Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Caister On Sea Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Caister On Sea Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays)
Caister On Sea
Great Yarmouth
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR30 5NQCheck Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 46
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 25 Reviews
                8/10 from 25 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Roobeeroo 6 reviews from this member

Had a 5 night stay here whilst touring. Must say we were pretty impressed with the site. Very clean site nice touring area although the re-inforced standing for motorhomes was more mud than anything else. Clean shower and toilets plenty refuse bins. Touring area close to all amenities nice clubhouse and restaurant with good food reasonably priced shop open till 9pm. Nice friendly helpful staff and everyone on the site was friendly and polite. Plenty to do for children although we don't have small children. A nice little stroll to the beach about 5 mins max at a steady walk. Bus stops outside the site. We would certainly return here again in the future.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wildvoice 16 reviews from this member

Stayed for a week at haven caister, have to say that the pitch was a good size with water waste and tv connection. The pitches are laid out into a you shape and are on a slope and have to say well worn. We stayed on pitch 12 down on the bottom end and found out after a day of heavy rain that we were in the shade all day as where pitches 10, 11, 13, 14, very disappointing as the rest of the week was glorious sunshine we did have a chat to the warden but the site was full so if your staying here it's well worth making a call to the site to find out which pitch you have been allocated. The site facilities were ok clean and tidy. The entertainment in the evening was the usual standard cheesy but at this time of the year it's bargain basement so carnt really complain. Used the shop on site which was well stocked and not to expensive, the beach was nice and clean, there are plenty of local shops nearby Lidl being the closest.

The surrounding area Great Yarmouth and Lowestoft was run down in parts but we thought comer was worth visiting as was a boat trip on the broads. The only down side of this trip was the journey back and forth M6 gridlocked A14 closed A50 closed took 8 hours to drive 280 miles but overall a nice weeks break.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sonygeezer 7 reviews from this member

Spent 10 days here this march and even with all the rain we have had this winter the plots were in good condition, Showers were not working for 4 days of our stay we were told we could use the showers in the swimming pool but this is a least 10 mins walk away from the touring site.

The site is good and great for children they have an indoor soft play area which is free and my grand kids loved it, access to the beach straight from the site and a few kids parks around site all free so you do not have to spend much money if you don't want to.

Used the Mash and Barrel on site and food was very good the Sunday carvery was excellent.

There is a fish and chip shop on site but is expensive but just go outside the gate and turn right and 100 metres up the road is Doggers Plaice twice as much fish and chips for half the price.

Overall this is a nice site and will come again.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Grandad essex 7 reviews from this member

Just spent 9 days at this site, the warden Barry, who we dealt with was great and always friendly, Have been to a few Haven sites but this one takes the crown for toilet and shower cleanliness. Local shops not too far away, The size of the pitches are huge. The only complaint I have we were on pitch 13 right in a corner and it didn't get much sun. If you like a sheltered pitch ask for this one Grand children loved all other facilities. Will return. Only gave 9/10 for value for money cause we would all like things cheaper and 9/10 for site location due to a bit of road noise outside the touring area

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The Dog 4 reviews from this member

Just come back from a great week with our touring caravan at this site with our grandchildren, the touring site is nice and has large fully serviced pitches which are well used but kept clean and tidy, there is a first class warden on site who looks after the site and the caravaners and nothing is too much for him what ever your needs are.

The facilities are kept clean but could be a bit bigger to be fair although we did not use them much as we use our own.

The rest of this Haven site is full of great things to do for the kids and the beach is just a few mins walk away, there is a shop with hot food café attached an on site fish and chip shop, papa johns pizzas and a nice restaurant/bar which serves nice food and drinks at reasonable prices for a site like this, all in all this sites makes a great fun packed family holiday and we will be back !

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Ratty 189 reviews from this member

We really enjoyed our stay here and would defo go back again

Te static caravan we were in was clean and spacious and had everything we needed with a fully equipped kitchen, good bedrooms and shower room and the living room was perfect for the family and dog.

We found the staff to be very friendly, from the reception team, to the bar staff including all the entertainment teams. Very impressed. The clubhouse entertainment was good quality with a talents show every Thursday.

The site has good facilities including a reasonably priced shop and there were also takeaways on site, the food was nice and a decent price too. Mini golf was a good standard and the arcade had a variety of games and helpful staff.

There is a good sized swimming pool and several play areas throughout the park.

The site is located right on top of the beach which we made use of every day, the dog was also allowed on the beach in summer whilst on a lead.

Overall would recommend

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Smbpop 7 reviews from this member

This was booked the day before arrival, and to be honest we were quite surprised to be able to book 3 nights on a fully serviced pitch at such short notice! Though I hadn't really checked the facilities out as thoroughly as I usually do before booking, i. E. Mainly the layout of the site, big mistake on my part!

On arrival we had been allocated pitch 16, this backs immediately onto the very busy road, so is very noisy until the early hours of the morning. It is also overshadowed by very tall trees, which may be a blessing in the middle of summer for the shade, but received no sun what-so-ever in the 3rd week of April, was quite envious of other campers who had pitches opposite us, as these were bathed in sun most days. (Pitch numbers 13-25 & 49 are all situated along this edge of the site and overshadowed by trees). The pitches themselves are classed as 'Euro' pitches, but consist of individual Electricity, Aerial and Water point with Grey waste. Size of pitches are very generous, with adequate room for a large caravan with awning plus space to park at the side some campers had used windshields to enclose an outdoor area outside of the awning and then parked the vehicle in front of that, but still within their pitch.

Chemical waste has to be disposed of at the Elsan point, located at the far side of the shower block, though not marked on the site map.

Cannot comment on the shower or toilet facilities as we did not use them, there is only one shower block and it was several hundred metres from the pitch so because Husband is disabled and I have some mobility issues we use our van facilities. This obviously causes a need to use the Elsan point more frequently; As already mentioned this is situated on the far side of the shower block, it consists of the disposal point, with the usual hose for flushing unit out, a soap dispenser but no hand basin to wash hands afterwards, (didn't really like the idea of rinsing hands with hose I'd just rinsed loo unit out with) and no paper towels or hand dryer either, & although it's only a small space it should include a small corner basin and hand dryer!

This is a large site with mainly static caravans and a small tourer area. Overall is a very tidy site, though some buildings do look a bit 'tired' and could do with a spruce up. Lots of recycling areas around the site with different bins for general, glass and paper waste.

Enclosed children's play area, with lots of different activities to climb, slide, swing and run in and large enclosed sports area for football, tennis and other ball games, along with the swimming pool not forgetting the direct access gate from the site to the beach should easily keep youngsters occupied for a few hours each day, without spending a fortune. There is also cycle hire, archery & shooting range, climbing and abseiling tower, zip wire, crazy golf and kiddy karts that are available at extra costs and an amusement arcade and bingo.

The only facility we used on site was Papa Johns Pizza's, (takeaway not restaurant), wasn't entirely sure they'd deliver to the caravans or touring pitches on site, but enquired when we went in to order and they do. (Would be helpful if this was mentioned in the site information). Not lots of choice but all the usual favourites in addition to choose your own, though pizzas weren't the best - very sparse on the toppings, and not much flavour - but the sides were deliciously tasty. Pricing was very good compared to other Pizza establishments.

Activity Passes for the swimming pool, club room etc were included in the price of the pitch, but again we never used any of those so cannot comment.

The actual site is located a short distance from Caister village, with easy access to 2 supermarkets, (Lidl & Tesco)and the usual array of village shops including a bakery and pubs. There is also a bus stop immediately outside the park with regular buses into Great Yarmouth.

Because we only used the site as a base and were not interested in using the leisure facilities, it was adequate for our needs, also because there was an offer of '3 nights for the price of 2', it worked out good value for money, but it's not the most relaxing site to visit due to the road noise, however because of the general cleanliness of the site, the politeness of staff, and the location we would use it again as a base but not for a quiet relaxing break, and we would request a pitch that doesn't back onto the road. Would be a nice idea if you could choose the pitch you would like to stay on, when you book, rather than being allocated one.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Angel34 1 review from this member

Stayed at haven 29 September for one week very close to beach within 5 mins walk. Facilities clean could have been more prominent activities during the day.

Grounds need some improvement a few. Pot holes and more lighting especially now dark.

Didn't use toilet facilities but partner use elson facilities which could have been better.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Happycamperzzz 5 reviews from this member

We stayed here at Caister on Sea, Haven site for 1 week in August 2012, JO our warden was really friendly and helpful.

The showers and toilets were immaculate, the swimming pool great.

We had lovely food in the Mash and Barrel but you need to go early or late as massive queues form across meal times which in itself is a testament to the quality and value of the food served.

Free wi fi if required both inside and out on the terrace.

Children's play area free of charge.

Electric bikes and go carts although a small fee for the tokens is required, also the same for the astro slide.

All the normal typical Haven site entertainment.

Disabled scooter hire.

4 wheel bike/cart hire

Stalls on certain days of the week, hair braiding, trinkets, jewellery, bags, scarves, photo key rings etc.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, 7 days was not long enough, so we booked for 2wks for this year 2013 before we left and couldn't believe the deal we got for booking while still there.

We have now had our 2 weeks there this year and loved every minute of it. Although there is a new warden he was very friendly and helpful.

Our 2 weeks flew by, we went to Gorleston beach 1 day, it is a lovely clean sandy (not stoney) beach. We went on the steam railway, a broads cruise, really well worth doing, we had a day at Africa Alive, lovely to see these big animals and not in steel enclosures, they are out in as near natural habitat as possible, you can pay extra for a tour through the savannah like zoo and get even closer to the animals, there are smaller animals too, just remember good walking shoes, a great day out.

We went to the Merrivale model village in Great Yarmouth, well laid out, if you get your hand stamped you can go back in at night when dark falls and see it all lit up, well worth a visit and a coffee/tea & cake stop in their cafe.

Still in Great Yarmouth but another visit, we had a horse and landau ride up and down the sea front and then Harry Ramsdens fish and chips before heading off to the circus, no animals, great fun, nerve tingling acrobatics, and amazing synchronised swimming at the end, don't miss it.

We also had a night at the theatre to see an Abba tribute band.

All this done inbetween lots of swimming and entertainment at the sites complex. We also had fish and chips from the on site chippy, we have always only had haddock and as they only sell cod we tried it, we must say it was delicious

The showers and toilets in the tourer area were kept immaculate as were the toilets in the rest of the complex.

The spar shop on site is no dearer than home, a Lidl at the end of the street, Tesco and Asda not too far away, Take aways too.

We had our son and family staying up the road at the Grange Hotel and campsite in their tent for a few days, we all went into the Hotel restaurant at the Grange for a Birthday meal, it is safe to say we won't be using it again although they did refund the cost of the 3 meals we couldn't eat.

We didn't have a problem with the noise from traffic, we only heard the odd ambulance, we live in a very quiet village well away from traffic so we are not used to it, however the touring area is a very large oval shaped area with pitches around the edge then there is the island another oval area within the main one with more pitches on. We have pitched on Rows 1 &3, row 4 being under the trees by the roadside, where I can imagine, if you are not used to traffic noise it could be noisy.

We can't go back next year due to other family commitments but we will be back in 2015 and we can't wait.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JanBee 1 review from this member

Have just returned from 10 days on this site. The touring pitches are really good, being fully serviced and large however the down side is the main road which runs right next to it. The traffic was terrible and you could not have a conversation because of it. We might as well have been parked at the side of the motorway. The plus side was that the shower facilities were spotless and the staff friendly. Entertainment could have been better. The surrounding are, especially The Broads is lovely. Would definitely return to the area but unfortunately not this site because of the road noise.

Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2474 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019