Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Oban Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Argyll > Oban Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Oban Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Barcaldine By Connel
Argyll
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA37 1SG
Tel: 01631 720348
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: 01/04 to 28/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 37 Reviews
                8/10 from 37 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Other Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Argyllie 11 reviews from this member

A site to which we have returned many times over the years. It is sheltered being inside the walled garden and is adjacent to Sutherland's Grove for an array of walks of differing levels if difficulty.

Being a club site, the staff are in place for three seasons then moved on. In our experience some of the imcumbents have been lacking, in which case we wait until they are due to have moved on before we return.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: PedroPete61 22 reviews from this member

Well it is 13 miles from Oban, The nearest shop is 5 miles the Pink Shop and garage and along with No Phone reception and tv is Poor to say the least. The good side is the view and cycle track 78 the best I have seen it goes from Cambeltown to Fort William.The place is kept spotless by the wardens and are great, there is a bus on the hour and a Pub 2 miles one way and a café and pottery the other. Good base to travel enjoy.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Clairhol 1 review from this member

Great site in a lovely location. Stayed for a week broke down on the way to next site, the owners were very helpful and accepted us back on site and also helped contact our next site. Will be visiting again.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: S-and-G 10 reviews from this member

We stayed one night on our way down to Argyll.

Very friendly staff, despite they told us exactly where and how to put our car and tent within a centimetre.

Overall everything is extremely clean: well mowed grass, toilet/shower block is so clean you could serenely have a surgery in there !

The main downside is that the place is surrounded by tall walls (like a walled garden), so there is not an inch of wind, so. Yes you guessed right, it is pretty midgy ! During the evening everyone is locked in their caravan/motorhome.

This site simply lacks some view on the surrounding landscape.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Truediamond 84 reviews from this member

A lovely Site but with one huge drawback, the midges.

This has all the appearances of a high quality C & C Club Site, welcoming staff, excellent facilities and, especially, a beautiful setting in a walled garden. We stayed here one night before catching the ferry from Oban and, after 8 days, my wife still bore the scars of midge bites. While accepting there's nothing staff can do to prevent midges, anyone staying here needs to prepare - nets, spray anything.

We've rated it on the facilities and Site Team alone.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chris5mph 30 reviews from this member

A characterful site tucked into a former walled garden. A circle of well spaced hardstandings around the edge leave a nice green open space in the middle, which is where the excellent facilities are. The site is immaculate (as most Camping Club sites are) and the managers are friendly and helpful. The only possible drawback is the green open space being mainly moss - after a day's rain it was like walking across a two inch deep wet sponge! Congratulations to the owners of the 4x4 campervan and speedboat in the corner, the only other person on site who kept to the 5mph speed limit.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jasper15 10 reviews from this member

What a great site, this was a last minute booking, and one of our better decisions. The site situated just off the A828, in a former Walled Garden.

The pitches are mostly hard standing, with loads of space between, the toilet block in center of the site is emmaculate, as is the site itself.

The site having full facilities of Club sites, the small on site shop has essentials, and if like me you forgot something the warden did opened up out of hours. The dog walk is in Sutherlannds Grove is great for both easy and more strenuous which are all sign posted. For cyclists the Oban to Fort William cycle path is just outside the site entrance, which runs mostly along the coast.

There is a larger shop in Benderloch, which sells caravan spares. Oban only about 20 mins away has everything, incl Supermarkets and petrol stations. This is a great place and we will be back.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Thegrinch 16 reviews from this member

Wonderful site. Ignore those who moan it is 12 miles from Oban because the 20 minute drive is well worth it. Right near the Sealife Centre and easy to find. So clean and well kept with great staff, a spotless laundrette and great pitches. Would not hesitate to use again. Even after a lot of rain the ground was in good condition and the pitch for the van dry.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Walters-world 13 reviews from this member

As CCC members we tend to use the smaller certified sites whenever possible so found this one a bit crowded as it was nearly full.

The still air within the the lovely walled garden site unfortunately meant the midges were present and we couldn't sit out and enjoy the surroundings the one evening we were there.

The site and the toilet block and other facilities are immaculate and the Warden was chatty and informative. We were only passing through so cannot comment about the surrounding area and attractions.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Grahamfin 4 reviews from this member

Stayed here for one night whilst cycle touring. It had been raining for several hours before I arrived and the ground was sodden with puddles forming in some areas, however the receptionist put on his coat and came out into the site with me to help find a suitable place to pitch tent in the conditions. The soil seemed to be quite stony, which made getting tent pegs in more challenging than usual, but as the site is enclosed by the high walls of an old walled garden, there was little wind so I didn't worry about getting the pegs fully in. The shower block was excellent with heating and plenty of facilities, I have marked facilities down a little due to the stony ground.

Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Argyll      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4576 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019