Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Blackthorn Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Isle of Anglesey > Trearddur Bay > Blackthorn Farm Reviews

Blackthorn Farm
Penrhosfeilw
Treaddur Bay
Trearddur Bay
Isle of Anglesey   (Browse area)
LL65 2LT
Tel: 01407 765262
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 42 Caravan/Motor Home 25 Tents
Open: 1st March- 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 81 Reviews
                9/10 from 81 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  81 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Whizzbits 1 review from this member

This campsite is absolutely lovely. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

For disabled people, the accessible bathroom is great with both bath with a shower over and a wet room shower. No pull down shower seat unfortunately - just a stool, which might not be stable enough for some, but hot water, grab rails and enough for an able paraplegic like myself. Only downside is it’s shared with families, so I sometimes had to wait whilst someone dressed their child - not ideal when you’re desperate for the loo, but good enough if you time it right!

Access to reception for wheelchair users is via a ramp into the cafe. This is poor as it is deep gravel on to a small step before you get on to the ramp. It needs levelling off and an area of hard standing at the bottom of the ramp. If your wheelchair skills are good, there’s a handrail to pull yourself up, or you could do it with assistance. There is a small lip over a threshold into the cafe, but no problem if you have good wheelchair skills or assistance. There’s also an accessible parking space by the ramp.

The staff in the cafe were absolutely lovely. They couldn’t do enough for us. The breakfast was average, but the staff made up for it. I had fish and poached eggs. The fish was over cooked and the yolks were hard, not runny as is preferable for a poached egg. There are gluten free bread, pancake and crumpet options. I was slightly disappointed that the middle of my crumpet was still cold, but the staff were so lovely I didn’t complain.

The rates are good and I would definitely stay here again. I hope the manager reads my review and makes the necessary changes to make the site and food even better.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 1960NIck 2 reviews from this member

Nice site near the coast of Anglesey. The site has a small number of touring pitches and a camping field as well as a number of seasonal pitches. The site has views of the sea across some fields. The toilet and shower facilities were good and were very clean and spacious. Although the site is near the coast you have to walk a short distance along the road before you can access the coastal path.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: BarryLeslie 6 reviews from this member

Excellent site all round; all facilities available - but you have to pay for it. We thought £24 for a grass pitch with an extra £6 for electricity very pricey. Close to coast but not to beaches. Close to South Stack and Holyhead Mountain.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hjf139 11 reviews from this member

Great site to stay at. Fab location and such friendly helpful staff. Lots of great scenery nearby, South Stack, Holyhead Country Park. Yummy Welsh breakfast in the restaurant, using locally sourced produce, if you can't be bothered to cook but advisable to book as there's also a B&B on site which also takes pooches. Ideal base for exploring Anglesey and short distance to lovely beaches such as Rhosneiger, Aberfrau and Newborough. Highly recommend it. Had a great weekend with 15+ weimaraner pooches and their hoomans!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hjf139 11 reviews from this member

Great site up near Holyhead. Fabulous views and very friendly and helpful staff. Glorious setting near Trearddur Bay. Great facilities including freezer and fridge to use and whilst few electric hook up they were more than happy to charge phones, tablets, power packs etc for you. Also sockets in pot washing area so possible to keep cool boxes chilled. Great welsh breakfast available in the restaurant and lovely coffee to start the morning with. Loved our 4 night stay here with a group of fellow weimaraner owners. Great base for exploring Anglesey.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: JohnnyTwosheds 11 reviews from this member

Wonderful site with plenty of walking opportunities and surrounded by nature. All very well run by pleasant and helpful staff with great humour and hard work.

Toilets and washing facilities were warm and clean and each pitch was roomy with great views. Breakfast can be had from the B & B that is next to reception very reasonably priced and very wholesome too!. We would not normally do that but wanted an early start so we packed up the night before, went to bed then a quick shower and breakfast cooked for us and away!

The pitch we were offered has hard standing and most seemed to be level. Children had their own play area complete with goal posts and the camping for tents area seemed green and easy to pitch up on. There is a security barrier upon entering and leaving the site which was operational and seems a good idea for those who wish to go off for the whole day along the coastal path.

There was nothing to moan about whatsoever on the site so it's straight tens from us!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lesfb14 1 review from this member

It was late September and raining. We arrived, tired and late in the day, needing some sleep before an early ferry to Ireland. The hostess could not have been more friendly and helpful. Took us to a level, gravelled pitch with a great view, EHU and water. Made our Labradoodle very welcome too. The showers were wonderful. Plenty of hot water and absolutely spotless. I don't know what this would be like at the height of season as we pretty much had it to ourselves - and as two old codgers, that's just fine. And we were charged just £20 for the night. Only one tiny fault - the light at our site flickered constantly. No problem at all when blinds were closed but a problem to see where you were going so needed a torch when getting set up.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cakivan 1 review from this member

Site is suited to people prefering quieter times. Excellent for dogs and plenty of dog friendly breaches and walks nearby. The coast path is accessible down a lane next to site and gives you excellent walks in both directions. The B&B on site breakfast can be ordered to sit in or takeaway by all it is good value and great food, we had it last morning while packing up so convenient. The owners and staff are so helpful and shower block is immaculate. Small store for most needs and local supermarkets 10 min drive away. Good laundry facilities as well. Loved every minute and will be going back.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Denise321 2 reviews from this member

My brother and I stayed here in May 2016 and what a lovely site it was. The owner couldn't have been more helpful in accommodating us in two pitches next door to each other as we travel in 2 motorhomes. The pitches were large although we needed small chocks to make them level. The shower facilities were great with two shower rooms and two separate showers. Plenty of hot water was available with no push button regulators, which for me is a bonus. Friday fish and chips and daily breakfasts in the main house are also available at a small cost and having tried these I must say they were very good. All in all a very good site.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Geraldinerocks 17 reviews from this member

Beautifully positioned site in a very picturesque part of Anglesey. Easy to find and reach - no tricky narrow roads to negotiate. Easy booking in process with helpful and welcoming staff.

Facilities were clean and spacious and the radio playing made it extra homely.

The coastline was very pretty with lots of walks and coves to explore.

As previously reviewed, the only thing I can say that isn't positive about this site is the pitch. No choice of pitch offered, the temporary visitors all seemed to get squashed in next to the toilet block and the pitches were positioned so they didn't offer any privacy.

However, this wouldn't put me off returning to the site.

Previous     81 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle of Anglesey

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4006 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019