Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Bat And Ball Pub Country Pub And Haywards Restaurant

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > West Sussex > Site Reviews

The Bat And Ball Pub Country Pub And Haywards Restaurant
Newpound Common
Wisborough Green
Billingshurst
West Sussex   (Browse area)
RH14 0EH
Tel: 01403 700199
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 23 Reviews
                7/10 from 23 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: FFSpickaname 1 review from this member

Camped here last week and have to say we will be back.

The site is well managed by a very friendly couple who genuinely want to improve the site and the facilities on it.

There is plenty of room and the as mentioned the toilets are fairly new and in the mens at least there are two toilets and two showers, which were fine.

The site is located on a country road, which can be a bit noisy, but don't let this put you off in any way. Most of the pitches appear to have hook up, which is an extra 5. 00 per night.

There is a village store about a mile down the road, which sells the basics and a Sainsburys in Billingshurst.

I would thoroughly recommend you bring a lot of your own food and drink, as if you plan to eat and drink from the pub, you are going to be very poor, very quickly.

The food is of very good quality and appears to be worth the extra cost but the drinks are poorly priced, with a large coke being nearly 4. 00 and a pint of larger nearly touching 6. 00.

Don't see how they can justify that, but you can make your own choices!

The pub, rightly or wrongly is set up like a restaurant, with little or no seating (you may be able to sit outside) if you are drinking only, until after 21. 00, when they stop serving food.

In summary, this is agreat little site, run by great staff, but bring your own supplies!

Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Broombroomsteps 1 review from this member

This site has changed hands it's no longer the bat and ball it's now called The Wisborough, they have replaced the old showers and toilets with new heated facilities including disabled, there is plenty of space, very relaxed attitude. The pub on site serves high quality food, even though there is no children's menu they will do a half size adult meal for half the price. Had a lovely walk along the wey & Arun canal. There is also fishers farm which is a big adventure play centre for children which is about 200yards from sight. There is a bus stop 50yards from sight. Whisbourgh green is about 15min walk where you can find a general store, a cafe, hairdressers, a couple of good pubs and a play ground in the green.

We stayed during a wet week-end, worried about sinking we pitched in the car park, the hook ups were quite a distance away, we had bought a long lead as were pre warned on booking, which did reach, we were offered an extension which luckily we didn't need. Campfires are welcome which is great for roasting marshmallows, will be back in the summer where we feel we will have a great stay.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Julesin 1 review from this member

Fliss and Ben made our weekend the most relaxing ever. We arrived friday, had prebooked a meal and was late. However this was not a problem. Entertainment that evening was superb along with the meal.

Throughout the whole weekend and bearing in mind it rained most of it and was busy, Fliss Ben and all the bar staff remained happy and relaxed.

The campsite was good and spacious pitches.

We had our own wash facilities in the caravan but had a look at the washrooms anyway. They were basic

But adequate. A lovely farm shop opened daily with fresh essentials

We walked twice to Wisborough Green (20min) walk. Two pubs and general stores.

Will definitely be back soon

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fluffspangle 3 reviews from this member

We stayed at the Bat and Ball as we saw an offer on Group-on and wanted to test our new tent before going further afield.

I had a little trouble booking as the owners weren't around when I called and none of the other staff seemed to know anything about the camping. When I did get hold of Fliss she was great and sent me the booking form while I was still on the line just too be sure I got it.

We had the same trouble with the casual staff when we arrived. But were told just to pitch in either of the two camping fields and sort it our later. When we went back in the evening for our food they still didn't know how to take our payment or deal with our enquiries!

The food was average pub fair - definitely nothing special and the things in the descriptions didn't arrive (no gravy on the sausage and mash, bought in pies). I would normally say something but didn't want to cause more confusion or delay, especially as we had our young son with us. The pizza we had on the second night was better and there was a different offer on every day so the food could be very good value. They had music on which helped to create more atmosphere on what could have been a quiet Monday night.

The pitches were fine and flat with a tall hedge around the perimeter to provide privacy and shade but you could still hear cars going past on the quite busy road at night.

The toilets were fine, though my husband complained there were no mirrors in the gents.

The farm shop didn't appear to be open when we were there but maybe we had to ask.

The pubs in Wisborough green were nice - especially the Three Crowns, but most of the time it was hard to see the point of leaving the perfectly good pub on our doorstep.

The whole place looked a bit tatty and neglected if you looked too hard but the offers helped us feel happy with our good value break.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: TheRichardsons 2 reviews from this member

We have just spent a lovely weekend at the Bat and Ball pub/campsite, The owners made us feel very welcome and couldn't have done anything more to make our stay better.

They have been at the pub since it reopened last August 2013, the facilities have been improved massively, with new toilet and shower facilities. A few more hook up pitches have been added as well.

There's the added bonus of the owner's on site farm shop which is open from 10-2 and 4-6, wood is available upon request at 5 per bag. We had a lovely dinner on Saturday night in the pub, a lovely range of pizzas and pub classics.

There is Fisher Farm park a short 5 minute walk down the lane, which was a great day for the family. We will definitely be coming back to the Bat and Ball.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Crow1 5 reviews from this member

We visited this site at the end of may, loved the level field, pub great, area very nice,

But the facilities are the worst I have seen for a long time, there were just 2 loos & 1 shower, when we arrived they were not even clean, the shower door was broken in 2,

The washing up area had no hot water & the drain was overflowing, we paid 15 per night for this!

When the site filled up it was apparent that there were not enough facilities for the amount of people there!

A great shame as could have been so nice, we were with 3 other family's & 2 groups nearly went home early as they were in tents so needed the facilities

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sassi1960 1 review from this member

We stayed just the one night, would have stayed longer if not for work the following day. Loved the campsite and the surrounding area. The pub is very traditional the food well cooked and reasonably priced. The staff were extremely friendly and knowledgeable about the local area.

Lovely, quiet site, that is situated fairly close to the coast and the South Downs.

Only one downside, the toilet/shower facilities left a lot to be desired, in the ladies the hot water heater didn't supply water immediately, the front covering of the sinks was peeling away, a radiator had been pulled from the wall and a message reading not to flush the toilet if someone was taken a shower.

The cleanliness of both ladies and gents was not good.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Superace 1 review from this member

This is a great getaway site and situated next to Fishers Farm Park which is really handy for entertaining the kids,it is a popular site for families and is very child friendly. The facilities are pretty dated but after talking to the Landlord, these facilities are due to be updated by the Brewery by next season.

They had a Medieval Jousting Tournament on our visit and it was superb. The Pub food was great along with the Ales and the staff are all friendly and ready to assist. The Pub itself has a history dating back to the 15 century and the Landlord always has the time to talk about its past.

The only downside are the facilities, not enough, but after our last visit last season the shower block has been completely re-decorated, with new paths laid, just mud and grass last year, and new showers installed, so plenty of hot water and they have now built in a crock wash that was badly needed.

The new owners are looking at creating more for the kids to do and more entertainment for the evenings, all power to his elbow as we will definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mmurfitt 5 reviews from this member

My husband and I stayed at this site for one night with friends & two children. The positives of the site is that the pitches are level, there are nice places to walk from the site and there is a farm that would be a good day out for the family just down the road. The pub on site was also pretty good, we had a nice lunch there and the staff were friendly.

Unfortunately the negatives outweighed the positives for us. We were pitched right next to a very busy road. There were two very large groups staying and they made a lot of noise until the early hours of the morning and were then up and very awake at 6am the next day. Needless to say it was difficult to get much sleep.

There are only 2 toilets and 1 shower for females and I think the same for the men. The quality of the facilities are pretty poor, they're old and tired. None of our party were willing to use the shower for fear of someone walking in as there's no door to close - there's just a basic shower curtain that is very visible from the road outside if the door to the cabin is left open (which it usually was).

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fen Marshall 13 reviews from this member

Stayed 4 nights for a wedding in nearby village. Quiet site (worth avoiding the road; it is surprisingly busy) until everyone turned up for the Bank Holiday. It then became busy but everyone was friendly and landlord/ warden cleaned the toilets which are woefully inadequate for number on site! At least the Warden warned us it would be manic with a 40th birthday party in the marquee on the Saturday. By 11. 30 it was quiet!
No EHU. Lovely area with lots to do; walk the Wey walk/ Arun canal.

Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1368 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!