Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Bude Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Bude > Bude Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Bude Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Gillards Moor
St Gennys
Bude
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
EX23 0BG
Tel: 01840 230650
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 09/04 to 28/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 19 Reviews
                8/10 from 19 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Amos86 5 reviews from this member

I feel the need to point out that this campsite is actually 7/8 miles from Bude itself! Road noise was fairly loud too. However, the site is kept clean and tidy by the friendly staff. Decent amount of toilets and showers although the block could do with 'freshening' up as it is a little tired. Washer/dryer worked fine and there is a lovely TV room next to a recreation room with pool table and ping pong. Site itself had a mix of fairly flat pitches and some on a slope. It's a good base to explore the region. We went to Boscastle, Tintagel, Nectans Glen, Padstow and a gorgeous otter and wildlife centre outside Launceston.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wendy james 4 reviews from this member

The first thing I like to once set up on a campsite is head off for a walk ‘exploring’ with my young children. The first thing I did here was call the cycle hire company to cancel delivery of our bikes! There is no way off this site other than the unpaved A39. The bus stop and local pub/shop are only accessible via a 15 min walk down this road. I wasn’t risking it with under 8s, meaning no walks, runs or bike rides from site, which is the sort of holiday we like!

The recreation room attracted unsupervised children from the adjacent field, who liked to practice their screaming (literally!) until I had a stern word. The very small playground (one slide, one swing, one baby swing) was hidden behind hedges and beyond the vehicle gate.

I was surprised by a demand for a £10 deposit before being handed the Ready Camp key. I’ve never had this before and it wasn’t stated when booking at Bude.

“Bude” though - don’t make me laugh! It’s not even close. Google tells me it’s 2hrs 40min walk down the A road.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dream Catcher 21 reviews from this member

This CCC Club site offers all the features and services you’d expect. Club sites are almost invariably well run and managed and this is no exception. However my problem is not the site itself, but the name. This site is not in Bude! Anymore than Luton Airport is in London! If you want a stopover on the Cornish Atlantic Way it’s fine. The road noise is not intrusive and, as said, the facials stafuare great. If, however, your the sort who wants to visit the town the site is meant to be in or near you have a nine-mile hike or drive to Bude itself. Public transport varies from unreliable to non-existent in this part of the world and taxis are kept in the same stables as the local unicorns.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Damaca 37 reviews from this member

We had a short stay on this site en route from west Cornwall to north Devon. Easy to find, just off the main road but little disturbing traffic noise. The site staff were friendly and courteous and the site was clean and tidy.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Desengcon 5 reviews from this member

We arrived the second day it was open. Very friendly reception, well laid out site and very clean

Nice to see the grass clippings picked up during mowing, saves a lot of grass in the caravan.

We had a grass pitch and no trouble getting on or off despite the very wet previous weeks.

A bit of road noise but this becomes less noticeable during the week.

Will use this site again during our next visit to the Sw

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ell63 5 reviews from this member

My partner myself and Lucie our Parsons Jack Russell have just returned from a 9 night stay at the Bude site, the site itself is lovely, well kept and very clean. There are 2 fields the first, the main field has all the hard standings, shower block, washing up facility and the recreation rooms complete with TV (we never used this facility ), the second is a smaller field but is great because it is quieter, there is a path through the hedging to the shower block.

On our arrival 2 days earlier than booked and transferring from the Sennen Cove site (see Sennen review) we were met by friendly member of staff and after explaining our situation were offered any pitch we liked and he suggested a pitch in the corner of the smaller field which proved excellent The shower area is very clean and of a good standard, there are numerous showers, sinks toilets etc there is also a laundry room which provided useful. There is wifi on site but unfortunately it is only accessible near reception, there is little or no mobile phone signal (O2)

Reading previous reviews I feel I must comment on some areas covered.

The dog walking area is poor and we found a lot of people walked their dogs around the field we were camped in.

The site is near the road accessed through a lay by but the traffic noise mentioned is not too disturbing and it soon fades into the background.

The gate is locked at 11. 00pm but this signed and therefore I don't think an issue.

The site is not in Bude it is actually about 8 mile away, but there is a costcutter store about ¾ walk away near the The Old Wainhouse Inn and there is a burger van in the lay-by for bacon butties etc.

Over all the site was very good and we were sad to leave, the staff are great but the walking area is not ideal if you are an owner of a large dog.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Coalhog 11 reviews from this member

Just returned from a weeks camping at this lovely site on arrival met by friendly helpful staff site was very quiet so was able to pick are own pitch. Showers were very hot and powerful toilet block was very clean behind toilet block is a games room with small snooker table and table tennis table then a room with freeview television all I can say is what a lovely site made better by the staff they even have printed sheets how to walk to the beach

The site is about 8 miles from bude and only about 5 miles from boscastle site is next to main road but you exit from a lay-by can you hear the traffic yes you do but you also hear the cows, in the next field, birds singing, and great views all in all I lovely site great position and lovely staff its not a modern site but kept tidy clean as thought it was there own 10/10

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bruin40 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from our 1st camping trip and thoroughly recommend this site. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially as this was our 1st foray into camping.

The field was level and the grass fairly short, and a high hedge for a wind break was also useful.The toilet block was immaculate with piping hot water available and a good power output from the shower head. Washing up facilities were also of a good standard, very clean and loads of hot water again.

Booking in and out was easy and quick. Access into the site from the main road is safe due to a long lay-by.Overall we were very impressed by the standards of all the amenities, and would be happy to stay there again.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mjrees 40 reviews from this member

My wife and I are trying to emulate the BBC programme by driving our motorhome round the UK coastline. We are visiting many sites during this project and this pleasant, level site near Bude is certainly in our top ten so far!

The staff are very welcoming and helpful - the toilet/shower/laundry blocks are immaculate and grass-cutting is camper friendly with no cuttings evident. Included in the facility block is a games and a rest room. There are 100 pitches, electric hookups abound and non-C&CC members are welcome. There is a small shop on site - otherwise it's a drive to Bude or Camelford. There is a friendly pub about one mile down the main road.

This site is ideal for visiting Tintagel and Boscastle, and of course Bude.

The entrance to the site is set within a layby and therefore eliminates the worry of slowing down on, or crossing, the fast A39.

Highly recommended!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Robertb174 16 reviews from this member

We stayed on this site for a week and unfortunately picked the week when it rained in Cornwall. This did not really put a stop to our activities though.

I have noted some of the previous reviews and I am glad that I did not take notice of them! Staff were very friendly and helpful. This was our first time putting up our awning and staff came over and assisted offering advice and tips which was really helpful.

All I can say is that there are some very distinct rules on C & CC sites which you know before you arrive, the staff here point the main ones out on arrival to highlight them so that everyone can enjoy the stay. This is done for everyone's benefit.

The toilets/showers are not brand new state of the art facilities, but they work, they are clean and tidy and I do not understand what more you could ask for.

The site is well located for all attractions. Worth a visit are Jamaica Inn for a superb meal (30 mins away) and Widemouth Bay (10 mins) for its superb sandy beach which has RNLI lifeguards looking after it.

I would definitely stay at this site again, I loved it and so did the kids despite wind and rain.

Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Bude      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan Motorhome and Holiday Home Show 06/02 to 09/02
In Glasgow - Over 200 companies will be showcasing their products and offering visitors show only discounts and offers. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1984 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020