Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Church Farm Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Merseyside > Thurstaston > Church Farm Certificated Site Reviews

CLOSED: Church Farm Certificated Site
Church Lane
Thurstaston
Merseyside   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 11 Reviews
                6/10 from 11 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this campsite has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches, although the Farm Park itself remains open. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bendog 21 reviews from this member

 I have just returned from Church Farm and found it to be a nice site with very friendly staff. The site is really ideal if you have small children as it has lots of animals for them to see, also go carts and play areas for them to use. There is a nice pub within walking distance that does food if you want it. At 18. 50 a night for two adults and a dog it is a bit on the expensive side but if you have kids it is worth it because you get to do the farm free and as many times as you want while you are there. Just one toilet block with one shower but is kept clean. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mike Skip 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for a long weekend. Great site with spectacular views of North Wales. Had our 4 year old niece with us and had a great time enjoying all the children's' activities - tractor rides, feeding some of the animals, wandering through the maze. Even have swings and pedal cars! Farm shop and café were really good, the shop sells some unusual food products. We were lucky with the weather, so we really appreciated being able to walk around the farm and enjoy the views. The shower & toilet block was really good - apparently it's brand new and only opened a few weeks earlier. Clean and well managed. All the staff were really friendly and great with the kids when participating in events. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Debsy 122 reviews from this member

 We went to Church Farm for one night - didn't get there til after 5 and left at 10. 20 so saw no members of the public.

It's not all C&CC - we were on the grass pitches opposite the animals which are for non members. We paid £18. 50 for two adults and electric. That is quite dear because this isn't really a campsite in the sense that you have freedom to wander about with no members of the public there, as soon as it's opened the public would be right opposite you - hardly ideal I would have thought, say having a late breakfast with loads of people walking past.

Showers and toilets ok but not great - didn't actually try the shower but floor and loo roll were dirty - probably dropped on the floor!

You wouldn't stay here for more than a couple of nights - it would be fab if you had little ones cos you could do the farm park as you are in there already so to speak, and then go out another day an not come back til 5!

Staff were great, had no problems. There's an organic farm shop for the public but no camp shop. 


Date of Visit: November 2011 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Burneyblaze 1 review from this member

 I loved the tractor ride and the variety of animals also the view of Wales and the river dee

I loved the whole time there unless it is raining but what can you expect in a tent 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Albp 2 reviews from this member

 We live locally and wanted to test our second-hand caravan for the first time.

Beautiful location with views stretching over the Dee to North Wales. Friendly and helpful staff and fellow caravaners.

Great fun farm for the kids - our kids woke up to the sound of cockerels, ran out of the awning and into the play area and animal pens (check out the meerkats!) which they had to themselves for a couple of hours (this opens to the public at 10am).

Electric hook-up by each caravan and toilets not far away with clean/grey water facilities.

A memorable first night in our 'van' 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stanmoor 6 reviews from this member

 Must agree with other comments. The facilities are poor and often dirty as well as being open for public use. The ladies shower lacks privacy as the frosted glass window allows a view of those using it.

The men's shower was so weak it was like being in a humid greenhouse - eventually you begin to feel wet.

A serious problem I feel which needs to be addressed is the field for caravans being used by visitors to the farm attraction. Children were wandering around the field and the caravans on their way to the maze, sometimes unsupervised at times with family groups. Caravan security and the children's security is a risk here.

I would imagine if you have children the site is ideal but it leaves a lot to be desired - particularly at a charge of £21 a night for 2 adults.

Quiet when the day visitors have left after 5pm but noisy until then, didn't really notice the road noise though. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ina 25 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this site for 2 nights. It is actually in 2 parts: one is a CS from the C&CC, and then in another part are 9 pitches. The CS has 5 hardstandings and the other site is all on grass.

One important thing about this site, although it is a CS from the C&CC, is that it does NOT allow tents or trailer tents.

We were booked on the CS, where there was 1 pitch spare. We went to have a look and decided against it, as it was literally just over the hedge from the busy A540. We were allowed to pitch on the other site, and as that was a little further away from the road, chose a pitch there. But you could still hear the traffic all the time, although at least not on the other side of the hedge!

The pitches are divided by the access road, there are 4 at one side, and 5 on the other. There was 1 pitch free on the 'top' side, but as that had a middenheap at the side of it, we decided against that as well, choosing one of the remaining 2 free ones at the bottom. The drawback of those pitches is that they are next to the overflow car park for people visiting the attractions, although it closes at 5 pm and so in the evening there are no cars parked there.

Pitches are also quite sloping, so chocks are definitely a must.

I think this site is ideal for little, and some bigger!, children, as all attractions are free to people staying on the site.

Having said that, I did find the WC's and showers not to be that clean, WC's are used by the public all day of course and it shows. Next morning they were not that much cleaner. There is 1 shower in the ladies and another in the men's, but the men's is up 3 steps, and it is within the whole space that has a WC and shower. There are another 2 WC's at the side of the CS. Showers were very roomy, water hot, but again not that clean.

Also thought the site a bit on the pricey side, £13 per night for 2 adults, NOT including EHU, that is an extra £3.50. A full awning is charged at £2 and a porch awning at £1. Price per child is £3.00, making it a total of £24.50 per night for 1 unit, 2 adults and 2 children, plus EHU and full awning. Rather on the expensive side I think even with the attractions included. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Phillips69 1 review from this member

 We only stayed one night, and had asked prior to booking AND on arrival if we could leave at teatime the following day, and were told we could as nobody was due to use our pitch.

We also paid extra for our parents to stay to help put up our awning even though they did not use any of the site facilities.

We were then a bit put out to be told at 2pm we should have paid an extra £7 to stay until 5pm as that was the site rules, we were made to feel uncomfortable as if we were trying to pull a fast one and this spoilt our short stay.

The good point of the site is the majority of the staff are friendly, the downside apart from the poor staff communication are the limited shower and washing up facilities and the sloping pitches, and the tractor ride is used to blatantly sell the site 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Michyp44 8 reviews from this member

 We booked a five night stay here for the second week of the Easter holidays. Like the previous reviewer we thought the site was 'perfect' in almost everyway.

Our daughters, aged five and three, loved the animals, the tractor rides, go karts and play area (almost as much as their Dad)! We were lucky enough to see some baby chicks while we were there and our three year old took great delight in being allowed to pet a lamb with the farmer.

There was also an indoor colouring room, which proved very useful on a particularly wet day.

The pitch was roomy (though would advise chocks as on a slope), the staff were all very friendly and the Farmer suggested a great circular walk from the site that we could do with the girls.

The only slight gripe was that the showers, though clean, were too cold, but it certainly didn't detract from a great site which we will definitely return to again and again.

The surrounding area is lovely - with lots of easy walks and bike rides. Thurstaston beach is only a short walk from the site (though West Kirby Beach is only a short drive away if you want a more sandy beach).

The site shop stocked a great variety of organic foods, nice cheeses and specialist wines and beers, but Tesco is only five minutes in the car for basics.

Highly recommend this site! 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Merseyside

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1330 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement