Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Carlton Miniott Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Thirsk > Carlton Miniott Park Reviews

Carlton Miniott Park
Sandhutton Lane
Carlton Miniott
Thirsk
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO7 4NH
Tel: 01845 523106
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Seasonal Pitches Only
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 9 Reviews
                8/10 from 9 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Skiloony 4 reviews from this member

 Be aware this site no longer takes touring caravans.

Seasonal Pitches Only.

27/09/2015 having contacted the site to enquire about staying I have been advised that they no longer have any touring pitches and that the whole site is now seasonal. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Carolemayo 3 reviews from this member

 Party of 6 adults & 9 children in 3 large tents, pitched all together in central grass area, site very clean, facilities good, path electricity on cards so only pay for what you use, free WiFi access too, quiet location (apart from 2 yapping dogs - who fortunately left on our 2nd night) lovely children's park 5 mins walk away, nice walks round the lakes. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Lots to do in area, nice takeaways / pubs in Thirsk. Definitely going to return here again. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bignose+jo 12 reviews from this member

 We've just returned from a two night stay at this site. A very good site with clean facilities. The owners/staff are very friendly and even lent us an electric cable as we had forgotten ours.

A very easy site to get to within easy walking distance of a couple of pubs and a good base to tour North Yorkshire.

Very reasonable booking fees, fishing lakes and easy access to the site.

Electricity is paid for in advance and makes use of a credit card that you put into the electricity post. This will tell you how many units you have left in kWh. We used 15kWh over two nights. You then insert the card, press a red button and then take you record of unused units back to the site office and get your refund.

We never used them, but showers are 50p a go. We did wash however, but used our van's shower!

A good, clean, well-run site. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Angfal 2 reviews from this member

 My family and I had a pleasant stay at Carlton Minniott Park. We were fortunate to camp close to shower block, wash room and water tap, although none of the pitches were too far away.

The site was very quiet and there was no disturbance from other campers after 10pm.

Whilst the park doesn't have a children's play area, there is a great children's play area 200m up the lane and also a playing field.

On an evening we would walk or drive to the Vale of York Pub which served nice food and had a pool room.

Tesco supermarket and Lidl is a 5 minute drive away in the town of Thirsk, we also went to Thirsk Swimming Baths and had a walk round the shops at Thirsk.

Campsite prices were similar to surrounding campsites and the owners were very observant as to who was on site and if extra charges applied for guests, dogs etc.

Overall we gad a great time. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Montesa 36 reviews from this member

 We stayed for a pleasant long weekend during rare dryish but cool weather with brief sunshine.

This site is listed as a 'Fishing Site' see below !

Site is easy to find but slightly confusing on the driveway, off the lane through the gates. Bear off to right, through the new brick gateway for touring site, straight ahead for the seasonal / lakeside pitches.

The touring site is not on the lakes, this is seasonal pitches only, it is only a short walk though.

Toilet block good (showers 50p), electric on pay as you use top up cards, refund for un-used electric. Pitches grass, bit un-level on some, have a look if choice. Warden helpful.

Pleasant enough to walk around lakes albeit seasonal caravans almost everywhere.

Minor passing Train noise in backround, not an issue to us.

Falcon centre nearby very good, timed displays.

Convenient for shops / pubs etc. Nearby Kids playground said to be good & popular.

Fishing on the 2 lakes. We tried both lakes with virtually no success, all sorts of baits, pegs, timings, prep & methods, just some small perch and probably a couple of pike, snapped x2, all on worm. The lakes have very variable depths but very very clear water. Evidence (and rumours / stories) of otters / mink about with a very large (very dead) bream laid at side of lake part eaten.

We sighted some carp, about 6, cruising the small pond (no interest in floating baits !) and heard stories of larger tench / bream. We saw no evidence of silver fish at all around, no rises at sunset even with lots of bugs & insects on the water.

It is also clear that sadly both lakes are little fished except for the hungry pike currently left(the message from Woodlands 1/2 mile along the road). We decided to go and fish the nearby Woodlands complex which is a serious & busy commercial venture at the other extreme. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kev barker 1 review from this member

 Just had a wet weekend at carlton miniott park, but in saying that the site was first class from the welcome till the leaving,

The toilet block was spotless and 50p for a 10 minute hot shower isnt bad. Although the office isn't always open there is always someone about on site if needed,

A very peaceful and friendly site.

Tesco only 5 minutes in the car away the village has one shop and three pub all serving food. A revisit is a must. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Redjeni 4 reviews from this member

 We have just got back from an enjoyable bank holiday weekend at the site. It now has a new touring park which only opened last Thursday and it was already quite busy this weekend.

There is a new purpose built toilet/shower block that has 3 toilets and one shower per guest. They are very roomy and shower tokens are available at the booking office (50p)they last around 10 mins, plus its very roomy and I took my two daughters in with me and we had plenty of space, hooks and a chair for clothes and only needed to use one token!

There is an indoor pot room which also houses two washing machines and driers. As a previous reviewer mentions, the play area is off site but my three children (13, 11 and 7) walked down and played whilst we packed up without any trouble.

This is a site we have used before, we used to keep our caravan here and will be using again now we can take our tent!

There are two local pubs and we went to the The Red House for a meal on Saturday night with the children, very enjoyable and reasonably priced. Thirsk racecourse is close by and we enjoyed a ride out to Whitby.

The site is tucked away from the road so there is no issue with noise from traffic but you can here the occasional train go past. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Quinny2509 1 review from this member

 Has two lakes, you can use sailing devices on the main lake such as canoes, small fishing boats or sailing boats. You can actually swim in the Lake as many of the children and adults do that are part of the site. The site is peaceful and quite as it is classed as a nature reserve. Just what you want to get away from the hussle and bussle of the city or a long week at work.

At the moment the owner is adding camping facilities to the site so that tourers can camp at the site. There is a new shower and toilet block been added with wash facilities for pots and pans. The toilet bock that is currently on the site that is used by the regular residents of the site is clean and tidy with sufficient toilets and showers (showers 50p a token) for both ladies and gents with wash facilities for pots and pans and a chemical disposal point at the side of the block. The owner also has bins for septate waste rubbish to help with recycling.

When you turn into the lane before the campsite there is a park for children, this however is not part of the campsite and is not the owners responsibility. There is also public transport services within close walking proximity and taxi's that are reliable. It is about an half hour walk into Thirsk town centre. 


Reviewer: billymel 1 review from this member

 June 2004
Just spent the weekend here and surprised it wasn't in the list of sites on this forum. It's a private Nature reserve with 2 large lakes, with fishing, and plenty of wildlife, the ducks and geese are quite happy to feed out of your hand. There's showers (20p) and good clean toilet facilities, along with washing and waste disposal. Unfortunately there is no park for the kids so if you just like to spend time in the country relaxing it's great, but the kids might get a bit bored. The price is good too, 8 for tent and car. 1 per adult and 50p per child over 5 per night. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Carlton Miniott Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Carlton Miniott Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Carlton Miniott Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Thirsk      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3189 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement