Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Silver Birches Campsite ( Snowdonia )

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon > Silver Birches Campsite ( Snowdonia ) Reviews

CLOSED: Silver Birches Campsite ( Snowdonia )
Cynefin
Betws Garmon
Caernarfon
Gwynedd   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 72 Reviews
                10/10 from 72 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  72 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has now permanently closed due to retirement, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Kirstsw 39 reviews from this member

 What a little gem of a site. It is very small but tranquil and peaceful. The owners are very friendly and welcoming. We paid 13 without electric. There a lots of additional little touches that make this site special. The use of a microwave, hairdryer and kettle with donations via an honesty box for use of electric. The toilets and showers are very clean. There are walks a plenty in the area and the owner has graded these with distance and time, this was really helpful. Thank you for such a lovely stay we'll definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Countrymouse 5 reviews from this member

 Perfect location for climbing Snowdon, and also great for lots of other varied days out, we only stayed 5 nights but we spent time in the lovely coastal town of Conwy, walked some coast path and paddled on the beach, as well as conquering Snowdon, which is an immensely satisfying walk, while being achievable by fairly inexperienced walkers.

Following advice from the campsite owner we took the Ranger path up Snowdon, an approx. 8 mile route, which is not scary or edgy and the views are amazing. I feared that the visitor centre at the summit would spoil the sense of achievement of having climbed it, but it was actually really nice to sit and have a cup of tea and buy a souvenir before beginning the decent.

Anyway, the site itself is adults only, a feature which I cannot recommend highly enough, having stayed on 2 adults only camp sites this year, I don't ever want to go back to being woken up at 8am by children riding their bikes and shouting, or listening to harassed parents trying to get their little darlings to go to bed before the tired tantrums start in the evening.

The site owner is lovely, she greeted us with a tray of tea and biscuits in dainty bone china cups on arrival. (I'm pleased to say we didn't break them, despite the resident cat's best efforts). Don't be put off by the seemingly endless list of rules that gets emailed out as soon as you make an inquiry. They are fairly standard campsite rules such as no noise after 11pm, but the presentation of all of them at the very begging of the communication can seem a bit off-putting. The site owners also require full payment up-front, which is a bit unusual, but I can assure you it is worth taking the risk on this little gem of a site.

The facilities are lovely an clean and well maintained, and the owners are full of helpful information about things to see and do in the area if you care to get chatting with them.

When we went in late June there were a LOT of midges about. This was the only thing that spoiled it for us, as they made it impossible to sit outside in the evening, every tent on the site seemed to be zipped up with residents inside by dusk. I know people who have been slightly later in the year and had no problem with midges at all though. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Gypsydi 10 reviews from this member

 A wonderful site in a lovely location with such welcoming owners. Every little thing to make your stay comfortable has been thought about including a micro wave, use of electric kettle for campers. It may be small but really lovely. It was really cheap as well. We paid 12 a night. We did not use EHU. It is not suitable for large motor homes. Walks can be done from the site or the bus can be caught that runs just outside the site. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Susan-J 5 reviews from this member

 Beautiful and peaceful! Stayed here for two nights at the start of July. On arrival there's a handy map of the site on the gate, showing your pitch, and a bell to press to summon the owner, which also summons a cheerful little black dog with a woofing welcome. The owner was really helpful and friendly and gave us a tour of facilities before showing us to our pitch. The site is small but all so much more lovely for that; bordered on one side with the woods and looking on the other over to a very impressive Mynyndd Mawr.

Facilities are excellent; three loos, two washrooms and two showers located in a pleasingly solid building, beautifully clean and nice and spacious - loads of room in the shower cubicle for changing and hanging up gear. The showers are also free and hot which allows for a good satisfying clean up after a day on the hills. There's also a little washing up room, with freezer for ice blocks, book swap, local leaflets, bus and train times and a kettle and microwave charged via an honesty box. Outside, there's a handful for picnic tables for camper's general use, including one under a covered pergola in case of rain, which is a nice thought.

We used our stay as a base for for an assault on Cnicht but you're ideally placed for pretty much any of Snowdonia's lovely hills or a jaunt to the coast if the weather's better there. Was a lovely and quiet site, seemed to be primarily used by walkers. Really recommended. 2 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ronaldianho 1 review from this member

 Ive just returned from a successful Easter Break at this wonderful camp site. Since Ive been camping in my adult life (about 8 years), Ive never found a camp site I like more. On arrival, the owners were very welcoming, and never failed to have a smile, or a chat if I wanted through the weekend.

What I particularly like about the site is the location which is stunning, the small size, just 13 pitches, the no noise rule after 11 and the no under 15's rule which meant this was a very relaxing camp site to stay at. Everyone I met that weekend was there to go walking around Snowdonia. The site has facilities which are unisex consisting of 3 toilets, 2 wash rooms and 2 showers which seemed sufficient. There are 2 washing up areas, one located in the main block and one in an out building which also contained a washer, dryer, microwave and kettle, all to be paid for separately on an honesty box policy. There was also a large freezer for ice packs, something I havent come across in a long time. There were many tourist information leaflets, but one of the highlights for me was a binder of hikes/walks that the owners had put together with photos and directions on laminated sheets that you could borrow for the day. A truly excellent resource for a newcomer to the area.

Overall it just felt like the owners had thought of everything required, even a picnic area with 3 picnic tables, one undercover. A fabulous gem of site that was excellent value for money. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mafanwi 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a 7 night stay at this fabulous little campsite. What a great find! It is very quiet, just 13 fairly small pitches, no kids under 15 allowed, its not that we don't like kids but ours are grown up and we don't want to share our holidays with other peoples. We have a huge tent and they were able to find a pitch that was plenty big enough for us.

The facilities were spotless, two showers, toilets and a couple of wash rooms were always clean and we never had to queue. The showers are proper electric showers not the push button type that drive you mad when you're covered in shampoo. There was even a little bath mat to stand on.

There was also a washing machine, tumble dryer, kettle, microwave, freezer and hair dryer. Also lots of information about the local area and some detailed walking guides which we found invaluable.

The owner was lovely, very friendly always happy to stop for a chat and help with local information when needed. The site is 1. 5 miles from the Snowdon Ranger path in the heart of Snowdonia so a perfect base for exploring the area.

We would definitely recommend this campsite to others. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jcjbears 11 reviews from this member

 I debated long and hard about submitting this review because I'd like to keep this gem a secret!

In 40+ years of camping, I think this is my favourite ever site. So peaceful! So scenic! Well sheltered from the worst of the prevailing weather and the owners have thought of everything to enhance one's stay, including a microwave, kettle, hair drier, washing machine and tumble drier (all for a reasonable charge). There are detailed walks (some direct from the site) and other tourist information provided as well.

On arrival at the site there is a plan to show which pitch you are on and all reserved pitches are clearly labelled with the name of the person who made the booking (unless you confuse them, as I did, by arriving a day late!)

The site only has 13 pitches, of which 3 are electric, and the owner put up the 'Site Full' sign when there were still a couple of pitches vacant, so it never felt crowded. Over the weekend, parking was a bit tight as there is a small car park by the house where everyone (except a couple of the pitches) has to park. Cars are only allowed by the tents for unloading and loading, but this was never a problem as the car park is not very far, and on the way to the toilets/showers/washing up. It does mean that the grass doesn't get churned up and you won't be woken up by people driving close to your tent late in the evening or early morning!

The only downside to this site, in my view, is that there is no shop in the village. There is a very small shop at the Byrngoch campsite about half a mile towards Caernarfon, where you can get gas, milk and some basic provisions (there's a pizza wagon there in the evenings, Thurs to Sun, in August, too!) The garage on the A4085 into Caernarfon, approximately 4 miles, has a very well stocked Londis.

Everyone kept to the no noise rule and this is why I liked the site so much. No children, no large groups, no loud music. Bliss! As it says at the top of every email: This is NOT the site for you if you like to party. But if you like peace and quiet in amongst stunning mountain scenery, it's hard to beat it! It was also one of the less expensive sites we have stayed on recently (13. 50 for 2 adults in a tent) with FREE hot water and spotless facilities (2 showers, 4 toilets - 1 with a sink, 2 lockable washrooms, 2 washing up sinks). 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sharong68 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this lovely peaceful site for 5 nights at the end of May. With only 13 pitches in total this was a quaint little campsite. The owners were very welcoming and always available to answer any queries and full of useful advice about the surrounding area. The site itself is situated to the side of the owners house. It is next to the road but we were not disturbed by any traffic noise as the road is not a busy one. The site is set right in the heart of Snowdonia National Park which means everything is within easy reach. There are superstores about ten minutes drive away.

The amenities at the site were ample and kept very clean. There are two showers which are all that is required for the size of the site. We never had to queue to use.

There is a washing machine, tumble drier and microwave oven for campers use and payment is via a honesty box.

The owners have also created printed local walks. We used these many times and the walks were delightful.

We would definitely stay at this campsite again if visiting the area. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: S J MacDonald 3 reviews from this member

 Just back from 4 nights at this wonderful campsite. The location is spectacular, whether you enjoy the peace of Betws Garmon or head out to explore Snowdonia. The site is rather like camping in a large garden, with facilities to the rear of the family home. There is a well equipped kitchen, clean toilets and basic but hot showers. The owners were very welcoming and helpful. I particularly enjoyed the photo-guided walks available in the kitchen. The 5 km circular walk from campsite was a 'We're going on a bear hunt. ' style adventure including fallen trees, mud-swamp and deep dark woods (We can't go over it, we can't go under it. Oh no, we've got to go through it!) I really felt that I was exploring in an area I wouldn't have had the confidence to go without the photo guide. Even just sitting in the campsite watching the steam trains puff through the valley was lovely. There was some occasional noise from passing traffic, noticeable only because the only sound otherwise is the stream and birdsong. I will certainly be going back to this campsite again. 


Previous     72 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2511 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement