Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Salisbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Salisbury > Salisbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Salisbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Hudsons Field
Castle Road
Salisbury
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SP1 3SA
Tel: 01722 320713
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 01/04/2021 to 04/01/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 92 Reviews
                8/10 from 92 Reviews

Photos (5)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  92 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: RichardJCB 14 reviews from this member

 The site is quite large and open, on a slight slope.

The city is about 1 mile away, via a pleasant walk or cycle along the river side path.

There is a good view of the Old Sarum hill fort.

There is a large open space adjacent to the site, used for a variety of sporting activities.

The facilities were closed when we stayed, due to the coronavirus. 


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jemmab 1 review from this member

 We had a great stay even though it was only for 1 night, staff were so helpful

Campsite was lovely and clean, lovely walks for dogs and kids.

We will definitely be coming back for a longer stay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Keith silcock 8 reviews from this member

 This is a site we will be returning to, located just a stones throw from the city centre.

A fantastic cycle/footpath at the bottom of the site into the city.

Walks up the hills, a shame only one amenity block was open,

Massive site plenty of room, loads to do 


Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Igup 2 reviews from this member

 Great site, very warm welcome from Marcus & Lisa who are happy to share their local knowledge with you. Facilities all spotless and the large hard pitch stood up fine even during the yellow weather warning of wind and rain!.

Loved the view out over Old Sarum, only a 20 minute walk. Salisbury itself only a 30 minute walk or there are regular buses on the main road. You can also walk to either the co-op or waitrose for your shopping.

Motorhome service point has everything you need as do the showers, toilets and CDPs. Fog friendly and plenty of space for them to run around at Hudson Field.

Small shop with you essentials including calor gas.

Would not hesitate to recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: IanRammy 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 4 nights with the family - in our opinion this is a super site, ok the amenity blocks are a little aging but it did no detract from the great time we had at Salisbury.

The site staff couldnít have been more friendly or more helpful.

The location is absolutely ideal for walking into the city, via the nearby river walk, or heading up towards Old Sarum. The city centreís a peach of a place - historic, picturesque, not too large, oh - and full of good pubs and restaurants which we made sound use of!

This site and Salisbury in general was a revelation to us and we will most certainly be heading back for there for further visits. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lindilou2013 34 reviews from this member

 Really enjoyed our week on this well organised and extremely conveniently situated site. So much so we did think about extending our stay as there is so much to see and do nearby, however the New Forest called us!

Our welcome was warm and friendly and we found all the site staff to be friendly and well informed. We found a 'can do' attitude from them, which is a refreshing change to a lot of CCC sites these days. (We have a Basecamp with rear entry and awning and this seems to be a problem on other club sites but not this one. )

This site is less than two miles from Salisbury City Centre, yet despite this it was peaceful and if you pitch your unit in just the right way, you can enjoy a lovely rural view over Hudson's Field to Old Sarum and forget that you are so close to a city centre. Granted there are a lot of small planes flying over during daylight hours but they provide some interesting viewing as some are very old. Yes, there was a little road noise but hardly noticeable. I've stayed in far noisier sites in the countryside!

Most of the noise on the site came from dogs who are well catered for with the field next door and yet some owners still feel the need to walk their dogs on site.

No children's play area but there is Hudson's Field!

Facilities in both blocks are spotless if a little dated.

Wifi good.

Whilst we were there the grass was kept short at all times.

It was great to be able to hop on our bikes and cycle into Salisbury City Centre where there was a plethora of cycle stands. It is a good city for cycling in.

Local shops nearby.

Stonehenge and Avebury only a short drive (or cycle) away. Wilton House is a must. Lots of gorgeous chocolate box type villages nearby.

We shall return! 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: John Janet 4 reviews from this member

 The main draw for us, as far as this site is concerned, is that it is an easy walk into the center of Salisbury, mainly along footpaths and the river. Ideal for a bit of sight-seeing and shopping.

The site is split into 2 fields, with the 2 facility blocks located in the top field. They are well up to normal C&CC standard, but why oh why do the press button showers have such a short run time? Is it really necessary to set it so the button has to be pressed every 10 seconds or so? I can't believe it saves that much water!

We were on a grass pitch, and it had a bit of a slope on it, as did most of the grass pitches as far as I could see. If a level pitch is a priority I'd opt for hard standing.

There was a constant hum of road noise, but mainly noticeable outside the van, so didn't really disturb us. What was more intrusive was the constant stream of light aircraft which take off over the site. On the plus side they did stop at night, and some of them must have been taking sky divers up, because we were entertained by several groups of parachutists coming down.

We would undoubtedly stop here again. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RIMMER 186 reviews from this member

 Agree with all positive comments so will just add a few not mentioned recently. During our stay the peace was shattered somewhat by aircraft noise but was very quiet at night. The bus service to Salisbury is very efficient and runs late at night. Surprised that there is no mention of the Rugby club next door where visitors are welcome to their bar and had three reals ales on from the local Hop Back brewery on my visit, doesn't do food though. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kingrp 2 reviews from this member

 Poorly managed site, outdated and in need of an upgrade, staff unfriendly and a very dog unfriendly site. Could do with s serious rethink. Probably the worst site I have ever visited. A very disappointing place to stay. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: TimCESmith 44 reviews from this member

 C&C Club sites are great for off-season tent camping, and this one is no exception: good ground, well kept, healthy grass, solid EHU and good facilities. It is on a rather sloped field, divided into two by a hedge just beyond the second, larger amenities block. We were pitched on the flattest bit, at the top of the lower area, sheltered by hedges and in the lee of the Salisbury Rugby Club buildings, whence came much roaring at the weekend. There were lovely views up the valley and to Old Sarum.

The location is superb. With Old Sarum 10 mins walk away and the city centre 30 mins stroll down the river via the world's most enormous and shiniest Waitrose, this'll be where I head come the zombie apocalypse. On the site itself there's a small shop in the friendly and helpful reception area. It only does the very basics - enough to get you through a hangover - but there's a Co-Op a few minutes' walk down the road. The site's weak points are that it's a bit of a car park when it's busy, with its grid of pitches covering the whole area, and the vehicle gate at the entrance: you have to stop and get out to open and shut it. Oh, and the hand dryers are terrible. In common with the other Club sites I've used, I wouldn't want to hang out here as a destination in its own right, but the area is amazingly rich in history and prehistory.

The new chucking out and booking in times of 12 noon and 1pm respectively worked very well for us - we were very nearly able to pack up dry - but there was a long line of motorhomes waiting to book in by the time 1pm rolled round.

To sum up: as long as you can get a flattish pitch this site is hard to beat. We paid £17. 45 per night including EHU. A keeper. 


Previous     92 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Salisbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Salisbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Salisbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2940 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement