Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Overbrook Caravan Park Adults Only

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Pickering > Overbrook Caravan Park Adults Only Reviews

Overbrook Caravan Park Adults Only
Maltongate
Thornton Le Dale
Pickering
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO18 7SE
Tel: 01751 474417
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here

Pitches: 25 Touring & 25 Seasonal
Open: 1st March To 7th January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 88 Reviews
                9/10 from 88 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  88 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: November 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sheilajane 5 reviews from this member

 Booked to stay here as we prefer adult only / tranquil park sites and the location looked good.

Due to the time of year wanted a non awning pitch but were told they only had awning pitches available and we had to pay the extra fee (weird).

The ‘hard standing’ pitch we were given (their description not mine) was barely big enough for our van, which isn’t huge, with our car alongside, had it been summer and we had wanted to erect our sun canopy we would have had nowhere to sit out.

The pitches are very small.

I realise it had been a bit wet in the days before we arrived but didn’t expect a hard standing pitch to be quite so mucky, we had to put a small ground sheet down just so we had somewhere outside to kick off our shoes and rub our dogs down so as not to traipse all the mud into our caravan, and this was only after walking them (off site) for a quick wee.

The site is far from dog friendly, seasonal pitches, of which there are many, had anti dog signs up, have yet to meet any dog owner that can control when and where, their dog ‘does It’s business’.

The ‘facilities’ were clean but having a shower was not a pleasant experience, wet room style showers with nowhere dry to undress/dress, and whilst the water was hot the area was very cold, definitely needs more heating given the site is open through most of the winter.

We had hoped this site would be a great find in an area we love to visit but will not go back. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: CEW3A 25 reviews from this member

 Main entry to the site was via a barrier, for which a £10 deposit secures a swipe card. The facilities were within the drive up to the site ie before the barrier.

Very peaceful most of the time (some drilling as rendering being removed from the owners’ house) & there are lots of birds to identify & listen to! The pitches are quite close together & there seemed to be a lot of seasonal pitches, some with plant pots etc outside. Surrounded by trees/bushes, so quite sheltered if it was breezy.

An adults-only site, which at our age now we appreciate. The toilet/shower facilities were immaculately clean. In the ladies’, there were 3 toilet cubicles, one also containing a sink & a further 2 sinks in the outer section, opposite the entrance door.

There were 3 showers, wet-room style, each containing a rack for toiletries, a stool and a dry-cleaner’s-type zipped clothes bag on a hanger, in which to place your clothes so they don’t get splashed – a nice touch! The showers were the push-button variety, the shower heads had a slight facility to adjust the direction & spray, but after the first few bursts of cold water were VERY hot! There was no temperature control, so to wash your hair risks scalding your scalp!

There were various bins to encourage recycling, and in the laundry room there were tourist leaflets and a few books/board games/jigsaws to borrow if desired. I did consult a book on British birds to try & identify a particular one!

The washing up room contains 2 deep sinks, labelled up as 1 for hand wash(laundry) only, the other for washing up, but both sinks had washing up bowls & drainers. The water here was very hot too, but there was a warning sign about that. The water point & waste water point were at the end of the row where we were pitched; the chemical toilet point is outside the toilet/shower block.

The owners, Darren & Natalie are very friendly, and Darren in particular was very helpful. He showed us to our pitch, unhitched our caravan & helped push it into position.

When we were about to depart & discovered a fault with the electrical connections so the brake lights etc on the caravan didn’t work, Darren contacted a mobile caravan servicing guy, who came and checked things for us; the caravan seemed ok, must be the car/towbar. It was already past the official deadline for leaving the site, but Darren told us not to worry & allowed us to move to an unoccupied pitch. Since we could not tow the caravan until the electrics were fixed, Darren allowed us to keep the caravan there another night; we ended up going home via the garage where the towbar had been fitted, who were able to sort the problem by changing a fuse! We returned to the site the next day & collected the caravan, very grateful for Darren’s support!

We would love to return to this site on another occasion. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Wildvoice 18 reviews from this member

 Stayed at Overbrook as we like the all adult sites, have to be honest and say like other reviewers, that the site lacks behind some other Tranquil parks. We have dogs and the site is not really that dog friendly, you cannot walk them on the site and there is no dog walking area, you have to take them off site or through the woods or down the main road. Also there are dog signs reminding you not to let your dog foul on the verges.

I also have to agree that as other reviewers point out the shower room consists of three showers, one is fine but the other two are the size of a telephone box with no where to place anything - they do provide a plastic jacket holder to put your things in but getting washed and dried is difficult.

The site is in a lovely location and the village of Thornton-le-dale is worth a visit. The site would benefit from all service pitches and the pitches themselves could do with a make over as they look tired, overall we enjoyed our stay but the facilities let the site down. 


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dave 418 34 reviews from this member

 We have stayed on this site before and can once again. this is an excellent the site. The owners were pleasant and informative when booking in. The pitch we given was a little tight length wise because the fence at the rear of the pitch was leaning slightly but I forgot to mention this when we checked out, a minor issue that didn't affect our stay.

The toilets and showers were warm clean and tidy with nice hot showers. Considering this was a winter stay the floors in the showers were kept clean, some thing other sites seem to struggle with.

