Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Moffat Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Moffat > Moffat Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Moffat Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Hammerlands
Moffat
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG10 9DY
Tel: 01683 220436
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 136 Reviews
                9/10 from 136 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  136 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Patst74592hyl 1 review from this member

 Staff brilliant. Toilet block spotless. Location 5 minutes to town. W

E had problem with car. Darren the site manager organised mechanic to sort it out. Plus let us stay longer than booked. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Billda37690jtc 1 review from this member

 The site was very clean and the facilities were excellent.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

We'd never been before but we would definitely come back again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Golden Girl 9 reviews from this member

 We have used this site on a number of occasions because of its convenient location for travelling from the Midlands to Scotland.

The town provided everything we needed to stock up or eat out.

There are a few easy walks from the site.

The staff consistently go above and beyond to help. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Rikaram 25 reviews from this member

 First impressions were excellent. The staff are very welcoming and instantly made you feel at ease. I just turned up without booking as I travelled north and there was no problem fitting me in with a small tent.

The site was level and very tidy but best of all was the shower room. Plenty of space in the toilets/showers, even for a large campsite. The block was immaculately clean, modern and very well maintained.

The quaint town of Moffat was a short walk away and has everything you could want in the way of shops and pubs. Even though close to the town the site was very quiet for a good nights sleep.

Not the cheapest of sites but well worth it for the facilities, I will return. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Fraser Gardiner 30 reviews from this member

 I use this site as a stopover travelling North from Swansea.

The site is immaculate well run and the shower and toilet block are spotless.

There are plenty of pubs and restaurants all within walking distance. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bobc51 22 reviews from this member

 Used as a stopover on Scotland tour (usually use it as very convenient for motorway access)

Well run clean and tidy as usual.

Moffat is a pleasant little town worth a wander round and pick up any groceries needed. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Trev.jones 8 reviews from this member

 Standard CCC site, all flat with no attempt at landscaping. Appeared very crowded with 150 pitches. Looked like a very high turnover of vans, presumably only using this as a stopover on the way to and from the Scottish Highlands. Located on the edge of the town so a very short walk to the shops and pubs.

Facilities were good but as usual only one disposal point for black waste so some campers had a long way to trail their cassettes and then wait their turn to tip them out. But, this could be the cheapest site on our trip at just over £17 for hard standing EHU pitch and two people with age concessions.

Moffat itself is a nice little town, a village really but don’t tell the locals that… There are several places to eat and drink; we tried the Black Bull Inn, almost next to the site, and the Famous Star Hotel on the market place. The latter claims to be the narrowest hotel in UK at 20 feet wide and has a good selection of food and real ales at reasonable prices. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: 1keengardener 4 reviews from this member

 This really is a gem of a site. We wanted a one night stopover on our way back from the Highlands but wished we had stayed longer. It is adjacent to a park, and within a few hundred yards of the main town square with lots of small shops and cafes. It is also a two minute walk to the local well-stocked Co-op for provisions. If we are that way again we will definitely have a longer stay to explore both the town and the area. 


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Itsyum 110 reviews from this member

 This is a very well kept site in a lovely location just a few minutes walk into the quaint town of Moffat, there's a Co-op supermarket adjacent along with a 'very touristy Scottish shop' the site has immaculate facilities and very friendly wardens, We can recommend the meals in the Star hotel especially the venison pie and during the week look out for the RAF flying Typhoon's low level through the area. The only real drawback is that although this is a fantastic 'stop over' site for those travelling to & from Scotland the C&CC only take a minimum 2 night stop here if booking in advance (although will accept 1 night stops for those who just turn up - and if its full motorhomes can stay at the Green Frog Cafe just up the road) 


Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kmacdon 2 reviews from this member

 Just spent 3 nights on site the weather was great. I was pleasantly pleased to see that the road in to the site has been totally resurfaced what a difference. The toilets etc were spotlessly clean as always. We picked up an Indian meal and a Chinese meal and both were superb you just phone and order then pick up. The staff were friendly and guided you to your pitch no problem at all.



Previous     136 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Moffat Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Moffat Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Moffat Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Moffat      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5802 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement