Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Salisbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Wiltshire > Salisbury > Salisbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Salisbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Hudsons Field
Castle Road
Salisbury
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SP1 3SA
Tel: 01722 320713
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 150
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 114 Reviews
                9/10 from 114 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  114 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2024 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Dk168 48 reviews from this member

 Returned to Salisbury C&CC club site over the Easter weekend.

The site was not as busy as in previous Easter weekends, most likely due to a combination of Easter being early this year and the wet and windy weather, with not a tent in sight during my entire stay.

The combination locks on the doors of the main facilities block had gone, and there was a sign to say the water in the dishwashing room was not drinking water which was new to me this year as far as I can remember.

Otherwise nothing else had changed with plenty of very hot water in the showers, very clean facilities, and friendly and helpful staff as per usual.

For those who are researching for sites near Salisbury, this one is great with the large Hudson Field next door for exercising the dogs, and Salisbury city centre can be reached on foot in about 30 to 45min.

There was a regular visiting Hot Turtle wood-fire pizza pop up on Fridays (very good for what I had in previous years) and there is a Harvester just a short walk from the site. A Co-op is only a short-walk away, and there is a small shop on site stocking basic provisions. 


Date of Visit: March 2024 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jane Cooke 17 reviews from this member

 Staff made us feel welcome on arrival and took us to our pitch.

Facilities good and clean. Hot showers, clean loos.

The walk into Salisbury along the river is interrupted by works so we went on the main road as it was easier. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Raohno 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 4 nights, Monday through to Friday, we had a great welcome from the staff and directed to a hard standing pitch adjacent to one of the facility blocks, which we asked for when booking and the staff had reserved for us.

However the downside of this particular pitch which just shows ignorance of other campers as they walked to the facility block skimming past our awning and drove very close to our pitch as a short cut to bypass the circuitous route to cut across the grass pitches to exit the site.

Facilities are excellent with a laundry etc in the larger block and clean showers and bathrooms in both blocks. Black waste in the larger facility block and on the end of the reception building, there is a drive over grey waste dump which is strangely on the way in to the site, as it is a one way system in place you end up doing two circuits if dumping before leaving.

Plenty of walking area's and its a reasonable flat walk in to the city, there is a co-op on the main road if you just want a paper and a pint of milk.

We like this site which is convenient for the city and no doubt, will pitch up there again. 


Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 199 reviews from this member

 Having not stayed here for 8 years we were pleasantly surprised with the lovely 'new' hard-standings.

Fantastic, friendly welcome from the wardens and we were asked where we preferred to be pitched.

We managed to bag a lovely hardstanding in the top field, near the facilities, overlooking the view of Old Sarum. Perfect.

Good, clean facilities and never over busy, although the site was full.

Lovely walk up to Old Sarum Hill and a really good Harvester Restaurant opposite. Nice easy walk into the city of Salisbury (ask the wardens for written directions) with loads more walks in and around including the cathedral.

Co-op up on the main road a 10/15 minute walk from the site (past the spitfire!).

Pitches lower down did look to be quite sloping but ours was OK once up on levellers.

Once again our only issue was constant yapping dogs. We're dog lovers but it gets to you in the end!

Would it stop us staying again? Definitely not. A great site for a couple of nights in a motorhome if you don't want to drive around. 


Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Linda6 1 review from this member

 Beautiful well kept site

Friendly helpful staff

Very clean and tidy excellent facilities

With plenty of room between units

Would definitely recommend 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: TonyHarris 5 reviews from this member

 Super tidy and well appointed site with good size pitches.

Very helpful staff indeed.

Clean loos and dishwashing facilities

Good wi fi

Itís a busy site but very well appointed/organised 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Dk168 48 reviews from this member

 Returned to this site for the first trip of the season, to find they have finally installed an electric barrier, woo hoo!

It does not have number plate recognition, and entry is by means of entering a code in the key pad which looked could be a bit low for me in my VW Crafter PVC. However, I did not leave the site so I had not tried it.

Hot Turtle the pizza van was on site on Friday and I had a nice pizza from them as per usual.

More grass pitches had been turned into hardstanding pitches since my last visit in 2022, and the site is now open all year round.

The staff were as helpful as ever, with clean facilities as per usual. Apparently the shop is returning later this year in May 2023!

Booked for 5 nights and stayed for 4 as the weather turned foul with strong winds and heavy showers.

Otherwise a very pleasant stay when the weather was nice.

Highly recommended for visiting Salisbury as it is only a short walk away. 


Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Gailbonney 35 reviews from this member

 Site well signposted. Friendly welcome from wardens. Good sized pitches with hard standing.

Key code entry for toilets and barrier.

Right next to Old Sarum with excellent views of it.

Large park next to site, great for walking dogs.

Small Co op a few minutes away, the usual large supermarkets all with 3 miles of site.

Lots of great history within short drive of site.

We really loved Avebury!

The toilets are a little tired but were immaculately clean at all times as was the rest of the site.

Unfortunately, we were there when storm Noa hit which was not fun! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Griffp 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed two nights in February 2023.

As with our experience on most C&CC sites, well maintained and well laid out.

Good, clean facilities and never too busy.

There was some work taking place on the site at the time, I think new hardstandings were being laid, but it didn't affect us as we were out during the day and all work had stopped by the late afternoon.

We had a hardstanding pitch at the top of the site, near the facilities, overlooking the view of Old Sarum.

Plenty of walking in the area and a flat walk in to the city.

Good site if looking for a city stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fudge59 35 reviews from this member

 A nice quiet site near historic Old Sarum, and about 20 minutes walk into the centre of Salisbury.

The site gently slopes down to the non-electric area. The washrooms and toilets are very good, with cubicles for washing, all very clean.

The staff are welcoming and helpful and ensure that you are pitched within your allocated space.

Even though the site was busy, it didn't feel crowded at all.

There is a pizza van on some evenings, but book/pre-book early to avoid disappointment.

We've been coming to this site for a number of years now and will definitely be back. 


Previous     114 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Salisbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Salisbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Salisbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


55196 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement