Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bodmin Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Cornwall (East) > Bodmin > Bodmin Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

CLOSED: Bodmin Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Old Callywith Road
Bodmin
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 9 Reviews
                8/10 from 9 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note this site has closed down completely and will no longer operate from the end of the 2010 season. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Busby68 1 review from this member

 Have just come back from 9 days on this site. Wardens friendlyish. Very strange smell when we first arrived. Decided this must be from the nearby recycling centre and the tulip meat processing factory. Only 4 shower cubicles, which had seen much better days! Really really need bringing up to date. Very old fashioned, but also kept clean by the staff, not the campers!

Have been to many c&c club sites before, but found the standards of this one to be quite poor. Having said that, this site is very convenient for visiting the surrounding area, most places are within an hours drive. Asda very cheap and handy for popping into on the way back from a day out. Looe was very nice as was Lands end and Newquay. Hardstanding had grown over a bit.

But was okay. Feel that the club could spend some of our hard earned money that we pay on doing some modernisation on the site. Just needs a bit of TLC. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dogberry 2 reviews from this member

 Just back from a week in Cornwall staying at this site. Very friendly and helpful staff. As said somewhere above, this site is upto the usual C&CC standards (we are members). The grass pitches are slightly sloping. The toilet / shower block is closed everyday between 1130 am & 1230pm for cleaning. In the male toilets the wash basins are not in cubicles but they are in the female toilets. Showers (push button for about 20secs of water)are nice and hot. Very clean. Utility room with washer & dryer for clothes and pot washing sinks. Adj room packed with local & county maps, info etc. Play area for the kids with the usual swings, slide etc but a little out of the way. Dog walking area. As stated, Asda & Morrisons are nearby. Recommended. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: MichaelBenj 20 reviews from this member

 The camping and caravaning club is billed as the 'friendly club' and the smiling chatty warden really gave us a warm welcome. The site is well located for the Eden Project, Heligan gardens, Padstow, Newquay etc. The downside is that the loos and showers here are a disapointment for a club site. Open washbasins (no private cubicals or screens), only a few toilets (there was a queue for toilets and showers in the morning) and the showers were the push button type, with no place to dry yourself and the cubicals past their best. A bit like camping in the 70's! Everything was clean but the site needs some serious investment.

That said, the location was great and the site was clearly well run and the pile of camping magazines saying 'please take one' in the information room was a nice friendly touch. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fen Marshall 18 reviews from this member

 We really liked this site. Everyone's so helpful and accommodating.

It's a great centre for Cornwall; we visited Heligan, Mevagissey, Port Isaac and Boscastle among others. The fabulous autumn weather helped!

It's very handy for Asda (cheapest petrol in Cornwall) but further away than it looks; you have to walk around the road rather than jump over the hedge!

It's probably worth joining the C & C Club to get it really cheap.

Enjoy this site! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: V1a3w 21 reviews from this member

 This was my introduction to a c&cc site. The staff couldn't have been more friendly & helpful, we only intended to stay for one night whilst visiting the Bodmin Folk Club ( every Friday at The Barley Sheaf in town), but returned for our last night in Cornwall so that we could indulge in some more of the superb fish & chips from the shop by the car park in town, don't worry about the calories - the walk back up more than burns them off!

All in all good value for money. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Debsy 122 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for three nights - it's not in Bodmin to the extent that it's a steep walk down there. However, the carparking is free on Sundays. We went on the Camel Trail to Wadebridge - lovely. The campsite was well laid out with a good kids park - but it's nowhere near the site and it you have little ones you may not fancy leaving them there!

Biggest gripe - only one toilet block and closed 11am til 12.30 - yes they have won an award for it but I have been in better and it's ridiculous - no chance of a lie in! Warden knocking on the door when my husband was having a quick shower at 10.55. What people do with little kids I have no idea. I have never been in a site where you couldn't go to the loo at all and we have been to loads. Then again I am not in any clubs and this is only the second C&CC site we have ever stayed at and maybe this is how it is. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nora 9 reviews from this member

 The site is just off the A30 yet far enough to not have any traffic noise. This site has the usual club standards. The site is walking distance to Bodmin town, but it is a very steep walk back up the hill. Just around the corner is a new Asda again walking distance from the site. About half a mile away is a Morrisons.

The hard standings were level, while the grass pitches slightly sloping. The toilet block has plenty of showers and the hand basins were in cubicles.

Bodmin town is central to most parts of Cornwall and I think is a good base for sightseeing and beach holidays. Newquay is 20 minuites drive. Bodmin town itself has a cycle hire and a few usfull shops. The steaam train runs from the town and even if you don't go on it, its worth having a look at the station. At the tourist information you can experience a court room drama of a murder that happened on the moors.
I would visit this site again because I didn't have time to do all the things that I wanted to.

A very nice quiet site even at busy times and bank holidays. 


Date of Visit: July 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Anorak 11 reviews from this member

 A lovely site to visit, we stayed just before the school holidays and it was very quiet. we were told the week after it would be full to bursting point! The facilities are immaculate. It has a decent sized play area for the kids with room to play ball games. The pitches are nicely kept and the wardens are friendly. It's a nice central site to explore in all directions. Would recommend.
 



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!


All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3617 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement