Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bakewell Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Bakewell > Bakewell Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Bakewell Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Hopping Lane
Youlgreave
Bakewell
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE45 1NA
Tel: 01629 636555
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/04/2021 to 02/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 40 Reviews
                8/10 from 40 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Squilly 7 reviews from this member

 A beautiful site in rolling hills with wonderful walks from the site to pretty village of Youlgreave a nice stream to paddle in.

A longer walk to up the hill at the top of the site went to Robin Hoods Stride rocky outcrop. Both walks are on the Caravan Campsite Club website as a pdf.

Amenities were closed due to Covid 19 but still had chemical disposal. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Eddiemini 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely site in a peaceful location, but beware of the very narrow road through the village to get to it!

We have a 4x4 and 5 berth caravan and it was very tight! Walkers park their cars along the road, so you have to squeeze between those and the houses - our wheels were almost up on their door steps!

Site was well kept and clean and had a playground with a couple of swings and a slide which kept our 2yr old entertained.

Not sure we'd return, purely because of the road through the village. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kaiwh 6 reviews from this member

 Great site, no Toilet Block or washing facilities as mentioned on the site info.

We had a grass pitch without EHU it was fine.

The lane to the Campsite from Youlgreave Church is narrow with cars parked either side, so be warned. Further along towards the site you have tarmac sleeping policeman but they are in fact water direction barriers, they are the same colour as the road surface and give you a jolt.

Nice walk by the river into Youlgreave where you have a choice of 3 pubs.

Bakewell Farmers Market on Saturday we used the bus. Bakewell can be manic. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Paulmold 67 reviews from this member

 This has to be one of the worst approaches to any site in the club network. The narrow road from Youlgrave is tight especially as residents seem to park in the narrowest places. I wouldn't like to do it with a large caravan in tow.

Buses run from George Hotel in Youlgrave but that is about a mile walk from the site.

Crows squawk (or screech) from sun up till dusk but that's the countryside.

TV was non-existant for us but 4g phone signal (O2) was good.

We had been before so we knew what to expect. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Noodlesfortea 1 review from this member

 Fabulous site. Walking routes straight from campsite in several directions. Great views and very dog friendly.

No toilet/shower block so you have to bring your own! 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Davidandrews 14 reviews from this member

 After a week away, we ended up at Youlgreave. Very quiet, good walks, good bus route from village, good pubs. If the bin Lorry can get down so can you caravanners.

I hope Howard is still there, he is an asset to the site, polite and full of chat. Reasonable for a ccc site due to no toilets or showers.

Well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Offgrid 1 review from this member

 This site was just what we wanted, well away from urban living with footpaths leading from the site in every direction. Although it was a bank holiday weekend there was still plenty of space and the site never felt busy.

We were given a very warm welcome despite being delayed and were directed to a spot which was perfect. The views were spectacular! The road from the village is what you would expect for a small Derbyshire village, but no problem at all with a smaller van.

The lack of a toilet and other facilities suited us as we like to be self sufficient. The Saturday fish and chip van was an much appreciated service.

Thanks for an excellent short break, we'll definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Williambart 1 review from this member

 A beautiful site spoilt only by the access. We unfortunately made contact with a motorhome while trying to negotiate the tight lane access, luckily no damage was done but its not a good way to start your weekend.

The site itself is well presented, with friendly staff who come out and direct you to your pitch. On our stay the ground was incredibly wet and the staff had to tow many tourers onto they're pitch with the site tractor!

Our children loved the space and freedom and the site is ideally suited to walkers with footpaths running through and close to the site. The site was very quiet, with everyone respectful of each others space and it would make a wonderful relaxing retreat if you sited your van here for the season.

The lack of toilet/shower facilities did not affect us but it is something you should be aware of, and there is only one waste point which could be a bit of a trek from the furthest points of the site.

We left early in the morning to try and avoid meeting any other traffic on the access lane, our combination is approx. 13m in length so is not the easiest to manouver in a tight lane, this thought hanging over us spoilt the weekend a little and would stop us returning. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ANNnRICK41 9 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from our first break this season. We had a lovely weekend at the Bakewell site, from the moment we arrived to departing today. Nothing was too much trouble for the wardens, and have to say Steve was very helpful when helping to get our satalite sorted so I could watch TV. The freshly baked scones which are for sale in the well equipped shop are a must!

Our granddaughter came to visit on Sunday and had lots of fun just building a den in the copse behind our pitch. One of the simple pleasures of childhood.

We will be returning again and cannot wait, just wish you had shower and toilet facilities.

Many thanks to the site staff. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rogher 1 review from this member

 This is a Caravan & Camping Club site but is open to non-members also. I booked late and found no difficulty booking, even on a bank holiday. A good ‘chippy’ arrives on Friday evening to ease catering requirements at the start of a week-end.

The approach is steep and narrow down from Yougrave. If you are timid, it may be better not to use this site but I am 2. 4m wide, more with wing mirrors, and 3. 4m high and don’t suppose I’m the smallest yet to arrive. Do heed the instructions not to arrive before non, though. You don’t want to meet another unit coming the other way.

Once you’ve arrived, you’ll be rewarded by a very clean and spacious site with flower borders and well-cut grass (almost lawns). Plenty of hard standings. There are no toilet blocks but the prices reflect that. Excellent pies from the deli in the village but get there early as they sell out pretty quickly. You’ll need good legs to cycle around here as it’s rather hilly but the roads are quiet and enjoyable. Several off-road routes are within reach. The area is best for walking, with Lathkill Dale just up the valley and paths in every direction. Tea shops and good pubs abound.

The site is highly recommended for a quiet spell away. Don’t be put off by access comments unless you’re really nervous about that kind of thing. I’ve been through tighter spots than this, accessing sites. Some have approached from the ‘wrong way’ with success but I wouldn’t encourage that: it’s very narrow, with few passing places, and a hairpin bend to negotiate. With good weather you should find it difficult not to enjoy your stay. 


Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bakewell Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Bakewell Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bakewell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2686 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement