Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sennen Cove Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Cornwall (West) > Penzance > Sennen Cove Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Sennen Cove Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Higher Tregiffian Farm
St Buryan
Penzance
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR19 6JB
Tel: 01736 871588
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: 01/04/2022 to 02/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 30 Reviews
                9/10 from 30 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Chris5mph 46 reviews from this member

 As well maintained as all club sites are.

The surrounding stone wall will not be much protection from bad weather (but that never happens in holidays!).

The layout could have been much better - the water point is in the corner by the entrance, so is a long walk from some pitches.

A water point in the centre, and pitches grouped in four circles would have been much pleasanter than the straight lines in use (but may have slightly reduced the number of pitches).

The nearby airfield (used by the Scilly Isles airline) has flights during the day, noise not too bad except on one of our days they appeared to be practising bumps and circuits with landings and take offs every ten minutes - drove us mad. 


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Magi B 6 reviews from this member

 A small site, with views to the sea, and stunning sunsets. Sennen is very open, and as itís close to the coast, windy.

We travel towing a small car. Otherwise, getting around would have been possible, but limiting. A bus service following a coastal route stops outside the camp.

There is apparently a walk to a nearby beach, but it is a fair distance, and entails navigating a steep slope. As we are Ďof a certain ageí we decided not to venture!

We have two dogs. The above beach is dog friendly, but difficult to access. Most other local beaches donít allow dogs till after six. A section of the beach between Newlyn and Penzance allows dogs, as does the cove at Lamorna.

The site itself has a field specifically for dog walking which is extensive and charming. It is a meadow with walks cut into it, so you walk through golden grasses and a variety of wild flowers.

The approach roads were not problematical which is important to us as we are a fair-sized rig and towing a small car.

The staff at the site were welcoming and helpful. There is a small shop for essentials, and plenty of information on local attractions is available. 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Lasara 1 review from this member

 Amazing location and very good facilities. From the camp you can see an breathtaking sunset.

It is very close to sennen and to lands end.

All the facilities very clean and amazing people on site! Very recommend 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Cathry 1 review from this member

 An excellent site In a beautiful location for a get away from it all break.

The facilities are immaculate and Covid procedures are in place. It is more suited to adults rather than children in due of the location and steep access to the beach.

The sunset on a clear day is absolutely stunning. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 13 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sam 8 reviews from this member

 Have a folding camper:

Went end of June beginning of July. While parts of the UK baked in 26 degrees + we had cooler conditions which was great. When the sun came out it was fierce.

The campsite is an open field with hard standing pitchers around the edges. More than previous years. Just hope they donít add anymore. This means if you want a grass pitch it will either be in the field near the dog walk or in the middle. We did have 2 days of high winds Max 60mph. A couple of awnings and tents were taken down as they would have been damaged. We had a storm strap on the main cabin and awning and she was ok. A bit battered but ok. It is an open campsite and not a lot of shade or relief/cover from winds.

We went in June and didnít have to queue for showers but I did go in the evening.

All are cleaned each day and do sparkle.

Both sets of managers will help and are really nice people. Assistant manager Jim was brilliant and he was always happy to help and really cared if you had a great holiday/time. Nothing was ever too much trouble for him.

St Just isnít too far away and has a co-op, pastie shop and deli shop that do fab takeaway salads. Itís past the airport.

You can see the airfield from your pitch and There isnít that much noise.

Minack theatre 🎭 is quite near but if you do go during the day. There is no shade and take a cushion as the seats are stone!

St Ives isnít too far away and is lovely to visit. Quite a few steep hills if you're unsteady on your feet.

Loads of little beaches and coves a short drive away. Praa sands is especially lovely which has lifeguards.

The chip van will visit the site twice a week but you can also go into Sennen over the roundabout and there is a post office/shop and chippy next door.

Sennen beach is beautiful a no sandy and is also lifeguarded. Marizion beach is pebbles and hurt your feet so I took shoes I could wear to swim.

There a 3 major supermarkets within shirt distance from each other in Penzance. You can eat at the cafe at Sainsburyís and sit on the veranda and look out over St Michealís Mount.

Penzance town is ok but tired. I would drive around to see if itís worth parking and paying car park fees first.

This is our 4 time and is well worth the very long drive from Berkshire.

Would highly recommend and weíll definitely be going back.

Enjoy

X

Ps. Donít have children so lowest rating. There is a playground but I really didnít pay any attention to it. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Damaca 73 reviews from this member

 This is a pleasant medium-sized site, with all the facilities (which are very good) that you could need, and friendly helpful staff. Everything is well cared-for and clean. New, I think, this year, is site-wide free wifi which at our pitch was of excellent strength.

It is very exposed though, being essentially one large field high up on a hill, without any hedges or trees to break up the wind - and it can be very windy- it is near Land's End after all. The field is just surrounded by a low-ish wall with far-reaching views over the countryside and the sea.

The walk down to Sennen Cove itself takes about an hour, whichever of the 2 or 3 available routes you use. Sennen Cove is lovely when you get there, and it is an easy half-hour walk onwards to Land's End, which is well worth going to and much less tacky than we had feared. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Margalot 1 review from this member

 We had a 2 night stop here in the heatwave! Beautiful clean and very spacious site. A really great welcome by the staff, we were a tad early but no problem. The site was a bit breezy but under the circumstances of it being the hottest few days it was welcome. We used the laundry facility which was good value.

The site has a walk down to Gwynver Beach, but be aware of the steep climb back up, we struggled in the heat! Bus services to and from Penzance at St Ives are frequent and there is an open top double decker that dares to take on the narrow lanes! Just hope you don't meet it on your way into the site like our neighbours did! Fish and Chip van visits. Lovely dog walk on site around a non mown field with a mown path cut into it.

Definitely a site to relax on and feel you can breathe with all the space around you 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 6mantent 11 reviews from this member

 In summary an excellent, well run, if exposed, site in a prime part of the UK.

We have just returned from an excellent visit to this gem of a site. This is just a lovely site, in a absolutely beautiful part of the UK.

Arrival: Greeted warmly and shown to our pitch - we were suggested a pitch by the play park, but we preferred a pitch slightly further away which was accommodated after a check on bookings. We planned our journey to arrive as close to the 'Club' directive of 1pm; but we were later to find that the site is much more flexible with this policy which is welcomed given that many people plan to avoid the hordes descending on the county /area during the summer holiday period. The C&CC I feel need to have a policy review for sites such as these and booking arrangements to suit.

The site/facilities: Quite a small-med site by C&CC club standards. Just off the A30; near the lovely location of sennen cove. I have never seen such well trimmed grass. Play park available - hub of the site for children and my daughter made friends very quickly.

Football park away from the main site - nice touch. Sunsets are amazing if the weather is good. Be warmed that there can be winds on a fine day and also mist - very changeable conditions even within a few miles of here. Expect wind, drizzle, mist, blazing humidity and lots of sunshine and change ! The beaches are BEAUTIFUL in good weather.

Often had to queue to shower and for toilets. But this is peak season - so cant comment at other times. Washer/drier (single one of each) is available - but heavy queuing experienced at our stay. Also miffed at the smart arsed lady who washed her pots in the laundrette sink despite the VERY clear notice. Whilst others had the decency to queue. All I can say is I hope no one has been washing their smalls after a bout of Norovirus ;)

Pack suncream, waterproofs as well as delta pegs if you are a camper! I wouldn't recommend blow up tents at this site - I saw first hand 2 destroyed and crippled by the moderate winds. Come prepared people!

We have a expensive polycotton tent but the relentless winds drove some water through on 1-2 days of our 10 night stay.

Food & provisions: Site sells limited provisions, but there is a cost cutter at Sennen and also a shop at St Just. Be aware on busy periods that at busy times parking is limited at the cost cutter and essentials such as milk, cheese, bread and BBQ provisons/beer can often be in short supply so get there early folks ! Longer drive (30 min round trip drive) into penzance gives you access to 3 major brand supermarkets.

Things to do:

Must to walk to the beach locally noted in Gwyver - id say half an hour. Be prepared from a steep climb at the end of the day back up and across fields, so one for the fit and able and pushchair less.

Nice gallery in sennen as is a couple of pubs/resturants.

Recommend an evening summer walk across the coastal path to 'proper lands end' (drive to the sennen harbour carpark) after the crowds have gone. Lovely walk with some great views.

If you have money to burn and appreciate poor value for money then recommend a photo at the 'moved' lands end post and 'shaun the sheep experience'. Otherwise just walk and get some exercise and take some great photos of the coastline / Dr Syntaxs head etc and get the best experience for nothing. :) 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Johnny78 2 reviews from this member

 I arrived late afternoon on a Monday the first week in July, by myself for a quiet 9 day break, the welcome from the couple running the site was very professional and friendly.

After setting my tent up, I had a wonder round the site to familiarize myself with the facilities. All was in great working order and clean. The site grounds were beautifully kept and maintained.

The location is spot on for peace and quiet, even the airport nearby was seldom used, so didn't interfere with relaxing.

Although they do have a fish & chip van turn up twice a week, I would suggest a trip to 190 Degrees West chippy further towards Lands End, next door to this is a Post Office and cost-cutters with surprisingly inexpensive supplies.

Sennon Cove itself is a small beach 'village', (good luck if you can get a parking space at peak times) it seems to offer the minimum facilities, and offers a good clean beach.

If you prefer a supermarket, Penzance isn't far to drive, but the town itself is a little run down

Overall I would highly recommend this site and location, and wouldn't hesitate to book again.

I would agree with the comment about the exit of the site by 'SAM', be attentive and cautious of traffic when leaving the site 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lms0110 50 reviews from this member

 A fantastic site close to the coast path. Great wardens, flat pitches where we had the sun all day long. Good dog walk and dog friendly beach close by. Buses stop at site entrance that will take you to St Just or Lands End, no charge for dogs. Dated but spotlessly clean amenities block. Fab fish & chip van visits on a Monday. Will definitely return to this site, one of the best 


Previous     30 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sennen Cove Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sennen Cove Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sennen Cove Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Penzance      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2785 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement