Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Charmouth Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Charmouth > Charmouth Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Charmouth Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Monkton Wyld Farm
Scotts Lane
Charmouth
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT6 6DB
Tel: 01297 32965
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 14/02/2022 to 09/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 62 Reviews
                9/10 from 62 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  62 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: March 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nuflow 1 review from this member

 We stayed here initially for one night on our way home after collecting Motorhome from the other end of the country but ended up extending to three nights.

The site was easy to find, great location cLose to Axminster for cheap fuel etc and the coastal towns/villages of Bridnorth, Charmouth, Lyme Regis etc

We were late arriving but that was no problem for the office team, and we easily found our pitch etc as they had left clear instructions adjacent to the office for us.

The pitches were really spacious, plenty of facilities including dog paddock and Childrens park, a nice countryside feel to the site. There is a new toilet/shower block with good sized free showers, family rooms and a baby changing room with shower. A Motorhome service point, laundry and washing up room where sinks were plentiful.

Some road noise in the distance but not noticeable to bother us.

All the staff were friendly and helpful.

There is also a winter storage compound on site.

We wish we lived closer so we could visit regularly! 


Date of Visit: April 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Graham Mew 2 reviews from this member

 A truly wonderful site, you can see their profits are reinvested back into the site and thatís a nice and rare feeling to have.

Go there and see you wonít be disappointed. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: CliveNGill 8 reviews from this member

 Excellent site with two facillity blocks, both very nice and clean.

Staff friendly and helpful.

Our pitch, 8, was huge and close to water and grey water disposal. Plenty of trees and wild flowers, nature is encouraged all over the site, birds and rabbits in abundance.

A short drive from the site to Charmouth for fossil hunting or Lyme Regis with its harbour. Axminster is nearby too. The site is just off the A35 giving good access to west Dorset and east Devon.

Breakfasts are available some days also they have pizzas, fish and chips, and a pie night.

There is a pub about 2 miles away on the A35.

There is nothing not to like about this site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Mamm 1 review from this member

 We have not even got here yet but having spoken to the lovely Jenny on reception we cannot wait

What a lovely and friendly receptionist!

It looks absolutely amazing and we cannot wait to get there

You see itís so impressive Iím reviewing it already! 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jusbluey 25 reviews from this member

 We were delighted with this lovely site. The amenities are excellent & its closeness to the coast makes it a good base. Over the time of our holiday we walked many miles over the coast path & inland.

We visited many lovely old pubs & enjoyed great ales & food. We visited Chesil Beach, Lyme Regis, Bridport (where there is a fab pie/pasty shop), Charmouth (one of my fave places) & walked the whole coast line of Portland.

Whilst there we heard that a lot of people had lost their lives on the roads in Dorset so far this year (obviously nothing the site can do about that). I can understand why when so many vehicles drive at crazy speeds.

We had a very near miss when we were turning off the A road to the site & some idiot overtook us, mindless. We thoroughly enjoyed fish & chips from the van that visits twice a week.

My only negative is that it isnt close to any shops, Charmouth is 3 miles away, thankfully we took a car as well. We would definitely revisit this site 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: FlossieO 1 review from this member

 Monkton Wyld is a clean, and efficiently run site which is quiet enough as a site.

However, there is a big BUT. If you are looking for a quiet location for your visit for a short break during the main holiday months of July/August we could not recommend.

The location appears very tranquil until you realise that it is bordered by two 'B' class and one major 'A' trunk road with heavy traffic driving past for most of the night!

So if you are looking for that tranquil place, away from traffic noise, it is not the best location.

Other than that, it is good for accessing many tourist attractions on the Jurassic coast. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Edridsdale 7 reviews from this member

 I visited here mid June and was totally bowled over with the extremely high standard of this site.

Everything from the reception staff and site staff being incredibly polite and friendly to the lovely spacious pitches and toilet and shower facilities to match most 5 star hotels.

Great dog walk and landscaping as well as a convenient location for seaside resorts make this a really great site.

Well done Charmouth. Will definitely be coming back again.

You have set the highest of standards. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JRob 1 review from this member

 We visited Monkton Wyld in August and we were very impressed. The whole site was very tranquil and the setting was perfect.

We enjoyed the walks and amazing coastline close by and could of stayed far longer! The shower block was clean and tidy and we saw notices explaining there will be a new block in place for the coming season.

The staff were very friendly and had great knowledge of the surrounding areas. We used the shop to buy basics and a handy local map. The woodland on site was great exercise for our dog.

We thoroughly recommend this site to our friends! 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Archie Bargee 26 reviews from this member

 We arrived very late, having taken a friend's advice as to our route in pouring rain and fog (June!)

The staff had gone home but had thoughtfully left all our information by the front door.

When we did meet the staff, they were really nice and helpful, but the whole site and facilities were a bit tired, and that was the only place we've had to queue for the showers. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Redhead67 5 reviews from this member

 This site disappointed us - for the number of pitches, plus a rally field there were two shower blocks, one of which had 3 toilets and 2 showers, which were very dated. Most pitches were occupied by families with at least 4 people and on the day we arrived the toilet block near us was blocked - so even worse.

The staff in reception were really friendly and helpful but the site lacked any atmosphere - just felt flat and soulless - strangely enough a previous reviewer felt the same.

The dog walk area was odd - a beautiful small woods but couldn't let him off the lead so felt pointless.

For a camping and caravanning site this felt like a commercial 'chain' campsite - very odd. In truth we left cutting our losses and stayed at The relaxing and wonderful Hook Farm in Lyme Regis Instead. Just not right for us. 


Previous     62 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Charmouth Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Charmouth Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Charmouth Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Charmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3405 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement