Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Avon Tyrrell Uk Youth Outdoor Activity Centre

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Christchurch > Avon Tyrrell Uk Youth Outdoor Activity Centre Reviews

Avon Tyrrell Uk Youth Outdoor Activity Centre
Braggers Lane
Bransgore
Christchurch
Hampshire   (Browse area)
BH23 8EE
Tel: 01425 672347
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 80+
Open: March 1st - October 31st

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 14 Reviews
                9/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cat+Gus 5 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Avon Tyrrell with our 2 children. Overall a nice site but for most of our stay it was monsoon conditions so we didn't see the centre at its best. It is a very spacious site and we were the only tent in our field so we could let the children make a bit of noise and not worry about upsetting other campers which was great.

The facilities were a bit mixed. There are 2 sets of shower blocks but pick carefully as one set are split into men and women while the other new set in the boat house are unisex. Both got mucky quickly due to the mud but plenty of friendly cleaning staff were around to keep things from getting too bad. Avon Tyrrell is the only campsite I have ever been to without any undercover facilities with lighting to do your washing up - I really did not like washing up in the dark while rain was soaking me. They need to address this.

The playground looked nice but unfortunately was far too slippery and wet to use because of the rain. The site is lively with plenty of activities going on however we did not sign up as our youngest child was too small. Be aware that things can get noisy from the main building and from tents across the boating lake but it did stop by 10. 30pm.

Avon Tyrrell is well situated for the New Forest and we could easily get out and about to visit the beach, amusement parks and various pretty towns (Beaulieu, Brockenhurst etc) We would probably think about returning once both our children could participate in activities.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mattydoc 2 reviews from this member

Arrived with much anticipation as it had had some poor reviews on trip advisor recently.

Overall this is a lovely site and very relaxed.

Beautiful site to walk around with direct access to the new forest. The owls in the evening are incredible.

Good points;

Beautiful site, well located, relaxed, toilets showers clean, good play area, supermarket 10 mins away, beach 15 mins away and well priced.

Bad points;

Showers cold after 9am, impossible to book individual activities once arrived told to come back tomorrow for four days we pre-booked all day activities for both children on the Monday which they loved. Swimming pool impossible to book/use so pretend its not there.

Overall I would come back to this site the good far outweighs the bad.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Woochan 1 review from this member

I camped at Avon Tyrrell with my husband and 3 year old son for 3 nights in August. Overall we had a fantastic stay and really loved the site. This was our first family camping trip so we weren't sure what to expect.

We were given a warm welcome at reception and given all the details of the site rules (of which there are few) and went off to find a place to pitch. Pitches are not marked out, you just pick a spot. I found the camping areas a bit confusing as the different areas weren't clearly defined and we ended up in the wrong area, but there was plenty of space so it wasn't a problem.

Being novices we picked a pitch under the trees which was a bit stony and it was tough getting the pegs in (we broke our mallet!), but once the tent was us up we had no problems at all.

There was a nice play area for the kids which was thoughtfully placed in the middle of all the camping areas so you could keep an eye on the kids while they play.

Reception sells a small stock of essentials like butter, bread, milk etc. For anything more substantial you have to go to the local co-op which is a five minute drive. There is also a good chip shop and butchers in the same parade of shops. You can also order reasonably priced meals from reception until 5pm, but we never tried them.

We booked a free BBQ which was a huge half barrell type. In the evenings we used it as a fire pit, which was lovely as we could sit outside the tent and keep warm.

The ladies toilet and shower block wasn't gleaming, but clean enough and showers were hot and powerful all day. The mens shower block and toilets were grubby and smelly. My 3 year old refused to go to the toilet in them. There is a basic but decent washing up area which has hot water all day.

There are no horses wandering around the site as is often the case in the new forest - this was a real plus for us as my son is so little.

The big bonus of this site is that it is very relaxed and friendly. There isn't a long list of rules to follow. I like that the site is a bit wild - I don't want to feel like I'm camping in someone's garden. The downside is that the facilities are a bit basic.

