Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Speyside By Craigellachie Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Moray > Aberlour > Speyside By Craigellachie Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Speyside By Craigellachie Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Archiestown
Aberlour
Moray   (Browse area)
AB38 9SL
Tel: 01340 810414
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 75
Open: 01/04/2024 to 28/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 19 Reviews
                8/10 from 19 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: ROSSlass 7 reviews from this member

 Very well kept site, with attention to grass mowing and all tidy.

Good welcome. Very good grass pitch with beautiful views.

Site used to be a POW site and the facilities block is original.

The showers and toilets in the block are old and could do with upgrading but the site attendants keep it very clean and there is plenty of hot water.

Also there is a washing machine and dryer available and ice creams too at the site shop. We very much enjoyed our time at the site.

We found it quiet at night and enjoyed exploring sea and countryside during the days.

Not far from Aberlour where you can get provisions. Very reasonable pricing.

And despite the older facilities we will return. 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Rtayl112 9 reviews from this member

 This was my first solo camping trip for many years following a hotel stay in Inverness for our sons belated "stag do" and to be honest I really enjoyed it, the staff were very friendly, the pitch was good and it was very reasonably priced.

It was different using the site facilities after our usual posh caravan facilities and found them clean and interesting having previously been used in a previous life as a set of prison cells for disruptive POW's, there are photo's in the toilet block and some history on the notice board outside.

Obviously from the sites location one of the main local attractions is the number of whisky distilleries within such a small area many which are open to the public - but not all.

The local scenery is wonderful and has many towns to see, Elgin, Keith, Granton-on-Spey to name a few with Inverness and Aviemore reasonably close.

The only odd thing I came across was that when I spoke to the warden he said that they were closing for the season on the Friday of my visit, mid July?, as the C&CC had a warden shortage and they were being moved to a different site until the season end.

I am hoping to return to Scotland next year with my wife and our caravan and this lovely little site may well be on our list if it is open. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: NMack 16 reviews from this member

 Just back from eight nights at the lovely Speyside by Craigellachie CC&C site. This site is in a great spot, getting sunshine all day (when it shines). The hardstanding pitch we were given was on the top side of reception and was a lovely big pitch. The site being on an old prisoner of war camp has its challenges when putting up awnings on some pitches.

Road noise on the top side of the site is noticeable (more so if you don't have a lot of traffic passing your home) but you get used to it. The grass pitches further down the site wouldn't have the same issue, although this part of the site can get a bit wet at times.

The facilities may be a bit more dated than some, but they are spotlessly clean and all the paintwork inside and out looks fresh.

The dog walk is lovely, although a pair of wellies is definitely recommended for some parts. Gave our energetic Collie the chance to run.

Those looking to tour the whisky distilleries would find this site an excellent choice. Elgin is close by for large shopping, with the smaller towns of Rothes and Aberlour offering the necessities. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Udny24 6 reviews from this member

 Excellent site for visiting the many whisky distilleries in the area (MacAllan distillery is about a miles walk away so you can sample the whisky without having to drive!) Facilities are a bit dated but kept very clean. Friendly welcome by wardens. The site can get a bit waterlogged in heavy rain but wardens did their best to put everyone on the drier spots. Dog walk through a gate was ok but quite boggy and overgrown, could be better maintained as no other suitable dog walking other than accessing from the main road. Beautiful scenery! Aberlour is a short drive away and has some lovely shops and access to the Speyside Way. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TeamRB 4 reviews from this member

 As a peaceful, rural base for exploring the many aspects of the local area, including the Whisky Trail, Speyside Camping & Caravan Club site is ideal. It offers both hardstanding and grass pitches with pleasant outlooks over the surrounding trees and hills. The toilet and shower facilities, whilst somewhat dated, are kept spotlessly clean. Both wardens are comparatively new to this site but are nonetheless enthusiastic and very friendly and offer a very warm welcome. During our stay, which we extended twice, we had a problem with the tumble dryer and the warden immediately refunded our money and offered the use of his personal dryer to help out. Co-op supermarket, pubs & restaurants in Aberlour, about 3 miles away, or local pub, shop & post office a bit closer in Cragellachie. Would definitely return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Maxt46 54 reviews from this member

 We stopped here for a couple of nights while touring Scotland to visit my wife's brother who lives locally, must say the wardens were very helpful allowing them to bring their car on site.

For us the site is a bit remote not many places to walk though the dog walk is quite extensive (good boots needed).

The facilities were always clean if a bit dated (think they are a leftover from when it was a POW camp).

But don't let any of this put you off the site is good and the area well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Trubytribute 17 reviews from this member

 There have been a lot of negatives reviews about this site in the past but I cannot see why. It is a lovely little site, clean and tidy with friendly managers. The facilities are a bit dated but kept very clean and tidy. It is just a few miles from Abelour in an ideal location for Elgin and the coast around there, a day trip to Aberdeen, the Whisky country, Cairngorms etc. Its a small site but with well spaced out pitches flanked by lots of grassy areas. Nice dog walk too and a small play area for the children. It was well looked after just off a B road which wasn't too busy most of the time. Really loved this little site and shouldn't really say so as perhaps I should keep it secret. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Ficklejade 9 reviews from this member

 I've been to this site many times but not last year and not at this time of year. It is in many ways unchanged from my review in 2011, with the exception of the wettest part of the site being left as a wildflower area and a couple more hardstanding pitches (gravel) with EHU in place.

When I rang to book, the warden remembered me and sorted us out promptly. When I arrived, I was just told roughly where I could pitch and no probs so long as 6m rule obeyed.

The showers and loos are very outdated but spotlessly clean and the water is very hot. Bucket and mops available (and people were using them) and no push button showers, also plenty of hanging space in showers so your clothes don't get soaked. One shower in ladies not working when I was there but site was very quiet so it wasn't a problem.

Dishwashing facility (3 sinks/draining boards) undercover with seating if you have to wait a bit - again very hot water and spotless.

Comprehensive information area open at all times, well stocked with leaflets of local attractions and those further afield, plus bus times; information on local places to eat and medical information including vets for those travelling with their pets. The weather forecast is normally available too, but, given we had snow, think I'll forgive them trying not to put us tenters off!

Dog walk is long and wet (given the weather) with poop bins at the entrances.

Small children's playground - more for younger children but not toddlers - located at the top end of the site, away from most of the pitches.

Motor-home service pitch is located opposite reception. Plenty of bins, water points centrally but recycling limited due to Council policy. No Wi-fi (that colleagues told me) but O2, Vodafone okay for mobiles and friends with me had good tv reception in their caravan.

Reception has a small amount of foodstuffs, a few local maps and book lending.

I don't do local pubs etc. But feel other, recent reviews have covered this adequately.

If you like sites which aren't overly populated and want a touring base for this area, this is great. Less than an hour's car travel will take you to Inverness, Fort George, dolphin-spotting on the Moray Firth, or to the Landmark Centre or the Cairngorms at Loch Morlich with the funicular and walks, cycling and watersports facilities. Virtually on your doorstep is the Speyside Way for walking and cycling and of course, the distilleries (don't forget the Cooperage just outside Craigellachie about 3 miles away).

This is a little gem of a site that the CCC should spend a little bit more on, just to tweak some of slightly dated bits and give some support to the wardens who clearly care very much about the place. I should hate to see it go the commercial way many CCC sites seem to be heading. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ridgebacksontour 14 reviews from this member

 We passed this site hundreds of times during the many years we lived just ten minutes away. So finally, now it's not on our doorstep we thought we'd give it a try. I tried booking on line but all the system would offer me was a grass pitch with no EHU so I rang the site directly. This required patience because for the best part of a day and a half of frequent ringing nobody answered. When I finally got through a hard standing pitch with EHU was immediately offered & at the bargain price of 16 per night for two adults.

Upon arrival we were greeted by a very friendly warden-not always the case on club sites-who offered us a very nice pitch at the top of the site which gave us a very nice view whichever way one looked. He pointed out the dog walk to us and explained about the facilities etc.

The facilities though dated were extremely clean with plenty of hot water. Everywhere was very tidy and looked well cared for.

Craigellachie is only three miles away. Here one can get fuel groceries etc. Within the village and opposite one another are the Highlander hotel, famed for its vast selection of Malts and the Craigellachie Hotel, an imposing Victorian pile recently refurbished. To experience a true Highland pub one has only to walk a few hundred yards along the Keith road to the Fiddichside Inn. A real old fashioned pub with real hospitality, it is tiny but on a nice day one can relax outside by the Fiddich ( from which the Glenfiddich distillery upstream takes its name).

From the campsite one can also walk down into Aberlour, it took us just over an hour at a leisurely saunter. Here there is a good variety of local shops an hotel and a pub, The Mash Tun, which serves real ales and good food.

The village is also home to Walkers Shortbread which in addition to it's shop on the high street has a factory shop at the northern end of the village. There is also the Aberlour distillery which like many others in the area offer guided tours.

We had planned to stay just one night and then move on but we liked it so much we stayed on for a second night and intend to return again soon. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 2Adventurers 9 reviews from this member

 This a lovely site, easily accessed and well located for exploring the beautiful Moray Firth coast area and inland towards Aviemore. The site is well maintained by two friendly and helpful wardens, both sporting a healthy sense of humour! Toilet blocks are slightly dated but perfectly adequate and spotlessly clean. Their datedness gives the advantage of showers that actually run without constantly having to press the control button.

We booked in for a stopover en route elsewhere but liked it so much we stayed an extra two nights. As Camping and Caravan members we were able to take advantage of 25% discount made available to over 60's so excellent value for money at approx 15 per night for two adults in touring caravan with electric hook-up. No Wi-FI. Who needs it every day anyway?. But great TV reception. Highly recommended. 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Speyside By Craigellachie Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Speyside By Craigellachie Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Speyside By Craigellachie Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Aberlour      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Moray

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...

  

  

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Sussex 18/05 to 19/05

Endless activities for you and your dog to enjoy plus weekend camping - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4374 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement