Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Bude Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Bude > Bude Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Bude Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Gillards Moor
St Gennys
Bude
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
EX23 0BG
Tel: 01840 230650
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 09/04/2021 to 28/09/2021
           09/04/2022 to 28/09/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 22 Reviews
                8/10 from 22 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Paulmold 82 reviews from this member

 Although 100 pitches, there are only 10 hardstanding, all are close to road which is noisy even through the night.

Recommend book a grass pitch as you can get further from road and behind hedge which should cut down the road noise.

Although toilet blocks are now open after Covid pandemic, we still use our own facilities so can't comment on those but have to score them so gave an 8 judging on previous comments.

Nowhere local to go, you really do need to drive off site. You can see the sea from the site but can't get to it, nearest beach Widemouth which does have parking suitable for motorhomes as no height barrier and 500 spaces.

Staff friendly and welcoming. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Beea 1 review from this member

 We knew it was 9 mile from Bude, so very strange to call it that.

The toilets are spotless but very outdated and really need a refurb.

On all sites it says dogs must be kept on 2 metre leads, but we saw many dogs with no leads on at all, infact we were sitting in our loungers when we suddenly had a dog in between us. The site staff were aware of dogs without leads and did nothing. Now which is it, rules or no rules? By the way, we have a dog and is always put on 2 metre lead from the start. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Clairlockley 1 review from this member

 I found the site had everything we needed

I had my five daughters with me and my dad. my kids were 10, 8, 7, 6, and 3, they all had and amazing time and found the staff and site very nice and we can't wait to come back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Amos86 5 reviews from this member

 I feel the need to point out that this campsite is actually 7/8 miles from Bude itself! Road noise was fairly loud too. However, the site is kept clean and tidy by the friendly staff.

Decent amount of toilets and showers although the block could do with 'freshening' up as it is a little tired. Washer/dryer worked fine and there is a lovely TV room next to a recreation room with pool table and ping pong.

Site itself had a mix of fairly flat pitches and some on a slope. It's a good base to explore the region.

We went to Boscastle, Tintagel, Nectans Glen, Padstow and a gorgeous otter and wildlife centre outside Launceston. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wendy james 4 reviews from this member

 The first thing I like to once set up on a campsite is head off for a walk ‘exploring’ with my young children. The first thing I did here was call the cycle hire company to cancel delivery of our bikes! There is no way off this site other than the unpaved A39.

The bus stop and local pub/shop are only accessible via a 15 min walk down this road. I wasn’t risking it with under 8s, meaning no walks, runs or bike rides from site, which is the sort of holiday we like!

The recreation room attracted unsupervised children from the adjacent field, who liked to practice their screaming (literally!) until I had a stern word. The very small playground (one slide, one swing, one baby swing) was hidden behind hedges and beyond the vehicle gate.

I was surprised by a demand for a £10 deposit before being handed the Ready Camp key. I’ve never had this before and it wasn’t stated when booking at Bude.

“Bude” though - don’t make me laugh! It’s not even close. Google tells me it’s 2hrs 40min walk down the A road. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dream Catcher 21 reviews from this member

 This CCC Club site offers all the features and services you’d expect. Club sites are almost invariably well run and managed and this is no exception. However my problem is not the site itself, but the name.

This site is not in Bude! Anymore than Luton Airport is in London! If you want a stopover on the Cornish Atlantic Way it’s fine. The road noise is not intrusive and, as said, the facials stafuare great.

If, however, your the sort who wants to visit the town the site is meant to be in or near you have a nine-mile hike or drive to Bude itself.

Public transport varies from unreliable to non-existent in this part of the world and taxis are kept in the same stables as the local unicorns. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Damaca 62 reviews from this member

 We had a short stay on this site en route from west Cornwall to north Devon.

Easy to find, just off the main road but little disturbing traffic noise.

The site staff were friendly and courteous and the site was clean and tidy. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Desengcon 5 reviews from this member

 We arrived the second day it was open. Very friendly reception, well laid out site and very clean

Nice to see the grass clippings picked up during mowing, saves a lot of grass in the caravan.

We had a grass pitch and no trouble getting on or off despite the very wet previous weeks.

A bit of road noise but this becomes less noticeable during the week.

Will use this site again during our next visit to the Sw 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ell63 6 reviews from this member

 My partner myself and Lucie our Parsons Jack Russell have just returned from a 9 night stay at the Bude site, the site itself is lovely, well kept and very clean. There are 2 fields the first, the main field has all the hard standings, shower block, washing up facility and the recreation rooms complete with TV (we never used this facility ), the second is a smaller field but is great because it is quieter, there is a path through the hedging to the shower block.

On our arrival 2 days earlier than booked and transferring from the Sennen Cove site (see Sennen review) we were met by friendly member of staff and after explaining our situation were offered any pitch we liked and he suggested a pitch in the corner of the smaller field which proved excellent The shower area is very clean and of a good standard, there are numerous showers, sinks toilets etc there is also a laundry room which provided useful. There is wifi on site but unfortunately it is only accessible near reception, there is little or no mobile phone signal (O2)

Reading previous reviews I feel I must comment on some areas covered.

The dog walking area is poor and we found a lot of people walked their dogs around the field we were camped in.

The site is near the road accessed through a lay by but the traffic noise mentioned is not too disturbing and it soon fades into the background.

The gate is locked at 11. 00pm but this signed and therefore I don't think an issue.

The site is not in Bude it is actually about 8 mile away, but there is a costcutter store about ¾ walk away near the The Old Wainhouse Inn and there is a burger van in the lay-by for bacon butties etc.

Over all the site was very good and we were sad to leave, the staff are great but the walking area is not ideal if you are an owner of a large dog. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Coalhog 11 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a weeks camping at this lovely site on arrival met by friendly helpful staff site was very quiet so was able to pick are own pitch. Showers were very hot and powerful toilet block was very clean behind toilet block is a games room with small snooker table and table tennis table then a room with freeview television all I can say is what a lovely site made better by the staff they even have printed sheets how to walk to the beach

The site is about 8 miles from bude and only about 5 miles from boscastle site is next to main road but you exit from a lay-by can you hear the traffic yes you do but you also hear the cows, in the next field, birds singing, and great views all in all I lovely site great position and lovely staff its not a modern site but kept tidy clean as thought it was there own 10/10 


Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bude Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bude Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Bude Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bude      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3270 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Get a Reminder