Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Roundwood Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > Europe > S Ireland > County Wicklow > Roundwood Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Roundwood Caravan And Camping Park
Roundwood Village
County Wicklow
S Ireland   (Browse area)

Tel: 00353 12818163
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 71
Open: 01/05/2020 to 31/08/2020
           01/05/2021 to 31/08/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 9 Reviews
                6/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Georget64 33 reviews from this member

 We liked the area, but thought the site was overpriced for what was on offer. In particular we felt the facilities were not what one would expect from a 4 star site. There is a myriad of site notices telling you what you could not, and should not do. Sites do need rules, but this seemed over the top.

Pitches were generally good, but narrow. Waste water could only be disposed of via the motorhome service point, which necessitates manhandling heavy drain covers. Not a site I would return to. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vangelina 19 reviews from this member

 I am afraid that apart from the wonderfully charming and charismatic Jim I found this site very lack lustre. The pitches are very cramped and the grass needed mowing. The site seemed scruffy and nothing special at all for 30 euros. It is not a patch on the Caravan Club affiliated sites of Glenross and Glen of Aherlow in other parts of the country. The village is very underwhelming. Would not return. Unfortunately there is very little competition in the area so I expect Roundwood does not have to try that hard. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jaynus 21 reviews from this member

 This is our 3rd visit to this site. The first time was great the 2nd time was dreadful but we decided to give it another try after seeing positive reviews on an alternative review site.

We checked in and got a friendly welcome and were advised we could pitch where we wanted as the site was pretty empty.

The facilities are adequate but there are only 3 ladies showers. I can foresee this being a problem when the site is full. I'd didn't have to queue but there were not many campers on the site. The showers are 1 euro for approx 5 mins. There is a large room with tables and chairs and metal tables for food preparation. There is a laundry room but it was locked ( even though the notice on the door stated it was open). The key had to be collected from reception which was a bit of a pain.

There is an unbelievable amount of rules and signs everywhere telling you what you can and can't do and what times you can have a shower at. Not just 1 sign but 5 signs saying the same thing in the ladies facilities - a bit over the top. In the large room there is a sign at the side of every single plug socket (about 10 of them) stating that the sockets are not to be used for hairdrying. Someone seems to have got carried away with the laminated notices and they are a bit beyond a joke!

Roundwood itself is a lovely little village with 4 pubs that serve food and some have live entertainment. It is only a 5 minute walk from the site to the first pub. There are a couple of late night takeaway places and a couple of cafes that serve meals and breakfast.

This site is convenient for the return ferry trip from Dublin. We would visit this site again but would avoid weekends as I feel there would be queues for showers.

Please get rid of some of the signs! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grey geyser 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here because it is one of the nearest sites to Dublin. Sadly there are probably less sites in Ireland than when I first went 25yrs ago so the choice is limited. It appeared clean and when we stayed was fairly quiet. Felt that it was quite costly for what was provided and there should have been cooking facilities in the 'campers kitchen'.

The cost of the showers should really be included in the pitch rate as with a family of four it added to the price. One major problem was the plague of wasps next to the high hedges. I realise that it may have been due to the time of year but a word of warning when we arrived would have been nice so that we could have taken this into account when we were pitching up. I think that Ireland on the whole could do with more sites especially in these financially hard times and with a few changes this site could be a lot better. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Hoedown 45 reviews from this member

 This is a pretty site set in the highest village in Ireland and very convenient for touring Wicklow. It is well laid out with tarmac hard standings (on a slight slope) for caravan/motorhome and grass in between. There is also a tent area more or less enclosed with hedges. There is a small play area for children. When we stayed there were only about a dozen units on site so we did not feel cramped.

There is one shower block plus dish-washing sinks, as well as a laundry room for hand-washing. Machines however are not self-service and they charge 12euros to do a bag of washing for you. The showers were nice and hot, although the hand-basins were not so hot and ran rather pathetically. There is no camper's kitchen although there was a TV lounge area with tables and chairs.

The owners were very friendly and helpful, giving us lots of information on things to see and do. You can walk in to the village in 10 minutes, where there are quite a few pubs/eating places and a couple of small shops. There is no shop on the site itself although it was mentioned in their literature. Also misleading was the bit about public transport; it mentions daily bus service to Dublin and Bray and Glendalough, but omits to say there is only one bus a day from the camp-site at 7. 30am!

We thought it was quite expensive at 26euros + 4 euros for electric + 1euro for showers. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Highgateuk 21 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site that is spoilt by the mean tight fisted attitude of the owners. At 30 euros per night I expected free showers, but they were 1 euro extra for a short shower and to use the hair dryer is another euro. Also at this price there should be a 16 amp electric supply, but there is only a 5 amp supply (allegedly) our supply cut out with only a small electric kettle plugged in!. I booked in for three nights but left after one night, as I couldn't stand it.
If the people who own the site got their act together and gave better value for money they wouldn't get reviews like this. I don't recommend it and I hope that people avoid using it if they don't want to feel that they are being ripped off. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jaynus 21 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this site 3 years ago and were looking forward to revisiting this year.oh dear. The site appears to have changed hands since our last visit and things have gone seriously downhill. We arrived midday on the Wednesday before the Irish bank holiday weekend. You can pitch where you want on the tent area and there was quite a lot of room which was fine. I had a shower the 1st evening and I was disgusted. The toilet block smelt like a bad public lavatory, no hint of cleaner smell or air freshener. The shower was 1 euro for 5 mins. The 1st minute was taken waiting for the water to get warm. While I was in the shower I noticed the state of the walls. The tiles were cracked and falling off and the ones that were still stuck on were covered in a nasty brown slime. There was a mop bucket in the entrance to the toilet block that was filled with dirty stagnant water and a mop that looked like it had seen better days.

I did give them the benefit of the doubt to begin with but when nothing had changed after being there for 3 days I did go and complain. The owner said she was aware of the state of the showers! They were cleaned in a fashion later that day but not very well. Several other people had complained already I later found out.
As the person who wrote the previous review stated the site is supposed to have 71 pitches. On the day before we left we counted about 50 caravans and at least 55 tents. The tents were crammed in every available small space and very close to each other. It seems to me that the owners of this site are just interested in cramming as many units on at once and making a massive profit but not providing and clean facilities. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Angela43 1 review from this member

 This site is certainly in a wonderful area. However we feel we were misled by the internet advertisement. This is in no way a "Multi award winning park internationally renowned maintained to a standard well in excess of that required for 4 star rating" (from their advert) . Although we had pre-booked, the best pitch available to us was a small space squeezed very closely between 2 other tents. The advert says they have 71 pitches, on at least one of the nights there were over 120 units on site. The shower block facilities were NOT adequate for this (3 female showers & 3 male showers) queuing for showers started very early, nor were they very clean, with broken & cracked tiles.
There was a problem with the electrical hook ups which meant the power was off most nights after 11.00. The tents were squeezed in wherever possible, with no attempt to keep a safe distance between them. For a single night this site may be ok for you. If you're planning on a longer stay - avoid - especially at 26 Euro per night (with electrical hook up which wasn't always available). 


Reviewer: Jana 15 reviews from this member

 September 2003
We stayed here after finding our original choice had closed down. It was easy to find, clean, tidy and well maintained and the saff were very friendly.
The village had pubs, takeaways and shops for people needing provisions within a 10 minute walk.
The facilities were good our only comment was that there are slightly too many rules including one (at the time we were there) that is if you tripped the hook up there was a fee to pay.
Fairly handy for the ferry and quiet.
We would stay there again. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Roundwood Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Roundwood Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Roundwood Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near County Wicklow      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in S Ireland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1525 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December