Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Oban Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Argyll > Oban Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Oban Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Barcaldine By Connel
Argyll
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA37 1SG
Tel: 01631 720348
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: 01/04/2022 to 26/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 40 Reviews
                8/10 from 40 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Wakemalcolm 6 reviews from this member

 Having visited a number of sites over the last week, I just can't understand why 'club' sites should cost around twice the price of others.

Despite being located on a beautiful stretch of coastline, it's situated within a walled garden, meaning you can't see it.

The staff are employees rather than locals so have little local knowledge (or in my case knowledge of the charging structure) and aren't true stakeholders in the business although polite.

It's handily placed on the national cycle network though which is what drew us there. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Fortsmith 3 reviews from this member

 As a previous review pointed out, this is a 'club' site, yet even though I've been a member for over 15 years, it's not cheap,

The 'club' is now run as a for profit business, not in my opinion for the benefit of its members,

The site is very compact, with as many pitches as possible crammed in,

Won't visit again, and will bin my membership. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lizzie 1 review from this member

 Name of the site is misleading. This site is not in Oban and not even a couple of miles away. The site is 12 miles from Oban. The name is similar to a site in Oban. Please ensure you know the exact one you have booked if using Sat Nav or Google Maps.

Site small and enclosed. There is barriers to get in and out. Barriers open at 7am and close at 11pm.

The facilities are clean and tidy. We were camping in a tent. The ground for pitching is poor. We found it difficult to get pegs in. Lots of hard stone just under grass.

No kids area if you have kids. Signs saying no ball games etc. Not sure if this site allows kids, if they do then maybe not the right place for a young family as nothing to do for entertainment. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Argyllie 11 reviews from this member

 A site to which we have returned many times over the years. It is sheltered being inside the walled garden and is adjacent to Sutherland's Grove for an array of walks of differing levels if difficulty.

Being a club site, the staff are in place for three seasons then moved on. In our experience some of the imcumbents have been lacking, in which case we wait until they are due to have moved on before we return. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: PedroPete61 25 reviews from this member

 Well it is 13 miles from Oban, The nearest shop is 5 miles the Pink Shop and garage and along with No Phone reception and tv is Poor to say the least. The good side is the view and cycle track 78 the best I have seen it goes from Cambeltown to Fort William.The place is kept spotless by the wardens and are great, there is a bus on the hour and a Pub 2 miles one way and a café and pottery the other. Good base to travel enjoy. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Clairhol 1 review from this member

 Great site in a lovely location. Stayed for a week broke down on the way to next site, the owners were very helpful and accepted us back on site and also helped contact our next site. Will be visiting again. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: S-and-G 10 reviews from this member

 We stayed one night on our way down to Argyll.

Very friendly staff, despite they told us exactly where and how to put our car and tent within a centimetre.

Overall everything is extremely clean: well mowed grass, toilet/shower block is so clean you could serenely have a surgery in there !

The main downside is that the place is surrounded by tall walls (like a walled garden), so there is not an inch of wind, so. Yes you guessed right, it is pretty midgy ! During the evening everyone is locked in their caravan/motorhome.

This site simply lacks some view on the surrounding landscape. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Truediamond 102 reviews from this member

 A lovely Site but with one huge drawback, the midges.

This has all the appearances of a high quality C & C Club Site, welcoming staff, excellent facilities and, especially, a beautiful setting in a walled garden. We stayed here one night before catching the ferry from Oban and, after 8 days, my wife still bore the scars of midge bites. While accepting there's nothing staff can do to prevent midges, anyone staying here needs to prepare - nets, spray anything.

We've rated it on the facilities and Site Team alone. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chris5mph 38 reviews from this member

 A characterful site tucked into a former walled garden. A circle of well spaced hardstandings around the edge leave a nice green open space in the middle, which is where the excellent facilities are. The site is immaculate (as most Camping Club sites are) and the managers are friendly and helpful. The only possible drawback is the green open space being mainly moss - after a day's rain it was like walking across a two inch deep wet sponge! Congratulations to the owners of the 4x4 campervan and speedboat in the corner, the only other person on site who kept to the 5mph speed limit. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jasper15 10 reviews from this member

 What a great site, this was a last minute booking, and one of our better decisions. The site situated just off the A828, in a former Walled Garden.

The pitches are mostly hard standing, with loads of space between, the toilet block in center of the site is emmaculate, as is the site itself.

The site having full facilities of Club sites, the small on site shop has essentials, and if like me you forgot something the warden did opened up out of hours. The dog walk is in Sutherlannds Grove is great for both easy and more strenuous which are all sign posted. For cyclists the Oban to Fort William cycle path is just outside the site entrance, which runs mostly along the coast.

There is a larger shop in Benderloch, which sells caravan spares. Oban only about 20 mins away has everything, incl Supermarkets and petrol stations. This is a great place and we will be back. 


Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Oban Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Oban Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Oban Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Argyll      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


439 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement