Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Charmouth Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

Charmouth Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Monkton Wyld Farm
Scotts Lane
Charmouth
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT6 6DB
Tel: 01297 32965
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 15/03 to0 4/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 56 Reviews
                9/10 from 56 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  56 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Edridsdale 4 reviews from this member

I visited here mid June and was totally bowled over with the extremely high standard of this site. Everything from the reception staff and site staff being incredibly polite and friendly to the lovely spacious pitches and toilet and shower facilities to match most 5 star hotels.

Great dog walk and landscaping as well as a convenient location for seaside resorts make this a really great site.

Well done Charmouth. Will definitely be coming back again.

You have set the highest of standards.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JRob 1 review from this member

We visited Monkton Wyld in August and we were very impressed. The whole site was very tranquil and the setting was perfect. We enjoyed the walks and amazing coastline close by and could of stayed far longer! The shower block was clean and tidy and we saw notices explaining there will be a new block in place for the coming season. The staff were very friendly and had great knowledge of the surrounding areas. We used the shop to buy basics and a handy local map. The woodland on site was great exercise for our dog. We thoroughly recommend this site to our friends!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Archie Bargee 21 reviews from this member

We arrived very late, having taken a friend's advice as to our route in pouring rain and fog (June!) the staff had gone home but had thoughtfully left all our information by the front door. When we did meet the staff, they were really nice and helpful, but the whole site and facilities were a bit tired, and that was the only place we've had to queue for the showers.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Redhead67 5 reviews from this member

This site disappointed us - for the number of pitches, plus a rally field there were two shower blocks, one of which had 3 toilets and 2 showers, which were very dated. Most pitches were occupied by families with at least 4 people and on the day we arrived the toilet block near us was blocked - so even worse.

The staff in reception were really friendly and helpful but the site lacked any atmosphere - just felt flat and soulless - strangely enough a previous reviewer felt the same.

The dog walk area was odd - a beautiful small woods but couldn't let him off the lead so felt pointless.

For a camping and caravanning site this felt like a commercial 'chain' campsite - very odd. In truth we left cutting our losses and stayed at The relaxing and wonderful Hook Farm in Lyme Regis Instead. Just not right for us.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Robin91 18 reviews from this member

Just had 9 nights here, for 1st time. Should have been 10 but weather bad, so came home. Very large site, with lots of people and lots of dogs! Site full every week. Facilities were excellent, as you would expect from club site. Close to Charmouth, Axminster and Lyme Regis. Too, too many dogs. With some people having 4 big dogs. Everyone was walking their dogs. With a lot of people thinking that the dog walk was the place to let them off the lead !. I would have preferred somewhere a little less crowded, and fewer dogs. Saying ths, it was a good site.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Petesargent 4 reviews from this member

This site is a well regimented camp. Facilities are clean and modern. The site slopes in many places so take chocks. The shop is well stocked but has limited opening times. The wifi is slow and intermittent. The staff are not the usual friendly ones you find on other camping and caravan sites. As stated elsewhere this site lacks atmosphere and is really a place to pitch and head off to the surrounding area. It is very convenient for Lyme and the coast. Beware of traffic noise from the main road. Note there are many dogs on this site and the rules on the use of leads is not enforced thus despite a well lit dog walking area dog mess is an issue here.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nikko136 44 reviews from this member

This was our very best experience of Camping and Caravan Club sites. The ladies at reception were friendly and helpful and a warden promptly guided us to our allocated hardstanding pitch, which was of good size and level. Views from the site across the Dorset hills were very good.

For once a club site which has well-designed showers, with adequate hooks and an area for shoes, clothes etc. Well out of the line of water from the shower head. These rooms were clean and warm. Like so many C&CC sites the washing-up ‘room’ is only partially enclosed, unheated and open to the elements. On the plus side there was a paper towel dispenser to wipe the sink and draining board after use.

The good dog-walk was adequately long and interesting (central ‘avenue’ had overhead fairly lights). Pity there was no off-lead run as well.

When we were there Reception and hence the shop closed at 4pm, surely about the time many new arrivals will have at best finished pitching and realised that they are short of some item.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: AndrewMoorey 34 reviews from this member

Pleasant, well-run site kept very clean at all times. We were on a hard standing pitch, just as well as Storm Katie arrived over the weekend meaning the grass area was totally waterlogged as was the hardstanding. The noise from the main road was at times intrusive as was the local traffic using the road alongside the site. We were close to the older sanitation block and despite the fact the site was full to capacity never had to queue for the two showers. Bonus was that these showers don't have the pesky push buttons, just an ordinary tap which was bliss if you like a long shower as I do.

Food van was OK, we had the roast pork menu on the Saturday which saved cooking. Site lost power a few times but was dealt with quickly and after the storm the staff went round to check everyone was ok.

WiFi was rubbish but there is a new system on the way.

Can recommend the Hunters Lodge as a dog friendly pub, Hilltop Cafe in Lyme Regis do a good breakfast too.

There was just something lacking, doesn't seem to be any atmosphere here, pleasant enough staff and the site is clean and well maintained but.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chipsandchops 2 reviews from this member

This was our 1st visit to this site, in fact it was the first time we had stayed at a caravan and camping site. We did not arrive until late Friday evening but that was not a problem as they have a very good system for late arrivals. The site was is very well spaced out. The facilities were very clean. The site was very peaceful. The staff were helpful when we enquired about the local area. Would recommend this site.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The 147 Clan 12 reviews from this member

This was our 2nd visit to this site and overall it is a stunning site, spacious well laid out pitches, lovely setting, very tidy and quiet. It is a large site but does not feel overcrowded.

The staff were really friendly, helpful and had good knowledge of the local area. The only negative we found was the facilities block furthest from reception is too small for the site as it only has two showers in the men's and women's, it could do with extending ?

The site is perfectly located to explore the Jurassic coast from Exmouth to Weymouth. We visited West Bay, where they filmed 'Broadchurch', Burton Bradstock and Lyme Regis. Lyme Regis was busy and watch out for the 'gulls ! All three places had all day car parking for £2.

The Jurassic coast has stunning scenery and views, and there are numerous places to eat or take away, you've got to have fish & chips by the sea !

Previous     56 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Dorset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3581 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0977