Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Grindley Brook Wharf Caravan And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Whitchurch > Grindley Brook Wharf Caravan And Campsite Reviews

Grindley Brook Wharf Caravan And Campsite
Mill House
Grindley Brook
Whitchurch
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY13 4QH
Tel: 01948 664003
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 23 Reviews
                9/10 from 23 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Canalside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Roseon 1 review from this member

 Great site next to the Llangollen canal, quiet and intimate.

Warm welcome afforded to all arrivals.

Lovely cafe within a short walk. Excellent walks along the canal.

Dog friendly. 


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Woody0505 1 review from this member

 A lovely little site, extremely well kept, plenty of space, and right by the canal.

Tom, the owner, is great guy, and can't do enough for you - very helpful. Great pub a short walk away.

I shall return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Perryms2 2 reviews from this member

 Having found this site on UKCampsite.co.uk & read the reviews I booked for 5 nights over the Easter holiday. The site doesn't normally open until April but because of how Easter fell Tom allowed us to book from 28th March. I can only reiterate previous reviews, the 5 pitches all have unrestricted views of the Wharf & top lock on the canal and there is always something to look at. The location is handy for the local area, we did two 6 mile circular walks from the site, the dog friendly pub 5min down the road is excellent and to top it off Tom is an extremely friendly and interesting character.

The weather, (beyond Tom's control) made the site very wet, but Tom's collection of tools & machinery rescued anyone in difficulty.

If you want CMC facilities & prices this site probably is not for you, but if you're happy to use your caravan/motorhome as they're intended then give this site a go. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jumbocod 1 review from this member

 We have just stayed 3 nights on pitch number one, what a fantastic location. The owners are lovely people. You can only book over the telephone and they don't even ask for a deposit. 15 a night, you can't go wrong. It has basic facilities but who cares with a view like this, right on the canal with the benefit of a lock to sit and watch the boats go through. They have even put a couple of benches for you to sit and chill with a drink and watch the world go by.

One of each toilet and the shower is in the ladies, but its no problem, its free.

Great location with a cafe, shop and pub across the road.

Can't wait to return.

Thank you for a lovely stay. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Triciafghan 2 reviews from this member

 What an amazing 5 pitch caravan site run by Tom & Sue situated right by the canal & Grindley brook locks. We were greeted by Tom & taken to our pitch right next to the canal & shown the best way to pitch our caravan to get the best view & then given a run down on the area. Once settled we ventured for a lovely walk along the canal, opposite is a lovely cafe & a little further along the canal is a shop & garage & two pubs, one situated by the garage & another further along the canal. Walking in the opposite direction is Whitchurch. The pitches are flat grassed areas & very large all laid out so that each pitch has a good view of the canal. Their are a ladies & gents toilet immaculately clean, also a shower included in the cost of 15 per night. We enjoyed our stay that much that we didn't need to use the car once & have returned home completely rested. This is our first visit & we will definitely be returning again very soon! If you have dogs you will not find a better site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Terrypirie 12 reviews from this member

 We hadn't been back to this site for at least a year due to our house move so were delighted that Tom and Sue had space this weekend. It was just as welcoming and just as peaceful to sit and watch. We work all day talking to people so to just sit and be relaxed was just what the doctor ordered! despite the rain we had a lovely time and we booked to go back next month. Cant wait! 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mdfenemer 2 reviews from this member

 Thank you for saving our weekend, We were turned away from a neighbouring site as our booking allegedly was not recognised by the owner although a phone deposit was taken some 4 weeks previous. So it is thanks to the site owner at Grindley Brook who allowed us to stay at such short notice. The site itself was a fantastic little place 5 pitches overlooking the the top lock at Grindley brook wharf. The Lockside Cafe just a 2 minute walk away, great coffee and great food, a pub and shop(garage forecourt) just a 10 minute stroll down the canal Such a lovely site owner and a very clean toilet/shower block. We will almost certainly be returning there again. Thanks again for saving our weekend. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Popsdaveg 2 reviews from this member

 Wonderful peaceful site with very friendly owners. Next to canal with cafe, pub and shop, within 10 mins walk. First time there have booked for 2 more visits in September. Motor homers club site so open to members of any club. There are 2 fields 5 hook ups in each 6amp per pitch only but sufficient. Very pleasant stay we will visit as much as possible. Thanks Tom very nice man, made us very welcome. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tyrone 18 reviews from this member

 Wonderful relaxing campsite. The owners are great. The pitches are thoughtfully arranged so as to minimise being 'overlooked' by the next unit. Plenty to see on the adjacent canal and locks. Pub, shop and cafe all within easy walking distance. Have just booked another visit. Second of many more to come we hope. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gran27 2 reviews from this member

 This is our 1st holiday of season, we go every year, We like the peace and quiet, and love sitting by the canal, The owners Tom & Sue are very friendly and helpful, no they don't like visitors, but this hospitality has been abused in the past, you can always meet visitors in the cafe, you can observe the site from there, there, s some lovely walks, and pubs in the area, nobodys mentioned the blue bell, go by car, lovely old pub, your made vety welcome and the food is all home cooked and yummy, this site is always on our list, you must book. Enjoy. 


Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Grindley Brook Wharf Caravan And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Grindley Brook Wharf Caravan And Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Grindley Brook Wharf Caravan And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Whitchurch      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Campervan Show, Peterborough 11/06 to 13/06
Browse new and used motorhomes for sale from a huge range of local and national dealers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6065 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement