Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Tarland Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Tarland By Aboyne > Tarland Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Tarland Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Tarland
Tarland By Aboyne
Aberdeenshire   (Browse area)
AB34 4UP
Tel: 01339 881388
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/03 To 02/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 29 Reviews
                8/10 from 29 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: LizzieMcD 1 review from this member

Have been visiting Tarland since the CCC took it over, We love this little site but oh what a joy to see the current team pulling out all the stops to improve it.

Facilities have always been clean but this visit they were even cleaner. If that’s possible.

It was impressive to see this team working. Seen it on other sites but never Tarland.

The dog walk is short but with the fabulous woodland walk just around the corner our dog just loves it.

Visiting the village craft shop is something crafters visiting the site should not miss, nor picking up the leaflet of interesting local walks.

There is a great number of places to visit and as a touring site it has much to offer. Royal deeside castles etc are all within easy reach without having to pay the high fees of being nearer to Braemar, Ballater etc.

Look forward to watching this lovely little site evolving over the next few years under its new managers

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Brucethomson 1 review from this member

Booked Tarland for 3 nights.

While on route to the campsite our van broke down while in a petrol station (throttle valve sensor)

Called Traland to say that we wouldn't manage to arrive on the Thursday but hopped to arrive on friday as the required part would be at the local garage first thing in the morning.

When the part arrived it was the wrong part so the van wasn't going anywhere.

I called Tarland and spoke to Ruan who was very helpful and very understanding to our stuation.

Evne though we never managed to stay there yet but the service they provided was second to none. We have ammended our booking and will be heading to tarland soon. Thanks again Ruan for all yopur assistance, Ruan thanks again

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mr Frankie 5 reviews from this member

Nice quiet site friendly staff and very clean toilets. Great for walkers and cyclists. Nice pub within a 5 min walk good beer and food . A site not to be missed

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thebunch 2 reviews from this member

If you want to go to bed at 7 or do a Sudoku then this is the place for you. Facilities are good but only used dish washing area and small toilets. A group of us went and found their site rules very strict! Cooking our supper and we were asked if we thought it was Glastonbury as we had a radio on at volume 2 baring in mind “quiet time” was from 11pm-7am. Even at 10:30 when we were whispering this was also too loud! Dogs must be kept on a leash, even when they just get out of the car. Hold on I’ll just climb over the seat into the boot to get the lead on in case he jumps out as the warden will be straight over! Don’t expect to walk your dog. It’s about 10 meters long. On arrival we were told there was no hot water, fair enough these things happen, so a small log on a BBQ to heat up equates to a campfire and we were asked if we recalled our earlier conversation. The kids weren’t even allowed to play on the grass. The warden and her sidekick, who never actually said a word, really need to learn some people skills. Decided to leave but ended up getting kicked out anyway. Moved to Alford, did exact same things there and no one batted an eyelid. Fair to say will not be returning!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rod+Ali 18 reviews from this member

Spent a long weekend at this lovely site.

We found the staff friendly and welcoming and the facilities spotlessly clean.

There are a variety of walks for all abilities starting virtually from the site and the village of Tarland is only 5 - 10 minutes away. Can highly recommend the Commercial Hotel - good food/dog friendly/nice beer garden.

Cant wait to visit again.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Arkwright01 11 reviews from this member

This was my third time of visiting and I wasn't disappointed. Lovely site that is quite small and has some holiday homes/static caravans on site.

Facilities were clean although a little dated. The dishwashing area and some of the water taps were out of use as there was still a chance of a frost. No big-deal as there were other facilities available.

Tarland village is about 10 mins. Walk and boasts a good convenience store and two pubs. One of them does good food, is dog-friendly and also has a take-away menu if needed.

There's a selection of walks available within about 5 mins. Walk from the site and are excellent for exercising dogs.

We had no problems at all with the staff they were all friendly and welcoming.

I would definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Smithsmh1 8 reviews from this member

This is one of my favourite campsites and I have visited it several times over the years and I will definitely return. Facilities kept nice and clean and managers very pleasant and helpful. As with most well run campsites it is a rule that dogs are kept on leash on the site, and so they should be and I speak as a dog owner! The site is next to a lovely woodland with extensive walks so plenty of opportunity for dogs and humans to have a good leg stretch. Sorry I have been so tardy with my review. I will be returning in May 2018 and looking forward to it.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: FindlayMac 7 reviews from this member

Our first visit to this site at Tarland & NEVER AGAIN as a previous reviewer has stated about the Couple who run this site I could not agree more.

Very unfriendly, rude and regimental and certainly NOT Pet- friendly, dogs were requested to be on leads at all times even when having their food outside our own van.

No criticism about the wc facilities at all, very clean, but we certainly won't be returning or recommended this site to anyone.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LBBK 42 reviews from this member

Having seen the waterlogged state of some Scottish campsites this spring we booked a hardstanding with electric pitch at Tarland for the Spring Bank Holiday week. Needless to say not a drop of rain for 7 nights!

This is a relatively small touring site with neighbouring static caravans. Flat & well sheltered. We can't comment on the drainage as it didn't rain during our stay. Wardens were friendly. No mobile signal on site (EE network) but worked wonderfully if you walked up to nearby stone circle. Old technology meet new? Site wif-fi was good. Toilet block spotlessly clean. My only moan is NO BINS in either the ladies or the washing up area. 20p for the hairdrier.

The village is an easy 10 min walk - well stocked Spar for basics. There are supermarket sized Co-ops in Aboyne (with parking) or Ballater (street parking). These are also your nearest banks and petrol stations.

What to do??? Excellent walking from the site (reception had a guide book) or plenty of choice in the surrounding area. The Muir of Dinnet nature reserve, especially the Burn of Vat is worth a visit. Glen Muick is a 8 mile circular track - very pretty. Parking £4 all day. The Balmoral estate includes 7 Munros. Lochnagar itself was especially fine in the sunshine - still pockets of snow on top in late May.

We paid to see Balmoral Castle. £12 each so not cheap but pick a dry day and allow at least half a day. There is relatively little indoors but you can see all the gardens and walk most of the wider grounds. Needless to say the tea shop is excellent quality!

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Martin5a 3 reviews from this member

This site is situated near a very picturesque village with two very good pubs.

The facilities are up to the usual camping and caravanning club standards and are conveniently situated. Our pitch was a little tight but we were helped by the warden who used the site tractor to manoeuvrer our van so we could hook up.

Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Aberdeenshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3885 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019