We will definitely go back again.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ballarddebs 2 reviews from this member

Booked this campsite as a last minute Bank holiday getaway - what a find will definitely be coming back especially for the Big Bike Bash next year. We booked in at reception and the staff were really helpful and answered any questions we had. We had two electric hook up pitches on the lakeside field (which wasn't that busy) and had plenty of room.

A few things to point out at this stage: toilet and shower facilities are quite dated and were quite grubby (put that down to kids not clearing up after themselves)and the shower that was allocated to our field did not have hot water (but I understand a new shower block is in the pipeline for next year)washing up facilities - could have been more (we did it at our tent as we had a kettle so plenty of hot water). There is a flight path into a local airport that we didn't know about (didn't really bother us but might bother some people)and there were a lot of mosquitoes but we were well prepared and came away with two bites between five us - so not a problem.

With the negatives (to some people) out of the way lets start with the positives:

I think there are two camping areas we were in the lakeside field which was a lovely large open space next to the lake with a football pitch at one end surrounded by forest. The ground was a bit hard so recommend heavy duty tent pegs. The other area was a more wooded area and nearer the toilet/shower block, washing up facilities and children's play area. It was lovely listening the owls and foxes coming from the forest at night.

As I mentioned before the reception staff were brilliant and the young activity instructors were fantastic. When booking in at reception you are asked if you want to take part in various activities - canoeing, climbing, archery, swimming, high rope and others. We decided on canoeing, swimming and archery. At £10 per person for canoeing/archery and £3 per person for swimming - 1 1/2 hr sessions - what a bargain and you are not left on your own to get on with it after a basic demonstration. The instructors really get involved with you and make it great fun as well as learning a new skill. You can hire bikes - there are 3 bike tracks - didn't get round to doing this not enough time.

The location of the site is brilliant for Lyndhurst/ Christchurch/Bournemouth. There are a couple of pubs in the village of Bransgore and a shop for provisions (the reception does have basic supplies - bread/milk/sweets etc).

I would definitely recommend people to go there especially with kids who love activities and for value for money I think you would find it hard to beat.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andylou2005 3 reviews from this member

Good value for money so booked again for 2 weeks!

Well a interesting break at Whitsun this year, site was busy but not over crowded, they had the euro man event that runs day and night for 10 days but that did not bother me or my son.

We stayed in the scotts pine area so camped under the trees, and it rained both the wet type and pine cones. The ground was very hard in places and bent a lot of my normal pegs (serves me right. Lots of tree roots around but a huge choice of pitches all unmarked. The ground takes some time to drain so did have some issues as weather was so bad.

The facilities included a toilet/shower block which was ok but perhaps not as clean due to weather and number of persons on site but spoke to others and showers had a good supply of hot water. There is a washing machine and dryer on site but very busy so unable to use. The playground is small but usable.

The site offers fundays during the school holiday at a very reasonable price where you drop kids at 0845 and collect 1530 and they do a range of activities like archery, canoeing, raft building, high and low ropes, bushcraft etc.

You can also do drop in sessions of the above activities. A heated outdoor pool is also available at a small cost. There are3/4 cycle tracks and different technical levels.

There is a take away cafe service open about 0800 till 1700 and a shop that sells basics milk, eggs, sweets and some souvenirs.

The New forest is full of things to do and near the beach too. A lovely place to chill out and relax. The local village Bransgore has a small supermarket but a large Sainsburys is just down the main road towards Christchurch and the village of Burley.

A car is required but parking is at a minimal.

However despite the weather a most enjoyable holiday I have rebooked for the 1st 2 weeks of the school summer holidays and booked both my kids into the fundays. So that should be best review you need. I have opted to try out another area The Glade and can only pray for sunshine now.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Daveandmitch 8 reviews from this member

Just spent one night at Avon Tyrrell on a DofE expedition so we didn't really get to see or use many of the facilities.

The communal facilities (showers, toilets, washing-up) were basic and suffered from the rain and the mud.

Site is really well placed for exploring the New Forest.

The activity centre part of the site was a bit of a problem because there were large groups of schoolkids staying in the lodges and they were up and making a racket until well after midnight.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lilacsunflower 2 reviews from this member

Went on the wet Whitsun week but this site was still great. We were told we could have pup tents when we booked but on arrival they said they were expecting to be very busy and we could only have the specific number of tents we booked for, so no pup tents! We managed, but was not ideal. They did say next time to book for as many tents as we needed and price is charged per person not per tent so you could book one each if you wanted. Prices here are very cheap for New Forest camping. No marked pitches so you can pitch in a circle with friends etc

Take rock pegs as pitching under trees was very difficult to get any pegs in more than 2 inches.

Covered picnic areas with benches & tables and space for cooking so great for wet weather.

Showers & toilets were clean, never busy, and although no luxurious were perfectly fine. Could do with better hand driers though.

3 cycle tracks for BMX and regular bikes, which kept the kids entertained, play areas, lakes and walks. Activities can be booked including kayaking, high ropes, raft building, climbing wall, archery for adults & kids and ours loved it. Well staffed and reasonable at £10 for 1. 5 hours. 9-12s could do a whole day for £20 with 3 1. 5 hour activities so a bargain!

Heated outdoor pool as part of the pre bookable sessions. Lovely grounds, small take away cafe does breakfast, lunch, coffee etc. At a reasonable price. Activity staff were very helpful and fixed my friends son' bike at no cost. An Enduraman competition was gong on when we were there but still seemed very peaceful and so much for the kids to do we hardly saw them.

Mobile phones can be charged and large half drum BBQs hired for a small fee but phone in advance for these as there are not many & they are popular. They let you collect wood from the site to burn in these too! A great find and even with the terrible weather we will go back next year.

Tesco and chip shop a short drive and on site small shop does bread and milk and will take request for items.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Couragefamily 2 reviews from this member

We spent a week at AT and on the whole had a fantastic time. The camping area was in a pine wood and had plenty of space for us to spread out. There are electric hook ups available, although at the time of booking it was indicated there weren't so we didn't take our electrical equipment which was slightly annoying but didn't detract from the whole experience.

The toilets and shower blocks coped well and even at busy times there was never long to wait and always hot water. Occasionally could have done with a clean more than once a day but I think a bit of a mess is almost to be expected on a woodland site. Washing up area was al fresco but a good spot for a bit of banter with fellow campers!

Our 8 year old took advantage of the on site activities with either me or my wife - Archery, high wire climbing and climbing wall all of which were first class with excellent instructors and equipment. Unfortunately the pool was only available for 4 hours while we were there and never at times that suited us.

However the greatest and best used attraction was the 3. 5k mountain bike track which was free for campers to use and we couldn't get our son off it! A fantastic route well suited to (accompanied) 8yo's learning off road skills (and there is a harder, longer route for the more advanced!)

We can recommend the 1 hour pony trek from Burley hotel stables (£33 ppph) which our 6yo really loved and the beaches all along that area of the South coast which are lovely. Well worth the trip to Sandbanks beach in Poole if you want a perfect safe and sandy beach. Also worth a day trip is hiring bikes (Burley cycle hire) and head off with a picnic for a relaxing day in the forest.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tent4us24 2 reviews from this member

The family spent two nights at Avon Tyrrell and had a fantastic time. Our pitch was beautiful surrounded by trees and pine cones.

The shower and toilet facilities were clean.

There is a small shop on site for souvenirs and ice creams but not food. There is a co-op down the road or Christ Church for the bigger supermarkets. Lots of pub/restaurants in the area. We found a nice pub in Burley and the food was nice.

You can buy bacon or sausage rolls for breakfast on site, go to reception and they will order from the on site cafe which also serves food during the day.

No entertainment at night which suited us.

Well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Denise07 2 reviews from this member

Like centre parks without the price tag!

A fantastic site,great views,friendly staff.

Clean toilets/showers

Quiet at night.

Safe place for kids to explore.

Loads of adventure activities for kids aged 8 upwards.

Breakfast and lunch available,must book in advance,egg & bacon baps £1.50 each,jacket potatoes £2.00,including all filling.This is a take away service from the main house.

My kids loved it,and an excuse not to cook at these prices!Lovely head chef served us,a great guy who has worked there for 20 years and retiring at xmas.(say hello)

A lovely place to escape to,so big.

Shop only had gifts to sell,so bring all your shopping.

We will definitely return,a gem of a campsite.

Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4403 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019