The location gave us easy access to the village with its cafes and pubs. Days out without the van are easy with regular buses to the coast or the likes of Pickering Helmsley and beyond.

One of our favourite all year sites. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The Duckies 41 reviews from this member

 A fantastic peaceful caravan site. Fantastic friendly owners. Shower/toilet block always spotlessly clean and tidy. A fantastic stroll into Thornton-le-dale with a stream running down the side of the road or you can walk through the woods into town. Lovely food at the pub. Fantastic ice cream shop in town too. It was a fantastic base for us as we had plenty of English Heritage castle and priories to visit. They also have holiday cottages to let too. Only negative depending where you are pitched some pitches look quite small 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bea27 14 reviews from this member

 Nice site situated within walking distance to the village of Thornton Le Dale and within easy reach of Pickering. The plots are of a reasonable size width-wise but could do with being a little bit longer so as not to be quite so close to the road. Arrivals and departures could be a little tricky unless you swing the caravan around almost sideways on and then unhitch or hitch up - if not you would be blocking the road to other vehicles coming and going for some time. The shower blocks are clean and in good condition but extremely small with no area for drying off/dressing or for keeping clothing/shoes dry; everything gets soaked. There is a plastic suit holder provided for placing clothing in but who wants to put their clothes into a bag that has had goodness knows what put into it? I can see the idea behind it but definitely needs a re-think. Also, there is only the one double peg to put things on and that holds the suit holder as well. I do wonder if these shower cubicles were ever tried out by the owner's to see how everything would work? I think not! The press button showers are not my favourite either but these particular ones were only on for a very short time so continually having to push the button and could get extremely hot at times too. All in all a pleasant stay (mostly due to the weather conditions) but have stayed on better sites costing far less and feel that it's the location driving the prices and not the site/facilities etc. 


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andy and maz 11 reviews from this member

 My husband and I love this site. The facilities are very good, clean and modern. The pitches are spacious and level and the beautiful village of Thornton Dale is a few minutes walk along the road or though the wood. It offers two pubs both of which to great food and a fantastic bistro, as well as quirky shops and tea rooms. We are planning on visiting again this summer. However I do have rather an issue about one thing. Dogs. Walking them around the park is a big no no. This means that when we were there in winter and taking the dog for his last wee of the night, you are encouraged to go out of the park onto an unlit and rather fast road! I’ve never ever come across this before. They do not provide any facilities whatsoever for dogs. I begrudge paying extra for a dog when Despite ‘dogs welcome’ they do make it difficult for dog owners. I don’t understand why it is not allowed to walk a dog round the park when they have no where else for you to go. And instead of all the signs telling us not to allow dogs to foul the area, replace them with poo bins! I think the rules regarding dogs on the site are rather extreme, after all they are on holiday too! 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Minddhyg 17 reviews from this member

 It's not surprising that this site gets a 9 out of ten rating! This is an adult only site. It is a very well kept site with lots of flowers and bedding plants, and it would be nit-picking to try and find fault. The owners are so helpful, hardworking and friendly, Darren even fixed our wifi connection for us. The toilets are always immaculate, the showers are the same with hot water in abundance. The is also a spotlessly clean dish washing area, chemical toilet disposal area and washing machine facilities. The site is easy to find and access roads are wide. The site does have a lot of residential seasonal pitches so it may be hard to book for a date you want unless well in advance.

The village is just a ten minute walk away and has a chocolate box feel to it. There is also what is stated to be the most beautiful cottage in Yorkshire there ask a local and you will find it. The Buck Inn is a must for a pie dinner and they make them in the bakery next door the selection is wide. Buses to Whitby, Scarborough, York and Leeds all leave from the village and are within easy reach and Flamingo Land is but a bus ride away. A visit to Goathland is a must ( make sure you get the correct bus some do not go there ). This is where they made the TV series Heartbeat. Scripps Garage and Funeral Services is still working and the Aidensfield Arms is worth a visit. There is lots of parking as well. The Police car used in the series is still parked up there outside the general stores. A steam train ride from Pickering to Whitby or the other way round is a must if you like steam trains.

We had a great holiday at Overbrook and would recommend the site. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Binskip54 4 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to Overbrook, we were struck by the beauty, cleanliness & friendliness of the site on our first visit so brought my brother & his wife. If you like peace & quiet with the added bonus of not having to drive to the village then this is for you. A gentle 10 minute walk either along the road or through the woods puts you in a picturesque village with some fine eateries a chocolatier & some shops. You can get a bus to Scarborough & Pickering where you can jump on a steam train to Whitby. The site is well laid out with the most beautiful floral displays & as previously stated immaculately presented, the laundry room is a bonus & very reasonably priced if you need to do laundry. All in all I would highly recommend you pay a visit if your looking to explore North Yorkshire I promise you will not regret it. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jubilee1949 13 reviews from this member

 This is a gem of a sight set out nice with everything you need. Clean and tidy toilet block with nice showers if not a little strong. Water points very handy to all sights with bins as well as grey waste t each one. Owners always on hand if any problems and we're very quick to fix any problems that occurred.

Nice walk into Thornton le dale about ten mins 


Previous     88 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Overbrook Caravan Park Adults Only child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Overbrook Caravan Park Adults Only?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Overbrook Caravan Park Adults Only dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pickering      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5511 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement