Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Rosemarkie Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Fortrose > Rosemarkie Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Rosemarkie Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Ness Road East
Rosemarkie
Fortrose
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV10 8SE
Tel: 01381 621117
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 65
Open: 01/04/2024 to 26/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 90 Reviews
                9/10 from 90 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  90 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Damaca 85 reviews from this member

 There are a few things sub-optimal about this site, but let's start with the good point. It's a perfect location to be based, to walk along the shore to Chanonry Point and see dolphins in the wild, feeding and playing.

The site staff, on our arrival, gave us the tide times and recommendations as to the best time of day to see them. The advice was perfect. We saw many dolphins, several very close indeed to the shoreline, I would estimate 5 metres max. Some of them were doing complete leaps out of the water, twisting in the air and diving back in. This is more like a 40-minute walk rather than the 20-minute mentioned by a previous reviewer. Still, it's a nice, pleasant walk.

All the usual facilities are here, except grey water disposal (or, if they have it, we couldn't find it). The wifi is ok-ish. But as we travel around numerous UK campsites, we can see just what a difference some investment in new or upgraded facilities can make. Here, the Club needs to seriously upgrade the toilet block(s).

Beside being 'tired', there aren't enough facilities for the number of visitors, leading to queues. We had a seafront pitch but it was far from flat. We had to drive in quite far so as not to block the roadway behind, and then, even with the use of chocks, we couldn't level our vehicle.

Also - be warned (!), not the site's fault but if you do get a seafront pitch in rough and windy weather you're liable to get a splash coating of salt on your vehicle.

There are 2 nice beach cafés in Rosemarkie, an interesting Pictish museum and a couple of good, signposted walks, - but not much else. The next village - Fortrose - has a decent Coop and an old cathedral to visit. 


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Steem21 3 reviews from this member

 Excellent location. Very friendly welcome from the Warden and shown to our pitch.

As it was our first time, the warden gave us plenty of top tips and information.

Site facilities are very clean. The site is right next to the beach and can be quite exposed so pitching a tent can be challenging!

The warden came round before we departed to check on our visit - we are booked in to coming back in a few weeks so we were shown round the site for alternative, more sheltered pitches.

All in all, a great campsite. 


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Davel5 1 review from this member

 Excellent site and staff are very welcoming.

Highly recommend. Site is clean and tidy.

The nearby golf club do excellent meals.

On the day we arrived all the local restaurants were fully booked so booking in advance is recommended. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 11 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Akadingbat 5 reviews from this member

 Although the site was very busy everything was spotless and it still felt as if you had plenty of space. The staff were the kindest and friendliest I have ever met.

The location is right on the beach front at Rosemarkie with lovely walks along the sands. You can watch dolphins at Chanonry Point which is a 20 minute walk down the beach or walk to the fossil beach and caves in the other direction.

There is also the walk up the RSPB Fairy Glen to the waterfall which is about a 6k round walk from the campsite. If you are a wild swimmer definitely a place to visit.

There are plenty of places to eat ranging from the community cafe to the Crofters and the golf course, and a fish van with fresh local fish also visits the site during the day. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Smart Family 90 reviews from this member

 We were given a warm welcome on arrival and we're allocated a pitch at the far end of the site on the waterfront, there is a very quiet road running between us and the beach, but this was not an issue.

The pitches are grass but are firm and ours was level. A great location, we could look across to Fort George and Chanonry point.

There are 2 toilet blocks, the one at our part of the site only had 1 shower and the dish was sink is right at the entrance to Ladies toilets. No MH service point, so used a water container and bucket but this was no problem.

There is a good dog walk on site and great walks nearby. Crofters cafe restaurant is very close and there is a small Spar in the village. Good bus service to Inverness and Cromarty every hour.

Loved our stay here and we would return. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Memh12 2 reviews from this member

 Great site. Superb location by sea. Nice pitches. Toilet block dated but very clean. Friendly helpful wardens.

Lovely restaurant- Crofters 1/4 mile from site.

Good for dolphin spotting, cycling.

Nice wee market stall sat & sun beside reception - lovely home grown grit, veg & superb home bakes!

Tv reception great.

Will visit again soon. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ianbyg 2 reviews from this member

 Wc and showers are excellent,

And the pitches are really good. The staff were helpful

The main rd can be noisy.

We enjoyed our stop over

Enjoy your travels. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Damaca 85 reviews from this member

 Perfect site. A very relaxed stay here.

We used our bikes to cycle to and from Chanonry Point where we luckily were able to see a few dolphins. (An hour before high tide seems to be the best time for this). But we could have walked there too, and did so on one occasion.

We also did some of the excellent walks in the area, and made good use of the understated beachfront café/bar.

The village of Fortrose has a good shop, and an interesting ruined cathedral. A short drive to Cromarty (too far and steep for us to cycle, but others do) was well worth while, as was a visit to Black Isle brewery.

Site staff are friendly and helpful. 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Ga1lme 1 review from this member

 Cracking wee campsite with very friendly staff and check in.

Well laid out with plenty of hand sanitiser at the bins and on entrance to the facilities.

This was my second stay here and the hound and I will be back! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bobc51 22 reviews from this member

 Back again always try to stop here after touring round Scotland, I find it so relaxing, just wander down the beach to the cafe for home made cakes and drinks, really a good place to chill out.

OK: staff absolutely fantastic.

If they can keep their calm with the 2 motorhomers who think the rules don"t apply to them(arrived early and decide to pitch themselves not queue with other arrivals) they deserve a medal.

Made to feel very welcome, pleasant, helpful (lost key for motormover) had to push to get the great view.

Site well maintained considering towards end of season, facilities are not the best but always clean and tidy.

PS: Saw dolphins from caravan. 


Previous     90 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Rosemarkie Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Rosemarkie Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Fortrose      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


53663 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement