Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Jedburgh Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Borders > Site Reviews

Jedburgh Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Elliot Park
Jedburgh
Borders   (Browse area)
TD8 6EF
Tel: 01835 863393
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 45
Open: 01/04 to 03/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 49 Reviews
                8/10 from 49 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fiona W 174 reviews from this member

The site suits us well for a couple of nights. New managers are welcoming & have been making some improvements - the keypads on the toilets have been removed, the motorhome service bay is easier to use, there are plenty of flower tubs. The rugby pitch next door is a good dog walk. Any noticeable road noise stops after work. There's an EWM over the road for breakfast, if you're travelling light.

However, there's no denying that the facilities - though spotless - are dated. The showers are in a separate room from the sinks & toilets, the shower water was barely tepid (that might be a one-off) and there are no sink cubicles for privacy or a strip wash. The wooded bank makes much of the site feel quite hemmed in and shady, the sunny open pitches by the rugby field appear to be taken by unoccupied seasonal lets.

Locally, the abbey is one of the better (bigger) ones to visit in the Borders. Long distance walking routes pass through. In short, we'll continue to stop over here (about 18 seemed fair enough for hard standing & EHU) but it's not the base for a long holiday for us.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gooseonabike 1 review from this member

We have stayed at this site twice before this visit. We like to camp while cycle touring and this site is on the 4 Abbeys route (4). The grassy area near the river is ideal and away from the camper vans and caravans. The hosts are welcoming and the site is clean and tidy. The toilet block is clean. You can easily walk into town along a footpath by the river. It was very quiet when we visited but it seemed the sort of place that would still be low-key even if full.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Smithard 11 reviews from this member

The site is well located for touring local towns and historic places. As far as its actual location is concerned it is not a particularly attractive site nor has it anything to commend it scenically. It is close to the road and suffers some road noise. Radio reception is poor as is the wi-fi provision. The relief warden was very helpful and was a credit to the club. The facilities are very dated and need to be replaced. The showers are cramped though the water was always hot. The facilities are clean. The toilet cubicles are small. So much so that in order to exit them it was necessary to straddle the toilet in order to open the door. Given that the site fees are high this provision is just not value for money. They fall far below the standard set by other Club sites such as Moffat and Dunstan Hills. There is nothing here for children and the site best suits couples without children.

All in all a poor site by any standard. I would not recommend it to anyone other than as a night halt. Or SOLELY because, despite its poor facilities, it is a convenient base for exploring the surrounding areA.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nsent 2 reviews from this member

I arrived quite late Sunday evening, but there was a friendly note on the door for 'walk ins' like me to just choose a pitch and pay in the morning. The tent field is open, with no fixed pitches. It does have a slight slope though. Noise from traffic wasn't noticeable and I fell asleep to the sound of the nearby stream. Bit of a walk into town, but manageable. Would happily visit again.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: D J T 4 reviews from this member

The site is close to the town. The facilities while a bit old, worked well.

The spot we were given was a bit too close to a high bank of trees which blocked out a lot of light but there are other lighter pitches available.

We used the site for one night while on route and found it more than adequate.

We arrived after hours but the staff were still very pleasant and friendly.

This review may be coloured because a man in a tent near by spent all night shouting down his mobile phone - note to self speak more quietly at all times.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fiona W 174 reviews from this member

Well, I read the older negative reviews and was reluctant to come even for a stopover, but the site suited us so well that we stayed for half a week. Sure, it's not a flagship C&CC site, but we felt the 16 (hardstand & EHU) was fair and in line with similar older sites in the Borders. Very warm welcome, very friendly & accommodating Managers. Yes, it would be nice to have more powerful showers but they were the right temperature, and yes the Ladies keypad was tempermental but it was repaired (or replaced) while we were there. We didn't notice the noise from the road or the industrial estate, which is small and screened by trees - the river and the owls were louder. The next-door football practice area is a handy dog walk (the 'no fouling' poster shows a football ref holding up a red card to a Springer Spaniel) and many folk using the pitch walked home - the traffic was no more than on any other campsite, and there are speed humps too. As for security fears voiced by one reviewer, the Manager leaves his bike outside without a padlock. Easily accessible motorhome service point. Good recycling. Jedburgh town merits a whole day to explore, the pleasant riverside walk continues on through town into the countryside beyond and largely keeps away from the road.

If you prefer, you can stay in a Motorhome for one night for free in the car park below the TIC, so the staff there told me. Many Borders towns have this one-night approach (Hawick, Peebles & Selkirk for example). But we'd come back to this wee site very happily.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Truediamond 77 reviews from this member

This echoes some of the earlier reviews:

* Very friendly, helpful staff

* Dated facilities, in need of updating but always kept clean by the staff

* The code to access toilets & showers was always an issue, especially in the dark.

* Good location for walking, especially the well signed Borders Abbey Way.

* Only a couple of miles outside Jedburgh. The Abbey & Mary Queen of Scots House are worth visiting. Local shops are good.

* Not an expensive Site to stay at, well down the C&CC's cost list

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Afortunado 12 reviews from this member

I had an overnight stay here in a tent. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The tent area is quite small and can be a bit soft underfoot after rain. The showers and dish washing facilities are in the main block which is a bit of a walk from the tent area.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Welshy165 5 reviews from this member

Campsite is on the edge of Jedburgh in a small industrial estate. We arrived early at 9am to get an early start on walking the borders abbeys way. We walked to kelso the 1st day and hawick the 2nd day. Site fees were very reasonable at 19. 20 per night. There were signs up saying no arrivals before 1pm but the campsite was really quiet so they let us in without too much trouble. We got a hard standing pitch close to the toilet block, it was a good size and nice and level. The toilet block is very old and in need of make over compared to most caravan club and caravan and camping club sites we have been too. The showers were very poor with just a tap to turn the water on and no temperature adjustment. My partner had already been for a shower and said the water in the ladies showers was lukewarm and unfortunately it was the same in the men's. It's about a ten minute walk to the centre of Jedburgh.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mikede 20 reviews from this member

Typical of the lower grade CCCSites- facilities are adequate but need up-dating.

Staff are very helpful as you would expect from a club site. However. The site is on the edge of an industrial estate not far from the main road so can not be described as quiet. A pleasant enough walk into the town along the river but to be honest I didn't think it was worth the effort.

Some pleasant walking to be had following the St Cuthberts Way LDP but on the whole disappointing. Ok for a stop-over be cant recommend it for any longer I'm afraid

Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Borders

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


603 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!