Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Nairn Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Site Reviews

Nairn Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Delnies Wood
Nairn
Inverness
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)
IV12 5NX
Tel: 01667 455281
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: 01/03 to 28/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 40 Reviews
                8/10 from 40 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Basil S 17 reviews from this member

Very good site a bit close to the main road but as it is screened by trees no noise at all.

When we arrived we were shown to our pitch and it was explained to us that they had temporary toilet facilities but these were warm and spotless, and we discovered that I knew the warden as he is a retired police officer that had escorted me when I had a wide load.

Good beach walks in the area and handy for supermarkets.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jimagallan 9 reviews from this member

Nice clean site, strict 1 pm check in so not worth arriving a bit early. Was slightly disappointed to see the toilet blocks were portacabins but they were well set out and kept nice and clean.

Good bus service from A96 directly outside to Nairn and further. Nairn is walkable but only by a track towards the moray firth, the A96 is very fast and busy. Overall a nice stay, staff very helpful but maybe a wee bit officious.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Coolgreina 11 reviews from this member

First trip of the season. Very warm welcome, lovely site camping under the trees.

They were having problems with the 'loo' block and had bought in 'porta loo block' which was spotless, lovely hot showers.

There is a children's play area which look interesting.

Excellent dog walk.

Plenty of water points, bins and doggy bins.

Was a bit worried about road noise as is close to a main road, but no problem at all, well screened by trees.

Very close to Nairn itself, which has an amazing beach that seem to stretch forever. Excellent for the dogs to run on.

Nairn itself has a swimming pool, sports centre, supermarket, loads of little shops to explore, and very friendly people. We only stayed one night but there is so much to explore in the area.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Macmoto 5 reviews from this member

Whether you like this site would depend very much on your priorities.

It is set in woodland, which is lovely and probably helps to suppress the noise from the busy A road slightly, but makes the site dark and a bit gloomy, even on a lovely evening.

The wardens were friendly, but I felt could provide more local information on arrival - I'm not a fan of sites just giving a leaflet with the site rules and information, but nothing else on the surrounding area. For example, there is a stunning beach just over a mile's walk away, but I had to request directions - which would, of course, not be available when the reception is shut.

The site is clean and well maintained and units are well spaced out.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Effnboots 15 reviews from this member

Lovely site in the forest, well spaced pitches.

Shower block lovely and clean.

Fantastic dog walk on site into forest with many paths. Can also walk along lanes to beautiful quiet beach ( about 3/4 hour walk) or take the car down but limited parking. Beach great for the dogs.

Wardens really friendly and helpful.

Yes there are midges but not horrendous.

Pitches puddle a bit if rain but dry quickly.

Small children's playground.

Can buy essentials such as milk, free range eggs etc in reception.

Would come back if in area.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gerry Gaffney 3 reviews from this member

We arrived later than arranged, none the less we received a friendly, warm and helpful welcome.

A magnificent site situated on the edge of the forest, with the pitches typically being in amongst the trees with just the right distance between them. A very relaxed site.

The toilets were spotless with great water pressure and plentiful water.

A nice play park for the kids and lots of forest walks available.

We ventured to Fort George which was about 4 miles away which was exceptionally good due to a re-enactment weekend topped off with a spitfire display.

Couldn't fault the site or the wardens.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: JackieHighland 3 reviews from this member

Very friendly and well laid out campsite, on edge of forest. I was on far side away from road, and didn't find the traffic noise a problem at all. But then the weather was not great, so didn't sit outside much, or have all the windows open. As a dog owner, a big plus was the walks in woods behind the site. There were several entrances into the woods, which had a network of paths where dog could be off lead. Could get lost, but there was one waymarked path through the centre of the wood. Could also follow path across main A96 to small farm track to Delnies beach, where you could walk for miles to Whiteness Point or along to Nairn. The wardens were friendly and helpful, there was good space between pitches with lots of trees. Toilet block was kept very clean.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mrphil 1 review from this member

4 of us stayed for one night, arrived quite late on motorbikes but we still had a warm welcome from the wardens who were really friendly and helpful. Good level site, spotlessly clean and well maintained. Got a taxi into Nairn, had a few beers in The Albert a traditional pub, good atmosphere but we were too late for food, couldn't find any other pubs so after a few more in The Albert ended up with a decent chinese takeaway from MrTams. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend the site despite the roadside location.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Yappieannie 11 reviews from this member

We have just come back from a 3 night break and cannot praise this site enough.

The site is situated off the main road and I guess if you are a light sleeper the noise could be an issue, for us it was just background noise.

The wardens were very helpful, drawing maps and pointing out some places of interest (the Classroom restaurant in Nairn gets 5 stars)

The toilets were spotless and not a push button in site, this in itself makes the site worth visiting!

We walked from the site along the beach into Nairn, it took just over an hour and a half, if you are not keen to walk the bus stops right outside the main camp entrance, with frequent services to Inverness and Nairn.

This was a smaller site than previous camping and caravan sites but don't let that put you off, the pitches were level and despite some rain the pitches were not waterlogged.

It's a beautiful area and we will be back to explore some more.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dot P 539 reviews from this member

Used for a one night stopover and couldn't have been more satisfied.

We arrived on a wet afternoon to be greeted by a very cheerful warden who quickly checked us in. Despite the weather pitches were dry and drained well. Not the biggest pitch ever but more than adequate for us and the many other motorhomes on site.

Would agree with previous as to some road noise, didn't find it that intrusive though - possibly as we were parked in the section to the right of reception.

Toilets and showers are in an old block. That said they are immaculate inside, agree they are old but to be fair upgrading would be more about the appearance from the outside. The showers do not have push buttons, good water pressure and piping hot. You would go a long way to get a better shower and a cleaner block.

Overall this is a really good site, 15 for 2 adults with ehu is much cheaper than several other club sites in the area.

If staying here then cannot recommend a visit to Fort George highly enough. For less than 9 its an incredible place, still in use as a military base but plenty you can see and do, its an amazing day out.

Would recommend this site without hesitation and we will use for longer next time in the area.

Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Inverness-Shire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2877 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0938