Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of California Cross Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Ivybridge > California Cross Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

California Cross Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Modbury
Ivybridge
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
PL21 0SG
Tel: 01548 821297
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 09/04/2021 to 28/09/2021
           09/04/2022 to 28/09/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 27 Reviews
                8/10 from 27 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Davidbuck 3 reviews from this member

 Good location for breaking journey to Land's End,

Up to date facilities, regularly kpt in clean condition & nice staff.

Site map and wifi password given on entry would be useful. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ronelvins 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site - with really helpful staff. Everything was really clean and tidy.

Fabulous showers and a really useful shop 2 minutes from the main entrance.

Happily use again 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Blueroan 3 reviews from this member

 Quiet site, scrupulously clean wash block. Friendly staff. Would recommend and might well return.

Reception/site shop currently closed. Contact points are minimised due to Covid-precautions, eg no bins by the water taps, no loo brushes, no shower mop, children's swings just opened, (slide out of order). As other reviews state - site gate is kept shut but not locked - seems entirely appropriate given no pavement outside. Masks worn in wash block as of end May 2021.

Location: has advantage of a superbly-stocked SPAR shop next door (part of the petrol station). Perfectly possible to get all food and drink from here - they stock hot snacks, hot drinks, "home cooked" frozen ready meals as well as all the usual.

Terraced site, on a gentle slope. It occupies a corner plot, looks to have been hived off the Colmer Estate to form a buffer against the petrol station. Site isn't overlooked.

Pitches at the top of the slope back onto the petrol station although these were occupied and seemed quiet pitches. Our "jumbo" grass site at bottom of the slope got very soggy in bad weather.

A number of unoccupied caravans on seasonal pitches as well as folks touring. Two solid-looking "Ready Camp" units - these are sited together on one of the terraces, facing downhill. We had a lot of rain, so they looked attractive, with ample covered front porches.

Necessary to drive a lot because no public footpaths near the site; the local roads have no pavements at all. Having said that, good jumping off point for Bigbury on Sea, Avon Estuary, Totnes, Dartmoor itself, various National Trust properties, and great walks in the South Hams. Great pubs reachable for supper : The Ship, Ugborough, The Journey's End, Ringmore for Sunday lunch, the California Inn next to the site. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Susperella 11 reviews from this member

 Thought I would write a review, as this site has not been reviewed in some time- and could do with a mention. This is a lovely little club site in a fantastic location in south Devon. Within 15 mins drive you can visit the scenic coast via country lanes through lush farmland or within 30 mins you can be climbing the Dartmoor hills in the national park- best of both worlds! The site is a typical camping and caravanning site with the usual facilities you would expect- plus a little swing/ slide set for children to play on. For those with pets- this site doesn't have a dog walk unlike some club sites. Let me start with the facilities- 3 showers in ladies, around 6 or more wash cubicals, and the same again toilets. Thought I would end up waiting ages for shower- but only waited twice- and no longer than 10 mins- which I thought was good. Facilities could use a refurb- which I am sure the club will get round to doing- but they were clean and tidy and cleaned daily between 10:30-12:00. The toilet block also housed washing machine/ tumble facilities - 3. 50 per wash 1 for 20 min tumble. They also had 2 rotary line Airers that were free to use- brilliant for wet swimsuits/ beach towels. There was disabled facilities and also a parent and child room which I believe had a wet room set up. Reception offered sweets and ice cream for sale and brilliant wardens who made our stay easy and comfortable. Wardens really were friendly and nothing too much trouble. Most groceries can be picked up from the BP garage that is a 2 min walk from site entrance. Really impressed with their little spa shop- had everything! Could really use it for whole stay if needed- incredibly well stocked! If you do want a bigger store- there is a huge tesco at ivybridge or a smaller one at Kingsbridge and a Lidl at Dartmouth. Pub opposite shop looked nice- but didn't use. Fish and chip wagon came every Wednesday - really lovely- but gets busy- do get there early. Site is sloped, and operates on a series of tiered levels. We were at the bottom near the park which we found to be quite flat- however the top areas also looked pretty levelled- only really side pitches that suffered from a slight slope. Would recommend a visit to the local beaches- hope cove and soar mill cove our favs. Lydford gorge national trust well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: PoppydogandRhi 1 review from this member

 Had a lovely few days at Calif Cross with my pooch. It was my first Campervan trip having been a solo tenter for years but the wardens could not have been more helpful and welcoming.

The fact that the gate is shut on arrival is my only negative about the site and seems totally unnecessary to me but maybe that's because I don't have kids.

The approach roads were fine for a VW camper but I can imagine that it's a bit hairy for caravans. But it's worth it when you get there.

Smashing site. Excellent Spar in the petrol station right next door.

Nice pub opposite. Totally over priced - and I'm used to London prices!

Back to the site, really not much for sale because why would you when you have such a comprehensive shop right next door.

The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and keep the place beautifully.

Only 3 showers, but I didn't have to wait at all - only negative is the shower curtains which are set a bit too close so you have to fight them a lot but lovely hot proper showers not silly push buttons.

Dog friendly. The wardens have a huge GSD but other than a quick display of 'this is my turf' to my dog with which I had no issue as, it is hers, and she was locked behind a fence and the warden quieted her very quickly, we heard nothing of her the whole time we were there.

No dog run and nowhere to really walk nearby as the road is a very fast road so you need to leave to go for a proper walk. But there is a farmers field nearby where a quick off lead run can be had.

Looking forward to going back again very soon - hopefully next month! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Freyasmum 37 reviews from this member

 A great site. Friendly staff, excellent facilities. Pleasantly landscaped. Dog friendly. Very handy and well stocked Spar shop next door. Quiet, although near a well used B road. Visiting fish and chip van calls every Wednesday evening. The only improvement that I could think of is to provide a few picnic tables 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cmes 5 reviews from this member

 I hadn't planned to be at this site, but begged to allowed to use the shower facilities (as a member in dire need of good hot safe shower) and booked in as soon as I could. To the amusement of the assistant site manager.

It's a club site which seems to mean, excellent facilities, clean pitches, well maintained grounds, shopping facilities on site or nearby, reasonably flat pitches, the list could continue. Along with all the good stuff, you get the usual rules to follow, but it isn't an issue. It's a quiet season so far, according to the manager, we were one of two or three tents and half a dozen caravans. Remote, but Devon seems to be, within driving distance to Modbury, Kingsbridge, Slapton and Dartmouth one way and Plymouth the other direction.

The local pub was over the road, it was a lovely place, dogs welcome. Food very good value, we had a lovely evening made entertaining by chatting to the local residents.

What you'd expect from a club site. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mr.big09 3 reviews from this member

 This was the best place we have ever stopped at. The people that run the site are very nice and very helpful. The toilets and showers are 100%%% and free.

The site is nice and quiet. The lane to get to it is very narrow. But there is pull ins. But hi will be going back next year for sure.

And only a short drive to paighton, torquay. Morrisons is just out side paighton. The woodlands leisure park is a great place for kids. We spent 9 hours at the park.

Plenty to do for the kids. And not to pricey as well. Very close to the camp site as well. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gasguzzler 5 reviews from this member

 Just spent six lovely nights at this site. As previous reviews have said there is a gate that you have to open/close but no great hardship. In fact having young kids just gives you that little bit of added comfort they wont run off out into the road (that said it is a quiet Devon lane).

The site itself is spotless. The pitches are very slightly sloping but not an issue at all. The ground is very easy for getting the pegs into.

There is a toilet block was kept very clean, a washing up area and laundry rooms. The showers were hot and free. You had to be careful with which one you chose as the temperature on one could not be controlled as easily for the others. Not a problem for adults but was for the kids. There is also a parent /baby room with a tub and shower attachment for those who have babies.

There is a very small play area (swing and climbing frame/slide). Although small it kept the kids amused for hours playing with the other children.

There is a mobile butcher who visits the site twice a week and a mobile fish and chip van on a Thursday night. We didn't use the butcher but the fish and chips were lovely! The California Cross pub is a two minute walk away from the site. The a la carte menu was very nice but a little on the pricey side. We didn't try the bar meals while we were there. There is also a Spar/garage a minute walk from the site. Useful for little things that you may have forgotten.

The overall atmosphere of the site was quiet, family friendly site. We'd happily go back to the site as it was so easy to explore South Devon from. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: StixJimbo 8 reviews from this member

 Our first visit to this site, it is a great little site!

The site is situated not to far from the A38 and as such has very easy access, some of the lanes are a little narrow but not too bad.

The site is quiet and immaculately kept, a real gem. The facilities are also immaculately kept.

We would recommend this site to anyone, it is the perfect place for a quiet getaway whilst being close enough to the A38 to explore the rest of Devon with ease.

The site staff are very helpful and will accommodate most needs. Booking, through the club website, was easy and the pitches are relatively cheap.

There is a pub located within 100 yds of the site and there you can buy decent food at reasonable prices. The South Devon Chilli Farm is also located within a few miles of the site and makes for an interesting visit. 


Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is California Cross Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is California Cross Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ivybridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3380 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement