Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Windsor Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Northern Ireland > N Ireland > Newcastle > Windsor Holiday Park Reviews

Windsor Holiday Park
138 Dundrum Road
Newcastle
N Ireland   (Browse area)
BT33 0LM
Tel: 028 4372 3367  or  02893341010
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 36
Open: 01/04 To 31/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 13 Reviews
                7/10 from 13 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 1 mile 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 567 reviews from this member

Site is a 15-20 minute flat walk from centre of the town and promenade (footpath all the way).

There are three touring areas, the pitches on the 3rd touring area furthest from reception appeared much bigger than the other two areas. All pitches on grass, each with its own electric and water. There is a moho service point with drive over grey waste outside the toilet block.

Toilets and showers are accessed with a code, notice shows for tourers only. There are 3 combined loo / showers and another toilet. All very clean and well kept. Showers included in price.

Wifi is available but charged, we didn't use it. Ice-cream van comes in the evening. Warden on site was really helpful and welcoming.

Site was fairly quiet when we were there, a good base if you want to visit Newcastle - not really that much to see there but a lovely walk along the promenade. Lots of the statics were in use but no noise.

We paid 22 with electric for 2 adults.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: AdrianMoore 6 reviews from this member

Just had a short weekend stay but left wanting to go back. There has obviously been a lot of investment in this park recently and it has been money well spent. Kids loved the park, the on-site chip van and regularly visiting ice-cream van are a bonus. Facilities are well kept, grounds are well maintained (and well drained). Staff seemed very friendly. There are a lot of obviously seasonal pitches. Each touring pitch has its own electric point and tap - but unfortunately no waste drain - my only criticism.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: KarenB62 2 reviews from this member

We booked Windsor Holiday Park at the last minute for the Bank Holiday weekend as it was the only site with available pitches in Co Down.

Having read reviews in various sites we weren't overly confident at what we would find but we were very pleasantly surprised:

Family run site with very friendly and helpful staff.

Large site with mixture of Static and Touring pitches with view, for some, of the Mourne Mountains.

Toilet/Shower block spotlessly clean and regularly serviced.

Grounds well kept and completely clear of rubbish.

Easy walking distance to Newcastle town and the stunning Murlough Nature Reserve and beach.

Downside for us was the size of the pitches which are really tight. Great if you want to get cosy with your neighbours but even with our small porch awning very little room to sit outside.

Also a lot of kids about which for us, hoping for a relaxing weekend, was just a bit too much.

Overall would recommend for a family break near the sea.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Lovenewcastle 1 review from this member

My family and I spent a week at Windsor. We rented one of their static caravans and had a wonderful time. We loved the park, we enjoyed the caravan and its amenities and we appreciated all the great help and service we received from the owner.

The owner worked long, busy hours every day keeping the whole site in great condition. He did everything from upkeep to repairs. He did it all with a warm, kind attitude and a big smile on his face.

Thanks to the owner's kindness and hard work we will return to the Windsor next year when we make our annual holiday visit from the U. S. A.

Thanks again for everything.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tobelle 4 reviews from this member

On first impressions, a lovely site, pitches a little tight but lovely location and about 15 minutes walk from the town. Unfortunately all went down hill from there. The toilet blocks were new but dirty, toilets filled to top with

toilet paper and toilet roll on floor. As shower was in the same cubicle as toilet, rather unhygienic to shower with toilet paper sticking to your feet!

This is a site with a large number of static caravans. One static in particular partied to 2.30am on the Friday night and 5.30am on the Saturday night, meaning we got no sleep. They also lit a fire which had to be extinguished.

On entry to the park we were given a list of rules to follow including no fires, windbreakers must be removed at night, no loud music after 11pm and no football shirts. All of the above were broken to our disgust. Management were apologetic the first night but obviously ineffective.

We did attempt to phone the site number at 5am the second night but no answer Management need to consider closer vigilation of both facilities and site users if site is to improve.

We won't be back.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Den4278 2 reviews from this member

I stayed there last weekend 24th to 26th of June 2011. This site has had a lot of changes since I last stayed in 2009 due to new owner.

It now has new toilet and shower blocks pitch and putt removed and park painted and maintained and also internet access added and new games room and another play park is being added.

Something has not changed the friendly staff and the static owners who couldn't be more helpful will be going again in a weeks time love it and can't fault it.

Newcastle town is within walking distance with amusements funfair and pound shops, bars, cafes and a stunning view of the mourne mountains not to be missed.

Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: WHP1 1 review from this member

Windsor Holiday Park has been taken over by new owners and they are in the process of upgrading the facilities on site. Ie. New toilet block consisting of family bathrooms. A new reception and games room has been completed. And in this there is a small shop for any last min shopping.

They also have plans to upgrade the site in general by building additional playground facilities etc in the future.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Auntiejennieesbm 1 review from this member

We have just returned from an 11 night stay at this site which is excellent, we went intending to only stay 4 nights but kept extending our stay. Recently taken over by new management the site has immaculate toilet/shower facilities cleaned several times a day as well as a children's play park and games room with more than enough facilities to entertain the kids. While we were there the site hosted a fun day with lots of activities and a BBQ which was very enjoyable. The caravan pitches were well serviced and the staff helpful and friendly. Newcastle town centre was only 2 minutes by car and 10 mins by foot and while the site could have done with a small shop selling basics such as bread and milk it is only 5 mins walked to a well stocked super value. All in all I would highly recommend this site to anyone and commend the owners on the services they provide.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Camillie 1 review from this member

Could be a nice site with a little hard work and not much expense. In a good location near shops and easily walked into Newcastle in 7/8 mins.

Toilet block had water running all round the place no hook or bench at the sinks to place your clothes/towel etc on, no toilet roll (although it should to be supplied on arrival but I did not receive any - lucky I had my own),and no hand towels/hand dryer.

Grass generally kept short but the crazy golf could do with some weeding, cleaning and imagination.

The statics around the entrance are very tidy but when you enter the reception and games room areas they are very dark and dingy. Leaves a very lasting impression - and not a good one. At 20 per night it is too expensive for what is a basic site.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Blueskiesplease 2 reviews from this member

Decided to go on the basis of Den4278's review.

Couldn't have been more disappointed.

The toilet/shower block was not clean and is as basic as they come.

The playground/crazy golf for the kids is a joke.

The waste disposal area was a filthy mess.

Luckily the other campers were a friendly bunch and that helped.

Will we be back? - No

Would I recommend it to others? - No

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in N Ireland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3943 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019