Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Nairn Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Inverness > Nairn Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Nairn Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Delnies Wood
Nairn
Inverness
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)
IV12 5NX
Tel: 01667 455281
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 75
Open: 01/03/2024 to 26/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 49 Reviews
                8/10 from 49 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Grayhair 2 reviews from this member

 We're pretty new to caravanning, in fact brand new. So we weren't sure what to expect. We'd booked grass with electric but what we got wasn't grass, well there might have been a tuft or two, it was mostly earth with pine needles. Pine needles that however diligent you were ended up in the caravan.

That was the only gripe really, the water was close at hand as was the chemical toilet disposal. There wasn't space to try out our new awning. Pity.

The staff were very friendly even to the point of helping me to get electric, I'd forgotten to switch on the mains fuse box. Silly willy!

As our very first excursion with the van it was OK, quite pleasurable finding out how to work everything. 


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Gari 11 reviews from this member

 I wanted to like this site but not sure I do as it has a number of issues.

Firstly - the pitches are directly below pine trees which are 30 or 40 metres high. Caravans etc get covered in debris from the trees but it also means it is a very gloomy site even on the sunniest of days. Trees also mean there are lots of insects making it less pleasant to sit outside (fortunately there didn't seem to be many biting insects).

Pitches are all grass which tend to be covered with rabbit droppings and pine needles which soon make their way into your accommodation if you are not careful.

There is some road noise but its not too bad if you are at the back of the site.

Site buildings look to be from the 70s or early 80s (original toilet building is closed and portacabin is the long term replacement). The site "road" is gravel with some sizeable potholes. In summary, the site looks like it could do with some major investment.

On the plus side, its relatively inexpensive, the staff are friendly, the location is good and access is very easy. 


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Haynes21 1 review from this member

 We have visited this site pretty frequently for weekends since summer 2018. The toilets and showers do need an update in comparison to other sites. Apparently thatís happening 2024. But they work.

Think the kids actually prefer the showers here as itís not a push button. A wee play park on site that one of our younger kids still enjoys. Forest to explore.

It is the perfect location for exploring the moray coast or further. A fab fruit farm up the road if youíre here in season and Theo ice cream is amazing. Plenty of beaches nearby and walks.

A nice start to the NC500 if thatís what youíre doing. The staff have always been great. Allowed us to borrow a hook up extension one visit because we werenít well prepared that visit.

It is next to the main road and we have had a pitch that site of the site. Probably a bit noisier there than if youíre pitched the woodland side but it hasnít put us off.

Itís our go to site when we want to head to this part of the highlands. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Richar 9 reviews from this member

 Great place. Nice people. When we added a day she did what she could to accommodate us. Had to move 2 spots over. Bus close by.

Laundry was OK. One machines takes tokens gotten from the office. However the office is only open maybe 2 hours a day. Makes it difficult to talk with them.

The wifi/internet is terrible and they know it. Also my Vodafone was terrible so I was not able to even book the next stop on our journey which created an issue for us. They really need to fix it.

Showers were great, no push buttons and you set the heat!

There is a factory of some type on one side that starts early and can be noisy. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Joanna 1 review from this member

 This was such a perfect little stop over before starting the NC500 route from Inverness.

No showers or "proper" toilet facilities - however there is a portable-loo and all the other basic requirements you need when pitching up. Chemical waste disposal, fresh water facilities to top up your tanks and also a pit-stop to wash the muck off your van from the long drive!

If all these pleasant little touches aren't selling it for you then how about a wonderfully peaceful evening under the gorgeous star-lit sky surrounded by the smell of pine-trees!

AND on top of all this charm? the price! a very reasonable - £26 (this included electric and £1 for our small cheeky jack Russell)

Would definitely stay here again and will recommend to all. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tamglasgow 16 reviews from this member

 On arrival we were met with an older chap who took us to our pitch, he seemed pleasant enough as was the lady warden in passing.

The site itself is nice enough in the trees but the shower portakabin is totally inadequate, 3 showers for the whole site is a disgrace. There is a visiting chippy on a Tuesday, it attracts most of the campsite who make there way to the car park to stand in a mile long queue(Must be good).

There is a younger warden whom I only spoke to once to ask for a laundry token, his reply was " I am going to clean the toilets then have my lunch, come back after 1" This was 11 am! I didn't bother.

Nice location but that's as far as I will go, I'd never visit here again due to the dated, inadequate facilities and rather unhelpful member of staff.

Email sent to cancel membership of CCC. 


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Catarinabod 74 reviews from this member

 On checking in, I requested an open pitch with not too many overhanging trees and was kindly offered a great pitch near the portakabin facilities (as we are in a campervan without).

Red squirrels, rabbits and birds close by as there was a feeder on a nearby tree.

Facilities clean and warm, with proper showers although the cubicles are small.

Great dog walking in the woods behind the site from where you can walk in to Nairn (2+ miles), or cross the main road and head to the sea and turn right towards Nairn along the shore by the side of a golf course.

Doing a circular type route and returning via the road and the wood is around 9 miles. We tried to find the secret beach and the spit but ended up on the mainland the wrong side of the water. Think you need to head to the sea same route as into Nairn but turn left at the coast and keep going.

Free wi-fi was a bonus and staff were friendly and helpful. Didn't really think too much of Nairn town - maybe a bit out of season - but the site, woodland walks and coast were very good.

Difficult to comment on child friendliness - just lots of nature to offer! 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dawnzy 3 reviews from this member

 Great wee site loved camping in the forest. Well set out and very calming and peaceful.

Was nice to just look out into the trees and watch the birds and other wildlife great place to relax and get away from it all. Staff were lovely and very helpful.

Everyone was very friendly. Nairn beach and town only a five minute drive.

Perfect site for the last couple of days holiday left feeling relaxed and recharged. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pulster 4 reviews from this member

 Decided on Nairn as we wanted to take in a boat trip to see dolphins/seals & and we had yet to venture north of Dundee since moving to Scotland a few years ago.

Arrived Saturday afternoon, greeted by very friendly lady called Glinys who checked us in nice and quickly. Asked if we had a dog with us and proceeded to then hand over a wee bag with some treats and poop bags. Nice touch.

Pitches are narrow so we were escorted up to where there were several free spaces and allowed to select whichever we felt suited best to our unit.

Showers and main toilet block are portacabins but well maintained and decent enough showers. There is also a small toilet block at far end of site where tents generally get pitched.

There is a covered washing up area and laundry facilities available. A very very small shop in reception and 2 fish & chip vans attend throughout the week - we've been told the Tuesday one is the best.

Plenty of dog walks just off site.

Nice wooded site, yes it's very close to the A96 main road but it didn't detract from our visit. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Basil S 28 reviews from this member

 Very good site a bit close to the main road but as it is screened by trees no noise at all.

When we arrived we were shown to our pitch and it was explained to us that they had temporary toilet facilities but these were warm and spotless, and we discovered that I knew the warden as he is a retired police officer that had escorted me when I had a wide load.

Good beach walks in the area and handy for supermarkets. 


Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Nairn Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Nairn Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Inverness      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Inverness-Shire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


59138 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement