Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tarland Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Tarland By Aboyne > Tarland Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Tarland Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Tarland
Tarland By Aboyne
Aberdeenshire   (Browse area)
AB34 4UP
Tel: 01339 881388
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/03/2024 to 26/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 36 Reviews
                7/10 from 36 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Emily6 1 review from this member

 The site was really quiet meaning we slept well both nights.

The facilities were good and although we didn't need any assistance from staff, everyone was friendly on passing.

Would stay again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: TartanBilly 7 reviews from this member

 Very nice site - toilets/shower block very clean. Perhaps dated but far better than many.

Sad there is no internet functioning on site- except sitting outside the reception. In todays world of communication it would be very simple to improve the service- but clearly the management arenít one bit interested which is borne out by the many complaints of the service. 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Digby13 10 reviews from this member

 Since the pandemic the C&CC club have instituted a policy of allocating pitches, which I hate, and which has no effect in reducing personal contact as far as Covid goes, which was the reason quoted. I've heard many people ask about this whilst queuing at arrival time.

There's a whole row of pitches with little or no sunshine as the site is heavily treed. I got the short straw. My pitch has no sun at all and is very dark. Not only that but when a whole bunch of children arrived it turned the immediate area into a playground, with the sort of noise you'd expect. They weren't badly behaved, just being active children. I asked to be moved. And was refused.

You can't change pitches unless there's an unbooked one. Why?? It takes a few keystrokes to swap a pitch. It's a stupid limitation.

There was a nice quiet pitch available (the only one apparently) but they said my campervan was too big. It isn't, and many times in past visits I've seen vans on it. I had a smaller pitch at the Dingwall C&CC club site.

You won't have any of these problems at a Caravan & Motorhome club site. You can pick your pitch and it's a matter of moments to change pitches.

I don't think I'll be renewing my membership as long as this goes on.

I won't mention the appalling online booking system. Well I might. It hides any site if your dates aren't available, or says 'Sorry - no pitches are available for the dates you have chosen', with no clue as to when they are actually available. Useless.

There is a very clunky workaround by choosing an area search with dates way in the future (it will still hide sites if they've shut by then) and then changing the dates when viewing particular sites. Again, contrast this with the completely open and accessible online availability of the Caravan club. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Damaca 90 reviews from this member

 Very quiet, smallish site with plenty of trees and bushes around although they don't prevent sunshine reaching the pitches.

Site is very well kept, with lots of nice flower pots around.

There is a good village leaflet which gives details of the many walks that can be done directly from the site.

There's also an easy mountain-biking area right nearby.

Two hotel/pubs in the village - we had a good dinner at one of them. Also a cafť and a small shop.

We saw lots of animals and birds including a hare in a nearby field. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Swilso 1 review from this member

 First visit to Tarland. Site was nice and quiet. Facilities not available due to current covid -19.

Site staff were really nice.

Cannot say I enjoyed the thunder storm. Can you please ensure that this is not part of the floor show should we come back😂😂😂 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Smart Family 90 reviews from this member

 First post Lockdown Motorhome Trip, and much enjoyed. On arrival, we remained in our van and were met by a very friendly member of staff who led us to our choice of pitches.

As this was before shared facilities were not allowed we used our own, but we used our own toilet and shower.

The site is nicely laid out among trees, with red squirrels, rabbits and pheasants running around much to our dogs amusement. Great walks, directly from the site.

There is a small supermarket in the village also 2 pubs attached to Hotels, outside seating only at time of our visit.

This was our second visit here and will be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: MalcolmR 35 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site a number of years ago but in a tent at Easter time still frosty.

This time in a caravan, and would certainly recommend it, if wanting a quiet location great for dog walking or cycling. The pitches are very sheltered by pine trees. Pegging out was easy ground was grass, some pitches get more sun than others so speak to the warden got chilly at night. Wardens were very friendly and most helpful as usual, the site was kept clean and tidy as with most club sites have a high set standard.

What was particularly nice was the TV / recreation room where you can sit on sofas read or play games with other campers or just watch TV sit and chat. Well hand for those cycling or in tents and it is raining hard. I like this idea of a recreation room nearly all sites in Ireland had these where campers can sit and chat or play music together. As for wifi OK and TV can be a bit hit and miss depends on where your pitched.

I would recommend this site if wanting quiet or relaxing place, lots of good walking or cycling or even photography drawing or interested in nature and animals.

The village has some nice places to eat and drink 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: LizzieMcD 1 review from this member

 Have been visiting Tarland since the CCC took it over, We love this little site but oh what a joy to see the current team pulling out all the stops to improve it.

Facilities have always been clean but this visit they were even cleaner. If thatís possible.

It was impressive to see this team working. Seen it on other sites but never Tarland.

The dog walk is short but with the fabulous woodland walk just around the corner our dog just loves it.

Visiting the village craft shop is something crafters visiting the site should not miss, nor picking up the leaflet of interesting local walks.

There is a great number of places to visit and as a touring site it has much to offer. Royal deeside castles etc are all within easy reach without having to pay the high fees of being nearer to Braemar, Ballater etc.

Look forward to watching this lovely little site evolving over the next few years under its new managers 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Brucethomson 1 review from this member

 Booked Tarland for 3 nights.

While on route to the campsite our van broke down while in a petrol station (throttle valve sensor)

Called Traland to say that we wouldn't manage to arrive on the Thursday but hopped to arrive on friday as the required part would be at the local garage first thing in the morning.

When the part arrived it was the wrong part so the van wasn't going anywhere.

I called Tarland and spoke to Ruan who was very helpful and very understanding to our stuation.

Evne though we never managed to stay there yet but the service they provided was second to none. We have ammended our booking and will be heading to tarland soon. Thanks again Ruan for all yopur assistance, Ruan thanks again 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mr Frankie 8 reviews from this member

 Nice quiet site friendly staff and very clean toilets. Great for walkers and cyclists. Nice pub within a 5 min walk good beer and food . A site not to be missed 


Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Tarland Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tarland Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Tarland Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Tarland By Aboyne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Aberdeenshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2699 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement