Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Caister On Sea Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays)

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth > Caister On Sea Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays) > Reviews

Caister On Sea Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays)
Caister On Sea
Great Yarmouth
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR30 5NQ
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 46
Open: 01/03/2024 to 30/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 28 Reviews
                8/10 from 28 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: January 2024 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note, this site no longer offers touring or camping pitches. It now has static caravans for hire only.

If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nobbygezza 6 reviews from this member

 This site has certainly changed since it opened, it is in a poor state of repair, the pitches are just mud the site has a slope that is not mentioned in the brochure,

The toilets have no locks to most cubicles, all the ceilings and windows are covered in cobwebs with a massive presence of Daddy long legs on entrance hall to toilets and washing up facilities.

Each pitch has its own electric and water supply and grey waste drain which is nice, itís a shame that the person the other side off the hedge on leaving the site decided to help himself to my tap fitting I had left attached to my tap for ease of filling my water container.

Even out of season the club house had evening entertainment on which was good and helped pass the time on a dark winters night.

The final nail in the coffin for this site was the rather large touring site warden that patrolled in his car rather than on foot, he was to busy to clean the facilities because he was harassing campers to get off their pitch on time, we were running 10 minutes late on leaving when we encountered him and his poor customer service, there was only 6 touring pitches being used on the whole site but he insisted that people were waiting to pitch on our specific spot I donít know why because it was just a terraced pitch the same as every other pitch,

The price was ok for the entertainment etc but the actual touring pitches and facilities were very poor.

I will not be going back to this site not in its current state and while employing staff like the Touring police.

Itís a shame because with a bit of love and pride in what youíre doing this site could be such a nice place to visit. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Steviedotg 2 reviews from this member

 The touring reception is easy to locate, with parking outside. Clean site, amenities are close by.

Only 300m to the dog friendly beach.

Stayed on a full serviced pitch, with water supply and waste, electric and TV channel.

Only downside is we were on pitch 13, and it was in the shade all day. Pitches 1-9 were in constant sunshine.

Very helpful staff, will help with all matters if asked.

Would recommend and will be returning. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Roobeeroo 27 reviews from this member

 Had a 5 night stay here whilst touring. Must say we were pretty impressed with the site.

Very clean site nice touring area although the re-inforced standing for motorhomes was more mud than anything else. Clean shower and toilets plenty refuse bins.

Touring area close to all amenities nice clubhouse and restaurant with good food reasonably priced shop open till 9pm.

Nice friendly helpful staff and everyone on the site was friendly and polite.

Plenty to do for children although we don't have small children. A nice little stroll to the beach about 5 mins max at a steady walk. Bus stops outside the site.

We would certainly return here again in the future. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wildvoice 21 reviews from this member

 Stayed for a week at haven caister, have to say that the pitch was a good size with water waste and tv connection. The pitches are laid out into a you shape and are on a slope and have to say well worn.

We stayed on pitch 12 down on the bottom end and found out after a day of heavy rain that we were in the shade all day as where pitches 10, 11, 13, 14, very disappointing as the rest of the week was glorious sunshine we did have a chat to the warden but the site was full so if your staying here it's well worth making a call to the site to find out which pitch you have been allocated.

The site facilities were ok clean and tidy. The entertainment in the evening was the usual standard cheesy but at this time of the year it's bargain basement so cart really complain.

Used the shop on site which was well stocked and not to expensive, the beach was nice and clean, there are plenty of local shops nearby Lidl being the closest.

The surrounding area Great Yarmouth and Lowestoft was run down in parts but we thought comer was worth visiting as was a boat trip on the broads.

The only down side of this trip was the journey back and forth M6 gridlocked A14 closed A50 closed took 8 hours to drive 280 miles but overall a nice weeks break. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sonygeezer 19 reviews from this member

 Spent 10 days here this march and even with all the rain we have had this winter the plots were in good condition, Showers were not working for 4 days of our stay we were told we could use the showers in the swimming pool but this is a least 10 mins walk away from the touring site.

The site is good and great for children they have an indoor soft play area which is free and my grand kids loved it, access to the beach straight from the site and a few kids parks around site all free so you do not have to spend much money if you don't want to.

Used the Mash and Barrel on site and food was very good the Sunday carvery was excellent.

There is a fish and chip shop on site but is expensive but just go outside the gate and turn right and 100 metres up the road is Doggers Plaice twice as much fish and chips for half the price.

Overall this is a nice site and will come again. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Grandad essex 13 reviews from this member

 Just spent 9 days at this site, the warden Barry, who we dealt with was great and always friendly, Have been to a few Haven sites but this one takes the crown for toilet and shower cleanliness.

Local shops not too far away, The size of the pitches are huge. The only complaint I have we were on pitch 13 right in a corner and it didn't get much sun.

If you like a sheltered pitch ask for this one Grand children loved all other facilities.

Will return. Only gave 9/10 for value for money cause we would all like things cheaper and 9/10 for site location due to a bit of road noise outside the touring area 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The Dog 9 reviews from this member

 Just come back from a great week with our touring caravan at this site with our grandchildren, the touring site is nice and has large fully serviced pitches which are well used but kept clean and tidy, there is a first class warden on site who looks after the site and the caravaners and nothing is too much for him what ever your needs are.

The facilities are kept clean but could be a bit bigger to be fair although we did not use them much as we use our own.

The rest of this Haven site is full of great things to do for the kids and the beach is just a few mins walk away, there is a shop with hot food cafť attached an on site fish and chip shop, papa johns pizzas and a nice restaurant/bar which serves nice food and drinks at reasonable prices for a site like this,

All in all this sites makes a great fun packed family holiday and we will be back ! 


Date of Visit: August 2016  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Ratty 316 reviews from this member

 We really enjoyed our stay here and would defo go back again

Te static caravan we were in was clean and spacious and had everything we needed with a fully equipped kitchen, good bedrooms and shower room and the living room was perfect for the family and dog.

We found the staff to be very friendly, from the reception team, to the bar staff including all the entertainment teams. Very impressed. The clubhouse entertainment was good quality with a talents show every Thursday.

The site has good facilities including a reasonably priced shop and there were also takeaways on site, the food was nice and a decent price too. Mini golf was a good standard and the arcade had a variety of games and helpful staff.

There is a good sized swimming pool and several play areas throughout the park.

The site is located right on top of the beach which we made use of every day, the dog was also allowed on the beach in summer whilst on a lead.

Overall would recommend 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Smbpop 7 reviews from this member

 This was booked the day before arrival, and to be honest we were quite surprised to be able to book 3 nights on a fully serviced pitch at such short notice! Though I hadn't really checked the facilities out as thoroughly as I usually do before booking, i. E. Mainly the layout of the site, big mistake on my part!

On arrival we had been allocated pitch 16, this backs immediately onto the very busy road, so is very noisy until the early hours of the morning. It is also overshadowed by very tall trees, which may be a blessing in the middle of summer for the shade, but received no sun what-so-ever in the 3rd week of April, was quite envious of other campers who had pitches opposite us, as these were bathed in sun most days. (Pitch numbers 13-25 & 49 are all situated along this edge of the site and overshadowed by trees). The pitches themselves are classed as 'Euro' pitches, but consist of individual Electricity, Aerial and Water point with Grey waste. Size of pitches are very generous, with adequate room for a large caravan with awning plus space to park at the side some campers had used windshields to enclose an outdoor area outside of the awning and then parked the vehicle in front of that, but still within their pitch.

Chemical waste has to be disposed of at the Elsan point, located at the far side of the shower block, though not marked on the site map.

Cannot comment on the shower or toilet facilities as we did not use them, there is only one shower block and it was several hundred metres from the pitch so because Husband is disabled and I have some mobility issues we use our van facilities. This obviously causes a need to use the Elsan point more frequently; As already mentioned this is situated on the far side of the shower block, it consists of the disposal point, with the usual hose for flushing unit out, a soap dispenser but no hand basin to wash hands afterwards, (didn't really like the idea of rinsing hands with hose I'd just rinsed loo unit out with) and no paper towels or hand dryer either, & although it's only a small space it should include a small corner basin and hand dryer!

This is a large site with mainly static caravans and a small tourer area. Overall is a very tidy site, though some buildings do look a bit 'tired' and could do with a spruce up. Lots of recycling areas around the site with different bins for general, glass and paper waste.

Enclosed children's play area, with lots of different activities to climb, slide, swing and run in and large enclosed sports area for football, tennis and other ball games, along with the swimming pool not forgetting the direct access gate from the site to the beach should easily keep youngsters occupied for a few hours each day, without spending a fortune. There is also cycle hire, archery & shooting range, climbing and abseiling tower, zip wire, crazy golf and kiddy karts that are available at extra costs and an amusement arcade and bingo.

The only facility we used on site was Papa Johns Pizza's, (takeaway not restaurant), wasn't entirely sure they'd deliver to the caravans or touring pitches on site, but enquired when we went in to order and they do. (Would be helpful if this was mentioned in the site information). Not lots of choice but all the usual favourites in addition to choose your own, though pizzas weren't the best - very sparse on the toppings, and not much flavour - but the sides were deliciously tasty. Pricing was very good compared to other Pizza establishments.

Activity Passes for the swimming pool, club room etc were included in the price of the pitch, but again we never used any of those so cannot comment.

The actual site is located a short distance from Caister village, with easy access to 2 supermarkets, (Lidl & Tesco)and the usual array of village shops including a bakery and pubs. There is also a bus stop immediately outside the park with regular buses into Great Yarmouth.

Because we only used the site as a base and were not interested in using the leisure facilities, it was adequate for our needs, also because there was an offer of '3 nights for the price of 2', it worked out good value for money, but it's not the most relaxing site to visit due to the road noise, however because of the general cleanliness of the site, the politeness of staff, and the location we would use it again as a base but not for a quiet relaxing break, and we would request a pitch that doesn't back onto the road. Would be a nice idea if you could choose the pitch you would like to stay on, when you book, rather than being allocated one. 


Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Caister On Sea Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Caister On Sea Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Caister On Sea Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays)?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Caister On Sea Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Great Yarmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4192 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement