Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Blaenwaun Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Ceredigion > Cardigan > Blaenwaun Caravan Park Reviews

Blaenwaun Caravan Park
Mwnt
Cardigan
Ceredigion   (Browse area)
SA43 1QF
Tel: 01239 613456
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 54 Reviews
                9/10 from 54 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  54 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Emilyi 1 review from this member

 Absolutely loved this site and will definitely return. Beautiful sunsets, lovely family atmosphere on site. Well-stocked little shop was perfect for your camping needs.

Our children enjoyed the well-maintained park and the bathroom/shower facilities were very clean, every time we used them. Owner was very friendly too, could not fault the site.

Oh and two/three times a week food trucks arrive selling pizzas which are made to order or currys/ chillis/ bolognese which were all amazingly tasty and very much appreciated.

I don't want to (for fear that it will become too popular) but I would recommend this beautiful site. 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Green3 1 review from this member

 Great lovely site

Great showers

Views of sunset amazing

Would definitely recommend

We were in a Motor home and would book again there

Lots of room round the site too 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ian1959cross 3 reviews from this member

 The site was spotlessly clean, I didn't use any of the Facilities as I am self contained.

The access road is very narrow and caution is required.

The location was perfect for access to the beach and Cardigan was a 20min cycle ride (we have electric bikes and there are a couple of long hills to deal with). 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Mathan 1 review from this member

 Lovely location with sea views. I’m not a fan of staring out over static caravans though, therefore site would be better landscaped with statics at top of field and tents/ tourers at the bottom.

Also had the feel of a “grass car park”, with everyone lined up in rows - although this did make driving a van into the pitch easy, a few trees, shrubs, wildflowers would add interest and character to site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Pillsley 26 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site where everything is spotlessly clean. One or two people have commented that it's windy! Well, if you're going to camp on a cliff top overlooking the Atlantic, it's bound to be a bit breezier. Day 1 blowing a hoolie, day 2 windy and hot, day 3 foggy.

Typical weather and to make a point - the site was quiet so we didn't bother with the awning and spent our time sitting outside.

The facilities have been described in detail so I'll stick to the disabled room. It's a large wet room with a grab bar by the toilet, a small sink, a baby changing table and a pull down seat by the shower, there is also a hairdryer at 20p a go.

Everything works just fine but I have one minor quibble. It would have been nice to have a mirror. There is space for a small one over the sink and it would have saved me staggering into the main washroom to brush my hair. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lazychu 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a very relaxing 8 nights at this site and would have loved to stay longer. We will definitely go back. The site is run by a very relaxed and friendly couple who speak both Welsh and English, they also run an on site shop for a few hours a day selling some essentials plus they will freeze your ice blocks in a shop freezer if you ask.

One thing we weren't expecting was a kitchen area in the launderette/dishwash area. Although we didn't use it, it was very popular, especially as we had a couple of windy days. Sone people found it was too windy to cook outdoors so the hob was great for them. While we were there they installed 3 picnic benches outside so you could cook in the kitchen area and then eat outside on the picnic benches. Great for walkers or those who like to pack light.

The children didn't seem too bothered about the lack of wifi or phone signal. If you really need to get in touch with anyone, there is a payphone by the disabled toilet and a BT hotspot by the shop.

The toilets are clean but it was high season and everyone seemed to be on the beach all day so there was a little sand on the floor at times. Not too much and nothing to worry about but you might want to pack flip flops for the shower.

The children loved feeding the piglets, playing on the playground and being on Mwnt beach. You can either walk to the beach (check the map first) or drive. The car park is national trust so if you are a member you get to park for free. There are also toilets near the carpark and a little shop that sells tea, coffee, ice lollies and things for the beach. It is a fair few steps to the beach so not for those who struggle with steps but definitely worth it if you can make it. The Telegraph reckon it's one of the top ten beaches in the world. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campaddicts 3 reviews from this member

 After a slight 'detour' (look carefully at the signs for the site) down the narrow, winding roads (something we're used to, so we didn't find these a problem) we arrived at a great looking little site. We were not to be disappointed. The children were excited to be camping again and the sight of a lovely park increased the excitement. The view from the site was beautiful, especially the sunsets we witnessed.

We were greeted promptly and shown to our pitches which were spacious and clearly marked out. Our electric hook up was easily accessed and plenty of water taps around the site meant we didn't have to walk too far at all. It is an open site with no trees/hedges between pitches, but unlike some people have mentioned, I actually quite liked this as it meant we could see the park clearly while the children played. The grounds were kept lovely and tidy, with the grass maintained daily, and although there were plenty of dogs on site I did not come across any fouling at all.

The toilet block was kept lovely and clean, with free hot showers, and being a small site meant it wasn't too far to go with small children on the many toilet trips. The shop stocked basic items which was all we needed and only being open for a couple of hours in the morning and again in the evening was actually a bonus as the children couldn't keep asking to go and spend more money. Also, Tesco is only a short drive away in the lovely market town of Cardigan. We visited Aberaeron as we so often drive through this beautiful little town, and a stop off in New Quay was well worth the great chips. We had a fabulous trip to Castell Henllys - thoroughly enjoyed by all of us.

The children enjoyed having a walk down to see the pigs and goats on the site, and loved being able to play their ball games etc as there was plenty of open space available. We also had a little walk around the site and found many of the people in the static caravans extremely friendly and informative about the area and the best beaches to go to etc. Unfortunately we didn't get to check out any of these as the weather wasn't the best for a day at the beach.

The website states you can purchase wifi, but the owner did explain that it wasn't a very good one due to the location - only really ok for checking Emails etc not for downloading, so we didn't bother and this wasn't a problem for us. Some might think otherwise (namely my 14 year old son) but he just got on with it.

All in all, this is a fabulous little site. Thank you. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Boothy1981 2 reviews from this member

 Beautiful! Eleri couldn't have been much more helpful. Really nice lady.

Loved our stay. Really clean and well maintained facilities. Would recommend to anyone. They had an on site shop which the kids loved as they spent their pocket money on sweets. Play area was great, well looked after and the kids had a great time on it. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fiveofus 1 review from this member

 Just returned from spending a fantastic, relaxing 10 stay at this wonderful location. In two minds whether to post a review, because selfishly would love to keep this wonderful place a secret, but the owners hard work deserves recognition.

From the minute we arrived (very late - no problem at all)nothing was too much trouble. Shown to our pitch, asked if we required anything, and that tomorrow would be fine to sort out any money matters !

Our electric cable was faulty and within minutes the owner had given us a new one to lend for the duration of our stay, free of charge. For a campsite to run this smoothly and efficiently obviously requires a lot of hard work, but the owners friendly and attentive attitude ensures that your stay is the best it possibly can be.

The site was busy whilst we were there, but not packed and never did we have to queue for any of the facilities, which were always so clean. Great showers, with plenty of free hot water - no fussing with tokens etc. There are great facilities for campers in a kitchen area, which has a microwave, kettle, toaster and a hob. This is open 24hrs and even has somewhere for you to sit to have a meal - great for when it was wet.

Small shop, open twice daily, sells all the essentials, does newspapers to order and stocks the best beef burgers and steak from their own farm. Sitting out, bbqing, watching a stunning sunset over the sea will be a memory I will cherish for a long time.

Blaenwaun is down a narrow raod, but more than manageable. This is an open, coastal site, so do expect a breeze from time to time. Some have commented that they would like more screening, but with having children we found that we could see them at all times, whether they we're on the play area, chasing each other around on bikes, or when they joined in what seemed a whole campsite game of cricket.

You are a 20 -25 minute walk from Mwnt beach which you can get to either on a bridle path that leaves the site (not suitable for a buggy)or by road. There is a NT carpark at the beach which was about £3 per day.

There are so many fantastic beaches within a 20 minute car journey from Blaenwaun. Poppit sands was a big favourite with us. Plenty of room, dunes and rock pools which the kids loved exploring.

Cardigan town is 4 miles or 10 minutes by car. Lovely little market town with many independent shops, interesting indoor market, and the Castle is now open after major restoration work.

A wonderful place to recharge your batteries and to get away from the stresses of life. The owners really have created something special ! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Phelans 1 review from this member

 Absolutely lovely site. Very well looked after with nice short grass. Very big pitches and owners are very relaxed about how you pitch. We put a gazebo up for our party of 4 tents and they didn't mind at all. Toilets were always spotless and even when the site was full you never had to wait.

Well stocked site shop and some superb steaks from the owner's own cattle. Yum!

We had some bad weather including high winds and rain and the owner had to rescue some tents while campers were out. He used his van and vehicles to block the wind and hold the tents up. He even lent one family a caravan when their tent blew down.

The park was really good for the children and was a great meeting place for them. Lots of open grass to play ball games too.

A nice walk down to the local beach at Mwnt or a short drive.

I would highly recommend this site and will be definitely going back! 


Previous     54 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Blaenwaun Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Blaenwaun Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Blaenwaun Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cardigan      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ceredigion

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3746 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement