Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Moffat Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Moffat > Moffat Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Moffat Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Hammerlands
Moffat
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG10 9DY
Tel: 01683 220436
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 130 Reviews
                9/10 from 130 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  130 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Trev.jones 8 reviews from this member

Standard CCC site, all flat with no attempt at landscaping. Appeared very crowded with 150 pitches. Looked like a very high turnover of vans, presumably only using this as a stopover on the way to and from the Scottish Highlands. Located on the edge of the town so a very short walk to the shops and pubs.

Facilities were good but as usual only one disposal point for black waste so some campers had a long way to trail their cassettes and then wait their turn to tip them out. But, this could be the cheapest site on our trip at just over £17 for hard standing EHU pitch and two people with age concessions.

Moffat itself is a nice little town, a village really but don’t tell the locals that… There are several places to eat and drink; we tried the Black Bull Inn, almost next to the site, and the Famous Star Hotel on the market place. The latter claims to be the narrowest hotel in UK at 20 feet wide and has a good selection of food and real ales at reasonable prices.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: 1keengardener 4 reviews from this member

This really is a gem of a site. We wanted a one night stopover on our way back from the Highlands but wished we had stayed longer. It is adjacent to a park, and within a few hundred yards of the main town square with lots of small shops and cafes. It is also a two minute walk to the local well-stocked Co-op for provisions. If we are that way again we will definitely have a longer stay to explore both the town and the area.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Itsyum 110 reviews from this member

This is a very well kept site in a lovely location just a few minutes walk into the quaint town of Moffat, there's a Co-op supermarket adjacent along with a 'very touristy Scottish shop' the site has immaculate facilities and very friendly wardens, We can recommend the meals in the Star hotel especially the venison pie and during the week look out for the RAF flying Typhoon's low level through the area. The only real drawback is that although this is a fantastic 'stop over' site for those travelling to & from Scotland the C&CC only take a minimum 2 night stop here if booking in advance (although will accept 1 night stops for those who just turn up - and if its full motorhomes can stay at the Green Frog Cafe just up the road)

Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kmacdon 2 reviews from this member

Just spent 3 nights on site the weather was great. I was pleasantly pleased to see that the road in to the site has been totally resurfaced what a difference. The toilets etc were spotlessly clean as always. We picked up an Indian meal and a Chinese meal and both were superb you just phone and order then pick up. The staff were friendly and guided you to your pitch no problem at all.

K

Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jhopey 3 reviews from this member

This was our very first experience with motorhomes and this was our first stop. Very very friendly and helpful warden who went above and beyond to show us what to do. The pitch was quiet and right next to Moffat itself. We took two dogs and there was a nice little area to walk them if need be. We only stayed 1 night so didn't use the facilities other than the chemical waste disposal, which after being to a few other sites after this one, can confidently say it was the cleanest.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Janey47 22 reviews from this member

We had a one night stop enroute further north.

It's a huge site but very well set out. The wardens were extremely friendly and helpful.

I have to say this site has the cleanest facilities I have ever seen. Literally everything sparkled. The shower/loo block was also lovely and warm.

We walked in the town of Moffat which has the usual array of gift type shops. An excellent hardware store a large pharmacy and nice bakery. Even though we only planned to stay one night we didn't feel there was enough of interest to stay in Moffat any longer.

For us as a stop over I would return for the excellent facilities and friendly welcome.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Smithard 11 reviews from this member

An excellent site in every respect. Facilities excellent, location equally so. Convenient for the town. Staff helpful and courteous. There Is nothing to fault with the site and it is handily placed for the M74. Good for short or long stay. Only downside was poor wi-fi in so much that the signal came and went frequently.

It needs improving to justify the charge per day. If we ever go back to Scotland we will use the site again. Highly recommend it. Very busy in September so advise booking. Very peaceful in lovely scenery.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: PedroPete61 22 reviews from this member

This was my first visit to this site, just on the edge of the town, easy to find. The place was clean tidy and staff helpful. There are many shops and great places to eat and drink. If you have a bike and needs attention then the ex Fireman is the place, The town has a Musuem and well worth a visit. It also has the narrowest Hotel and the food and ale are kept well. So if heading North or South then stop over as you may have to book.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bellowhead 7 reviews from this member

First ever visit to this lovely site - but we will certainly use again when heading north (or south from Scotland of course). Beautifully kept site; lovely showers and toilet block; recycling facilities; handy for town and the A74; Low-ish cost petrol nearby and when in town go to R Little the bakers shop for wonderful rolls and baking.

The staff are chatty and very helpful, without being obtrusive.

Do try - you will not be disappointed. Whilst there is a high turnover here, you are advised to book in advance.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Irvine45 67 reviews from this member

2nd visit here and although I have used the site as a stopover, I am very impressed with site. The wardens are friendly and helpful even in pouring rain! The facilities are always spotless and modern. It is a first class site.

The village centre is a few 100 metres away and well worth a visit.

Very close to the M74 but far enough that you will not hear it.

Highly recommend it.

Previous     130 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3766 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019