Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Llanystumdwy Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth > Llanystumdwy Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Llanystumdwy Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Tyddyn Siane
Llanystumdwy
Criccieth
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL52 0LS
Tel: 01766 522855
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 99
Open: 01/04/2021 to 28/09/2021
           01/04/2022 to 28/09/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 26 Reviews
                7/10 from 26 Reviews

Photos (3)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Diver Dave 1 review from this member

 As we visited in August it was no surprise that the site was busy. That said, it's a pleasant site and the staff are friendly and helpful.

It's no secret that the site is on a slope so go armed with your blocks and chocks. Also, the A497 runs alongside the site, so there's a fair amount of road noise.

On the plus side it's a clean and well maintained site and there's always plenty of hot water in the showers and toilet block.

There is also a field at the end for the kids to play in and for dog exercising.

The site is well located for the beaches and scenery of the peninsula and is only a short drive from Snowdonia. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: 3xspringers 1 review from this member

 Left a day early as so disappointed with the site. Caravans facing in all directions, our own was sideways on, so it was like living in a goldfish bowl.

People walking past our van constantly, peering in, no boundaries to the pitch. Kids playing tig and using our A frame as a hiding place. Noise from other campers until midnight.

No room to pitch/unpitch without vehicles on neighbouring pitches having to move to give enough room to manoeuvre.

The site is on a hill too, so bring many, many blocks to try to level. Thank goodness we has good weather, as getting back up the grass hill would have been tricky if it had been wet!

Luckily most pitches had been vacated too, so we could get turned around and up the hill. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Penille 2 reviews from this member

 So disappointed with this site. Antiquated facilities. Broken washing machine doing only a delicate cycle! Only 3 old fashioned showers for women & 3 for men. You walk out of shower area to the outside to be able to enter the toilets/washbasin area. Sloping pitches needing blocks. Unable to erect awning. Very poor site.

Positives are pleasant staff in a stunning geographical location. Better campsites nearby so my advice is avoid this one. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Doncaster76 12 reviews from this member

 Pleasant site. All the negatives are beyond control of site - it slopes (stones throw away from Snowdonia - what do people expect?), it is close to an A road (a positive in my eyes as it is easy to tour caravan to) and it rains constantly (it is Wales!).

A relative novice like myself had no problems levelling caravan with a couple of helpful instructions from warden. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bubbles007 1 review from this member

 We stayed on this site for three days in July & the site had all the facilities that we needed. Has I am disabled I was surprised at the very large disabled toilet & shower room which was spotlessly clean.

I would recommend this site to anyone visiting Criccieth & surrounding area's. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wakefieldfamily 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 5 nights and had a lovely holiday. The site is sloping but it wasn’t too much of an issue for us, also close to a road so you do get road noise.

The toilets and showers were very clean and they were cleaned several times a day, nice and warm in there too. You can store ice packs in the freezer in the shop which is useful.

Nice walks close by and a pub down the road, good location for visiting many lovely beaches in he area. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sheffield hatter 4 reviews from this member

 We had a one night stopover here on a cycling tour. It's a short ride to the shops and pubs in Criccieth and there's also the local pub, the Feathers, or Tafarn Y Plu in Welsh, which is half a mile away. (A torch is recommended if going there in the evening as there is no pavement and no street lights most of the way. )

The site is on a sloping field but has been levelled out in places and we found a spot where a hedge provided some shelter from the northerly wind. The down side is that this was quite close to the main road, which was busy all afternoon and early evening. (It's the road between Porthmadog and Pwllheli, two small towns. It felt like half the population was driving up and down for the sheer hell of it. )

The site staff were friendly and welcoming, and apart from a computer glitch when I tried to pay with my card, everything went smoothly, and to be fair we were offered a choice of pitches - we just didn't realise how busy the road would be. (And in fact even the road the other side of the site could be noisy, with the occasional boy-racer zooming up and down. )

The facilities were very good, though I can imagine they might become a little cramped if there were more campers. The showers were excellent, which is essential after a bike ride. We paid £7 each. We are not members of the Camping and Caravanning Club, so we consider this to be good value for a well-presented site with facilities as good as these. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Diffydunco 3 reviews from this member

 My wife and I stayed here with our three little dogs for 10 days this year.

We were lucky with the weather as it only rained once. We had lovely walks which the site managers will give you and we found it very a very handy location to enable us to see all the interesting areas around this lovely part of Wales.

We benefitted from having one of the 5 hardstanding sites which is beneficial due to the site being sloping.

The shower blocks are well maintained by the very caring wardens who were very helpful at all times.

We loved it at LLanystumdwy, the birth place of David Lloyd George. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Infinity31 8 reviews from this member

 We spent 3 nights at this lovely site which is very well situated to explore the Lyn Peninsula. Having read the previous reviews and the wording in the Camping and Caravanning Club book/website we knew to take levelling blocks with us. But the wardens were quite happy to help with bricks and choice of area if you have arrived without any. The benefit of the slope at the top of the first field of course was the views of both mountains and sea.

Facilities all clean, well maintained, with plenty of hot water. Wardens very friendly and not over powering as others have posted - yes - they took an interest that all was running as you would expect but that is in the interest of all visitors.

Only reason to mark down for us was the close proximity of two roads which did give a bit of noise - but we were warned that the pitch we choose was next to a road which was used early in the morning - we could have moved after the first night if we wanted but it was not too much a problem. The roads in question gave good access to both the village of Llanystumdwy (excellent pub - The Feathers 10 minutes walking) and the rest of the peninsula - Criccieth and Pwllheli. Very handy bus service stopped right outside the site on request.

Certainly we would use this site again. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Ashy55 14 reviews from this member

 Really enjoyed our ten night stay at this site. The manager and assistant plus their partners were incredibly friendly, thoughtful and helpful, throughout our stay.

The site is sloping but we had a perfectly level folding camper thanks to the site managers who helped us to site and pitch our Pennine Fiesta.

The weather was amazing and we had sun in the morning at our awning and sun at the rear later in the day, so also shade for our dog!

The site has a small shop with essentials, bacon etc and we could order a morning paper each day! Bliss! The bus to Porthmadog and Pwllheli stops by request at the gate every half hour so there were plenty of opportunities to leave the car at the pitch.

We went for food to the local pub, Tafarn y Plu on two occasions which were superb. They only open at night from 6pm.

The Castle at Criccieth served the most amazing sunday lunches so we had to go both sundays that we were there.

Fabulous site in an excellent location to explore Snowdonia, Llyn Peninsula and further afield in Wales!

This is what we did;

Saturday - Settled in

Sunday - Explored Criccieth and lunch at Castle

Monday - Walked along coastal path to Criccieth and went to Tafarn y Plu

Tuesday - Discovered amazing Roman ruins near Trawsfynnydd (Tomen y Mur)

Wednesday - Explored Pwllheli

Thursday - Drove to Betws y Coed

Friday - Bus to Porthmadog, then Welsh Highland Railway to Beddgelert

Saturday - Explored Porthmadog then dinner at Tafarn y Plu again! (Yummy)

Sunday - Criccieth again and Sunday lunch at the Castle again.

Monday - Drove to Trefor near Nefyn and lunch at The Bryncynan near Morfa Nefyn

On Tuesday we came home.

Will definitely go again to this site!

PS Wifi was good too. 


Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Llanystumdwy Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Llanystumdwy Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Criccieth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, West Sussex 09/10 to 10/10
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Ardingly Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3423 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement