend this site great place to chill out. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Astral weeks 10 reviews from this member

 Great site. We were given a grass pitch comfortably close to the shower block. We arrived on a good day, no wind, looked as though it could be fun if the wind had been up trying to get a tent up. We could see the sea and the isle of arran. Hard standing caravans get the front row seat. Took a walk (along the dog path) which brought us out in the culzean castle grounds saving us a possible £24 admission charge.

Back at the site we decided to have a bbq, bricks provided. Lit the bbq and poured a g&t waiting for it to heat up. At this point we had some uninvited guests, thousands of them. My wife vanished into tent with the can of raid. I manfully carried on with cooking being eaten alive by our guests until I decided we would just have to have semi raw sausages and joined the wife inside. The next day we used a pen to join up all my bites which spelt out "welcome to Scotland, signed The Midges".

Upsides, a great site, spectacular sunsets, lovely walks, loos so clean you could eat your dinner off the floor (if you are that way inclined).

Downsides, not a lot to do so have to drive everywhere. Visited Girvan, avoid, one of the most depressed towns I have ever visited. Quite expensive, £32 per night. Midges.

Will go again but will buy some of avon so soft skin cream which they sell in the shop! 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mischka 55 reviews from this member

 We often visit this site. We like it because of the spectacular views of the sunstets over the sea, so if you are lucky enough to get a sea view pitch you are in for a treat. Some of the pitches are very sloping so come prepared. Probably not that good for children as not much on site for them.

Spotlessly clean toilet/shower block.

4 glamping/ready erected tents are available.

Great to walk straight into the grounds of Culzean castle (via the ticket office!), and on down the coast to Maidens, but nowhere else is within walking distance. Various cafes within the grounds of Culzean, but also a good little café in Maidens, which is a cheaper option. I highly recommend the Shanter Riding Stables at Maidens if you fancy a hack on the beach and through the grounds of Culzean. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chelskiboyze 1 review from this member

 Superb pitches with great views

Really nice and helpful staff

Very clean showers and facilities

Beautiful surroundings

Quiet and peaceful

We arrived on Friday evening and were directed very quickly to our pitch which was really easy to access. The motorhome service area was very clean and has everything we needed. The rubbish dump was located away from all the pitches which is really good. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Nao1 10 reviews from this member

 Nice enough site, but really unhelpful staff! We asked to move pitches as we were really close to 2 noisy families and on most people's path to the toilets (there aren't many paths so people cut through the pitch). We were told the site was full so we couldn't move. That would have been fair enough if it had been true! However for the next 2 days around 7 pitches on the far (quiet) side of the toilet block remained empty! I find it hard to believe that 7 or so people didn't show up. It wasn't a massive deal, but it is just annoying, I wasn't sure why they didn't want to be helpful. We had tried talking to them a few times, but got the impression they didn't have time for that!

The pitches are level, with only the first row having a sea view. There is no access to the beach unless you follow the dog walk or pay to go into the castle. We couldn't work out if the dog walk was dodgy or not, as it is clearly signposted, but takes you into the castle grounds, but past the point where you can pay. There then isn't another pay point, so it is a bit odd. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rod+Ali 18 reviews from this member

 Well laid out and well kept site with amazing views over Arran. Friendly staff on reception and clean modern facilities. There is a dog walk along a public right of way from the site which takes you into the grounds of Culzean castle and saves you the considerable entrance fee. Ayr is about 20 mins away. Maybole is much closer but looked pretty run-down so we didn't stop !

Would certainly return. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Braewalkers 3 reviews from this member

 Spent one night here and was happy with what we got. Nice views and friendly staff. Not a lot on the site but lovely if you want a bit of peace and quiet. Culzean itself is expensive to get into but there is plenty to do in the area. Lovely beaches and great walks. Maidens nearby as well. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: PedroPete61 22 reviews from this member

 This is one place I shall not return to. Yes the place is tidy but the Phone reception is poor and the TV does not work. I tried to go to the Monthly Market but they wanted £7. 50 to enter as I am not a member. The roads are a disgrace, watch for Potholes as It will cost you dear. There is a town 3 miles away MayBole and has the normal shops. Nice view on a clear day. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Aclassownersclub 5 reviews from this member

 Perfect facilities as you would expect from a caravan and camping club site. Set in the stunning grounds of Scottish National Trust Culzean Castle grounds with views over to Arran and the sea. Can walk easily to the Castle and the beach. Child friendly and has a playground. 


Previous     83 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Culzean Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Culzean Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Maybole      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ayrshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3917 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020