Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Trotting Mare Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Wrexham > Wrexham > The Trotting Mare Caravan Park Reviews

The Trotting Mare Caravan Park
Overton On Dee
Wrexham
Wrexham   (Browse area)
LL13 0LE
Tel: 01978 711963
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 68
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 70 Reviews
                7/10 from 70 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  70 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Cheryl27634rjp 1 review from this member

 Lovely site. We were the only tent which was fine. Pitched right next to lovely little lake.

Gary the owner was great. Everyone on site was very welcoming and friendly.

We had a meal in the Inn In the evening on day of arrival. And went to Ellesmere the next day. Nice town.

Facilities on site were very new and spotless.

Will definitely be returning. Thank you for a great stay 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Liz+ ant Slade 18 reviews from this member

 Pluses and minuses to this site.

Pluses first

One of the best kept sites we have ever been to

Great facilities

Pub on site serve great food

Negatives

Price-very expensive

Not a lot of walks around especially if you have dogs, which we have

Finally we actually booked for five nights but could only stay for 4 and we had also booked a extra adult because we thought our daughter was coming for a couple of nights, but she didn't come.

When we brought this to the owners attention thought he might refund us the money (£10 each night) to which he just said that is what's booked sorry- Not the best reaction really. Thought we would at least get a credit note for the pub or something

Anyway we wont be going back 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: The Drings 9 reviews from this member

 This is a great little site. It was easy to find. We were welcomed by Gary and shown to our pitch which was by a lovely little pond with a fountain in it.

The site was well set out and had a gravel road all the way round. This site is very well looked after and everyone was friendly. It is adults only so it was lovely and quiet.

This site has a fantastic toilet/shower block. It was warm, spotless, roomy, there were two showers in each shower cubicle, there was music playing ( it was the first time I have danced in the shower). The site was full but we never had to queue for the showers.

We went in The Trotting Mare Inn for lunch/dinner and the food was lovely and very reasonably priced. The staff in there could not do enough for us and made us feel welcome. We also had a takeaway from here which was on proper plates. Very nice. I would recommend ringing up to book your table in advance as they get busy and also ask if dogs are allowed as ours was not allowed in after 6pm as there was an incident with someone else’s dog that day.

My husband went fishing on their pond and caught roach and perch. You could see carp jumping in the pond but he did not catch any of those.

This site has lots of places to visit locally. We went to Plassey retail village, Ellesmere lake and Hightown where they do really nice fish and chips.

We really liked this site and would recommend it. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Geoffreson 73 2 reviews from this member

 I'd booked for 15 nights from 14 May 4 months in advance, asking for a sunny pitch and nice views and secured it with a £100 deposit. Imagine then my surprise when we were given a postage size pitch (4) under trees and no sun till 3:30 pm. Our views were a static caravan and 2 very large gas bottles.

I asked to be moved to any of the apparent vacant pitches but was told they were booked (I booked in January) I informed the manager I was not happy and intended to leave the next day & requested my money back. This was refused, (thank goodness I didn't pay the balance on arrival but asked to see the pitch first) The small irregularly-shaped pitch prevented me erecting our awning. There was no way we could have had a relaxing fortnight holiday in such a cramped space.

In our twenty years of caravanning we have stayed on numerous Tranquil sites before but this one falls well below their standard. The park itself looked pretty and the facilities were immaculate but the crowded and cramped plots were totally unsuitable.

My advice would be not to pay up front till you have seen your pitch. Very disappointing 


Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Samjac68 3 reviews from this member

 Just come back from here after a lovely weekend. Really like the site, ideal for visiting ellesmere, llangollen, or Chester etc. The site has a pub on that serves delicious home cooked food, and accommodated me as a fussy water nothing was too much trouble. When I first got there the site owner welcomed me in and helped me push the caravan in as I'm rubbish at reversing lol.

It's peaceful there, the pitches are fully serviced, I have nothing to compare to as this is my first time caravanning but the showers were amazing. Really nice timber clad building with brand new modern showers and toilets. All in all a pleasant stay will definitely be back again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Craftie2004 19 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, easy to find, and owner was waiting at entrance when we got there. Helped us to our pitch and even gave accurate instructions to reverse onto the pitch - excellent.

Well kept site, mainly gravel and hardstandings, was quiet, but lots of vans on site.

Each pitch has its own water tap and drain, and sufficient room to park car next to van and have awning.

Loo's are amazing and were 'Loo of the year' finalists for 2017 - they really are that good!

Pub on site (not open Mondays), free wifi, and fishing lakes on site too.

Lovely and picturesque when it is sunny - will definitely be back! 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jackbella 1 review from this member

 Just come back from weekend at the Trottingmare.

On arrival impressed by the ponds, flower beds and lawned areas. Disappointed when shown our pitch (18). Asked member of staff if we would be able to turn our motorhome sideways and he agreed & was most helpful. Enjoyed a pleasant Friday evening BBQ and sitting with on grassed area with a bit of privacy.

On Saturday after an enjoyable morning sitting out a member of staff approached us and told us we had to turn our motorhome back as another motorhome was arriving later that evening.

When the motorhome arrived they had no choice but to put up an awning because of sleeping arrangements. The serviced pitch was then shared between the motorhomes.

The motorhome was at most 5 feet away from the side of our motorhome. Very up close & personnel!

At £25 per night I feel that the owners are taking every last pound at the cost of customer satisfaction.  


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mikeandbren 14 reviews from this member

 Booked a last minute night. 24hr notice. £25 1 night hook up. Easy to find close to overton and ellesmere. Warm welcome fromGary. Helped you to your pitch etc.

Shower block clean and all working. New block been built too. Site is clean lovely gardens. Hard standing l think on all pitches. Narrow road way. Only niggle.

Pub on site very good food served lovely hospitality by the landlords. Wifi in pub and on site.

Leaflets and rules given out on arrival.

Dog friendly and walking area.

Walking distance to Overton were we stopped for a drink in a lovely pub The white horse. Excellent recommend. Took 1 hour too walk at a normal pace.

Ellesmere is appox 3miles otherway. However l do believe there are taxi to come back.

Adult only site very peaceful and everyone so polite and friendly. Recommended site

No shop etc on site 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Loopyloo62 2 reviews from this member

 Very disappointed. Over priced. Not suitable for disabled people. The fella helped us site the caravan gave us some adverts.

Never told us where the toilets/showers were, didn't know where the chemical toilet disposal was.

On the stones or gravel where our awnings was there is no drainage, we had 2 days of heavy rain and it was water logged inside awning, we had to roll our trouser legs up so they wouldn't get wet. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Elva 1 review from this member

 Lovely peaceful site, pitches are well laid out,

We enjoyed our stay very much and thought the site was lovely, very clean and tidy,

We had a meal in the restaurant, which was very nice, not too expensive,

The only cons I would say, is hubby used the showers during his shower someone flushed the loo, which ruined the shower, cold then hot,

I would recommend the trotting mare caravan site, but I personally feel that £30 a night for a nice pitch is a bit expensive. 


Previous     70 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Trotting Mare Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Trotting Mare Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Trotting Mare Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wrexham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wrexham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


978 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement