Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Speyside By Craigellachie Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Moray > Site Reviews

Speyside By Craigellachie Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Archiestown
Aberlour
Moray
Moray   (Browse area)
AB38 9SL
Tel: 01340 810414
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: 01/04 to 30/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 17 Reviews
                8/10 from 17 Reviews

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: NMack 11 reviews from this member

Just back from eight nights at the lovely Speyside by Craigellachie CC&C site. This site is in a great spot, getting sunshine all day (when it shines). The hardstanding pitch we were given was on the top side of reception and was a lovely big pitch. The site being on an old prisoner of war camp has its challenges when putting up awnings on some pitches.

Road noise on the top side of the site is noticeable (more so if you don't have a lot of traffic passing your home) but you get used to it. The grass pitches further down the site wouldn't have the same issue, although this part of the site can get a bit wet at times.

The facilities may be a bit more dated than some, but they are spotlessly clean and all the paintwork inside and out looks fresh.

The dog walk is lovely, although a pair of wellies is definitely recommended for some parts. Gave our energetic Collie the chance to run.

Those looking to tour the whisky distilleries would find this site an excellent choice. Elgin is close by for large shopping, with the smaller towns of Rothes and Aberlour offering the necessities.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Udny24 6 reviews from this member

Excellent site for visiting the many whisky distilleries in the area (MacAllan distillery is about a miles walk away so you can sample the whisky without having to drive!) Facilities are a bit dated but kept very clean. Friendly welcome by wardens. The site can get a bit waterlogged in heavy rain but wardens did their best to put everyone on the drier spots. Dog walk through a gate was ok but quite boggy and overgrown, could be better maintained as no other suitable dog walking other than accessing from the main road. Beautiful scenery! Aberlour is a short drive away and has some lovely shops and access to the Speyside Way.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TeamRB 4 reviews from this member

As a peaceful, rural base for exploring the many aspects of the local area, including the Whisky Trail, Speyside Camping & Caravan Club site is ideal. It offers both hardstanding and grass pitches with pleasant outlooks over the surrounding trees and hills. The toilet and shower facilities, whilst somewhat dated, are kept spotlessly clean. Both wardens are comparatively new to this site but are nonetheless enthusiastic and very friendly and offer a very warm welcome. During our stay, which we extended twice, we had a problem with the tumble dryer and the warden immediately refunded our money and offered the use of his personal dryer to help out. Co-op supermarket, pubs & restaurants in Aberlour, about 3 miles away, or local pub, shop & post office a bit closer in Cragellachie. Would definitely return.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Maxt46 52 reviews from this member

We stopped here for a couple of nights while touring Scotland to visit my wife's brother who lives locally, must say the wardens were very helpful allowing them to bring their car on site.

For us the site is a bit remote not many places to walk though the dog walk is quite extensive (good boots needed).

The facilities were always clean if a bit dated (think they are a leftover from when it was a POW camp).

But don't let any of this put you off the site is good and the area well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Trubytribute 16 reviews from this member

There have been a lot of negatives reviews about this site in the past but I cannot see why. It is a lovely little site, clean and tidy with friendly managers. The facilities are a bit dated but kept very clean and tidy. It is just a few miles from Abelour in an ideal location for Elgin and the coast around there, a day trip to Aberdeen, the Whisky country, Cairngorms etc. Its a small site but with well spaced out pitches flanked by lots of grassy areas. Nice dog walk too and a small play area for the children. It was well looked after just off a B road which wasn't too busy most of the time. Really loved this little site and shouldn't really say so as perhaps I should keep it secret.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ficklejade 9 reviews from this member

I've been to this site many times but not last year and not at this time of year. It is in many ways unchanged from my review in 2011, with the exception of the wettest part of the site being left as a wildflower area and a couple more hardstanding pitches (gravel) with EHU in place.

When I rang to book, the warden remembered me and sorted us out promptly. When I arrived, I was just told roughly where I could pitch and no probs so long as 6m rule obeyed.

The showers and loos are very outdated but spotlessly clean and the water is very hot. Bucket and mops available (and people were using them) and no push button showers, also plenty of hanging space in showers so your clothes don't get soaked. One shower in ladies not working when I was there but site was very quiet so it wasn't a problem.

Dishwashing facility (3 sinks/draining boards) undercover with seating if you have to wait a bit - again very hot water and spotless.

Comprehensive information area open at all times, well stocked with leaflets of local attractions and those further afield, plus bus times; information on local places to eat and medical information including vets for those travelling with their pets. The weather forecast is normally available too, but, given we had snow, think I'll forgive them trying not to put us tenters off!

Dog walk is long and wet (given the weather) with poop bins at the entrances.

Small children's playground - more for younger children but not toddlers - located at the top end of the site, away from most of the pitches.

Motor-home service pitch is located opposite reception. Plenty of bins, water points centrally but recycling limited due to Council policy. No Wi-fi (that colleagues told me) but O2, Vodafone okay for mobiles and friends with me had good tv reception in their caravan.

Reception has a small amount of foodstuffs, a few local maps and book lending.

I don't do local pubs etc. But feel other, recent reviews have covered this adequately.

If you like sites which aren't overly populated and want a touring base for this area, this is great. Less than an hour's car travel will take you to Inverness, Fort George, dolphin-spotting on the Moray Firth, or to the Landmark Centre or the Cairngorms at Loch Morlich with the funicular and walks, cycling and watersports facilities. Virtually on your doorstep is the Speyside Way for walking and cycling and of course, the distilleries (don't forget the Cooperage just outside Craigellachie about 3 miles away).

This is a little gem of a site that the CCC should spend a little bit more on, just to tweak some of slightly dated bits and give some support to the wardens who clearly care very much about the place. I should hate to see it go the commercial way many CCC sites seem to be heading.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ridgebacksontour 11 reviews from this member

We passed this site hundreds of times during the many years we lived just ten minutes away. So finally, now it's not on our doorstep we thought we'd give it a try. I tried booking on line but all the system would offer me was a grass pitch with no EHU so I rang the site directly. This required patience because for the best part of a day and a half of frequent ringing nobody answered. When I finally got through a hard standing pitch with EHU was immediately offered & at the bargain price of 16 per night for two adults.

Upon arrival we were greeted by a very friendly warden-not always the case on club sites-who offered us a very nice pitch at the top of the site which gave us a very nice view whichever way one looked. He pointed out the dog walk to us and explained about the facilities etc.

The facilities though dated were extremely clean with plenty of hot water. Everywhere was very tidy and looked well cared for.

Craigellachie is only three miles away. Here one can get fuel groceries etc. Within the village and opposite one another are the Highlander hotel, famed for its vast selection of Malts and the Craigellachie Hotel, an imposing Victorian pile recently refurbished. To experience a true Highland pub one has only to walk a few hundred yards along the Keith road to the Fiddichside Inn. A real old fashioned pub with real hospitality, it is tiny but on a nice day one can relax outside by the Fiddich ( from which the Glenfiddich distillery upstream takes its name).

From the campsite one can also walk down into Aberlour, it took us just over an hour at a leisurely saunter. Here there is a good variety of local shops an hotel and a pub, The Mash Tun, which serves real ales and good food.

The village is also home to Walkers Shortbread which in addition to it's shop on the high street has a factory shop at the northern end of the village. There is also the Aberlour distillery which like many others in the area offer guided tours.

We had planned to stay just one night and then move on but we liked it so much we stayed on for a second night and intend to return again soon.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 2Adventurers 7 reviews from this member

This a lovely site, easily accessed and well located for exploring the beautiful Moray Firth coast area and inland towards Aviemore. The site is well maintained by two friendly and helpful wardens, both sporting a healthy sense of humour! Toilet blocks are slightly dated but perfectly adequate and spotlessly clean. Their datedness gives the advantage of showers that actually run without constantly having to press the control button.

We booked in for a stopover en route elsewhere but liked it so much we stayed an extra two nights. As Camping and Caravan members we were able to take advantage of 25% discount made available to over 60's so excellent value for money at approx 15 per night for two adults in touring caravan with electric hook-up. No Wi-FI. Who needs it every day anyway?. But great TV reception. Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Deveron Chef 5 reviews from this member

Visited here again for a short stay of just three nights. New wardens who seem to really care about the site, which unfortuately has been let down in the past. This could be a star in the clubs network if only they were prepared to spend a little on improving things. As good as the wardens are, they can only work within the budget provided to them. The showers in particular are badly in need of an upgrade. One of the best dog walks around, which leads to Aberlour if you have the time and energy.

The site itself is well situated for a number of local attractions, including of course many distillieries as well as the Spey itself. Aberlour, which is a five minute drive away is an interesting little town, well worth a visit with some fantastic local shops.

All in all a very good site, great wardens, just spoilt by lack of care by the club.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Deveron Chef 5 reviews from this member

Stayed here for the second time during a wonderfully hot spell. Only had three nights, but thoroughly enjoyed this very quiet and peaceful site. The current wardens are very friendly and helpful and as they own a Border Terrier what more can I say!

Excellent dog walk here, although I know it can get a bit wet when the weather is not so good.

I think the site facilities are superb, especially the showers where you have lots of room to store your clothing etc. As an ex POW camp, I feel the club have made a superb job of running this as a camp site. The local area is amazing with plenty to do, particularly if you like walking, cycling or fishing.

We will almost certainly be back.

Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Moray   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4126 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019