Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lynton Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (North) > Lynton > Lynton Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Lynton Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Lydiate Lane
Caffyns Cross
Lynton
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX35 6JS
Tel: 01598 752379
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 105
Open: 01/04/2024 to 28/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 32 Reviews
                7/10 from 32 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: CyberCynth 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely quiet site, handy for visiting lots of places in North Devon.

The site was clean and tidy with the facilities being in good condition; my one grumble about them was the poor flow in the shower.

No dedicated dog walk on site but the road outside the site was very quiet so no hassle to walk the dog there.

I have described my unit as a tent but it's actually a tailgate awning (Caranex) Uncomfortable about the site manager claiming a tailgate awning was not on the Club's list of 'Acceptable Units'. Had planned to sleep in the car and use the Caranex for daily activities, as I always do, but told Club rules forbid sleeping in cars! Rang the Club HQ; the lady I spoke to was quite happy about me using a tailgate awning but repeated the manager's rule about not sleeping in the car, so spent 4 uncomfortable nights sleeping on the floor of the awning.

Apart from that, my stay was very enjoyable! 


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nwhitt 2 reviews from this member

 Visited in July 2023 for 4 days. The reviews so far do not appear to reflect the site as it is at present.

The site was reasonably full but the facilities almost empty when I visited them.

They looked to be brand new or nearly so and are of a high standard both in internal appearance and cleanliness.

The views from the site out to sea are wonderful and there are excellent walks nearby as well as proximity to the town of Lynton.

The staff manager I dealt with was very friendly and welcoming and gave us a wide choice of pitches, which was excellent after a long journey in filthy weather.

The site is exposed from the sea and at cliff top level. It is therefore subject to winds but this is to be expected.

The only thing that the club was unable to arrange was good weather but we had an enjoyable stay nevertheless and will visit again this summer. 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Percyveer 4 reviews from this member

 Nice and peaceful site. Sloping site so you'll need plenty of packing for the van legs.

Disappointed with the facilities block. For a site that has 105 pitches (most of which were occupied) to have only 4 showers and 4 wcs is totally inadequate. Plus they are small, so if you are of large stature forget it.

Access to the site is via a very narrow single track road, you just hope and pray nothing is coming the other way.

Sorry I won't be returning. I have come to the conclusion that this clubs sites are of not a very high standard, so in future will cease my membership and go back to private sites. It's worth paying the extra.



Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Deesrich 1 review from this member

 Brilliant staff. Can't thank them enough for helping us organise a surprise for my Dad.

Facilities are more than adequate and clean. Great location for exploring the local area. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Janeha 1 review from this member

 We had a wonderful stay at this site in May. A delightful, friendly couple made us feel very at home.

The site is not flat but don't let that put you off, as there is always a space you can pitch and the views are wonderful. It was a joy to see two sheep walking towards me one morning, on my way back from the loos.

There are gorgeous walks from the site, which is good if you have a motorhome but be warned it is quite hilly, but it certainly gives the legs a good workout.

All in all a great site which we would love to return to. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lms0110 57 reviews from this member

 This site is situated at the top of the valley so can be a bit on the breezy side.

There seems to be some ongoing work here to upgrade it, some more hardstandings have been added and a couple of log cabins, all in the main field where you will find the seriously outdated toilet block but this is due to be refurbished at end of 2019 season as I understand it.

There is a second field that seems to be all grass pitches and slightly sloping. Lynton, and then Lynmouth can be walked from the site down a very steep, winding lane, it is a killer coming up so if not fit then the bus maybe your best option.

The bridleway walk towards The Valley of the Rocks is also a good one, but again, all uphill on the way back. We did have an issue whilst we were there in that the field referred to by previous reviewers for dog exercise and ball games is no more, the landowner has leased it to someone else who was willing to pay more than a nominal fee for its use, so the dogs have to be exercised off the site. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Maxt46 54 reviews from this member

 What a great site in a fantastic location, it is a typical club site good clean toilets and showers, helpful friendly staff, even though they were closing for the season in a couple of weeks.

If you want somewhere quiet and peaceful this is the place, sometimes I felt I should be speaking in whispers.

The walk along the bridal path Lee Bay is really scenic and worthwhile, carry on into Lynton, but don't be tempted to walk up the hill back it's only a mile but the hill is a bit of a killer far better to jump on the bus.

Be sure to follow directions in book not sat nav. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Meridian530 3 reviews from this member

 What a lovely quiet site! Neat and tidy, beautiful views and most importantly, the friendly, relaxed and obliging welcome.

Site pitches are pretty level, in fact, the hard standing we elected to take at the top of the site was absolutely level (the best we've ever had!). The grass pitches, despite a busy summer, are fresh and green with all credit to the management who encourage flexibility in positioning thereon.

Facilities are clean and there was plenty of hot water. There's a footpath nearby leading down, down, down to the Abbey (Christian Conference Centre) near Lee Bay and the Valley of Rocks (not to be missed) and walk on to join the well made-up coastal path with stunning views leading to Lynton where can be found cream teas, ice cream and a regular bus service (about hourly) which will get you back up the hill to within a short (relatively level) walk to the site.

Would we return here - yes: it would be our first choice. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Tibbetts 8 reviews from this member

 Lovely, clean, quiet site. Good space between pitches. A little quiet for us as very few kids facilities.

Walkable/cyclable to Lynton if you are physically fit.

Great access to lots of interesting places nearby. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: WWLL 60 reviews from this member

 We arrived on site following a stormy windy night, some tents and awnings had suffered during the storm. We were greeting by a friendly manager who was most helpful to all concerned and suggested the lead windy pitches.

We choose a flat level hard standing pitch. The site is close to Lynton & Lynmouth with it's many tourist attractions, the terrain is steep and the roads narrow so be prepared for this.

We enjoyed our stay including a drive around Exmoor and Porlock hill which is very pretty. 


Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Lynton Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lynton Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Lynton Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lynton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


42208 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement