Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Lynton Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Lynton > Lynton Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Lynton Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Lydiate Lane
Caffyns Cross
Lynton
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX35 6JS
Tel: 01598 752379
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 105
Open: 01/04 To 28/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 29 Reviews
                8/10 from 29 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We regret that our site is currently closed because of the advice and implications surrounding the outbreak of Coronavirus.

To enquire about a booking later in the season or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Deesrich 1 review from this member

 Brilliant staff. Can't thank them enough for helping us organise a surprise for my Dad.

Facilities are more than adequate and clean. Great location for exploring the local area. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Janeha 1 review from this member

 We had a wonderful stay at this site in May. A delightful, friendly couple made us feel very at home.

The site is not flat but don't let that put you off, as there is always a space you can pitch and the views are wonderful. It was a joy to see two sheep walking towards me one morning, on my way back from the loos.

There are gorgeous walks from the site, which is good if you have a motorhome but be warned it is quite hilly, but it certainly gives the legs a good workout.

All in all a great site which we would love to return to. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lms0110 50 reviews from this member

 This site is situated at the top of the valley so can be a bit on the breezy side.

There seems to be some ongoing work here to upgrade it, some more hardstandings have been added and a couple of log cabins, all in the main field where you will find the seriously outdated toilet block but this is due to be refurbished at end of 2019 season as I understand it.

There is a second field that seems to be all grass pitches and slightly sloping. Lynton, and then Lynmouth can be walked from the site down a very steep, winding lane, it is a killer coming up so if not fit then the bus maybe your best option.

The bridleway walk towards The Valley of the Rocks is also a good one, but again, all uphill on the way back. We did have an issue whilst we were there in that the field referred to by previous reviewers for dog exercise and ball games is no more, the landowner has leased it to someone else who was willing to pay more than a nominal fee for its use, so the dogs have to be exercised off the site. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Maxt46 53 reviews from this member

 What a great site in a fantastic location, it is a typical club site good clean toilets and showers, helpful friendly staff, even though they were closing for the season in a couple of weeks.

If you want somewhere quiet and peaceful this is the place, sometimes I felt I should be speaking in whispers.

The walk along the bridal path Lee Bay is really scenic and worthwhile, carry on into Lynton, but don't be tempted to walk up the hill back it's only a mile but the hill is a bit of a killer far better to jump on the bus.

Be sure to follow directions in book not sat nav. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Meridian530 3 reviews from this member

 What a lovely quiet site! Neat and tidy, beautiful views and most importantly, the friendly, relaxed and obliging welcome.

Site pitches are pretty level, in fact, the hard standing we elected to take at the top of the site was absolutely level (the best we've ever had!). The grass pitches, despite a busy summer, are fresh and green with all credit to the management who encourage flexibility in positioning thereon.

Facilities are clean and there was plenty of hot water. There's a footpath nearby leading down, down, down to the Abbey (Christian Conference Centre) near Lee Bay and the Valley of Rocks (not to be missed) and walk on to join the well made-up coastal path with stunning views leading to Lynton where can be found cream teas, ice cream and a regular bus service (about hourly) which will get you back up the hill to within a short (relatively level) walk to the site.

Would we return here - yes: it would be our first choice. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Tibbetts 8 reviews from this member

 Lovely, clean, quiet site. Good space between pitches. A little quiet for us as very few kids facilities.

Walkable/cyclable to Lynton if you are physically fit.

Great access to lots of interesting places nearby. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: WWLL 60 reviews from this member

 We arrived on site following a stormy windy night, some tents and awnings had suffered during the storm. We were greeting by a friendly manager who was most helpful to all concerned and suggested the lead windy pitches.

We choose a flat level hard standing pitch. The site is close to Lynton & Lynmouth with it's many tourist attractions, the terrain is steep and the roads narrow so be prepared for this.

We enjoyed our stay including a drive around Exmoor and Porlock hill which is very pretty. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Rob and his mob1 4 reviews from this member

 This campsite was the 31st we had visited in the last 3 months as my wife was walking The South West Coast Path all in one go, and this site was certainly the most unwelcoming. I arrived at 12.25pm and was brusquely told that the office wouldn't be open until 1pm and to 'park over there and wait'. I should have driven away then.

I finally booked in but was made unwelcome. As a previous reviewer pointed out, the small toilet block was closed for 1 1/2 hours for cleaning and when I asked if there was anywhere I could use, I was grudgingly told to use the ladies, 'but use the 1st cubicle on the left and keep to the centre of the toilet because the wet floor was a Health and Safety concern.'

The only good point was that the facilities were very clean which was unsurprising considering the length of time it took to clean them. They do need updating. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Inky Blue 7 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely quiet site over looking the North Devon Coast and the Bristol Channel. The site is well looked after and although the toilet block is dated it was always spotlessly clean. We had severe winds while we there so worth trying to pitch in the lea of the hedge if possible.

This is an excellent place for exploring Exmoor and North Devon, there are many beautiful walks either from site or from Lynton and Lynmouth. We visited Clovelly, Lynton, Lynmouth, Porlock Weir and Dartington Glass while there.

Follow campsite directions as there are extremely steep hills in the area. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Churzen 3 reviews from this member

 We visited the Lynton site on the first May bank holiday this year and thanks to the traffic we were very late arriving. Despite this, we were made very welcome and I was even able to buy a new gas bottle at 10pm which saved breakfast the following morning!

The site was fairly quiet but is nicely laid out with a good mix of pitches and a separate tent field and a large dog-free playing field. Nice views down to the coast can be had next to the facilities block.

The facilities could do with a little updating but are very clean and the showers don't have the annoying push buttons which is a bonus. The shop is well stocked and the site managers and assistants were very helpful and friendly. A visit to Watersmeet is a must! Lovely walk in to town but quite steep so be prepared for the climb back!

We will definitely return. 


Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lynton Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lynton Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Lynton Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lynton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Stratford Caravan & Motorhome Show 26/06 to 28/06
Over 350 new and used caravans and motorhomes, camp over with 3 nights of fantastic live entertainment, bar and food ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1814 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020