Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Slingsby Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Slingsby > Slingsby Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Slingsby Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Railway Street
Slingsby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO62 4AN
Tel: 01653 628335
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 55
Open: 01/04 to 03/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 49 Reviews
                8/10 from 49 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ahodge 2 reviews from this member

Came last year for anniversary(45) weather was really hot not able to walk dog but so restful & quiet. So we came back this year and again had a really hot day, peace & quiet.

Lovely little site, very friendly but must remember to carry our CCC cards to show we are entitled to the Age concession. Luckily it wasn't an issue. Customer service relaxed and friendly.

Toilets and showers clean and well kept, even though very busy had no problems getting a shower. No noise all very friendly. Will come again. Excellent hot water for washing dishes.

Great pub in village and excellent walking lanes.

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kent4711 27 reviews from this member

Peaceful yet busy site at the time of our visit during term time June.

The facilities were clean but the site is next to sewage works so there can be unpleasant smells according to wind direction.

Pub and small shop in village. Nothing for children on site and dogs to be walked off site.

Enjoyed the peace and quiet of our 2 night stay.

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fiona W 180 reviews from this member

Very quiet site on the edge of a really pretty village (merits a morning walking around, go in the church, find the ruined castle, see a real maypole). Rural views. Dog walks off site - across the road & along the old railway, or up the road a bit & along the bridle way.

We don't recognise the washrooms from the critical comments in earlier reviews - if these are tired & jaded, with the jolly red doors & spotless tiles, powerful hot showers & roomy modesty cubicles, then there's no pleasing people. Only 3 showers, but no queues on a 3/4 full site.

We would criticise the total absence of recycling. No excuse these days, surely.

We would also criticise the C&CC handbook map which cheerfully states that yes! you can drive your caravan though the gates on southerly approach through the castle Howard estate. Our MH is modest in size, but got through with only inches to spare - be wary if your MH is tall & boxy.

We would come back again as there are so many houses & gardens to visit, and walks to do. Don't miss the cake shop beside the site - it's an honesty box; the fruit cakes are sold at castle Howard (but cost less here. )

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Basil S 17 reviews from this member

Good site conveniently positioned for a lot of the Yorkshire attractions Eden Camp at Malton is not to be missed we spent 5 hours in there, also the North York Moors railway.

Site wardens were very friendly and helpful, site facilities were warm and clean if a little dated.

WIFI is very good.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lindilou2013 32 reviews from this member

It just goes to show how much other campsite users can affect your experience of a site as our bank holiday weekend was a visit of two halves.

The first couple of nights were awful. Loud voices, don't people realise that when they are under canvas their voices can be heard? Shouty conversations at 6am don't appeal to me.

Then there were the dog owners who felt that a 60 second walk to a perfectly decent dog walk was way too far for their dogs and so the rules didn't apply to them. I intensely dislike dog owners who allow their pets off the leash on site and then don't bother cleaning up the mess! Second half of the stay, as the site emptied out after the bank holiday weekend was quiet and peaceful.

This is not a site for fantastic views. Its situation means there aren't any. It's a small site and it feels a little overcrowded. It is also in need of refurbishment and not just the toilet block, which although clean is very dated with definite signs of having seen better days but the ground lights around the camp held together with tape and so on.

Cannot fault the welcome nor the friendliness of the site wardens nor the maintenance of the flower beds etc. Enjoyed watching the swallows fledge and the evenings were filled with bats!

Perfect site for getting out and about all over the North Yorks Moors. Slingsby village is lovely and the local hostelry is good too but do book in advance for meals, it's a small place.

We shall return because there is so much to do in the area but with the hope that the CCC spend a little money on the site.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Varaderoxlv1000 29 reviews from this member

A nice quiet site conveniently situated for Pickering, Malton and National Trust Properties and other locations. One frustrating attribute of this site were the incredibly hard hard standings and grass pitches. I bent a number of really tough steel pegs and rendered my rubber mallet pretty useless. I was not alone as we watched new arrivals suffer similar issues. A pneumatic drill may help but I can honestly say I've not come across anything as hard as this anywhere! Personally I think that the facilities in the men's toilet block were rather inadequate for the number of pitches on the site. Only 3 flushing toilets, 3 showers but a multitude of washing cubicles and lastly 1 rather small toilet hand wash basin but at least the 1 hand dryer worked ok unlike many others I've encountered which switch off before you can dry half of your smallest finger. All said and done, the toilet block was kept very clean by the on site staff who were all amiable folks!

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Highlander09 17 reviews from this member

A small site very convenient for all the best that Yorkshire can offer. However this site is in dire need of complete renovation as all the facilities are dated and looking shabby. For example; dirty grout on the walls and floors, pipework has corrosion which has been there for a few years now. The toilet block has a drainage smell possibly because the urinals don't flush enough.

We have stayed here a few years but this will be our last visit until we read in the magazine that money has been spent here.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Nomadyane 6 reviews from this member

Chose this site for a two-night stay on my circuitous way back to London from the Lake District, intending to visit Castle Howard. However, the day started very wet so I drove to York instead, used their brilliant Park+Ride and had a good day in Old York and the Railway Museum. I understand that Castle Howard is really worthwhile only when you can enjoy the gardens as well as the inside. This is a small and very tidy site, not scenic in location, but level and in a pretty village. It was very clean and well organised and the (relief) warden was very helpful and friendly as were the users I talked to.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fox4uk 2 reviews from this member

Wow what can I say, fantastic stay, tidy an understatement spotless more like it well looked after and a credit to the wardens. You had better hold on to something in the showers or be blown away. Powerful is also an understatement. Most enjoyable stay.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Janetreid 15 reviews from this member

What a little gem! Beautiful location in a picturesque village with nice pub (closed mondays!)and little shop. The site is level, quiet, well laid out and very clean with the cleanest shower block I've been in. The staff were very helpful especially as we arrived after putting the wrong fuel in our motorhome! We were given a tour of the site and could pick our own pitch.

A lovely spot for walks, wildlife and touring. It is about 15mins from Castle Howard and Yorkshire Lavender both of which we visited. There is a family bathroom but no specific children's play area but I did notice lots of families with bikes and the nearby disused railway line is ideal.

We will definitely return!

Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3933 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019