Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Clitheroe Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Clitheroe Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Edisford Road
Clitheroe
Lancashire   (Browse area)
BB7 3LA
Tel: 01200 425294
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: 21/02 to 28/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 59 Reviews
                8/10 from 59 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 42 reviews from this member

We stayed here for three days and were really fortunate to have amazing weather for February! The site is small with narrow hardstandings which are mainly flat. The toilet block has been newly refurbished and looks very nice but we didn’t get to use it as they were having teething problems when we were there and there was no hot water. The wardens were very good, despite the difficult circumstances, and kept everyone up to date with what was going on. Our ordnance survey map showed some good walks nearby but these didn’t turn out to be as good as we had hoped.

Clitheroe town centre is about a half hour walk from the site but again, it didn’t really seem that great. Skipton is a half hour drive away and it is much nicer for a day out. The site is quite close to a sewage works and on the Saturday night the wind must have been in the wrong direction as the pong was awful! So, overall, the site was fine, the location poor and we probably wouldn’t go back.
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Opal0313 21 reviews from this member

Friendly wardens. Make sure you do not arrive before the time stated because not much room for many outfits near the reception area. More than two outfits and you block the narrow exit/entry road. Also was told not to arrive before 1pm or would be turned away. Pitches large enough ours was hardstanding gravel pitch with electric. Toilet block clean and warm but dated and small. There were two toilet/shower blocks side by side, one had only 3 toilets and 2 showers and the other one had 1 shower and 2 toilets. They were not central so depending where your pitch is, you may have a good walk to them.

Location was lovely next to the River Ribble. Children were having fun playing in the shallow river. Fantastic pub 10 mins walk away that did good affordable food. Clitheroe about a mile away, we did not visit as it was a bank hol and did not think much would be open. We had a lazy 3 days not doing much or going anywhere as it was so hot while we were there. Looks like there are plenty of walks and places to visit

We would visit this site again and in different weather would probably do some walking and visit Clitheroe.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cauliman 11 reviews from this member

Typical C&C Club site by the river on the edge of town. Wardens helpful as ever but the facilities are not as modern as some other sites.

It is a rather long walk to town and the bus service has been withdrawn. The town is interesting, if quite small, but the surrounding countryside is lovely.

The New Inn is a fantastic place for a few drinks but doesn't do any food. We had a delicious Indian meal at the Dil Raj down the street. Jenni Pho is also a great place for noodles at a reasonable price.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Centreno13 10 reviews from this member

Had 3 nights here, some reviews mentioned standing water and hard standing pitches were a mat under grass, well this has now all been changed, all pitches are now proper hardcore pitches and have been raised to avoid any standing water where there was an issue, which was a pleasant surprise, although, we had no rain and wall to wall blue skies.

Nicely situated by the river ribble with plenty of choice to walk your dog. The facilities however are poor, I don't understand the camping and caravan club, a lot of there facilities are below standard and fall short of privately owned sites. Very old and on there last legs, not enough, 3 showers and 3 toilets in one block, there was another block but they were closed had to wait on too many occasions in a very small block.

Its a long walk into Clitheroe and all the bus stops had a sign on saying bus stop closed, didn't see any buses at all? rather strange. The walk to the pub you can see from the site is across a busy long narrow bridge where the cars have to wait for another to cross and there's no footpath on it a bit dangerous, especially in the dark after a few pints. The area of the Forest of Bowland is nice enough, lovely rolling green hills with plenty of footpaths, but once you're on the top its just peat bog, I love the Mountains of the Lakes and Scotland so it was a bit tame for us but had a lovely few walks along some fantastic valleys in the sunshine. It did its job though and our stay was good. Would I stay there again???? unsure, possibly not.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Camping nutcase 8 reviews from this member

Not the friendliest of welcomes - I had parked my car and went to walk around to reception which was the wrong way - you waked around the barrier - but I did not realise that at the time as it is not signed - only to be greeted with 'You can't park there'. I asked where did I park to book in - oh that was different.

Then there was a load of hassle as my name wasn't on the sheet that the lady had printed that morning - it was a last minute decision on my part as I had was unsure if I could get away or not as I had been for a endoscope in the morning - I pointed out that I had booked last minute online and I was eventually 'found'.

Then shown to my pitch. I felt that tents are now very much the poor relation - they have been relegate to one small area. I had tried to book EHU on line only to be unsuccessful - yet there were only the tents on this field and the point had four hook ups. When we arrived there was only one other tent on the fields and they were using one of the hook ups. The only other party to arrive in a tent did not use EHU. I could easily have had an EHU pitch.

Chatting to one of the other tenters they too felt that tents were second class citizens - the poor relations who gets put in the corner at family dos save embarrassment.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MDEHSDG8 8 reviews from this member

Had a lovely weekend here. Pitches are a good size, staff very friendly. Whilst we were there the cafe realised that dogs were now allowed into an exclusive area. This is just outside the 'club' area so you could get a drink from the bar and sit there enjoying it with your dog, definitely a step forward!

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gwynneth 12 reviews from this member

Just had a very peaceful couple of nights at this beautiful little site. Lovely walks straight from site along river bank with dogs. Because of the recent very bad wet weather we were a little apprehensive as to what the river walk would be like but for most part it is a solid stone pathway. Saw lots of beautiful birds including kingfishers. Apparently otters have been seen along the river bank but they had obviously gone on holiday last weekend! The site itself had suffered a bit due to the wet but the wardens had done an excellent job of keeping on top of it. The walk into Clitheroe itself took a little longer than we thought (about 20 mins) but it is a pleasant walk and the town is so worth the walk. Lovely little shops and cafes. The walk up to the castle is amazing. In all, a really great weekend.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 119 reviews from this member

An ideal location for visiting the delightful Clitheroe town and surrounding area, however it has a major drawback due to the lack of reinvestment by the C&CC club in the site!

The toilet block/s is in dire need of refurbishment. The lower half of the site is prone to waterlogged pitches, and the grass mat/hardstanding compounds the problem creating mud baths. The Wi-Fi is still only available within the immediate vicinity on the reception area (despite assurances 4 years ago from the C&CC club this would be improved).

Upside of the site is the location that provides direct access to so many walks, access to the adjoining leisure centre and an easy 1 ¼ mile walk into Clitheroe centre with all of the good eateries, independent shops and market.

Aspinal Arms (2 ½ mile riverside walk South of site) is a dog friendly pub with great food, beer and wine – well worth the walk for a lunch time meal.

This could be a wonderful site if the C&CC club invested money into much needed refurbishment and improvements to the site and facilities to take this up to modern day standards that are provided by other sites in the area.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DaveP65 10 reviews from this member

Arrived in heavy rain, quite late on Friday evening. David, the warden was extremely helpful in finding a pitch where we wouldn't drown, even though he had already finished his shift. Glad to see that parts of the site had been closed due to excessive standing water. Facilities all good as you would expect from C&CC. Drove over to Skipton, only 20 miles and well worth a visit. Will visit many times again.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Roving pair 28 reviews from this member

Very nice site within 20 minutes walk into clitheroe where there are some nice shops and a castle to visit. The site is clean and well maintained it had been raining for a couple of weeks before we went but that didn't cause us a problem although it could possibly do as the hard standing was the plastic matting which does tend to sink so choose the pitch wisely. Site is just by the river and the picnic area so some lovely walks. Very good and reasonably prices meal at the Edisford Bridge pub which is five minutes walk away. Would revisit this site.

Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3019 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019