Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Salisbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Salisbury > Salisbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Salisbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Hudsons Field
Castle Road
Salisbury
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SP1 3SA
Tel: 01722 320713
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 01/04/2021 to 04/01/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 96 Reviews
                8/10 from 96 Reviews

Photos (5)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  96 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Marber 7 reviews from this member

 When you get a warm welcome it does set you for a good stay. Wish we had stayed longer. Perfect to walk into Salisbury. Would definitely return.

Facilities were good though as usual those who really need them seem the furthest away. Only used the car once to Amesbury and walked to Stonehenge from there.

Quiet site on our visit with no noisy groups. Absolutely ideal to relax after miles of walking! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Stuee 12 reviews from this member

 Ideally located for walks to old Sarum and along a traffic free walk or cycle into Salisbury centre. ( About 30mins) and frequent buses back.

Plenty of level pitches for caravans, motorhomes and campervans.

Also level grass pitches with/without electricity.

It's just next to a massive public field ideal for dog walking and anything else outdoors. There's a nearby rugby club that welcomes campers and a social club just at the entrance to the field too. But the site remains predominantly quiet and respectful.

The staff and facilities are top notch and we would definitely return and recommend.

Our puppy loved the space too. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Janema 1 review from this member

 After driving through the rugby club turn off I made my way in my t2 down to the caravan site which over looks fields as far as the eye can see…I Arrived at 7pm on a beautiful sunny evening to be greeted by a cheery gentleman who then took up his cycle and I followed him to the bottom field on the grass which was to be my home for that night, it’s on an incline so if you have ‘levellers’ you might want to use them.

The site is definitely in a great position for walking into Salisbury, walks around the beautiful countryside and the sunset was glorious.

As I was only there for one night I didn’t have chance to use all the amenities but the ones I did use were clean, tidy and good for purpose.

In fact I had my own pop up loo tent which I used because the amenities from the very bottom of the field would’ve been quite a walk had I needed to use it in the middle of the night.

The other thing that was a bit frustrating was that at the rugby club there was some sort of celebration party going on and the music was very clear to hear…. However it did finish at 11ish I think…. Unless I just fell asleep !

I will certainly be returning when in the area. 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Dk168 25 reviews from this member

 I returned to this site with the aim to visit Salisbury and had a lovely stay.

The facilities blocks were closed for the first 2 days of my stay due to Covid-19.

When they were allowed to re-open on 17 May 2021, they were spotless as per usual.

The site has converted a number of their grass with EHU pitches in the lower field to hard standing pitches with EHU since I last stayed there in 2018.

There is no playground on site, however, there is a big field for recreation use next to it called Hudson Field - dogs love it there.

It may also be used to host large events; therefore, it is worth checking the local event listing pages first before booking to avoid them if one prefers a quiet stay.

Salisbury City Centre can be reached on foot in about 45min at a moderate pace along a route that is suitable for cycles, prams and mobility scooters.

Buses to and from the city centre stop along the main road close to the camp site, including weekends and public holidays. A return to and from the city centre was 3. 60 GBP during my stay.

It is a lovely site if one needs a base to visit the historic city of Salisbury and surrounding attractions such as Old Sarum next door and Stonehenge etc.

Highly recommended. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: RichardJCB 14 reviews from this member

 The site is quite large and open, on a slight slope.

The city is about 1 mile away, via a pleasant walk or cycle along the river side path.

There is a good view of the Old Sarum hill fort.

There is a large open space adjacent to the site, used for a variety of sporting activities.

The facilities were closed when we stayed, due to the coronavirus. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jemmab 1 review from this member

 We had a great stay even though it was only for 1 night, staff were so helpful

Campsite was lovely and clean, lovely walks for dogs and kids.

We will definitely be coming back for a longer stay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Keith silcock 8 reviews from this member

 This is a site we will be returning to, located just a stones throw from the city centre.

A fantastic cycle/footpath at the bottom of the site into the city.

Walks up the hills, a shame only one amenity block was open,

Massive site plenty of room, loads to do 


Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Igup 2 reviews from this member

 Great site, very warm welcome from Marcus & Lisa who are happy to share their local knowledge with you. Facilities all spotless and the large hard pitch stood up fine even during the yellow weather warning of wind and rain!.

Loved the view out over Old Sarum, only a 20 minute walk. Salisbury itself only a 30 minute walk or there are regular buses on the main road. You can also walk to either the co-op or waitrose for your shopping.

Motorhome service point has everything you need as do the showers, toilets and CDPs. Fog friendly and plenty of space for them to run around at Hudson Field.

Small shop with you essentials including calor gas.

Would not hesitate to recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: IanRammy 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 4 nights with the family - in our opinion this is a super site, ok the amenity blocks are a little aging but it did no detract from the great time we had at Salisbury.

The site staff couldn’t have been more friendly or more helpful.

The location is absolutely ideal for walking into the city, via the nearby river walk, or heading up towards Old Sarum. The city centre’s a peach of a place - historic, picturesque, not too large, oh - and full of good pubs and restaurants which we made sound use of!

This site and Salisbury in general was a revelation to us and we will most certainly be heading back for there for further visits. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lindilou2013 37 reviews from this member

 Really enjoyed our week on this well organised and extremely conveniently situated site. So much so we did think about extending our stay as there is so much to see and do nearby, however the New Forest called us!

Our welcome was warm and friendly and we found all the site staff to be friendly and well informed. We found a 'can do' attitude from them, which is a refreshing change to a lot of CCC sites these days. (We have a Basecamp with rear entry and awning and this seems to be a problem on other club sites but not this one. )

This site is less than two miles from Salisbury City Centre, yet despite this it was peaceful and if you pitch your unit in just the right way, you can enjoy a lovely rural view over Hudson's Field to Old Sarum and forget that you are so close to a city centre. Granted there are a lot of small planes flying over during daylight hours but they provide some interesting viewing as some are very old. Yes, there was a little road noise but hardly noticeable. I've stayed in far noisier sites in the countryside!

Most of the noise on the site came from dogs who are well catered for with the field next door and yet some owners still feel the need to walk their dogs on site.

No children's play area but there is Hudson's Field!

Facilities in both blocks are spotless if a little dated.

Wifi good.

Whilst we were there the grass was kept short at all times.

It was great to be able to hop on our bikes and cycle into Salisbury City Centre where there was a plethora of cycle stands. It is a good city for cycling in.

Local shops nearby.

Stonehenge and Avebury only a short drive (or cycle) away. Wilton House is a must. Lots of gorgeous chocolate box type villages nearby.

We shall return! 


Previous     96 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Salisbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Salisbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Salisbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6232 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement