Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Bodmin Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Site Reviews

CLOSED: Bodmin Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Old Callywith Road
Bodmin
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Closed From 2010

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 9 Reviews
                8/10 from 9 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

Please note this site has closed down completely and will no longer operate from the end of the 2010 season.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Busby68 1 review from this member

Have just come back from 9 days on this site. Wardens friendlyish. Very strange smell when we first arrived. Decided this must be from the nearby recycling centre and the tulip meat processing factory. Only 4 shower cubicles, which had seen much better days! Really really need bringing up to date. Very old fashioned, but also kept clean by the staff, not the campers!

Have been to many c&c club sites before, but found the standards of this one to be quite poor. Having said that, this site is very convenient for visiting the surrounding area, most places are within an hours drive. Asda very cheap and handy for popping into on the way back from a day out. Looe was very nice as was Lands end and Newquay. Hardstanding had grown over a bit.

But was okay. Feel that the club could spend some of our hard earned money that we pay on doing some modernisation on the site. Just needs a bit of TLC.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dogberry 2 reviews from this member

Just back from a week in Cornwall staying at this site. Very friendly and helpful staff. As said somewhere above, this site is upto the usual C&CC standards (we are members). The grass pitches are slightly sloping. The toilet / shower block is closed everyday between 1130 am & 1230pm for cleaning. In the male toilets the wash basins are not in cubicles but they are in the female toilets. Showers (push button for about 20secs of water)are nice and hot. Very clean. Utility room with washer & dryer for clothes and pot washing sinks. Adj room packed with local & county maps, info etc. Play area for the kids with the usual swings, slide etc but a little out of the way. Dog walking area. As stated, Asda & Morrisons are nearby. Recommended.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: MichaelBenj 20 reviews from this member

The camping and caravaning club is billed as the 'friendly club' and the smiling chatty warden really gave us a warm welcome. The site is well located for the Eden Project, Heligan gardens, Padstow, Newquay etc. The downside is that the loos and showers here are a disapointment for a club site. Open washbasins (no private cubicals or screens), only a few toilets (there was a queue for toilets and showers in the morning) and the showers were the push button type, with no place to dry yourself and the cubicals past their best. A bit like camping in the 70's! Everything was clean but the site needs some serious investment.

That said, the location was great and the site was clearly well run and the pile of camping magazines saying 'please take one' in the information room was a nice friendly touch.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fen Marshall 13 reviews from this member

We really liked this site. Everyone's so helpful and accommodating.

It's a great centre for Cornwall; we visited Heligan, Mevagissey, Port Isaac and Boscastle among others. The fabulous autumn weather helped!

It's very handy for Asda (cheapest petrol in Cornwall) but further away than it looks; you have to walk around the road rather than jump over the hedge!

It's probably worth joining the C & C Club to get it really cheap.

Enjoy this site!

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: V1a3w 21 reviews from this member

This was my introduction to a c&cc site. The staff couldn't have been more friendly & helpful, we only intended to stay for one night whilst visiting the Bodmin Folk Club ( every Friday at The Barley Sheaf in town), but returned for our last night in Cornwall so that we could indulge in some more of the superb fish & chips from the shop by the car park in town, don't worry about the calories - the walk back up more than burns them off!

All in all good value for money.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Debsy 110 reviews from this member

We stayed here for three nights - it's not in Bodmin to the extent that it's a steep walk down there. However, the carparking is free on Sundays. We went on the Camel Trail to Wadebridge - lovely. The campsite was well laid out with a good kids park - but it's nowhere near the site and it you have little ones you may not fancy leaving them there!

Biggest gripe - only one toilet block and closed 11am til 12.30 - yes they have won an award for it but I have been in better and it's ridiculous - no chance of a lie in! Warden knocking on the door when my husband was having a quick shower at 10.55. What people do with little kids I have no idea. I have never been in a site where you couldn't go to the loo at all and we have been to loads. Then again I am not in any clubs and this is only the second C&CC site we have ever stayed at and maybe this is how it is.

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nora 8 reviews from this member

The site is just off the A30 yet far enough to not have any traffic noise. This site has the usual club standards. The site is walking distance to Bodmin town, but it is a very steep walk back up the hill. Just around the corner is a new Asda again walking distance from the site. About half a mile away is a Morrisons.

The hard standings were level, while the grass pitches slightly sloping. The toilet block has plenty of showers and the hand basins were in cubicles.

Bodmin town is central to most parts of Cornwall and I think is a good base for sightseeing and beach holidays. Newquay is 20 minuites drive. Bodmin town itself has a cycle hire and a few usfull shops. The steaam train runs from the town and even if you don't go on it, its worth having a look at the station. At the tourist information you can experience a court room drama of a murder that happened on the moors.
I would visit this site again because I didn't have time to do all the things that I wanted to.

A very nice quiet site even at busy times and bank holidays.

Date of Visit: July 2005 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Anorak 11 reviews from this member

A lovely site to visit, we stayed just before the school holidays and it was very quiet. we were told the week after it would be full to bursting point! The facilities are immaculate. It has a decent sized play area for the kids with room to play ball games. The pitches are nicely kept and the wardens are friendly. It's a nice central site to explore in all directions. Would recommend.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3922 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!