Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Nairn Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Inverness > Nairn Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Nairn Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Delnies Wood
Nairn
Inverness
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)
IV12 5NX
Tel: 01667 455281
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: 01/03 to 26/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 43 Reviews
                8/10 from 43 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We regret that our site is currently closed because of the advice and implications surrounding the outbreak of Coronavirus.

To enquire about a booking later in the season or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Catarinabod 50 reviews from this member

 On checking in, I requested an open pitch with not too many overhanging trees and was kindly offered a great pitch near the portakabin facilities (as we are in a campervan without).

Red squirrels, rabbits and birds close by as there was a feeder on a nearby tree.

Facilities clean and warm, with proper showers although the cubicles are small.

Great dog walking in the woods behind the site from where you can walk in to Nairn (2+ miles), or cross the main road and head to the sea and turn right towards Nairn along the shore by the side of a golf course.

Doing a circular type route and returning via the road and the wood is around 9 miles. We tried to find the secret beach and the spit but ended up on the mainland the wrong side of the water. Think you need to head to the sea same route as into Nairn but turn left at the coast and keep going.

Free wi-fi was a bonus and staff were friendly and helpful. Didn't really think too much of Nairn town - maybe a bit out of season - but the site, woodland walks and coast were very good.

Difficult to comment on child friendliness - just lots of nature to offer! 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dawnzy 3 reviews from this member

 Great wee site loved camping in the forest. Well set out and very calming and peaceful.

Was nice to just look out into the trees and watch the birds and other wildlife great place to relax and get away from it all. Staff were lovely and very helpful.

Everyone was very friendly. Nairn beach and town only a five minute drive.

Perfect site for the last couple of days holiday left feeling relaxed and recharged. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pulster 4 reviews from this member

 Decided on Nairn as we wanted to take in a boat trip to see dolphins/seals & and we had yet to venture north of Dundee since moving to Scotland a few years ago.

Arrived Saturday afternoon, greeted by very friendly lady called Glinys who checked us in nice and quickly. Asked if we had a dog with us and proceeded to then hand over a wee bag with some treats and poop bags. Nice touch.

Pitches are narrow so we were escorted up to where there were several free spaces and allowed to select whichever we felt suited best to our unit.

Showers and main toilet block are portacabins but well maintained and decent enough showers. There is also a small toilet block at far end of site where tents generally get pitched.

There is a covered washing up area and laundry facilities available. A very very small shop in reception and 2 fish & chip vans attend throughout the week - we've been told the Tuesday one is the best.

Plenty of dog walks just off site.

Nice wooded site, yes it's very close to the A96 main road but it didn't detract from our visit. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Basil S 21 reviews from this member

 Very good site a bit close to the main road but as it is screened by trees no noise at all.

When we arrived we were shown to our pitch and it was explained to us that they had temporary toilet facilities but these were warm and spotless, and we discovered that I knew the warden as he is a retired police officer that had escorted me when I had a wide load.

Good beach walks in the area and handy for supermarkets. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jimagallan 11 reviews from this member

 Nice clean site, strict 1 pm check in so not worth arriving a bit early. Was slightly disappointed to see the toilet blocks were portacabins but they were well set out and kept nice and clean.

Good bus service from A96 directly outside to Nairn and further. Nairn is walkable but only by a track towards the moray firth, the A96 is very fast and busy. Overall a nice stay, staff very helpful but maybe a wee bit officious. 


Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Coolgreina 11 reviews from this member

 First trip of the season. Very warm welcome, lovely site camping under the trees.

They were having problems with the 'loo' block and had bought in 'porta loo block' which was spotless, lovely hot showers.

There is a children's play area which look interesting.

Excellent dog walk.

Plenty of water points, bins and doggy bins.

Was a bit worried about road noise as is close to a main road, but no problem at all, well screened by trees.

Very close to Nairn itself, which has an amazing beach that seem to stretch forever. Excellent for the dogs to run on.

Nairn itself has a swimming pool, sports centre, supermarket, loads of little shops to explore, and very friendly people. We only stayed one night but there is so much to explore in the area. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Macmoto 5 reviews from this member

 Whether you like this site would depend very much on your priorities.

It is set in woodland, which is lovely and probably helps to suppress the noise from the busy A road slightly, but makes the site dark and a bit gloomy, even on a lovely evening.

The wardens were friendly, but I felt could provide more local information on arrival - I'm not a fan of sites just giving a leaflet with the site rules and information, but nothing else on the surrounding area. For example, there is a stunning beach just over a mile's walk away, but I had to request directions - which would, of course, not be available when the reception is shut.

The site is clean and well maintained and units are well spaced out. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Effnboots 15 reviews from this member

 Lovely site in the forest, well spaced pitches.

Shower block lovely and clean.

Fantastic dog walk on site into forest with many paths. Can also walk along lanes to beautiful quiet beach ( about 3/4 hour walk) or take the car down but limited parking. Beach great for the dogs.

Wardens really friendly and helpful.

Yes there are midges but not horrendous.

Pitches puddle a bit if rain but dry quickly.

Small children's playground.

Can buy essentials such as milk, free range eggs etc in reception.

Would come back if in area. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gerry Gaffney 3 reviews from this member

 We arrived later than arranged, none the less we received a friendly, warm and helpful welcome.

A magnificent site situated on the edge of the forest, with the pitches typically being in amongst the trees with just the right distance between them. A very relaxed site.

The toilets were spotless with great water pressure and plentiful water.

A nice play park for the kids and lots of forest walks available.

We ventured to Fort George which was about 4 miles away which was exceptionally good due to a re-enactment weekend topped off with a spitfire display.

Couldn't fault the site or the wardens. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: JackieHighland 3 reviews from this member

 Very friendly and well laid out campsite, on edge of forest. I was on far side away from road, and didn't find the traffic noise a problem at all. But then the weather was not great, so didn't sit outside much, or have all the windows open. As a dog owner, a big plus was the walks in woods behind the site. There were several entrances into the woods, which had a network of paths where dog could be off lead. Could get lost, but there was one waymarked path through the centre of the wood. Could also follow path across main A96 to small farm track to Delnies beach, where you could walk for miles to Whiteness Point or along to Nairn. The wardens were friendly and helpful, there was good space between pitches with lots of trees. Toilet block was kept very clean. 


Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Nairn Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Nairn Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Inverness      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Inverness-Shire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Stratford Caravan & Motorhome Show 26/06 to 28/06
Over 350 new and used caravans and motorhomes, camp over with 3 nights of fantastic live entertainment, bar and food ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3483 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020